27 July 2021

Boys of Summer, Books 5-6 by A.M. Williams Cover Reveal!

Join us for the cover reveal of the Boys of Summer, Books 5-6 by A.M. Williams. Fans who love Sports Romances will sink their teeth into these sexy, small-town romances. Keep scrolling for more details about these sexy covers.

Based in fictional Somerville, North Carolina, the Boys of Summer is a small-town baseball romance series that follows the lives of the coaches and players of a minor league baseball team. Follow the Boys of Summer as they work to win the championship and find love. If you love men in tight pants and the sassy women they fall for, this series is for you.

Books 5-6 include: 

The Slider is book five in A.M. Williams’ Boys of Summer baseball romance series. It’s a mistaken identity, single-parent romance with a recently divorced baseball player and an aunt that is now struggling to raise a teenager.

The Slider releases on August 10th.

Pre-Order on Amazon -> https://amzn.to/3vwlIzg 

Add to The Slider to Goodreads -> https://bit.ly/3fv9hhG 

The Curveball is book six in A.M. Williams’ Boys of Summer baseball romance series. It’s a second chance, friends-to-lovers, holiday romance with a grumpy baseball player and a blast from his past.

The Curveball Releases on September 14th.

Pre-Order on Amazon -> https://amzn.to/3fA46x3 

Add to The Curveball to Goodreads -> https://bit.ly/3yK9TaK

About A.M. Williams

A.M. Williams is just a simple girl from the south that found herself living abroad. When she’s not annoying her cat or reading, she’s spending time with her husband and traveling as much as possible. She has a serious case of wanderlust and wants to go as many places as possible while she can. She loves Cheerwine, sweet tea, and North Carolina (eastern style) BBQ as well as those crystal clear waters on the North Carolina coast.

Follow: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Reader Group | Goodreads | BookBub | Website | Amazon 

Dead as a Duck (A Washington Whodunit) by Colleen J Shogan Book Tour and Giveaway!


Dead as a Duck (A Washington Whodunit) by Colleen J Shogan

About Dead as a Duck

 

Dead as a Duck (A Washington Whodunit) 

Cozy Mystery 7th in Series 

Publisher: Camel Press (July 14, 2021) 

Paperback: 230 pages 

ISBN-10: 1942078323 

ISBN-13: 978-1942078326 

Digital ASIN: B08WTPNBD6 

Congressional staffer Kit Marshall is looking forward to a much-deserved summer vacation in the Outer Banks. When the mayor of the beach town turns up dead, Kit and her friends need to put their fun and relaxation on hold to help solve the crime.

 

August has been a busy month for congressional staffer Kit Marshall. She hit the road with her boss, Congresswoman Maeve Dixon, who is considering running for the United States Senate in North Carolina. After endless town halls and meet-and-greets, Kit is happy to end the tour in Duck, an upscale beach town in the Outer Banks.

 

Before Kit can relax on her much-deserved vacation with her husband Doug, brother Sebastian, best friend Meg, and beagle mutt Clarence, the body of Duck’s mayor is found floating in the shallow waters of the Currituck Sound.

 

Kit’s brother Sebastian, who got in a public kerfuffle with the victim the day before, becomes the prime suspect. Solving the mystery takes her to popular hotspots in the Outer Banks, including a private tour featuring the wild horses of Corolla.

 

Kit must sacrifice sun-filled days of relaxation to clear her brother. In the end, Kit and Sebastian put their own lives on the line to secure a confession from the killer and make sure justice is served.

 

About Colleen J. Shogan

Colleen J. Shogan has been reading mysteries since the age of six. A political scientist by training, Colleen has taught American politics at numerous universities. She previously worked on Capitol Hill as a legislative staffer in the United States Senate and as a senior executive at the Library of Congress. Currently, she's a Senior Vice President at the White House Historical Association. A member of Sisters in Crime, Colleen splits her time between Arlington, VA and Duck, NC.

Authors Prior titles: STABBING IN THE SENATE, HOMICIDE IN THE HOUSE, CALAMITY AT THE CONTINENTAL CLUB, K STREET KILLING, GORE IN THE GARDEN, LARCENY AT THE LIBRARY

Author Links 
  Website – www.colleenshogan.com 
  GoodReads – www.goodreads.com/cshogan276 
  Purchase Links – AmazonB&NKobo

