16 June, 2021

His Moonflower by TK Cherry Book Release Tour!

Adam and Everly have both experienced their fair share of love and heartbreak, but when the two find themselves consumed by the other, the differences between the two are a constant reminder of how they don’t fit. For these two, is age just a number, or will it be the downfall of a well-deserved happily ever after? Readers will devour this silver fox romance featuring one sexy older dad next door. Fall in love with your next book boyfriend with His Moonflower by TK Cherry, the next book in the Single Dad’s Romance series. 

Read Now!

ADAM

At forty-three, I've experienced my fair share of love and even betrayal. 

That very same heartbreak gave me the gift of two adolescent boys, and I owe it to them to be a good example. 

But the proverbial girl next door has captured my attention and has me craving things I shouldn't want. Not with Everly. It’s almost shameful how much of my headspace is consumed by someone half my age. 

EVERLY

I may be young, but I'm no stranger to failed relationships and heartbreak. In fact, the last time I fell in love, it almost killed me.

But everything about Adam, the sexy and much older man next door, draws me in. I don't care that he's nearly twice my age or that he has two young sons. I would do just about anything to make him mine.

Can I convince him that age is just a number, or will he shut me out because he's also my uncle's good friend?

Add to Goodreads!

Excerpt 

Copyright 2021 TK Cherry

Medical school might've been a more practical option for me over business school because I'm a very sick man. I should be in therapy, or maybe even prison, for all the despicable thoughts consuming me over the past three years.

Why does she leave the blinds wide open like that at night?

Doesn't she know I can see right inside her bedroom?

I spot the white wireless earbuds tucked into Everly's ears, revealing the reason her upper body sways silently as she folds laundry on the bed. She's dressed in nothing but a borderline translucent white camisole and teeny, pale blue panties. The shadows of dark circles up top and the plump skin teasing me from between her crossed legs below makes me wild inside. Suddenly, she takes a break from folding, rises, and starts dancing on the floor.

Sweet mother of…

It's a seductive expression of a sound that only she hears. I wish I knew what she was dancing to. For now, my imagination plays "I Touch Myself" by Divinyls in order to occupy the quiet space on my side of the window and drown out my breathing. Even though the song playing inside my head gives the perfect tempo for her sexy little shimmy, something dawns on me.

She wasn't even born when that song came out.

Shit! Close the fucking window, Holt!

My insides are shouting at me like the viewing audience warning a woman not to trudge through the woods in a horror film. But like her, I don't listen. I don't know what it will take for me to stop obsessing over this young girl next door—rather, young woman. But still… She's young.

I'm old enough to be her father.

Will Dan have to kick my ass?

Having my bedroom window facing hers surpasses cruel and unusual punishment. I could choose to sleep in a different bedroom. I could also stop peeking through the blinds at night, stealing glimpses of her magnificent body. Instead, I'm like an alcoholic taking refuge in a wine cellar. She is Aphrodite, and I'm a eunuch being seduced by her nightly. Touching Everly is simply out of the question.

How old is she now? Twenty-one?

No matter… She's way too young for me.

I've seen young guys from the neighborhood flocking there over the years, mainly to flirt with her and her cousin, Renchel. For me, Everly was the one who always stood out. She's beautiful, with distinct features that became more refined as she got older. For the life of me, I don't understand why boys aren't breaking down her door.

About TK Cherry

You can take the girl out of Detroit, but you’ll never take Detroit out of this girl.

For TK Cherry, it’s pop—not soda, and Tim Hortons over everything else.

Born and raised in The Motor City, TK now enjoys little or no winters in the Carolinas. By day, she’s a spreadsheet whiz and frequent flyer. By night, she lives for keeping her loyal readers on the edge of their seats with steamy tales of happily ever after.

Follow: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | BookBub | Website | Newsletter | Amazon | Pinterest | Book and Main Bites |

Check out this fabulous giveaway from Author TK Cherry!

Enter to win a signed paperback & a $10 Amazon eGift card

Contest ends Tuesday, June 22nd at midnight ET

http://bit.ly/hismoongiveaway

About the Single Dad’s Romance Series

Seven single dads, all from different walks of life and doing the best they can to raise their children - are ready to make you fall in love. 

