16 April, 2021

Three Missing Days by Colleen Coble Book Tour and Giveaway!

Three Missing Days

by Colleen Coble

April 5 - 30, 2021 Tour

Synopsis:

Three Missing Days by Colleen Coble

Book Three in the gripping romantic suspense series from USA TODAY bestselling author Colleen Coble.

A chilling murder.

Chief of Police Jane Hardy plunges into the investigation of a house fire that claimed the life of a local woman as well as one of the firefighters. It’s clear the woman was murdered. But why? The unraveling of Jane’s personal life only makes the answers in the case more difficult to find.

Her son’s arrest.

Then Jane’s fifteen-year-old son is accused of a horrific crime, and she has to decide whether or not she can trust her ex, Reid, in the attempt to prove Will’s innocence—and whether she can trust Reid with her heart.

Her stolen memories.

Three days of Jane’s past are missing from her memory, and that’s not all that has been stolen from her. As she works to find the woman’s murderer and clear her son’s name, finding out what happened in those three days could change everything. It all started with one little lie. But the gripping truth is finally coming out.

Book Details:

Genre: Mystery, Suspense, Thriller
Published by: Thomas Nelson
Publication Date: April 6th 2021
Number of Pages: 352
ISBN: 0785228543 (ISBN13: 9780785228547)
Series: Pelican Harbor #3 || These books are Stand Alone Mysteries but are better if read as a series!
Purchase Links: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | ChristianBook.com | Goodreads

Read an excerpt:

“I know what you did.”

The muffled voice on her phone raised the hair on the back of Gail Briscoe’s head, and she swiped the perspiration from her forehead with the back of her hand. “Look, I’ve reported these calls. Don’t call me again.”

She ended the call with a hard finger punch on the screen and stepped onto her front porch. The late-May Alabama air wrapped her in a blanket of heat and humidity, and she couldn’t wait to wash it off. She should have left the light on before she went for her predawn run. The darkness pressing against her isolated home sent a shudder down her back, and she fumbled her way inside. Welcome light flooded the entry, and she locked the door and the dead bolt with a decisive click that lifted her confidence.

She stared at the number on the now-silent phone. The drugstore again. Though there weren’t many pay phones around anymore, the old soda shop and drugstore still boasted a heavy black phone installed back in the sixties. The caller always used it, and so far, no one had seen who was making the calls. The pay phone was located off an alley behind the store by a Dumpster so it was out of sight.

The guy’s accusation was getting old. Counting today, this made seven calls with the same message. Could he possibly know about the investigation? She rejected the thought before it had a chance to grow. It wasn’t public knowledge, and it would be over soon. She clenched her hands and chewed on her bottom lip. She had to be vindicated.

But who could it be, and what did he want?

Leaving a trail of sweaty yoga shorts and a tee behind her, she marched to the bathroom and turned the spray to lukewarm before she stepped into the shower. The temperature shocked her overheated skin in a pleasant way, and within moments she was cooled down. She increased the temperature a bit and let the water sluice over her hair.

As she washed, she watched several long strands of brown hair swirl down the drain as she considered the caller’s accusation. The police had promised to put a wiretap on her phone, but so far the guy hadn’t stayed on the phone long enough for a trace to work. And it was Gail’s own fault. She should have talked with him more to string out the time.

She dried off and wrapped her hair in a turban, then pulled on capris and a top. Her phone vibrated again. She snatched it up and glanced at the screen. Augusta Richards.

“I got another call, Detective. Same phone at the drugstore. Could you set up a camera there?”

“I hope I’m not calling too early, and I don’t think that’s necessary. The owner just told me that old pay phone is being removed later today. Maybe that will deter the guy. It’s the only pay phone in town. He’ll have to use something else if he calls again.”

“He could get a burner phone.”

“He might,” the detective admitted. “What did he say?”

“The same thing—‘I know what you did.’”

“Do you have any idea what it means?”

Gail flicked her gaze away to look out the window, where the first colors of the sunrise limned the trees. “Not a clue.”

“Make sure you lock your doors and windows. You’re all alone out there.”

“Already locked. Thanks, Detective.” Gail ended the call.

Ever since Nicole Pearson’s body had been found a couple of months ago, no one needed to remind Gail she lived down a dirt road with no next-door neighbors. No one wanted to buy the neighboring place after such a lurid death, so the area remained secluded other than a couple of houses about a mile away and out closer to the main road.

She stood back from the window. It was still too dark to see. Was someone out there?

Pull back the reins on your imagination. But once the shudders started, they wouldn’t stop. Her hands shaking, she left her bedroom and went to pour herself a cup of coffee with a generous splash of half-and-half from the fridge. She had a stack of lab orders to process, and she couldn’t let her nerves derail her work.

The cups rattled as she snatched one from the cupboard. The coffee sloshed over the rim when she poured it, then she took a big gulp of coffee. It burned all the way down her throat, and tears stung her eyes as she sputtered. The heat settled her though, and she checked the locks again before she headed to her home office with her coffee.

No one could see in this tiny cubicle with no window, but she rubbed the back of her neck and shivered. She’d work for an hour, then go into the lab. The familiar ranges and numbers comforted her. She sipped her coffee and began to plow through the stack of papers. Her eyes kept getting heavy. Weird. Normally she woke raring to go every morning.

Maybe she needed more coffee. She stretched out her neck and back and picked up the empty coffee cup.

Gail touched the doorknob and cried out. She stuck her first two fingers in her mouth. What on earth?

The door radiated heat. She took a step back as she tried to puzzle out what was happening, but her brain couldn’t process it at first. Then tendrils of smoke oozed from under the door in a deadly fog.

Fire. The house was on fire.