Praise for the Series

“The mystery is perplexing—for Kit and company, and for me—and well done. I was impressed by the complexity of the murder plot. I enjoyed the political theme, and all the details about lobbyists.” —Jane Reads “To someone who has mastered that uniquely Washington skill of bobbling two cell phones and a glass of wine without spilling a drop, solving a murder is practically child’s play.” —HillRag "A solid choice for political junkies and readers of ­Maggie ­Sefton, Fred Hunter, and Mike Lawson.” —Library Journal “The fourth volume in author Colleen J. Shogan’s simply outstanding ‘Washington Whodunit’ series, K Street Killing is a consistently entertaining read with many an unexpected twist and turn by a true master of the genre.” —Midwest Book Review “Shogan does a good job depicting the creaky, squeaky wheels of government, and Marshall plays politics and sleuth with equal dexterity in this capital Capitol Hill mystery.” —Publishers Weekly “Loads of inside scoop about the workings of Senate offices—complete with all the gossiping, back-stabbing, and procedural maneuvering—plus an appealing young sleuth, sprightly pacing, and an edge-of-your-seat showdown on the Hart-Dirksen underground train.” —Literary Hill “An excellent whodunit…. I was really impressed with this very smart story. The author is a former Senate staffer so she is writing what she knows, less the murder, I hope.” —Escape with Dollycas Into a Good Book “Readers who enjoy amateur sleuth mysteries written in the style of Agatha Christie will enjoy this promising debut mystery.” —The Washington Independent Review of Books 


TOUR PARTICIPANTS
July 15 – Novels Alive – GUEST POST
July 15 – #BRVL Book Review Virginia Lee Blog – SPOTLIGHT
July 16 – Elizabeth McKenna - Author – SPOTLIGHT
July 16 – Sapphyria's Book Reviews - SPOTLIGHT
July 17 – Literary Gold – SPOTLIGHT
July 18 – I Read What You Write – REVIEW, AUTHOR INTERVIEW
July 19 – Author Elena Taylor's Blog – SPOTLIGHT
July 20 – The Book Diva's Reads – GUEST POST
July 20 – Mysteries with Character – AUTHOR INTERVIEW
July 21 – Island Confidential – SPOTLIGHT
July 21 – FUONLYKNEW – SPOTLIGHT
July 22 – Socrates Book Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
July 23 – Maureen's Musings – SPOTLIGHT
July 24 – MJB Reviewers – SPOTLIGHT
July 24 – Books a Plenty Book Reviews – REVIEW
July 25 – eBook Addicts - SPOTLIGHT
July 26 – Brooke Blogs – AUTHOR INTERVIEW
July 26 – Christa Reads and Writes – REVIEW
July 27 – Celticlady's Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
July 27 – Ascroft, eh? – AUTHOR INTERVIEW
July 27 – Baroness' Book Trove – SPOTLIGHT
July 28 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – REVIEW
July 28 – BookishKelly2020 – SPOTLIGHT

  Have you signed up to be a Tour Host? 

 

26 July 2021

The Girl from Venice By Siobhan Daiko Book Tour! @siobhandaiko @maryanneyarde #HistoricalFiction #WomensFiction #HistoricalRomance #BlogTour #CoffeePotBookClub


Book Title: The Girl from Venice

Author: Siobhan Daiko

Publication Date: 29th June 2021

Publisher: ASOLANDO BOOKS

Page Length: 300 Pages

Genre: Romantic Historical/Women’s Fiction

Twitter Handle: @siobhandaiko @maryanneyarde

Instagram Handles: @siobhandaiko_asolandobooks @coffeepotbookclub

Hashtags: #HistoricalFiction #WomensFiction #HistoricalRomance #BlogTour #CoffeePotBookClub 

Tour Page: https://www.coffeepotbookclub.com/post/blog-tour-the-girl-from-venice-by-siobhan-daiko-july-19th-july-30th-2021



Lidia De Angelis has kept a low profile since Mussolini's racial laws wrenched her from her childhood sweetheart. But when the Germans occupy Venice in 1943, she must flee the city to save her life.


Lidia joins the partisans in the Venetian mountains, where she meets David, an English soldier fighting for the same cause. As she grows closer to him, harsh Nazi reprisals and Lidia’s own ardent anti-fascist activities threaten to tear them apart.


Decades later in London, while sorting through her grandmother’s belongings after her death, Charlotte discovers a Jewish prayer book, unopened letters written in Italian, and a fading photograph of a group of young people in front of the Doge’s Palace.


Intrigued by her grandmother’s refusal to talk about her life in Italy before and during the war, Charlotte travels to Venice in search of her roots. There, she learns not only the devastating truth about her grandmother’s past, but also some surprising truths about herself.


A heart-breaking page-turner, based on actual events in Italy during World War II


Trigger Warnings:


Death

Miscarriage

PTSD

Rape


Buy Links:


Available on Kindle Unlimited.