From the celebrity dad just trying to protect the ones he loves from the spotlight...to the silver fox who's out to prove it's never too late to have a family of your own - this single dads collection guarantees to bring you a whole lot of love and of course, a happily ever after. 

Look no further, your next book boyfriend is here!

Follow the @IndiePenPR FB Page for all the Single Dad's news: https://www.facebook.com/IndiePenPR

This promotional event is brought to you by Indie Pen PR

Murder, She Wrote: Killing in a Koi Pond by Jessica Fletcher & Terrie Farley Moran Book Tour and Giveaway!

Murder, She Wrote: Killing in a Koi Pond by Jessica Fletcher & Terrie Farley Moran

About Murder, She Wrote: Killing in a Koi Pond

 

Murder, She Wrote: Killing in a Koi Pond 

Cozy Mystery 53rd in Series 

Publisher: Berkley (June 8, 2021)

Hardcover: 288 pages 

ISBN-10: 0593333594 

ISBN-13: 978-0593333594 

Digital ASIN: B08FH8NM6R

When a friend’s husband dies while Jessica Fletcher is in town visiting, Jessica’s vacation turns into a murder investigation in this latest entry in the long-running USA Today bestselling series.

 

After traveling to Bethesda for a mystery writers’ conference, Jessica Fletcher decides she’s earned a vacation and takes a train to Columbia, South Carolina, to visit her old college friend Dolores, who has recently married her third husband, Willis Nickens, a wealthy and cutthroat businessman. They’ve moved into an opulent historic home with plenty of space for guests, and Jessica is ready for a week of shopping, gossiping, and relaxing at the grand estate.

 

But the morning after she arrives, Jessica discovers Willis facedown in the koi pond, and despite what the police think, she’s sure foul play is involved. She hadn’t known Willis long, but it’s clear to her that he didn’t concern himself with making friends. The question isn’t if her friend’s husband was murdered but by whom.

 

About the Authors

Jessica Fletcher is a bestselling mystery writer who has a knack for stumbling upon real-life mysteries in her various travels.

Terrie Farley Moran is the author of Murder She Wrote: Killing in a Koi Pond, the latest in the long-running Jessica Fletcher series, to be followed in autumn 2021 by Murder She Wrote: Debonair in Death. She has also written the beachside Read 'Em and Eat cozy mystery series and is co-author of Laura Childs’ New Orleans scrapbooking mysteries. Her short stories have been published in numerous magazines and anthologies. Terrie is a recipient of both the Agatha and the Derringer awards.

Terrie's Links 
  Purchase Links 



TOUR PARTICIPANTS
June 7 – Novels Alive – AUTHOR INTERVIEW
June 7 – Baroness' Book Trove – REVIEW
June 8 – Literary Gold - SPOTLIGHT
June 8 – The Editing Pen – REVIEW
June 9 – FUONLYKNEW – SPOTLIGHT
June 9 – Lisa Ks Book Reviews – REVIEW
June 10 – Thoughts in Progress – SPOTLIGHT
June 10 – Christy's Cozy Corners – REVIEW
June 11 – Books to the Ceiling - REVIEW, CHARACTER INTERVIEW
June 11 – MJB Reviewers – SPOTLIGHT
June 12 – Laura's Interests – REVIEW
June 12 – Sapphyria's Book Reviews - SPOTLIGHT
June 13 – Cozy Up With Kathy – REVIEW
June 14 – Socrates Book Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
June 14 – I Read What You Write – REVIEW
June 15 – Mysteries with Character – AUTHOR INTERVIEW
June 15 – The Book's the Thing – REVIEW
June 16 – Celticlady's Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
June 16 – Reading, Writing & Stitch-Metic – SPOTLIGHT
June 17 – Maureen's Musings – SPOTLIGHT
June 17 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – SPOTLIGHT
June 18 – Diane Reviews Books – REVIEW
June 18 – Author Elena Taylor's Blog – REVIEW
June 19 – Brooke Blogs - SPOTLIGHT
June 19 – Here's How It Happened – REVIEW
June 20 – BookishKelly2020 – SPOTLIGHT   

  Have you signed up to be a Tour Host? Click Here to Find Details and Sign Up Today!