She spun back toward the desk, but there was nothing she could use to protect herself. There was no way of egress except through that door.

If she wanted to escape, she’d have to face the inferno on the other side.

She snatched a throw blanket from the chair and threw it over her head, then ran for the door before she lost her courage. When she yanked it open, a wall of flames greeted her, but she spied a pathway down the hall to her bedroom. Ducking her head, she screamed out a war cry and plowed through the flames.

In moments she was in the hall where the smoke wasn’t so thick. She pulled in a deep breath as she ran for her bedroom. She felt the cool air as soon as she stepped inside and shut the door behind her. Too late she realized the window was open, and a figure stepped from the closet.

Something hard came down on her head, and darkness descended.

***

Excerpt from Three Missing Days by Colleen Coble. Copyright 2021 by Thomas Nelson. Reproduced with permission from Thomas Nelson. All rights reserved.

 

 

Author Bio:

Colleen Coble

Colleen Coble is a USA TODAY bestselling author and RITA finalist best known for her coastal romantic suspense novels, including The Inn at Ocean’s Edge, Twilight at Blueberry Barrens, and the Lavender Tides, Sunset Cove, Hope Beach, and Rock Harbor series.

Connect with Colleen online at:
colleencoble.com
Goodreads
BookBub: @ColleenCoble
Instagram: @colleencoble
Twitter: @colleencoble
Facebook: @colleencoblebooks

Tour Participants:

Visit these other great hosts on this tour for more great reviews, interviews, guest posts, and giveaways!

Giveaway!:

This is a rafflecopter giveaway hosted by Partners in Crime Virtual Book Tours for Colleen Coble and Thomas Nelson. ONE (1) winner will receive ONE (1) physical set of the first three books in the Pelican Harbor series. (U.S. addresses only). The giveaway begins on April 5, 2021 and runs through May 2, 2021. Void where prohibited.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 Get More Great Reads at Partners In Crime Virtual Book Tours

 

The Glass Slipper by K. Webster Book Blitz and Giveaway!

The Glass Slipper
K. Webster
Published by: Dangerous Press
Publication date: April 20th 2021
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Betraying the most powerful man in New York wasn’t something I ever envisioned when I first started playing games with Winston Constantine. But he’s engaged in far more dangerous games than ours, and his enemies are out for blood.

Winston has my heart, the Morellis have incriminating photos, and I’m left with nothing except three stepbrothers who want to hurt me and a future in doubt. I knew Winston wouldn’t be my prince charming, but that didn’t stop me from falling for him.
After all, the slippers fit, and I let myself believe I’d be dancing with Winston forever.
Until too much truth comes to light.

Until I realize instead of ruling the board, I was just a pawn.

In the end, I have only one question. When his game with me is over, will I be able to pretend as if the glass slipper wasn’t a perfect fit?

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / iBooks / Kobo / Google Play

EXCERPT:

Chirp.

I love my bird. Shrimp is the best little birdie on the planet. But, the one single sound he makes isn’t a pleased one. It’s angry. Hurt. Scared. This, above anything else that’s happened tonight, is the most upsetting. I’ve let Winston down. And, I’ve let my damn bird down.

Stupidly, I got swept up in the little fairy tale I’d imagined where I was a maid turned princess who perfectly fit into her filthy prince’s story. Winston, billionaire CEO and world’s hottest bachelor, gave me a fantasy not a reality. He offered me a world made of glass. I stepped into those new shoes, blinded by the shininess, eager to be his little plaything.

But the cracking has begun.

At the first sign of trouble, everything feels as though it’s going to shatter at my feet.

No charming prince will be sweeping me in his arms this time.

I bite down on my lip to keep from crying. I’m tired of crying. Emotionally exhausted. Sick of it. Swallowing down the tight ache in my throat, I lock the apartment door and then swivel around to greet my bird.

“Shrimp,” I say in a raspy, wobbly voice as I toss my purse onto the love seat and kick off my heels. “Welcome home.” To the whore apartment.

He flaps his wings angrily from inside his cage. I’m unnerved wondering how he even got here. Winston obviously handled this during all the chaos that was dinner when he’d been texting someone.

It’s not just my bird.

Sitting on my bed is my bag of toiletries, my backpack, and a garment bag that most definitely doesn’t belong to me. I don’t have to unzip it to know it’ll be filled with outfits that were once hanging in my room at Winston’s place.

“Don’t cry, don’t cry, don’t cry,” I chant, even as fresh, hot tears roll out.

I unlatch Shrimp’s cage door so he can get some space. Rather than hopping into my waiting hand, he flutters past me, swooping around the small area. He chirps in sharp, high-pitched noises that indicate he’s not pleased about his surroundings. The poor bird misses his chandelier playground, high ceilings, and huge windows.

“I fucked it up,” I explain to him with a wave of my hand. “I can’t even begin to imagine what the fallout for all of this will be.”

And I can’t.


Author Bio:

K Webster is a USA Today Bestselling author. Her titles have claimed many bestseller tags in numerous categories, are translated in multiple languages, and have been adapted into audiobooks. She lives in "Tornado Alley" with her husband, two children, and her baby dog named Blue. When she's not writing, she's reading, drinking copious amounts of coffee, and researching aliens.

You can easily find K Webster on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest, and Goodreads!

Can't find a certain book? Maybe it's too hot for Amazon! Don't worry because titles like Bad Bad Bad, This is War, Baby, The Wild, and Hale can all be found for sale on K's website in both ebook and paperback format.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter / Instagram / Bookbub / Newsletter


GIVEAWAY!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Hosted by:
XBTBanner1

15 April, 2021

Shrimply Dead (A Seafood Caper Mystery) by Maggie Toussaint Book Tour and Giveaway!

