26 February, 2020

Shattered (Of Light and Blood Book 2) by Melissa Lummis!

Shattered (Of Light and Blood Book 2)

He surrendered his soul to the Devil. She’s the only one who can get it back. More than a century ago, Christian Harris gave up everything in a last desperate attempt to finally have the revenge that had consumed him. The vampire that turned him promised him wealth, power, and the revenge he most wanted. But Christian found no satisfaction in his final triumph, and he wanted nothing more than to disappear into the depths of darkness and forget everything he hadn’t done right-- and everyone he couldn’t save. But when he's brought before his Master and sent on a mission to seduce Heather Macgregor, he finds himself captive to the untrained red-headed witch who wakes him to buried longings and something he never expected: hope. In her bed he finds passion without boundaries and in her heart, redemption. But Heather also unwittingly provides him with the key to his Master’s obsession, the Light Walker Loti Dupree. Now a pawn in a dangerous game, Christian must make an impossible choice: save the one who saved his soul and condemn the World to darkness or save the world and forever lose the only love he’s ever known. **Fans of the reverse harem genre will love this polyamorous contemporary romance**
  Grab on Amazon and in Kindle Unlimited

Paranormal Romance and Fantasy author Melissa Lummis lives in the mountains of Virginia with her husband and two kids who are her support system and constant inspiration. When she's not manifesting with the moon or mixing up magic, you can find her cloistered in her Yurt diving into her fantasy world to craft supernatural heart-stopping and heart-warming adventures for her characters. For Magical Tips and more, follow Melissa on Facebook/
Join her group Melissa's Mages / Instagram Grab this free book when you join her newsletter!

The Nutcracker Conspiracy, The Thorny Rose Mystery Book Tour by Lauren Carr and Giveaway! @TheMysteryLadiand @iReadBookTours #TheNutcrackerConspiracy #ThornyRoseMystery


Join us for this tour from Jan 20 to Feb 28!

"Lauren Carr's books are never boring, that's for sure. They entertain, give us a good mystery to dig into, keep the reader guessing, give us a few good laughs and make us eager for the next book. Warning: Lauren Carr's series are addictive, so be ready to read more than just one book!" - Review by Laura Fabiani, Library of Clean Reads

"Lauren Carr has yet gone it again with another great mystery. I am so loving this series and can't wait for more. I know have to read more of Lauren's books. She is a very talented writer." Review by Stacey Schneller of Books, Dreams, Life. 

"Mysteries, murder, danger, and memories that threatens their lives keeps the action and suspense at a high level and even when the answers are found, it left me wanting more." - Review by Sherry Fundin of Fundinmental




Book Details:

Book Title: A Fine Year for Murder by Lauren Carr
Series: Thorny Rose Mystery Series (Volume 2)
Category:  Adult fiction, 374 pages
Genre:  Murder Mystery
Publisher:  Acorn Book Services
Release date:  January, 2017
Content Rating: PG (mild violence and sexual suggestion)




Book Description:
After ten months of marital bliss, Jessica Faraday and Murphy Thornton are still discovering and adjusting to their life together. Settled in their new home, everything appears to be perfect … except in the middle of the night when, in the darkest shadows of her subconscious, a deep secret from Jessica’s past creeps to the surface to make her strike out at Murphy.

When investigative journalist Dallas Walker tells the couple about her latest case, known as the Pine Bridge Massacre, they realize Jessica may have witnessed the murder of a family while visiting family at the winery near-by, and suppressed the memory.

Determined to uncover the truth and find justice for the murder victims, Jessica and Murphy return to the scene of the crime with Dallas Walker, a spunky bull-headed Texan. Can this family reunion bring closure for a community touched by tragedy or will this prickly get-together bring an end to the Thorny Rose couple?

 Buy the Book:
Amazon ~ Audible
Add to Goodreads


 Check out these other great Thorny Rose Mysteries::

"Lauren Carr's books are never boring, that's for sure. They entertain, give us a good mystery to dig into, keep the reader guessing, give us a few good laughs and make us eager for the next book. Warning: Lauren Carr's series are addictive, so be ready to read more than just one book!"  Review by Laura Fabiani, Library of Clean Reads


Book Description:

Three years ago, the nation gasped in horror when the President of the United States barely escaped an assassination attempt that left two dead—the vice president’s wife and the attempted assassin.  Even after numerous investigations proved otherwise, conspiracy theorists argue that the assassin was acting on orders from the CIA, FBI, and every federal agency within a hundred miles of the capital.

Aspiring Author Dean Conway is the last person Lieutenant Commander Murphy Thornton wants to spend his Saturday afternoon when they end up at the same wedding reception table. While their wives tend to bridesmaid duties, Murphy is trapped listening to Dean’s latest work-in-project—completing the manuscript of an investigative journalist who’d disappeared months earlier.