15 June, 2021

Verity by Colleen Hoover Review!

Lowen Ashleigh is a struggling writer on the brink of financial ruin when she accepts the job offer of a lifetime. Jeremy Crawford, husband of bestselling author Verity Crawford, has hired Lowen to complete the remaining books in a successful series his injured wife is unable to finish.

Lowen arrives at the Crawford home, ready to sort through years of Verity's notes and outlines, hoping to find enough material to get her started. What Lowen doesn't expect to uncover in the chaotic office is an unfinished autobiography Verity never intended for anyone to read. Page after page of bone-chilling admissions, including Verity's recollection of what really happened the day her daughter died.


Lowen decides to keep the manuscript hidden from Jeremy, knowing its contents would devastate the already grieving father. But as Lowen's feelings for Jeremy begin to intensify, she recognizes all the ways she could benefit if he were to read his wife's words. After all, no matter how devoted Jeremy is to his injured wife, a truth this horrifying would make it impossible for him to continue to love her.

A standalone romantic thriller from #1 New York Times bestselling author Colleen Hoover.


My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Lowen Ashleigh is a struggling writer, with financial difficulties who gets an offer of a lifetime for her. Jason Crawford, who's wife is an author, is looking for someone to finish his wife, Verity's books. Verity is a successful author who had been in a car accident and is bed ridden.
Jason lives in this huge house along with his son. Jason and Verity had had twin daughters who died in separate incidences. Jason is of course grief stricken at their loss.

Lowen accepts the job, not sure if she is up to the task but decides to try to finish the remaining books. She moves into their home and starts doing research to help her get an idea as to what she is writing. She stumbles across an autobiography of sorts and becomes immersed in the story of how Jason and Verity met, their lives together, the death of their daughters. There are some things in the diary that have Lowen horror stricken. To describe anymore would give away the story.

Verity just one of those stories you don't want to end. Plus you never see the ending coming. I love psychological thrillers and this is right up there with the best.
I had never read a Colleen Hoover book, I know this won't be the last.

View all my reviews

The Poison Keeper By Deborah Swift Blog Tour! @swiftstory @maryanneyarde #CoffeePotBookClub

 



Book Title: The Poison Keeper 

Author: Deborah Swift

Publication Date: 18th May 2021

Publisher: Quire Books

Page Length: 394 Pages

Genre: Historical Fiction

Twitter Handle: @swiftstory @maryanneyarde

Instagram Handless: @deborahswiftauthor @coffeepotbookclub

Hashtags: #HistoricalFiction #Renaissance #Italian #BlogTour #CoffeePotBookClub

The Poison Keeper 

By Deborah Swift

Naples 1633

Aqua Tofana – One drop to heal. Three drops to kill.


Giulia Tofana longs for more responsibility in her mother’s apothecary business, but Mamma has always been secretive and refuses to tell Giulia the hidden keys to her success. When Mamma is arrested for the poisoning of the powerful Duke de Verdi, Giulia is shocked to uncover the darker side of her trade.


Giulia must run for her life, and escapes to Naples, under the shadow of Mount Vesuvius, to the home of her Aunt Isabetta, a famous courtesan. But when Giulia hears that her mother has been executed, and the cruel manner of her death, she swears she will wreak revenge on the Duke de Verdi.


The trouble is, Naples is in the grip of Domenico, the Duke’s brother, who controls the city with the ‘Camorra’, the mafia. Worse, her Aunt Isabetta, under Domenico’s thrall, insists that she should be consort to him – the brother of the man she has vowed to kill.


Based on the legendary life of Giulia Tofana, this is a story of hidden family secrets, and how even the darkest desires can be vanquished by courage and love.