Universal Link: mybook.to/TGFV


Amazon UK: https://amzn.to/3uWpgut

Amazon US: https://amzn.to/33PXR1e

Amazon CA: https://amzn.to/3bzJ3In

Amazon AU: https://amzn.to/2SPVWaE



Author Bio:

 

Siobhan Daiko is an international bestselling historical romantic fiction author. A lover of all things Italian, she lives in the Veneto region of northern Italy with her husband, a Havanese puppy and two rescue cats. After a life of romance and adventure in Hong Kong, Australia and the UK, Siobhan now spends her time, when she isn't writing, enjoying the sweet life near Venice. 

 

Social Media Links:


Website: https://siobhandaiko.org

Twitter: https://twitter.com/siobhandaiko

Publisher Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AsolandoBooks

Author Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/siobhan.daiko

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/siobhan-daiko-74993651/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/siobhandaiko_asolandobooks/

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.it/SiobhanDaiko/_saved/

Book Bub: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/siobhan-daiko

Amazon Author Page: author.to/SiobhanDaiko

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7091256.Siobhan_Daiko



25 July 2021

Sand Trapped: Cara Mia Delgatto Mystery Series by Joanna Campbell Slan Book Tour and Giveaway!

Sand Trapped: Cara Mia Delgatto Mystery Series by Joanna Campbell Slan

About Sand Trapped

 

Sand Trapped: Cara Mia Delgatto Mystery Series 

Cozy Mystery 6th in Series 

Publisher: Spot On Publishing (May 16, 2021) 

Paperback: 292 pages 

ISBN-13: 979-8503202564 

Digital ASIN: B091S4S2MW

A Cozy Mystery That's a Real Hit!

 

First they warned Jocelyn Johnson.

 

Then they ticketed Jocelyn Johnson.

 

Then someone murdered Jocelyn Johnson.

 

And Cara Mia Delgatto was looking for a lost ball when found Jocelyn “JJ” Johnson face down in a sand trap. Gave a whole new meaning to “take a drop.”

 

It wasn’t a surprise. The neighbors hated JJ for the reckless way she drove her golf cart. Sure, she lived on the grounds of a swanky golf club, and yes, she had tons of money, but JJ ruined flowerbeds, terrorized grandkids, and made a nuisance of herself.

 

Except…except…she’s quiet now. Lying there in the dirt at Hole #6. Someone bashed in JJ’s head. (Who would risk ruining an expensive Homna golf club like that?)

 

Cara doesn’t want to get involved. But when Gerta Hunsickler is named the prime suspect, and Gerta’s husband is so angry at his wife that he’s starting divorce proceedings, Cara can’t sit on her hands. She knows what it’s like to be unfairly accused. So she promises to take a swing at it and see if she can hit a long drive down the fairway of justice!

 

Meanwhile, back at The Treasure Chest, Cara’s friends are busy creating fabulous and fun Mother’s Day gifts. There are two brides-to-be working for Cara, and their two mothers-in-law-to-be have decided not to play nice. Can you say, “Mama’s boy” ten times really fast? I thought you could.

 

If you love warm-hearted, clean books, that feature female amateur sleuths, fur babies, family, and friends, you’ll love this charming DIY/recycling/upcycling series set on the Southeast Coast of Florida.

  About Joanna Campbell Slan

"Our best friend, our next-door neighbor, and ourselves with just a touch of the outrageous." That's how RT Book Review describes Joanna's protagonist, Kiki Lowenstein. The truth is that's a pretty good description of Joanna Campbell Slan as well.

Joanna is a New York Times Bestselling, USA Today Bestselling, and Amazon Bestselling author as well as a woman prone to frequent bursts of crafting frenzy, leaving her with burns from her hot glue gun and paint on her clothes. And the mess? Let's not even go there.

Otherwise, Joanna's a productive author with more than 80 written projects to her credit. Her non-fiction work includes how to books, a college textbook for public speakers, and books of personal essays (think Chicken Soup for the Soul).

Currently, she writes five fiction series: The Kiki Lowenstein Mystery Series (Agatha Award Finalist, contemporary, St. Louis setting, crafting), the Cara Mia Delgatto Mystery Series (contemporary, Florida setting, DIY, and recycling), the Jane Eyre Chronicles (Daphne du Maurier Award Winner, 1830s England, based on Charlotte Brontë's classic), the Sherlock Holmes Fantasy Thrillers (late 1800s, based on Arthur Conan Doyle's books), and the Zen Cozy Mystery Series (launch 2021).

A former TV talk show host, college teacher, and public relations specialist, Joanna was one of the early Chicken Soup for the Soul contributors. She won a Silver Anvil for her work on the original FarmAid concert to benefit farmers.