Shrimply Dead (A Seafood Caper Mystery) by Maggie Toussaint

About Shrimply Dead

 

Shrimply Dead (A Seafood Caper Mystery) 

Cozy Mystery 3rd in Series 

Publisher: Muddle House Publishing (April 12, 2021) 

• Number of Pages 237 

PAGES Digital 

ASIN: B08V52RD4W 

When veterinarian and amateur naturalist Jasmine Garr is shot in her yard, residents of Shell Island press caterer River Holloway into investigating the homicide. River dons her amateur sleuth cap and sets out to discover who killed her former catering customer.

 

Between Jasmine’s estranged cousin, a rival veterinarian, a wild animal trapper, the chicken lady, and a real estate broker, River has plenty of suspects to consider. As she peels back the layers of Jasmine’s life, dangerous secrets come to light.

 

Jasmine’s orphaned kitty, Iris, along with River’s cat Major, and her husband Pete help River sift through the evidence. At the same time, River recently expanded her catering business. She must service her regular catering clients, plus provide fresh baked goods for Pete’s ice cream shop.

The killer follows River’s every move relishing the thought of another victim. Time is running out. Will River solve the murder before she becomes a cold dish?

About Maggie Toussaint

Southern author Maggie Toussaint writes cozy and paranormal mysteries, romantic suspense, and dystopian fiction, with more than twenty fiction novels published. A multi-year finalist for Georgia Author of the Year, she’s won Silver Falchions, the Readers’ Choice, and the EPIC Awards. She’s past president of Mystery Writers of America-Southeast chapter and an officer of LowCountry Sisters In Crime. She lives in coastal Georgia, where secrets, heritage, and ancient oaks cast long shadows. Visit her at https://maggietoussaint.com/

  Author Links 
  Website – https://maggietoussaint.com/ 


TOUR PARTICIPANTS
April 13 – I'm All About Books – SPOTLIGHT
April 13 – Cinnamon, Sugar, and a Little Bit of Murder – REVIEW, RECIPE
April 13 – Novels Alive – GUEST POST
April 13 – #BRVL Book Review Virginia Lee Blog – SPOTLIGHT
April 14 – Author Elena Taylor's Blog – AUTHOR INTERVIEW
April 14 – FUONLYKNEW – SPOTLIGHT
April 14 – Tea Book Blanket – SPOTLIGHT
April 15 – Celticlady's Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
April 15 – Maureen's Musings – SPOTLIGHT
April 16 – Christa Reads and Writes – REVIEW
April 16 – Literary Gold – REVIEW
April 17 – Sneaky the Library Cat's Blog – CHARACTER INTERVIEW
April 17 – Sapphyria's Book Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
April 17 – MJB Reviewers – SPOTLIGHT
April 18 – I Read What You Write – AUTHOR INTERVIEW
April 18 – Cozy Up With Kathy – SPOTLIGHT
April 19 – StoreyBook Reviews – CHARACTER GUEST POST
April 19 – A Wytch's Book Review Blog – CHARACTER INTERVIEW
April 20 – Baroness' Book Trove – REVIEW
April 20 – My Reading Journeys – REVIEW
April 21 – Cassidy's Bookshelves – GUEST POST
April 21 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – REVIEW, AUTHOR INTERVIEW
April 21 – My Journey Back The Journey Back – CHARACTER GUEST POST
April 22 – Christy's Cozy Corners – CHARACTER GUEST POST
April 22 – Mysteries with Character – REVIEW
April 23 – BookishKelly2020 – SPOTLIGHT  
April 23 – Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
April 24 – Brooke Blogs – SPOTLIGHT, RECIPE
April 24 – Books a Plenty Book Reviews - REVIEW, CHARACTER INTERVIEWHave you signed up to be a Tour Host?


   

14 April, 2021

The Fog Ladies: Family Matters (A San Francisco Cozy Murder Mystery) by Susan McCormick Book Tour and Giveaway!

The Fog Ladies: Family Matters (A San Francisco Cozy Murder Mystery) by Susan McCormick

About The Fog Ladies: Family Matters

The Fog Ladies: Family Matters (A San Francisco Cozy Murder Mystery) Cozy Mystery 2nd in Series 

Publisher: Wild Rose Press (October 7, 2020) 

Paperback: 338 pages 

ISBN-10: 1509233075 

ISBN-13: 978-1509233076 

Digital ASIN: B08FGMFBW3 

Till death do us part, with kitchen shears. What drives a family man to kill his wife? This question haunts Sarah James, a medical resident who meets the unhappy family at a resort near Big Sur. She witnesses how ugly a marriage can be. But murder?

 

Sarah and the spunky Fog Ladies—elderly neighbors from her San Francisco apartment building—set out to discover the truth. Their probing finds the threat is perilously close to home, endangering another troubled family struggling to survive.

Excerpt! 

     “So where does he say he was really?” Mrs. Carmichael asked.

     “In the park,” Mrs. Honeycut said. “He says he was sitting in the park and no one saw him.”

     “Oh, come on. In the park? Is he kidding?” Mrs. Carmichael looked around for confirmation.

     “He wasn’t just sitting in the park,” said Mrs. Noonan. “He was writing.”

     “Writing?” said Sarah. “He was writing in the park?”

     “Yes. He told his mother that he didn’t like to write at home because it made his wife mad. So instead of going to yoga, which he’d been doing every Tuesday night for years, he would go to the park and write. Especially now that it’s summer.”

     “That’s the stupidest thing I ever heard,” said Mrs. Carmichael. “What a lame-brain alibi. He said he was sitting in a park in San Francisco on a sweltering evening? Writing? Couldn’t he come up with anything better?”