‘Her characters so real they linger in the mind long after the book is back on the shelf’ Historical Novel Society


Buy Links:

Is your book on Kindle Unlimited?  Yes

Universal Link (if you have it): mybook.to/PoisonKeeper

Amazon UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B0928WPHMH

Amazon US: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0928WPHMH

Amazon CA: https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B0928WPHMH


Amazon AU: https://www.amazon.com.au/dp/B0928WPHMH


The Poison Keeper by Deborah Swift  Extract

From Chapter 2


The ship berthed in Naples early, so when they arrived it was just after dawn, the sun still a pinkish blur, hanging low in an egg-blue sky. Giulia was awed by Mount Vesuvius, which was almost purple in this light. It stood motionless and benign, as if no fiery breath could spurt from its jaws, even though it had erupted less than eighteen months ago, raining torment on everything below. Today, Naples was bustling with traders, despite the fact the whole city could be buried tomorrow under red-hot lava if the fire god willed it. 


Giulia drank it all in, her head turning from side to side so as not to miss any detail. Cats strolled from the alleys to stretch out on the warm flagstones, horses and carts trundled lazily by with workers on their way to the wheatfields. 


Sister Simona marched them through the narrow streets with their tall shuttered houses, with a ‘Keep up. Keep up!’ to her gaggle of followers. Sister Teresa and Sister Marthe were painfully slow walkers. ‘It’s near Il Mercato,’ Sister Simona said, after a quarter hour of walking, her cheeks flushed with exertion. ‘An area of wealthy merchants. There are many beautiful palazzi close to the market. Your aunt must be a wealthy woman.’


‘I don’t know,’ Giulia said. ‘I’ve never met her.’


Sister Simona glanced at her two companions, and frowned. ‘Then we will come and meet this aunt of yours,’ she said.


After a little more walking, and pleas from Sister Marthe, ‘Please, slow down!’ they came to a stop outside a long avenue of houses fronting the square, where traders were already beginning to set up for market. 


 ‘Is this the one?’ Giulia asked, surprised. They were standing before a lofty white stone villa, with high arched windows and a balcony with an ornate ‘goose-breast’ balustrade. A sign in curvaceous script read, ‘Villa Bianca’.


 ‘Imp…imposing.’ Sister Marthe was so breathless it was the only word she could manage. 


Up two stone steps to a vast double door, with a cartouche above carved with twining leaves, and urns of overblown flowers and fruit. It seemed so strange to arrive anywhere without Mamma. Giulia was intensely aware of her lack of proper luggage; that no-one had dressed her hair, and that despite her rich gown, now somewhat crumpled, she was to all intents a beggar on the doorstep. It was intimidating. She took a breath, took hold of the heavy brass ring and knocked on the door. 


No answer. The house remained shuttered. Sister Simona pushed past her to knock again, harder, but when there was no answer, she tried the door. It was open. ‘Come along.’


The nuns escorted Giulia inside, into a dark hallway. Marble underfoot, and gilded paneling. It was shuttered, but a heavy scent of perfume, like the pungent scent of lilies, hung in the air. Giulia breathed it in. So different from the sharp smell of physic at home. 


‘Excuse me,’ called Sister Simona into the echoing hall. ‘Is anyone there?’


Buongiorno?’ Giulia called, louder.


Suddenly they were surrounded. Servants, obviously come straight from their beds, appeared bearing candles and lanterns.


‘What do you want?’ A tight-faced serving woman wearing a plain cambric nightshift, her hair in a long braid under a cap, stood barring their way, her hand curled around a candle. She was obviously the housekeeper in charge.


‘Beg pardon, but we are seeking Isabetta Boveri,’ Giulia said, smiling hopefully. ‘She’s my aunt.’


The servants looked at her askance. ‘Too early. She sees no-one before noon,’ the housekeeper said. 


‘Then we’ll wait.’ Sister Marthe, glad of the excuse, plumped down on the only chair in the hall.


‘All of you?’ The housekeeper looked down her nose at the nuns.


Giulia turned to Sister Simona. ‘There’s really no need for you to wait. You’ve been more than kind.’


At that moment a door clicked open upstairs, and a woman’s imperious voice came down. ‘Can’t a woman get any sleep? What’s all that noise? Alessa! What in the devil’s going on?’


‘Your niece, mistress. She’s here in the hall.’


‘Niece?’ the voice said. ‘Don’t talk nonsense. I have no niece. My family disowned me, twenty-five years since.’


A stab of alarm. Would she be turned away? The nuns looked to each other, frowning.