“She was number twelve,” Dean says.

“Twelve?” Murphy asks.

“Twelve witnesses connected to or investigating The Nutcracker shooting have died either in an accident or suicide.”

Two days later, Dean dies suddenly―but not before sending a text message to Murphy:

 “13”

Get Best-Selling New Thorny Rose Mystery Available Now!
Buy the Book:
Amazon.com 

Add to Goodreads



"The plot was well thought out and there were no loose ends at the end. The story was fast paced to keep my attention easily. The book is a treat to a reader who loves a mix of genres in their reads. It has the right amount of romance, mystery, action and thrill to keep me satisfied from the start to the end." - Reviewer: The Travelogue of a Book Addict


Book Description:

Five women with seemingly nothing in common are found brutally murdered in a townhome outside Washington, DC. Among the many questions surrounding the massacre is what had brought these apparent strangers together only to be killed.

Taking on his first official murder case, Lieutenant Murphy Thornton, USN, believes that if he can uncover the thread connecting the victims, then he can find their murderer.

The case takes an unexpected turn when Murphy discovers that one of the victims has a connection to his stepmother, Homicide Detective Cameron Gates. One wintry night, over a dozen years before, her first husband, a Pennsylvania State trooper, had been run down while working a night shift on the turnpike.

In this first installment of the Thorny Rose Mysteries, the Lovers in Crime join newlyweds Murphy Thornton and Jessica Faraday to shift through a web of lies and cover-ups. Together, can the detectives of the Thorny Rose uncover the truth without falling victim to a cunning killer?
 Buy the Book:
Amazon ~ Audible
Add to Goodreads


Murder by Perfection is a wonderful read and a perfect to escape from the challenges of a busy day. Danger, intrigue, humor, and love all take their turn in this tale which will keep you reading into the wee hours." Review by Marilyn R. Wilson, Olio by Marilyn

Book Description:

Beware: Perfection has a dark side!

Frustrated with their busy schedules, Murphy Thornton and Jessica Faraday attempt to find togetherness by scheduling a weekly date night. The last thing Jessica Faraday expected for her date night was to take a couple’s gourmet cooking course at the Stepford Kitchen Studio, owned by Chef Natalie Stepford―the model of perfection in looks, home, and business.

When Natalie ends up dead and Murphy goes missing, the Thorny Rose detectives must peel back the layers of Natalie Stepford’s life to discover that the pursuit of perfection can be deadly.

Buy the Book:
Amazon
Add to Goodreads

Meet the Author:

Lauren Carr is the international best-selling author of the Mac Faraday, Lovers in Crime, Chris Matheson Cold Case, and Thorny Rose Mysteries—over twenty-five titles across three fast-paced mystery series filled with twists and turns!

Book reviewers and readers alike rave about how Lauren Carr’s seamlessly crosses genres to include mystery, suspense, crime fiction, police procedurals, romance, and humor.

A popular speaker, Lauren is also the owner of Acorn Book Service, the umbrella under which falls iRead Book Tours. She lives with her husband and two spoiled rotten German Shepherds on a mountain in Harpers Ferry, WV.

Connect with the author: Website  ~  Twitter  ~  Facebook  ~  Instagram

My Review
This is a review of the Nutcracker Conspiracy by Lauren Carr and done for iRead Book Tours.
What is the book about? 
"Three years ago, the nation gasped in horror when the President of the United States barely escaped an assassination attempt that left two dead—the vice president’s wife and the attempted assassin.  Even after numerous investigations proved otherwise, conspiracy theorists argue that the assassin was acting on orders from the CIA, FBI, and every federal agency within a hundred miles of the capital."
What did I like about the book?
I love a good mystery/thriller/murder mystery book. This book had all the elements of a good murder mystery. Good strong characters, although an awful lot of them. At times it was confusing to keep up with who is who. The setting was mostly in Washington DC and the author told the mystery in a very convincing way. You never expect who the bad guy is and it is unexpected. I also liked that one of the characters is dog Gnarly. At first, I thought it was a person.
What I didn't like about the book?
The only thing I can think of is the number of characters. I did like that the author put in the front of the book a cast of characters. That really helped.
Do I recommend this book?
I most certainly do. I give it 4 stars! I loved the book and I highly recommend it if you like a good suspenseful story that leaves you satisfied at the end.

I received a copy of this book for review purposes only.