     “Apparently not. And that’s the problem,” said Mrs. Noonan.

     Mrs. Honeycut added, “Either he did it and he can’t think fast enough or he didn’t do it and no one’s going to believe him.”

     “Wait a minute,” said Sarah. “How does he know no one saw him? Someone might have seen him.”

     “Nope. He told his mother that he can’t think when it’s noisy, so he finds the most deserted area of the park and sits there. He said he’s never seen anyone,” said Mrs. Gordon.

     “What a crock of a story,” said Mrs. Carmichael. “He did it. You’d think he could have thought up something better for a million dollars.”

     “That’s another thing,” Mrs. Honeycut said. “He claims he didn’t even know his wife had the insurance policy. Said it was through her work and she never told him. Nonetheless, he’s the beneficiary.”

     “Who else would have done it? Is there anyone else on the policy?” asked Sarah.

     “Just the boy. Ben,” said Mrs. Gordon.

     “No one else could have done it,” said Mrs. Honeycut. “The door wasn’t forced. There was no sign of a struggle. It’s not like she opened the door to a stranger at night.”

     “You heard what Julia said. Paul doesn’t lock the door when he goes to yoga. He said the lock makes a loud noise when it turns, so they keep the door unlocked so he won’t wake his wife in case she goes to sleep before he comes back,” said Mrs. Noonan. “It sounds preposterous, I know. But that’s what he told his mother.”

     “Oh, this gets better all the time,” said Mrs. Carmichael. “He left his wife and child in their unlocked home and went to sit in a park at night, and when he came back, he found his wife in a bloody pool in the kitchen. Is that correct?”

     “I know it doesn’t look good,” said Frances Noonan. “But remember, I know his family. You’ve all met Julia. Sarah, you met the man. He couldn’t have done this, could he?”

     Enid Carmichael watched Sarah intently. She was hesitating, that was for sure.

     “You must have formed some type of opinion,” Olivia Honeycut persisted, “some judgment of the situation.”

     Still the girl didn’t answer. How could she not have an opinion?

     “I only met them briefly,” she finally said. “I honestly believe that man loved his wife and was trying desperately to change her mind about leaving.”

     “Desperate.” Mrs. Carmichael latched on to the word. “What would a desperate man do?”

     The Fog Ladies all turned to Sarah.

     “I don’t know,” Sarah said. “I just don’t know.”

About Susan McCormick

Susan McCormick is a writer and doctor who lives in Seattle. She graduated from Smith College and George Washington University School of Medicine, with additional medical training in Washington, D.C. and San Francisco, where she lived in an elegant apartment building much like the one in the book. Susan served as a doctor in the U.S. Army for nine years before moving to the Pacific Northwest and civilian practice as a gastroenterologist. In addition to the Fog Ladies series, she also wrote Granny Can’t Remember Me, a lighthearted picture book about Alzheimer’s disease and dementia, and The Antidote, a timely middle grade medical fantasy released May 2021. She lives in Seattle with her husband and two sons. She loves giant dogs and has loved an English Mastiff, Earl, and two Newfoundlands, Edward and Albert.

Social media links - Website - Facebook - Twitter - Instagram - GoodReads - BookBub

  Purchase Links - Amazon - B&N

TOUR PARTICIPANTS

April 7 – I’m All About Books – SPOTLIGHT

April 7 – Novels Alive – GUEST POST

April 8 – Ascroft, eh? – CHARACTER INTERVIEW

April 8 – Maureen’s Musings – SPOTLIGHT

April 9 – Here’s How It Happened – CHARACTER INTERVIEW

April 9 – Thoughts in Progress – SPOTLIGHT

April 9 – Baroness’ Book Trove – REVIEW

April 10 – MJB Reviewer – SPOTLIGHT, EXCERPT

April 10 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – SPOTLIGHT

April 10 – FUONLYKNEW – SPOTLIGHT

April 11 – Literary Gold – SPOTLIGHT

April 12 – The Pulp and Mystery Shelf – SPOTLIGHT

April 12 – Ruff Drafts – SPOTLIGHT

April 13 – Mysteries with Character – AUTHOR INTERVIEW

April 13 – Sapphyria’s Book Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

April 14 – Celticlady’s Reviews – SPOTLIGHT, EXCERPT

April 14 – The Book’s the Thing – REVIEW

April 15 – I Read What You Write – GUEST POST

April 16 – BookishKelly2020 – SPOTLIGHT  

April 16 – ebook addicts – REVIEW 

  Have you signed up to be a Tour Host? 


      

The Deadening by Kerry Peresta Book Tour and Giveaway!

The Deadening by Kelly Peresta Banner

The Deadening

by Kerry Peresta

April 1-30, 2021 Tour

Synopsis:

The Deadening by Kerry Peresta

OLIVIA CALLAHAN’S quiet, orderly life is shattered when she regains consciousness in a hospital and discovers she is paralyzed and cannot remember a thing. The fragmented voices she hears around her help her piece together that an apparent assault landed her in the hospital, but nobody knows who attacked her, or why.

Now, in spite of a brain injury that has rewired her personality, Olivia is on a mission to reclaim her life. As clarity surfaces, and she starts to understand who she was, she is shocked.

Could she really have been that person?

And if so, does she want her old life back?

Praise:

“A gripping read populated by likable characters. Peresta draws us into a colorful detailed world and makes us care what happens to the people living in it. We root for Olivia as she struggles to regain her memory, her bearings, and the identity she lost long before her injury. Excellent!”
- Susan Crawford, Internationally bestselling author of The Pocket Wife and The Other Widow.