A moment later a woman rushed down the stairs in a flurry of yellow silk, causing the candles to waver in the draught. Sister Simona gaped and the other nuns took a step back.


‘Where is this niece?’ The woman, a taller, thinner version of her mother, looked from Giulia to the sisters. ‘And who on earth thought it a clever idea to admit these nuns?’


‘Pardon us,’ Sister Simona said. She stood up calmly, her shoulders braced. Anyone else would have wilted under the flashing eyes of the new arrival. ‘Are you Signora Boveri?’


‘Of course I’m Isabetta Boveri. How dare you wake me at this hour?’


 ‘My apologies for the intrusion,’ Sister Simona said, ‘We are leaving, as soon as we make sure Giulia is safe. Her mother left her to travel alone.’ 


‘So like Theofania,’ Aunt Isabetta said. ‘No consideration for anyone else.’


Giulia stepped forward. ‘I’m Theofania’s daughter, Giulia. I’m glad to meet you. I’ve heard a lot about you.’ A lie, but she was anxious to make a good impression.


 Aunt Isabetta’s face froze. She looked her up and down, her voice came out in a whisper, ‘But that’s impossible. You can’t be Giulia. Giulia’s a child.’


‘Not any more, Aunt Isabetta. I’m twenty three.’


‘No. Let me look at you.’ She stared at her face as if she might see through it. ‘Yes, yes, you have our look,’ she said, as if to reassure herself. ‘The same widow’s peak in the hair, the same pointed chin.’


‘Aunt Isabetta, I’m sorry we could not give you more notice of my arrival in Naples, but Mamma said you’d be glad to give me a place to stay.’


 ‘She sent you here?’ She shook her head. Then she turned and paced, a frown on her face. ‘But she never wanted us to meet, she said… oh, never mind what she said.’


She was slimmer than Mamma, and her face was painted in the style of a woman much younger, though the wrinkles round her eyes showed her age to be past forty. Her opulent dressing-robe was made up of swathes of yellow-dyed silk, the sleeves trimmed with gold point, and the neck tied in an elaborate bow. Beneath, she caught a glimpse of a lawn nightgown, and a garter but no stocking. Giulia stared. Aunt Isabetta was wearing jewellery to bed.


‘Why?’ Isabetta asked. ‘Why would she send you to me after all this time?’




Author Bio:


Deborah Swift lives in the north of England and is a USA Today bestselling author who has written fourteen historical novels to date. Her first novel, The Lady’s Slipper, set in 17th Century England, was shortlisted for the Impress Prize, and her WW2 novel Past Encounters was a BookViral Millennium Award winner. 


Deborah enjoys writing about ordinary people thrust into extraordinary circumstances, and most of her novels have been published in reading group editions. She holds an MA in Creative Writing from Lancaster University and is a mentor with The History Quill.

 

Social Media Links:

Website: www.deborahswift.com

Twitter: https://twitter.com/swiftstory

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/authordeborahswift/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/deborahswiftauthor

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.co.uk/deborahswift1/

Book Bub: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/deborah-swift

Amazon Author Page: http://author.to/DeborahSwift

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/3297217.Deborah_Swift




14 June, 2021

City of Deadly Dreams: Mystery by Elyse Douglas

City of Deadly Dreams by Elyse Douglas
City of Deadly Dreams: Mystery by Elyse Douglas
 Publisher:  Broadback (May 1, 2021) 
Category: Hard-Boiled Mystery, Private Investigator Mystery 
Tour dates: May 31-June 30, 2021 
ISBN: TBA Available in ebook,  250 pages
  City of Deadly Dreams

Description City of Deadly Dreams by Elyse Douglas

Dane Cooper, an NYC Hell's Kitchen private detective, is hired by a Tennessee man to find his handsome, 20-year-old son named Elvis, who has been missing for several months. Though hesitant at first, Dane takes the case because he needs the money.  Dane soon learns that the case centers around a beautiful, mysterious blonde, named Darcy. Against his better judgment, he falls for her, believing she might lead him to Elvis.  Her dangerous secrets trouble him, and he realizes he can’t trust her. Dane’s investigation turns deadly when he learns that Elvis has left a trail of pregnant young girls, unhappy husbands, and vengeful women.  Dane becomes a target as he struggles to find Elvis and save him from the killers who are closing in. Can Dane save Elvis and himself, or will Darcy's secrets get them all killed?