In her ongoing quest never to see snow again, Joanna lives with her husband and their Havanese puppy, Jax, on an island off the coast of Florida. You can email her at jcslan@joannaslan.com or visit her website at https://linktr.ee/jcslan

Author Links 

  Purchase Links - Amazon 



TOUR PARTICIPANTS
July 19 – Novels Alive – GUEST POST
July 19 – eBook Addicts – SPOTLIGHT
July 20 – Reading, Writing & Stitch-Metic – SPOTLIGHT WITH RECIPE
July 20 – My Reading Journeys – REVIEW
July 21 – Brooke Blogs – SPOTLIGHT
July 21 – Reading Is My SuperPower – REVIEW
July 22 – Literary Gold - CHARACTER GUEST POST
July 23 – MJB Reviewers – SPOTLIGHT
July 23 – My Journey Back – AUTHOR INTERVIEW
July 24 – FUONLYKNEW – SPOTLIGHT
July 24 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – REVIEW
July 25 – Celticlady's Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
July 26 – Ascroft, eh? – CHARACTER INTERVIEW
July 26 – Sapphyria's Book Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
July 27 – Mysteries with Character – AUTHOR INTERVIEW
July 28 – Laura's Interests - REVIEW, CHARACTER GUEST POST
July 29 – Christy's Cozy Corners – GUEST POST
July 30 – I Read What You Write – AUTHOR INTERVIEW 
July 31 - Maureen's Musings – SPOTLIGHT
August 1 - BookishKelly2020 – SPOTLIGHT

  Have you signed up to be a Tour Host? 

  

23 July 2021

The Curse of Conchobar―A Prequel to the Adirondack Spirit Series by David Fitz-Gerald Blog Tour! #HistoricalFiction #AdirondackSpiritSeries #BlogTour #CoffeePotBookClub @AuthorDAVIDFITZGERALD @coffeepotbookclub @AuthorDAVIDFG @maryanneyarde

 




Book Title: The Curse of Conchobar―A Prequel to the Adirondack Spirit Series

Series: The Adirondack Spirit Series

Author: David Fitz-Gerald

Publication Date: 20th January 2021

Publisher: Outskirts Press

Page Length: 171 Pages

Genre: Historical Fiction


The Curse of Conchobar―A Prequel to the Adirondack Spirit Series

By David Fitz-Gerald


Banished by one tribe. Condemned by another. Will an outcast's supernatural strengths be enough to keep him alive?


549 AD. Raised by monks, Conchobar is committed to a life of obedience and peace. But when his fishing vessel is blown off-course, the young man's relief over surviving the sea's storms is swamped by the terrors of harsh new shores. And after capture by violent natives puts him at death's door, he's stunned when he develops strange telepathic abilities.


Learning his new family's language through the mind of his mentor, Conchobar soon falls for the war chief's ferocious daughter. But when she trains him to follow in her path as a fighter, he's horrified when his uncanny misfortune twists reality, causing more disastrous deaths and making him a pariah.


Can Conchobar defeat the darkness painting his steps with blood?


The Curse of Conchobar is the richly detailed prequel to the mystical Adirondack Spirit Series of historical fiction. If you like inspiring heroes, unsettling powers, and lasting legacies, then you'll love David Fitz-Gerald's captivating tale.


Buy The Curse of Conchobar to break free from the fates today!



Trigger Warnings:

Violence


Buy Links:


Universal Link: https://books2read.com/thecurseofconchobar


Amazon UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B08TPDKN1Q

Amazon US: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B08TPDKN1Q/

Amazon CA: https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B08TPDKN1Q

Amazon AU: https://www.amazon.com.au/Curse-Conchobar_A-Prequel-Adirondack-Spirit-ebook/dp/B08TPDKN1Q

Barnes and Noble: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-curse-of-conchobar-a-prequel-to-the-adirondack-spirit-series-david-fitz-gerald/1138636344

iBooks: https://books.apple.com/us/book/id1551092826

Book Chain: https://www.bookchain.ca/book/0x1d8427e3c5b51d32e13b028b8b7786fc8c985c33


Author Bio:

 

David Fitz-Gerald writes fiction that is grounded in history and soars with the spirits. Dave enjoys getting lost in the settings he imagines and spending time with the characters he creates. Writing historical fiction is like making paintings of the past. He loves to weave fact and fiction together, stirring in action, adventure, romance, and a heavy dose of the supernatural with the hope of transporting the reader to another time and place. He is an Adirondack 46-er, which means he has hiked all of the highest peaks in New York State, so it should not be surprising when Dave attempts to glorify hikers as swashbuckling superheroes in his writing.