The Deadening is a captivating psychological suspense novel that will have you holding your breath with each turn of the page. Peresta has created a world chock-full of characters who are dynamic and unforgettable, for better or worse. Hold onto your seat.”
- Clay Stafford, bestselling author and founder of Killer Nashville Writers’ Conference

Book Details:

Genre: Psychological Suspense
Published by: Level Best Books
Publication Date: February 21, 2021
Number of Pages: 353
ISBN: 1953789358 (ISBN13:9781953789358) (ASIN:B08SVKLMZ8)
Series: Olivia Callahan Suspense, 1
Purchase Links: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Goodreads

Read an excerpt from The Deadening:

Prologue

The stiff bristles of the brush grew coppery as he scrubbed back and forth, back and forth. Wrinkling his nose at the smell, he groped for the mask he’d bought, looped it over his head, and snugged it into place.

He dipped the brush in the red-tinged solution in a blue, plastic bowl beside him on the floor, and continued scrubbing. Fifteen minutes later, he emptied the bowl down the toilet and shoved everything he’d used into a trash bag. He fought to staunch the bile creeping up his windpipe, but his throat constricted and he gagged. After retching into the sink, he turned on the faucet and splashed water on his face. Paused to take deep breaths. He could do this. He had to do this. He gripped the edge of the counter and stared out the bathroom window.

She’d not told anyone. Thank God for that. No one could know. No one would ever know. He’d make sure.

He walked to his garage, opened his car trunk, tossed in the latest trash bag. His hands felt icy. He rubbed them together, wiggled his fingers, and slammed the trunk shut.

Admittedly, her terror had excited him. Confusion. Dawning realization in her expression. His lips curved upward into a smile, then disintegrated. Reliving it didn’t change anything. He needed to move forward.

He returned and studied the carpet. In spite of his efforts, the stain still needed work. He cursed, dropped to his knees, and pounded the dampness with a fist.

Through a veil of fatigue, he watched in horror as the kidney-shaped stain stood and pointed an accusatory finger at him. He blinked, hard. Was he hallucinating? How long had he been without sleep? He crabbed backwards, leaned against the wall, pulled his knees to his chest and squeezed his eyes shut. When he opened them some moments later, the blood-apparition had disappeared.

He groaned.

He stared at the ceiling until his brain spit out a solution.

The problem lay in the other room. That’s how he looked at her now.

A problem to solve.

He rose from the floor and walked out.

His eyes slid from her pale face, down her form, to her feet. He no longer thought of her as warm, soft, desirable. She had been so scared…eyes wide and unblinking as she fell. He shook his head and pushed the image away.

Nesting her in towels so her blood wouldn’t pool on the couch, her bronze-sandaled feet with their shiny, pink toenails hung over the edge. He looked away. “Get a grip, man. Just do it.”

The towels fell away when he picked her up. He wound them back around her, careful to tuck in the edges. His heartbeat slammed his ribs.

She was fragile, a little bit of a thing, like a bird. He drew his index finger across her lips. “I’m sorry,” he whispered. “If you had just…if you had only…” His voice trailed away. Jaw clenched, he carried her to his car.

Chapter One

Nathan ambled along sidewalks that wound through the manicured hospital grounds, fishing in his pocket for a lighter. He lit the cigarette dangling from his lips and inhaled deeply, his smile saturated with nicotine’s unholy bliss.

“Thank God,” he mumbled around the cigarette, and withdrew it from his lips, stretching. He glanced over his shoulder at the brightly lit ER entrance to Mercy Hospital, rubbing his neck. He rolled his shoulders, inhaled several deep drags from the cigarette, dropped it, and ground it beneath his shoe. “These night shifts are killing me.” He groaned and gazed at the sky. Clouds hid a full moon. He’d been grateful to get the med tech job, but after two months of bodily fluid testing and storage, he was bored. He needed a challenge.

Nathan followed his typical route through the hedged lawn, almost on auto-pilot, so when he stumbled and sprawled onto the grass face-first, he was stunned. What had tripped him? Cursing softly, he explored his cheeks, nose, forehead. No damage done that he could tell. “Klutz,” he berated himself, pushing up to hands and knees.

Something soft and warm lay beneath his palms. His breathing sped up. He looked down, but it was too dark to see. Trembling, his fingers inched their way to lips, nose, eyes, stiff knots of hair. His mouth dropped in horror. The clouds obligingly slid off the moon and revealed a woman’s body, her hair blood-matted, her face ghostly white. The grass around her head was rusty with blood. He edged his head toward her lips to check her breathing. Shallow, but at least she was alive.

He scrambled to his feet, fighting nausea and staring at his palms, sticky with the woman’s blood. Shrieking for help, he raced into the hospital and skidded to a stop in front of the desk. The ER nurses behind the reception desk squinted at him like he was deranged.

“Possible head injury!” He flailed an arm at the entrance. “Someone, anyone, come quick!”

A male nurse and two aides followed him outside, shoes pounding the sidewalk at full gallop. The tech stopped, turned, and signaled them to tread carefully as they parted ways with the sidewalk and navigated the shrubbery in the dark. Single file, panting, they tiptoed through the shadows until the tech raised a palm for them to stop.

“Here,” he hissed at the nurse, and held a point like a bird dog.

The nurse dropped to the ground and clicked a flashlight on. “Ohmigosh,” he whispered. He lifted the woman’s thin, pale wrist and glanced at his watch. Satisfied that she had a pulse, he slapped the flashlight into Nathan’s bloodied palm. “Stay with her!” He rushed inside.

Within minutes, looky-loos poured from the ER and clustered around the limp form.

“Move back!” Nathan stretched out his arms like a cop directing traffic. “She’s barely breathing!” His glanced nervously at the ER entrance.