Tour Schedule:

Jan 20 – Library of Clean Reads – book review of The Nutcracker Conspiracy / author interview / giveaway
Jan 20 - Working Mommy Journal – book review of The Nutcracker Conspiracy / giveaway
Jan 20 - StoreyBook Reviews – book spotlight of The Nutcracker Conspiracy / author interview / giveaway
Jan 20 - #redhead.with.book – book spotlight of The Nutcracker Conspiracy / giveaway
Jan 20 - redpillows - book spotlight / guest post
Jan 21 - My Reading Journeys – book review of The Nutcracker Conspiracy / author interview / giveaway
Jan 21 - Rockin' Book Reviews – series spotlight / giveaway
Jan 22 - Jypsylynn – book review of The Nutcracker Conspiracy
Jan 22 - eBook Addicts – series spotlight / giveaway
Jan 23 - Olio by Marilyn – book review of The Nutcracker Conspiracy / giveaway
Jan 23 – Leels Loves Books – book review of A Fine Year for Murder
Jan 24 - Bookmark and fork  - book spotlight of The Nutcracker Conspiracy / guest post / giveaway
Jan 27 - Christa Reads and Writes – book review of Murder by Perfection
Jan 28 - Bound 4 Escape – book review of The Nutcracker Conspiracy / giveaway
Jan 29 - 411 on Books, Authors, and Publishing News – book spotlight of The Nutcracker Conspiracy / guest post / giveaway
Jan 30 - Library of Clean Reads – series spotlight / giveaway
Jan 30 - Locks, Hooks and Books – book review of Kill and Run / giveaway
Jan 30 - 411 on Books, Authors, and Publishing News – series spotlight / author interview / giveaway
Jan 31 - fundinmental – series spotlight / giveaway
Jan 31 - redpillows - series spotlight
Feb 3 - b for bookreview – book spotlight of The Nutcracker Conspiracy
Feb 3 - Cassidy's Bookshelves – book review of the Nutcracker Conspiracy / giveaway
Feb 4 - Christa Reads and Writes – book review of the Nutcracker Conspiracy
Feb 4 - Blooming with Books - book spotlight / giveaway
Feb 5 - Leels Loves Books – book review of Murder by Perfection
Feb 5 - Celticlady's Reviews – series spotlight / giveaway
Feb 6 - Dab of Darkness Book Reviews – book spotlight of The Nutcracker Conspiracy / author interview / giveaway
Feb 7 - Rockin' Book Reviews – book review of The Nutcracker Conspiracy / guest post / giveaway
Feb 7 - Book Corner News and Reviews – book review of Murder by Perfection
Feb 10 - Book Corner News and Reviews – book review of The Nutcracker Conspiracy
Feb 11 - Laura`s Interests – book review of The Nutcracker Conspiracy / guest post / giveaway
Feb 11 - eBook Addicts - book spotlight of The Nutcracker Conspiracy / giveaway
Feb 12 – FUONLYKNEW – book review of The Nutcracker Conspiracy / giveaway
Feb 12 - Leels Loves Books – book review of The Nutcracker Conspiracy
Feb 13 - Casia's Corner – book review of Kill and Run
Feb 13 - I'm All About Books – book spotlight / guest post / giveaway
Feb 14 - Pause for Tales – book review of The Nutcracker Conspiracy
Feb 17 - Locks, Hooks and Books – book review of A Fine Year for Murder / giveaway
Feb 18 - Bookmark and fork  - series spotlight / giveaway
Feb 19 - JBronder Book Reviews – book review of The Nutcracker Conspiracy / guest post / giveaway
Feb 19 - Literary Flits – book spotlight of The Nutcracker Conspiracy / giveaway
Feb 20 - Svetlana's reads and views – book review of The Nutcracker Conspiracy
Feb 21 - Divas With A Purpose – book review of The Nutcracker Conspiracy / guest post
Feb 24 - Laura`s Interests – series spotlight / giveaway
Feb 24 - My Devotional Thoughts – series spotlight
Feb 25 - Peaceful Pastime – book review of The Nutcracker Conspiracy / giveaway
Feb 25 - Svetlana's reads and views – series spotlight
Feb 26 - Mystery Suspense Reviews – book spotlight of the Nutcracker Conspiracy / author interview
Feb 26 - Celticlady's Reviews – book review of The Nutcracker Conspiracy / guest post / giveaway
Feb 26 - Locks, Hooks and Books – book review of The Nutcracker Conspiracy / guest post / giveaway
Feb 26 –fundinmental – book review of The Nutcracker Conspiracy / giveaway
Feb 27 - My Devotional Thoughts – book review / author interview / giveaway
Feb 27 - Read and Review - book spotlight / guest post / giveaway
Feb 28 - Nighttime Reading Center – book review of The Nutcracker Conspiracy / giveaway
Feb 28 - Casia's Corner – book review of The Nutcracker Conspiracy
Feb 28 - Adventurous Jessy – book review of the Nutcracker Conspiracy / giveaway
Enter the Giveaway:

 

The Story Pirates Quest for the Crystal Crown Book Giveaway!