 

Social Media Links:


Website: https://www.itsoag.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/AuthorDAVIDFG

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorDaveFITZGERALD

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/authordavidfitzgerald/

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/AuthorDaveFITZGERALD

Book Bub: https://www.bookbub.com/profile/david-fitz-gerald

Amazon Author Page: https://www.amazon.com/David-Fitz-Gerald/e/B076CJK284/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/17341792.David_Fitz_Gerald


The Curse of Conchobar is available for free in exchange for signing up for David’s email list via BookFunnel: https://dl.bookfunnel.com/iwczowhp8q


Tour Schedule Page: https://www.coffeepotbookclub.com/post/blog-tour-the-curse-of-conchobar%E2%80%95a-prequel-to-the-adirondack-spirit-series-by-david-fitz-gerald



Midnight Spells Murder (A Happy Camper Mystery) by Mary Angela Book Tour and Giveaway!

Midnight Spells Murder (A Happy Camper Mystery) by Mary Angela

About Midnight Spells Murder

Midnight Spells Murder (A Happy Camper Mystery) 

Cozy Mystery 2nd in Series Publisher: Lyrical Press (July 13, 2021) 

Print Length: 271 pages 

Digital ASIN: B08L8RJTTD

Spirit Canyon’s annual Spirit Spooktacular weekend is on, and for local amateur sleuth Zo Jones, it’s boomtime for business at her Happy Camper gift shop . . . until a murderer drops in for a browse.

 

To celebrate Halloween at the Happy Camper, Zo schedules a talk by successful author and self-proclaimed witch Marianne Morgan. Although Marianne’s benign brand of witchcraft is more about feminine empowerment than black magic, her presence is still not welcomed by everyone. Then on a midnight stroll home, Zo spots what seems to be a new Halloween decoration propped up outside the Happy Camper. What she finds is not a mannequin but a dead Marianne, her lifeless body dressed in traditional witch’s garb. But why would someone send this good witch back to the spirit world permanently?

 

Soon Zo realizes that plenty of folks have motives for murdering Marianne. What’s worse, nosy TV newsman Justin Castle plans to broadcast a report associating Marianne’s murder with the Happy Camper. Zo calls on her partner in sleuthing, local forest ranger Max Harrington, to help her find the culprit before Justin’s report airs. Otherwise Zo’s business just might go bust. But to catch this killer, Zo will have to risk much more than just her reputation . . .

 

About Mary Angela

 
  Mary Angela is the author of the Happy Camper cozy mystery series, the Professor Prather academic mystery series, and several short stories. When Mary isn’t penning heartwarming whodunits, she’s teaching, reading, traveling, or spending time with her family. She lives in South Dakota with her husband, daughters, and spoiled pets. You can find out more about her loves, including her writing, at MaryAngelaBooks.com

  Author Links 

  Purchase Links




TOUR PARTICIPANTS
July 13 – Christy's Cozy Corners – SPOTLIGHT WITH RECIPE
July 13 – FUONLYKNEW – SPOTLIGHT
July 14 – Novels Alive – GUEST POST
July 14 – Island Confidential – SPOTLIGHT
July 15 – I Read What You Write – AUTHOR INTERVIEW
July 16 – Brooke Blogs – CHARACTER GUEST POST
July 17 – Author Elena Taylor's Blog – REVIEW
July 17 – Nadaness In Motion – REVIEW
July 18 – Diane Reviews Books – REVIEW
July 19 – Maureen's Musings – SPOTLIGHT
July 20 – Cozy Up With Kathy – REVIEW
July 21 – Socrates Book Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
July 22 – Ascroft, eh? – CHARACTER INTERVIEW
July 23 – Celticlady's Reviews – SPOTLIGHT   
July 24 – Literary Gold – SPOTLIGHT
July 25 – Sapphyria's Book Reviews – REVIEW
July 26 – Laura's Interests – REVIEW

  Have you signed up to be a Tour Host?

 

22 July 2021

The Marquess Method by Kathleen Ayers Release BLog Tour! #TheMarquessMethod #SteamyHistoricalRomance #HistoricalRomance

Lady Theodosia has long been infatuated with the Earl of Blythe so in an effort to secure his affections, she paints a scandalous miniature of herself. When her reckless behavior endangers her reputation, Theodosia knows she must retrieve the miniature. Unfortunately, the miniature is gone and the only thing she finds waiting for her in Blythe’s study is the disreputable Marquess of Haven. Fans of steamy historical romances will devour The Marquess Method by Kathleen Ayers, the next book in her Beautiful Barringtons Series.

Praise for Kathleen Ayers

"Kathleen Ayers has become a favorite for me. I loved the "Wicked Series" but the "The Theory Of Earls" (don't you just love this title) is my favorite so far." - MiaBurke54, Bookbub Reviewer

"I am absolutely enamored with this book! It has a breathtaking romance, characters with sizzling chemistry, and a dialogue that is so clever and witty..." - Catherine, Goodreads Reviewer

Blurb

Lady Theodosia Barrington is practically begging to be ruined.