The crowd didn’t yield an inch. The ER doors whooshed open. A stretcher clattered down the sidewalk and onto the dew-damp grass. Chills shivered up the tech’s spine as the ashen pallor of death climbed from the woman’s neck to her face. He dropped to the ground and picked up her hand. The paramedic team drew closer, their flashlights piercing the darkness with slivers of light. The crowd eased apart to let them through.

Nathan bent closer to the woman, and whispered, “Hang in there. Help is on the way.”

The stretcher slid to a stop beside him. The paramedics dropped to their knees, stabilized the woman’s head with a brace, staunched the bleeding, and wrapped the wound. They eased her onto the stretcher and rumbled away. The aides shared nervous smiles of relief. They looked at Nathan, then followed the paramedic team back inside.

Nathan, his heartbeat finally slowing, called, “Thanks for the assist, guys!” as they walked away.

The crowd dispersed with curious glances at Nathan, who watched until the group disappeared behind the ER’s double glass doors. He heaved a sigh of relief and swiped perspiration off his forehead. He patted his scrubs pocket for a cigarette, reconsidered, and trotted toward the ER entrance.

After the automatic doors parted, he jogged past two closed-door exam rooms and paused at a third, wide open. He looked inside.

The paramedics shared their observations with the ER doctor on call as he deftly explored the woman’s wounds. When he finished, he nodded, barked instructions, and pointed at the bed. In seconds, the woman’s transfer from stretcher to bed was complete. One of the nurses whisked a blood pressure cuff around her arm. Another hooked an IV bag to a chrome stand, pierced the skin on the back of the woman’s hand, slid in a needle, and taped it down.

The tech stepped back from the door to allow the paramedics to exit. Holding his breath, he stole into the room and crept past a floor-to-ceiling supply cabinet. He planted both palms onto the smooth, white walls behind him and inched sideways, melting into the corner next to a shelf holding tongue depressors, a box of plastic gloves, and a sanitizer dispenser.

“Pulse one-fifteen.” The nurse studied the blood pressure cuff. “Blood pressure eight-five over fifty.”

“Need a trach,” the doctor barked. “She’s bleeding out. Get some O neg in here.”

A blur of motion, two nurses and the ER doctor huddled around the woman’s body. When they stepped back, a laryngoscope, an endotracheal tube, and four sticky electric nodes leading to a cardiac monitor had been secured.

The medical team stilled, their eyes riveted to the monitors. The nurses wore sage green scrubs. Both had pink stethoscopes around their necks. The ER doctor had on a crisp, white jacket with his name scripted in black on the pocket. Nathan fidgeted and stuck his head out from the corner a little to focus on the screens.

The readings sputtered, stalled, plummeted.

“Code Blue!” The doctor spun around. A nurse jumped to the wall and slapped a flat, white square on the wall.

“Code Blue!” echoed through the ER’s intercom system. Frantic footsteps in the hall. Shouted instructions. Clanging metal. Squealing wheels. Nathan squeezed farther into the corner as the cart bearing life-saving electronic shock equipment exploded through the door.

“Brain must be swelling,” the doctor mumbled. He grabbed two paddles and swiped them together. “Clear!”

The woman’s body jolted. The doctor’s head jerked to the cardiac monitor. Flat.

“Clear!” He placed the paddles on the woman’s chest.

Her frail torso arced. The machine blipped an erratic cadence, then droned a steady hum.

The doctor cursed. “Clear!”

Another jolt. The monitor surged, sagged, then settled into a reassuring metronome blip. Tense faces relaxed. Applause spattered around the room.

The doctor blew out a long breath. “Okay, people, good job.” He smiled.

Within minutes, more lines snaked from the woman’s form. An orogastric tube drooped from the corner of her mouth, behind the intubation tube. A lead to measure brain waves clung to her forehead. The doctor studied each monitor in turn. Nathan let out the breath he’d been holding, slid down the wall into a crouch, and balanced on the balls of his feet.

“Any additional instructions, Doctor Bradford?” Brows raised, the nurse waited.

He rubbed his head thoughtfully. “Think she’s stable for now. CAT scan already ordered?”

She nodded. “Of course.”

“Tell them to expedite.” He cocked his head at the woman. “May be a long night. Watch her closely.” The doctor strode to the door, paused, and turned. He glanced at the tech huddled in the corner. “Good job, son.”

Nathan grinned and rose from his crouch, his chest puffed out a little. He’d never saved a life before. After a sympathetic glance at Mercy Hospital’s latest Jane Doe, he returned to the lab.

***

Excerpt from The Deadening by Kerry Peresta. Copyright 2021 by Kerry Peresta. Reproduced with permission from Kerry Peresta. All rights reserved.

Author Bio:

Kerry L Peresta

Kerry’s publishing credits include a popular newspaper column, “The Lighter Side,” 2009-2011; and magazine articles in Local Life Magazine, The Bluffton Breeze, Lady Lowcountry, and Island Events Magazine. She is the author of two novels, The Hunting, women’s fiction, released by Pen-L Publishing in 2013, and The Deadening, released in February, 2021 by Level Best Books, the first in the Olivia Callahan Suspense series, She spent twenty-five years in advertising as an account manager, creative director, and copywriter. She is past chapter president of the Maryland Writers’ Association and a current member and presenter of Hilton Head Island Writers’ Network, and the Sisters in Crime organization. Recently, she worked as editor and contributor for Island Communications, a local publishing house. Kerry and her husband moved to Hilton Head six years ago. She is the mother of four adult children, and has a bunch of wonderful grandkids who keep life interesting and remind her what life is all about.