View Trailer City of Deadly Dreams by Elyse Douglas


Praise Daring Summer by Elyse Douglas “Daring Summer by Elyse Douglas is a well-crafted tale that will keep you reading as you need to know the outcome. This story aptly epitomizes the saying by Confucius, ‘’before you embark on a journey of revenge, dig two graves’’. An interesting cast of characters that helped to drive the plot. It was fun getting to know each of them. Their thoughts and the events that drove their actions stood out making it easy to connect to them. Daring Summer was an interesting and riveting read. I enjoyed the courtroom drama and loved how the events in that regard that unfolded. The story delivered a perfect blend of romance and suspense. The story had depth and was well developed.”-Nadene

Totally Addicted To Reading “Oooo romantic AND suspenseful! A very exciting, emotional, twisty, and a little scary story line. The thing is. You really do know "who done it" kind of right from the beginning. But, even with that knowing - Did I have doubts? yep. Did I want to believe it might be someone else? well... kind of. And I just kept wondering - Are they going to catch him? Wait... wasn't it him? Maybe. All those twists and turns is what makes this a great book and loads of fun to read. Seriously, right up until the end I was unsure if they were going to be able to prove it! It ended up being one of my favorite books of the year!”-Wall-To-Wall Books 

 “Daring Summer is a very well written book.  Although you pretty much know how it’s going to end the author still manages to keep you thoroughly captivated. The characters are well developed and interesting. Overall I really enjoyed this book. 5 Stars”- J. George

Amazon: Vine Voice “Emotional, exciting, sexual, and suspenseful! Exceptional characters that will have you on the edge of your seat and best of all the ending is one that you will never see coming.  A great read any time of the year, just be sure to make time because you will not be able to put this down.”-Dee, Donadee’s
Corner 

  About Elyse Douglas

City of Deadly Dreams by Elyse Douglas 
 Elyse Douglas is the pen name for the married writing team Elyse Parmentier and Douglas Pennington. Elyse grew up near the sea, roaming the beaches, reading and writing stories and poetry, receiving a master’s degree in English Literature.  She has enjoyed careers as an English teacher, an actress and a speech-language pathologist. Douglas has worked as a graphic designer, a corporate manager and an equities trader.  He attended the Cincinnati College Conservatory of Music and played the piano professionally for many years. 

 Website: www.elysedouglas.com 

Buy City of Deadly Dreams by Elyse Douglas Amazon 

5-10 things you didn’t know about ‘The City of Deadly Dreams’

Elyse Douglas

I’d spent part of the night fantasizing about the two of us strolling quiet beaches in the Caribbean, sipping wine in some bamboo hut, under quiet palms, with the rasp of the sea in our ears.  The nights were cool, the bed ready, the lovemaking a never-too-much tangle of play and pleasure.  I’d spent the other part of the night wanting Darcy out of my apartment and out of my life.” — Dane CooperCity of Deadly Dreams

There was always a surprise waiting for us while we were writing the City of Deadly Dreams.  First, it was a new genre for us, but one we wanted to explore.  We normally write time travel novels, women’s fiction and romantic Christmas novels.  So, the first thing we didn’t know was who was Dane Cooper, the private detective.  He was loosely based on a New York City detective we’d met some years ago.

Another unknown was why Darcy-Lynn Roberts, the woman Dane falls for, decided to travel with Dane when she knew he’d learn her dangerous secrets.

Although we knew New York City would be the setting for the novel, we didn’t know if we should include Covid-19 in the story.  

Abner Lipps, the man who hires Dane to locate his missing son, Elvis, was also a mystery.  He was hiding something and, at first, we weren’t sure what that was.  Dane finally uncovers it.

Darcy-Lynn is a tortured character with many secrets.  We didn’t know why she’d be fired as a schoolteacher, and when Dane found out, the book took off.

During his investigation, Dane travels to Las Vegas and meets with an upscale mobster who wants to destroy Abner Lipps and kill his son.  We did know that this mobster would play an important role in the plot near the end of the book.