That’s the assumption of the Marquess of Haven after spying Theodosia at a house party given by the Duke of Granby. After his father left him little else but a title and a crumbling estate, Haven is in desperate need of an heiress. Not only is Theodosia rich as Croesus and beautiful, but she’s also a Barrington. Her brother is Leo Murphy, owner of Elysium and the man Haven holds responsible for ruining his father.

Theodosia is the solution to all of Haven’s problems.

Lady Theodosia has long been infatuated with the Earl of Blythe. In an effort to prove her affection and perhaps induce him to offer for her, Theodosia paints a scandalous self-portrait of herself for Blythe as a birthday gift. The small token of affection is incredibly improper. Her behavior reckless.

She regrets gifting the miniature to Blythe immediately. Desperate to save her reputation before it can be destroyed and escape humiliation, Theodosia makes another rash decision. Retrieve the miniature from Blythe’s study.

Except the miniature is gone. And the only thing waiting for her is the Marquess of Haven.

And her own ruination.

Add to Goodreads Here

Buy Now or Read for FREE with Kindle Unlimited! 

Excerpt 

Copyright 2021 @Kathleen Ayers

“I think about kissing you every moment of every day.” Haven spoke without hesitation, the husky quality of his voice hovering over her limbs before sinking into her chest. “I’ve kissed you a total of four times, and I’m being generous in counting that chaste peck we shared in front of the vicar. I would have kissed you much sounder except I didn’t want Pith to take my head off. If I’m not thinking of the way you taste, or the small sounds you make when I hold you, it is only because I’m asleep. But even then, I dream of you.”

Buy Now or Read for FREE with Kindle Unlimited!

About Kathleen Ayers

Kathleen Ayers is the bestselling author of Regency and Victorian romance with strong, witty damaged heroes who can’t help falling for intelligent, sassy heroines. An avid reader, Kathleen fell in love with historical romance as a teenager after picking up a copy of Sweet Savage Love. She reads everything, from romance to thrillers, Stephen King and fantasy. When her nose isn’t stuck in a book, Kathleen tries to garden (with mixed results), works on perfecting her charcuterie board skills and enjoys a good wine tasting.

A Texas transplant, Kathleen shares a backyard swimming pool with her husband, son and two very spoiled dogs. 

Follow: Facebook | Instagram | Reader Group | Goodreads | BookBub | Website | Newsletter | Amazon 

This promotional event is brought to you by Indie Pen PR

The Queen of Second Chances by D.M. Barr Book Tour and Giveaway!

The Queen of Second Chances by D.M. Barr Banner

The Queen of Second Chances

by D.M. Barr

July 1-31, 2021 Tour
 

Synopsis:

The Queen of Second Chances by D.M. Barr
Carra’s memoir-writing class teaches seniors to resolve the regrets of their past. But to win over elder attorney Jay, will she follow her own advice? Carraway (Carra) Quinn is a free-spirited English major confronting an unreceptive job market. Desperate for cash, she reluctantly agrees to her realtor stepmother’s marketing scheme: infiltrate a local senior center as a recreational aide, ingratiate herself with the members, and convince them to sell their homes. Jay Prentiss is a straitlaced, overprotective elder attorney whose beloved but mentally fragile Nana attends that center. More creative than mercenary, Carra convinces Jay to finance innovations to the Center’s antiquated programming. Her ingenuity injects new enthusiasm among the seniors, inspiring them to confront and reverse the regrets of their past. An unlikely romance develops. But when Carra’s memoir-writing class prompts Jay’s Nana to skip town in search of a lost love, the two take off on a cross-country, soul-searching chase that will either deepen their relationship or tear them apart forever.

Reviews:

Charming, funny, and heartwarming, The Queen of Second Chances is not just a love story where two people discover each other, it is a story of self-discovery. Like all good romances, this one starts with the two main characters loathing each other before slowly realizing that they are perfect together. But before either Jay or Carra can come to that realization, they have to work through their personal shortcomings. Carra feels like a failure and is unable to get past her mother's desertion of her as a child. Jay, while his helping people who desperately need rescuing demonstrates his fundamental goodness, puts a little too much emphasis on wealth and status. Helping a group of seniors find fulfillment is the catalyst that allows both the main characters to embrace changing their own lives and then ultimately embrace each other. A joy to read, The Queen of Second Chances is the perfect mood lifter in these stressful times.
- S. Lee Manning, author of the critically acclaimed thriller, Trojan Horse
FIVE STARS!
The Queen of Second Chances by D.M. Barr is a beautifully written story of two lost souls brought together by fate. Carra was such a wonderful character, her warmth and kindness towards others were admirable. She also put others' needs before her own safety and this was highlighted during the car scene outside the Garrison house. She was perfectly matched to Jay. Although he seemed to enjoy a materialistic lifestyle, I feel he had a really good heart and when he met Carra, he found the missing piece in his life. My absolute favorite character was Helen; she was extremely insightful and wise even though she was suffering from the onset of dementia. Her words of wisdom throughout were poignant and powerful, especially her views on looking back in life: "It's more important to heed the present because that's what it is, a gift. Nothing lasts long in this life, which is why every moment matters. You can't take anything or anyone for granted." I found the relationship between Jay and Carra developed gradually and the dialogue exchanges between them were very realistic. I loved the twist towards the end concerning Jay's background and the nail-biting ending was brilliant. I feel there are so many underlying messages throughout too. For example, live for the moment, never be afraid to chase your dreams, and forgive yourself for mistakes you have made in your past. I highly recommend this novel.
- Lesley Jones, for Readers' Favorite
FIVE STARS!
The Queen of Second Chances by D.M. Barr is a lovely, deftly written romantic comedy that fans of the genre will love.
- Edith Wairimu for Readers' Favorite
 