Catch Up With Kerry L Peresta:
KerryPeresta.net
Goodreads
Instagram - @kerryperesta
Twitter - @kerryperesta
Facebook - @klperesta

Tour Participants:

Visit these other great hosts on this tour for more great reviews, interviews, guest posts, and giveaways!

Giveaway!:

This is a rafflecopter giveaway hosted by Partners in Crime Virtual Book Tours for Kerry Peresta. There will be 1 winner of one (1) Amazon.com Gift Card.
The giveaway begins on April 1, 2021 and runs through May 2, 2021. Void where prohibited.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Get More Great Reads at Partners In Crime Virtual Book Tours

 

13 April, 2021

The Connection: Two Worlds. One Connection. by Dana Claire Book Tour and Giveaway!

Connection by Dana Claire
The Connection: Two Worlds. One Connection. by Dana Claire
 Publisher: Chamberlain Publishing House (December 11, 2020) 
Category: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Aliens, Romance 
Tour dates: March 12-April 16, 2021 
ISBN: 978-1792355530 
Available in Print and ebook, 280 pages
  The Connection

Description Connection by Dana Claire

Beatrice Walker thought she lived in a normal world—that is until she learned she’s a living hostel for an alien energy source, and apparently the answer to preventing extinction. Bea has no memory of her last moments with her mother. The week they’d gone missing is a complete mystery. Suddenly moved back to her hometown with her father, Bea has rekindled her friendship with her two best friends—and seems to have caught the attention of an arrogant, yet gorgeous boy named Cash Kingston. But there’s more to Cash than his annoying attitude and good looks. Cash isn’t human, and he’s now in charge of protecting Bea from those who know what she keeps safe inside her: the energy source that once belonged to his murdered girlfriend. Tensions mount as Bea learns her energy source must be paired with the one Cash holds to protect both their planets from an imminent threat. But what Bea doesn’t realize is there’s more to her than being human a host, that her feelings for Cash are not just a prophetic plan that will save their planets, and that the fate of everything lies in her choices.

  Excerpt Connection by Dana Claire From Chapter 12

Our eyes locked and I felt my eyes circle in my sockets. The atmosphere around us transformed. The electricity between us snapped and pulled like a rubber band. Wild and desperate hunger rushed through my veins until I was flooded with an inborn pull. Her lips parted as if she were about to speak, but words never came. We both stilled. The only noise came from our synchronized sharp intakes of breath.

She lifted her head closing the space between us. Misreading the situation, she kissed me.

I froze trying desperately not to give in to impulse. I hadn’t fed in weeks, and the aching thirst was palpable. With the limited power I had, I pulled a millimeter away. Her irises flickered, and a dark rainbow of colors peeked through the hazel hue, circling like prey around the white core. The source was running through her veins. Impossible! Freaking impossible.

Her lips found mine for the second time. Everything inside of me wanted to take from her. Needed to.

I pressed my mouth to hers, catching her bottom lip between mine and breathed ethereal energy in. I took and took. Our kiss deepened, and I took more. My mouth devoured her with a vengeance. Light flowed out of her and throughout me. I was getting stronger. Much stronger. I could take on an army with this much power. She pushed the source into me, harder than Sera ever did. I tightened my grip around her wrists. The rush of emotions igniting inside of me was maddening. Just as it felt right and natural, it was wrong and inconceivable. I wasn’t sure I could stop.

Then the bedroom door burst open and slammed against the wall, breaking the bond.

Review Connection by Dana Claire

Guest Review by Katy M. 
 Two worlds, one connection-- Beatrice Walker is a human girl, still emotionally tender from the accidental death of her mother, who just wants to live a normal life. Cash Kingston is a warrior from another planet who also recently lost someone. Now his only quest is to protect a girl that he barely knows. When Beatrice first meets Cash she is confused by his brusque nature and dazzled by his stunning good looks. Before long she realizes that they are inextricably linked in a way that she could not possibly have imagined. An adventure-filled novel with equal parts romance and sci-fi, 'The Connection: Two Worlds. One Connection,' is one of my favorite books of the year so far! Dana Claire's writing is superb and I loved the worlds that she created in this novel. The romance between Beatrice and Cash reminded me of some of the greatest love stories of all time. Initially, when they meet, they are wary of each other and maybe even outright hate each other. But there is still an immediate attraction to one another and slowly, over the course of the book they grow to trust and even love each other as they spend more time together. Although this is a YA novel, this could appeal to readers of any age and I highly recommend giving it a read even if you don't normally enjoy Young Adult books. This is the kind of book that will change your opinion on the genre entirely. The heart of this novel relies on something that we many of us will find familiar, the grief of losing someone and the idea of that love persevering. It's a touching message and it fits perfectly with the atmosphere of this novel. I can't wait to read the next
 books in this stunning series! 

  About Dana Claire
Connection by Dana Claire 
 Author, Dana Claire, believes that a good story is made through strong character development. When readers become attached to the characters’ emotional state and are invested in their objectives, the readers are there for the long haul backing the characters and their emotions. How cool is it to read a book and think about the characters long after you’ve read the last page? She believes that the beauty of reading is that one can live a hundred lives within the stories of books. If you’ve ever wondered what it would be like to be a vampire, slay a dragon, or use a time machine, there’s a book for that. 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DanaClaireBooks/

Buy Connection by Dana Claire

Amazon Barnes&Noble IndieBound

Giveaway Connection by Dana Claire

This giveaway is open to Canada and the U.S. only and ends on April 16, 2021 at midnight pacific. Entries are accepted via Rafflecopter only. 