Dane knows Darcy is lying to him.  Can he keep his jealousy from ruining the investigation?  We weren’t sure.

Near the end of the book, Dane confronts an antagonist who is out to kill him.  We didn’t know how he’d escape, and we didn’t know who the mystery man was when he suddenly appeared.  Should Dane run, fight or shoot?  We didn’t know.  Dane figured it out.

We didn’t know Dane had a sense of humor… 

Paul scratched his nose and slanted me a look.  “What are you sellin’, Cooper?”

I shrugged.  “Goodwill among fathers?” 

Paul coughed a laugh.  “Do I look like I have any goodwill?”

“Well, my mother used to say that we all have potential,” I said.

“You don’t look like the type who always listened to your mother. Look at the business you’re in.   Low and dirty.”

“She still thinks there’s hope for me.”

—Excerpt from City of Deadly Dreams

City of Deadly Dreams by Elyse Douglas

Guest Review by Linda Lu

Reminiscent of some of the most classic detective mysteries of the 20th century, 'City of Deadly Dreams: A Mystery,' by Elyse Douglas plunges the reader right into the action from the very first page. 

Immediately you are brought into the world of Dane Cooper, a private detective and former policeman with a stinging wit and a grudge against the world. Cooper lost his wife and daughter in a car accident years before the beginning of the novel, and that loss led him to down some very dark roads. 

At the beginning of the novel, he is visited by a man who has similarly lost a child, although this loss is more literal. Abner Lipps asks Cooper to help him find his son, Elvis. Elvis was given the same name as The King of Rock and Roll because of the fact that he was conceived at Graceland. Eventually his parents grew to believe that their son was the actual reincarnated embodiment of Elvis Presley. 

Surprisingly, this is not the only weird thing in the life of young Elvis Lipps. At the age of 20, Elvis went missing somewhere in New York City. Hence the visit to Cooper. Cooper doesn't buy the story about reincarnation, but he does want to help the Lipps' find their son and he needs the money, so he agrees to take the case. 

Of course, not everything is as it seems with Elvis Lipps' life, and soon Cooper learns about a few indiscretions that may have caused the young man to either disappear or be killed by someone who wasn't too happy with him. 

This was a great mystery, with an interesting style that kept me guessing from start to finish. I love Elyse Douglas' (who are actually a husband and wife team named Elyse and Douglas) writing and their prose always takes me by surprise. This is one that you won't want to put down! 

Giveaway City of Deadly Dreams by Elyse Douglas 
 This giveaway is for 1 print copy to 2 winners. It is open to the U.S. only and ends on July 1, 2021,midnight pacific time. Entries are accepted via Rafflecopter only.


Follow City of Deadly Dreams by Elyse Douglas Tour 

  City of Deadly Dreams Web Tour Schedule

Teddy Rose Book Reviews Plus May 31 Kickoff & Interview

Carole C. Amazon June 1 Review

Lu Ann Rockin' Book Reviews June 2 Guest Post

Dee Donadees Corner June 3 Review

Betty Toots Book Reviews June 4 Review & Guest Post

DT Chantel Amazon June 7 Review

Avonna Loves Genres June 9 Review & Excerpt

Katy Bound 4 Escape June 10 Guest Review

Teddy Rose Book Reviews Plus June 11 Review

Laura Lee Celticlady's Reviews  June 14 Guest Review & Guest Post

Becky Life as Rog June 15 Review

Amanda My Tangled Skeins Book Reviews June 17 Guest Review & Excerpt

Denise D. Amazon June 21 Review

Wendy Wall-to-wall books June 22 Review

Nadene Totally Addicted to Reading June 23 Review & Excerpt

GudReader Goodreads June 25 Review

Bee Book Pleasures June 28 Review & Interview

Amy Locks, Hooks and Books June 30 Review

 City of Deadly Dreams by Elyse Douglas

AddToAny

Pin it!

Google Adsense

Google Analytics

Please Share!

Printfriendly

View My Stats!

View My Stats

Pageviews past week

SNIPPET_HTML_V2.TXT

Feedburner

Tweet