Book Details

Genre: Contemporary Sweet Romance, Romcom, Chicklit 
Published by: Champagne Book Group 
Publication Date: June 7th 2021 
Number of Pages: 204 
ISBN: 2940165375545 (ASIN B094GFWG3K) 
Purchase Links: Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Goodreads
 

Read an excerpt:

Chapter One I couldn’t take my eyes off the man. He came barreling into the recreational center at SALAD—Seniors Awaiting Lunch and Dinner, Rock Canyon’s answer to Meals on Wheels—as I sat in the outer office, awaiting my job interview. He was tall, but not too tall. His expensive suit barely concealed an athletic physique that fell just shy of a slavish devotion to muscle mass. Early thirties, I estimated, and monied. Honey-blond curly hair, blue eyes, high cheekbones, chiseled features, gold-rimmed glasses, and of course, dimples. Why did there always have to be dimples? They were my kryptonite, rendering me powerless to resist. I nicknamed him Adonis, Donny for short, lest anyone accuse me of being pretentious. He was the stuff of every girl’s dreams, especially if that girl was as masochistic as yours truly. Men like that didn’t fall for ordinary girls like me, gals more Cocoa Puff than Coco Chanel, more likely to run their pantyhose than strut the runway. I leaned back on the leather couch, laid down my half-completed application, and prepared to enjoy the view. Then he opened his mouth, and the attraction withered like a popped balloon. “I want to speak to Judith. Now. Is she here?” The sharpness of his voice put Ginsu knives to shame. It was jagged enough to slash open memories of my mother’s own barely contained temper when refereeing sibling disputes between Nikki and me. Well, at least until she prematurely retired her whistle and skipped town for good. The attendant working the main desk looked fresh out of nursing school and had obviously missed the lecture on dealing with difficult clients. She sputtered, held up both hands in surrender, and retreated into the administration office, reemerging with an older woman whose guff-be-gone demeanor softened as she got closer. Her name tag read, “Judith Ferester,” the woman scheduled to conduct my interview. She took one look at Donny, sighed as if to say, Here we go again, and plastered on her requisite customer service smile. “Mr. Prentiss, to what do we owe the honor of this visit?” she asked in a tone sweet enough to make my teeth hurt. “Judith, I thought we had this discussion before. I trust you to take care of my nana, but day after day, I discover goings-on that are utterly unacceptable. Maybe we shouldn’t have added the senior center, just limited SALAD to meal delivery. Last week you served chips and a roll at lunch? That’s too many carbs. This week, I find someone is duping her out of her pocket change. No one is going to take advantage of her good nature, not under my watch.” I half-expected him to spit on the ground. Was such venom contagious? I didn’t want my prospective employer in a foul mood when she reviewed my application. I really, really needed this job. “Mr. Prentiss,” Judith answered, her patronizing smile frozen in place, “I assure you that your championing of our senior center was well founded. The reason your nana isn’t complaining is that she receives the utmost care. She is one of our dearest visitors. Everyone loves her.” “Tell me then, what is this?” Donny—scratch that, Mr. Prentiss—drew a scrap of paper from his pocket and flung it onto the counter. I leaned forward to make out the object of his disdain. Then, thinking better of it, I relaxed and watched as this melodrama played itself out. Judith glanced down at the paper. “This? It’s a scoresheet. They play gin for ten cents a hand. We monitor everything that goes on here; your grandmother is not being conned out of her life savings. You have my word.” Prentiss shook his head so vigorously his gold-rimmed glasses worked their way down to the tip of his perfect nose. He pushed them back with obvious annoyance. Even when he was acting like a jerk, his dimples were captivating. Would they be even more alluring if he smiled? Did he smile…like, ever? “It’s not the amount that worries me. It’s the act itself. Many seniors here are memory impaired. How can you condone gambling between people who aren’t coherent? Could you please keep a closer eye on things? Otherwise, I’m afraid I’ll have to take my nana—and my support—to the center I’ve heard about across the river.” Without waiting for Judith’s response, Prentiss departed as brusquely as he’d arrived. Ah, the entitlement of the rich. Walk over everyone, then storm off. He never even noticed my presence. Just as well, considering my purpose for being there. Even if I wasn’t sorry to see the back end of his temper, his rear end was pleasant enough to watch as he exited, I noted with a guilty shudder. Judith shook her head, rolled her eyes, and let out a huff. Then she noticed me. “I’m so sorry you had to overhear that. I’m the director here. How can I help you?” “I’m Carraway Quinn. Everyone calls me Carra. I have an appointment for the recreational aide position.” Judith typed a few keystrokes into the main desk’s computer. “Ah yes, Ms. Quinn. Carraway, like the seed?” “Something like that,” I said with a smile. They always guessed, but no one got it right. Some man would, one day. That’s what my mother said a million years ago, when she still lived within earshot. One man would figure it out, and that’s how I’d know he was the one for me. Not that it mattered right now. I had bigger problems than finding a new boyfriend. “Tell me, would I have to deal with people like that all day?” I tilted my head in the direction of Prentiss’s contrail. “What can I say? He loves his nana.” Judith shrugged, staring at the door. “Though I’ve never seen him lash out like that before. He’s usually so calm.” She quickly shifted into public relations mode. “Jay Prentiss is one of our biggest contributors. It’s only because of his generosity that we have this senior center and can afford to hire a recreational aide.” She beckoned me into the inner office. “Shall we proceed?” I followed, but I had my doubts. I belonged in the editorial office of a magazine or on a book tour for my perennially unfinished novel, not at a senior center. This job was my stepmother’s idea, not mine. Calling it an idea was being generous; it was more like a scheme, and the elderly deserved better than someone sent here to deceive them. I was the embodiment of what Jay Prentiss worried about most. The interview lasted less than ten minutes, as if Judith was going through the formalities but had already decided to hire me. I was to start my orientation the following day. I shook her hand and thanked her, all the while wishing I were anywhere else. Afterward, I wandered into the recreation area, where I’d be spending most of my time. The room was dingy, teeming with doleful seniors watching television, playing cards, or staring off into space. A few complained among themselves about a jigsaw puzzle they were unable to finish because the last pieces were missing. I wondered how many had lost their spouses and came to the center out of loneliness, their children too busy with their own lives to visit. It was a heartbreaking thought. Jay Prentiss was complaining about carbs and gambling when he should have been concentrating on ennui. The seniors’ dismal expressions told me they were visiting SALAD more out of desperation than opportunity. It was clear they needed an injection of enthusiasm, not some aide looking to unsettle their lives. It came down to my conscience. Could it triumph against my stepmother’s directives and my plummeting bank account? --- Excerpt from The Queen of Second Chances by D.M. Barr. Copyright © 2021 by D.M. Barr. Reproduced with permission from D.M. Barr. All rights reserved.
 