  a Rafflecopter giveaway

Follow Connection by Dana Claire Tour

Teddy Rose Book Reviews Mar 15 Kickoff & Interview 
 Sal Bound 4 Escape Mar 16 Guest Review 
 Bee Book Pleasures Mar 17 Review 
 Gud Reader Goodreads Mar 18 Review 
 Jas International Book Promotion Mar 19 Review 
 Suzie My Tangled Skeins Book Reviews Mar 23 Guest Review & Excerpt Mark S.Teddy Rose Book Reviews Mar 24 Guest Review
 Lu Ann Rockin' Book Reviews Mar 25 Review & Guest Post
 Kimberly Amazon Mar 29 Review 
 Betty Toots Book Reviews Mar 30 Review & Interview 
 Lily Amazon Mar 31 Review Lisa's Writopia April 6 Review 
 Lisa's Writopia April 7 Guest Post
 DTChantel Amazon April 9 Review
 Ashley's Bookshelf April 12 Review 
 Katy Celticlady’s Reviews April 13 Guest Review & Excerpt 
 Linda Lu Goodreads April 14 Review
 Mindy A Room Without Books is Empty April 15 Review

  Connection by Dana Claire

Blitz by A.M. Williams Cover Reveal!

Join us for the cover reveal of Blitz by A.M. Williams. Fans who love Sports Romances will sink their teeth into this sexy, enemies to lovers romance. Keep scrolling for more details about this sexy cover. 

Title: Blitz

Author: A.M. Williams

Release Date: 5/11/2021

Genres:  Contemporary Romance, Sports Romance

Trope: Enemies to Lovers, Humorous Romance

One sexy football player. One sassy small town librarian.

Is there any hope for happily ever after?

Charlie

HEA? No way.

Jasper Sutton is the reason I watched my dream go up in smoke.

I don’t care that he’s ridiculously hot and the night we met was one of the best of my life. The fact that he’s also funny and easy to talk to means next to nothing. 

He tore all my hopes to shreds when he bought the old library to turn it into a gym.

I can’t forgive him. 

Jasper

Charlotte “Charlie” Drake is something else. And I don’t mean that as a compliment.

She might be gorgeous and sexy, but she’s also headstrong and stubborn.

I get it--I messed up. I didn’t have all the facts and took things too far.

But I’m crazy about her. She’s the only woman who looked past my name and reputation to see the real me. I want to prove to her that I’m serious, I’m sorry, and we could be good together.

What does it take to get over the ultimate fumble and still win the game?

Pre-Order on Amazon

Add to Goodreads Here! 

About A.M. Williams 

A.M. Williams is just a simple girl from the south that found herself living abroad. When she’s not annoying her cat or reading, she’s spending time with her husband and traveling as much as possible. She has a serious case of wanderlust and wants to go as many places as possible while she can. She loves Cheerwine, sweet tea, and North Carolina (eastern style) BBQ as well as those crystal clear waters on the North Carolina coast.

Follow: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Reader Group | Goodreads | BookBub | Website | Amazon 

Thunder on the Moor by Andrea Matthews Blog Tour ! @AMatthewsAuthor @maryanneyarde #timetravelromance



Book Title: Thunder on the Moor

Series: Thunder on the Moor - Book 1

Author: Andrea Matthews

Publication Date: 30th October 2019

Publisher: Inez M. Foster

Page Length: 430 Pages

Genre: Historical Romance / Time-Travel


Twitter : @AMatthewsAuthor @maryanneyarde

Instagram : @andreamatthewshistoricromance @coffeepotbookclub

Hashtags: #historicalromance #timetravelromance #borderreivers #CoffeePotBookClub


Thunder on the Moor

By Andrea Matthews

Maggie Armstrong grew up enchanted by her father’s tales of blood feuds and border raids. In fact, she could have easily fallen for the man portrayed in one particular image in his portrait collection. Yet when her father reveals he was himself an infamous Border reiver, she finds it a bit far-fetched—to say the least—especially when he announces his plans to return to his sixteenth century Scottish home with her in tow.


Suspecting it’s just his way of getting her to accompany him on yet another archaeological dig, Maggie agrees to the expedition, only to find herself transported four hundred and fifty years into the past. Though a bit disoriented at first, she discovers her father’s world to be every bit as exciting as his stories, particularly when she’s introduced to Ian Rutherford, the charming son of a neighboring laird. However, when her uncle announces her betrothal to Ian, Maggie’s twentieth-century sensibilities are outraged. She hardly even knows the man. But a refusal of his affections could ignite a blood feud.


Maggie’s worlds are colliding. Though she’s found the family she always wanted, the sixteenth century is a dangerous place. Betrayal, treachery, and a tragic murder have her questioning whether she should remain or try to make her way back to her own time.


To make matters worse, tensions escalate when she stumbles across Bonnie Will Foster, the dashing young man in her father’s portrait collection, only to learn he is a dreaded Englishman. But could he be the hero she’s always dreamed him to be? Or will his need for revenge against Ian shatter more than her heart?


This novel is available on #KindleUnlimited.


Amazon UK:

Amazon US: 

Amazon CA:

Amazon AU:

Barnes and Noble:    (paperback only)


 

Andrea Matthews is the pseudonym for Inez Foster, a historian and librarian who loves to read and write and search around for her roots, genealogical speaking. In fact, it was while doing some genealogical research that she stumbled across the history of the Border reivers. The idea for her first novel came to mind almost at once, gradually growing into the Thunder on the Moor series. And the rest, as they say, is history…

 

Website:

Twitter: 

Facebook:

Instagram: 

BookBub: 

Amazon Author Page: 

Goodreads:





AddToAny

Pin it!

Google Adsense

Google Analytics

Please Share!

Printfriendly

View My Stats!

View My Stats

Pageviews past week

SNIPPET_HTML_V2.TXT

Feedburner

Tweet