Author Bio:

D.M. Barr By day, a mild-mannered salesperson, wife, mother, rescuer of senior shelter dogs, competitive trivia player and author groupie, happily living just north of New York City. By night, an author of sex, suspense and satire. My background includes stints in travel marketing, travel journalism, meeting planning, public relations and real estate. I was, for a long and happy time, an award-winning magazine writer and editor. Then kids happened. And I needed to actually make money. Now they're off doing whatever it is they do (of which I have no idea since they won't friend me on Facebook) and I can spend my spare time weaving tales of debauchery and whatever else tickles my fancy. The main thing to remember about my work is that I am NOT one of my characters. For example, as a real estate broker, I've never played Bondage Bingo in one of my empty listings or offed anyone at my local diet clinic. And I haven't run away from home in fear that my husband was planning to off me. But that's not to say that I haven't wanted to…

Find Our Author Online:

DMBarr.com Goodreads
 

Tour Host Participants:

 Giveaway:
This is a rafflecopter giveaway hosted by Providence Book Promotions for D.M. Barr. There will be 1 winner of one (1) Amazon.com Gift Card (U.S. ONLY). The giveaway runs July 1, 2021 through August 1, 2021. Void where prohibited.
a Rafflecopter giveaway  
Thank you for your interest in this tour!

Find Your Next Great Read at Providence Book Promotions!

AddToAny

Pin it!

Google Adsense

Please Share!

Printfriendly

View My Stats!

View My Stats

Pageviews past week

Analytics

Google Analytics

SNIPPET_HTML_V2.TXT

Feedburner

Tweet