Sponsored By: Sugar Mountain PR

Hosted By: Love, Mrs. Mommy

Winner Will Receive: 

The Story Pirates Present: Quest for the Crystal Crown Book!

by Annabeth Bondor-Stone and Connor White, Illustrated by Joe Todd Stanton;
available on February 11, 2020. Middle Grade (8-12)

A hidden lost world. A powerful crystal crown. This gripping fantasy adventure (inspired by a real kid’s idea) doubles as a creative writing guide for young authors.
The Story An enchanted arrow pierces the wall of Hillview–the city is under attack! Years ago, a powerful crystal crown was stolen from a group of magic-wielders called Lysors. Lacking the crown’s protection, the Lysors hid themselves behind the city walls, shut off from the rest of the world. But with danger upon them once more, can Laura, a spunky girl with a knack for adventure, journey outside Hillview...and reclaim the crystal crown?
About The Story Pirates The Story Pirates are a group of top comedians, musicians, best-selling authors, and world- class teachers who partner with schools to help tens of thousands of kids write original stories. Then they adapt these kids’ stories into a critically acclaimed series of books, a sold-out national tour, award-winning albums featuring guest artists like Lin-Manuel Miranda, and the #1 podcast for kids and families. The Story Pirates Creator Club offers subscribers a host of exclusive gifts, insider offers (such as advance book purchases) and a limited-edition magazine featuring kid- created content. Story Pirates Changemakers, the non-profit arm of the organization, have brought life-changing literacy programs to more than 500,000 students around the country. Visit Storypirates.org to learn more about Changemakers. StoryPirates.com features the latest news about the Creator Club, podcast, music, books, and performances.

You can purchase this book on Amazon, Target, Walmart, Barnes and Noble, and other fine retailers!

Sugar Mountain PR is a public relations agency specializing in award-winning music and other media for children.
Open To US and must be 18+ to enter
Giveaway Dates ~ 2/26 9:00 AM EST through 3/26 11:59PM EST

Disclosure: Love, Mrs. Mommy and all participating bloggers are not held responsible for sponsors who do not fulfill their prize obligations. This giveaway is in no way endorsed or sponsored by Facebook or any other social media site. The winner will be randomly drawn by Giveaway Tools and will be notified by email. Winner has 48 hours to reply before a replacement winner will be drawn. If you would like to participate in an event like this please contact LoveMrsMommy (at) gmail (dot) com.

25 February, 2020

The Smallest Crack by Roberta Kagan Book Tour and Giveaway! #HolocaustStorySeries #RobertaKagan #historicalfiction #histfic #HFVBTBlogTours #giveaway

The Smallest Crack by Roberta Kagan

Publication Date: July 1, 2019
Paperback & eBook; 321 Pages
Series: The Holocaust Story Series, Book One
Genre: Historical Fiction
1933 Berlin, Germany The son of a rebbe, Eli Kaetzel, and his beautiful but timid wife, Rebecca, find themselves in danger as Hitler rises to power. Eli knows that their only chance for survival may lie in the hands of Gretchen, a spirited Aryan girl. However, the forbidden and dangerous friendship between Eli and Gretchen has been a secret until now. Because, for Eli, if it is discovered that he has been keeping company with a woman other than his wife it will bring shame to him and his family. For Gretchen her friendship with a Jew is forbidden by law and could cost her, her life.

Available on Amazon

The Darkest Canyon by Roberta Kagan

Publication Date: October 5, 2019
Paperback & eBook; 341 Pages
Series: The Holocaust Story Series, Book One
Genre: Historical Fiction
Nazi Germany. Gretchen Schmidt has a secret life. She is in love with a married Jewish man. She is hiding him while his wife is posing as an Aryan woman. Her best friend Hilde, who unbeknownst to Gretchen is a sociopath, is working as a guard at Ravensbruck concentration camp. If Hilde discovers Gretchen’s secret will their friendship be strong enough to keep Gretchen safe? Or will Hilde fall under the spell of the Nazi’s and turn her in her best friend to the Gestapo? The Darkest Canyon is terrifying ride along the edge of a canyon in the dark of night.

Available on Amazon

Millions of Pebbles by Roberta Kagan

Publication Date: December 27, 2019
Paperback & eBook; 320 Pages
Series: The Holocaust Story Series, Book One
Genre: Historical Fiction
Benjamin Rabinowitz’s life is shattered as he watches his wife, Lila, and his son, Moishe, leave to escape the Lodz ghetto. He is conflicted because he knows this is their best chance of survival, but he asks himself, will he ever see them again? Ilsa Guhr has a troubled childhood, but as she comes of age, she learns that her beauty and sexuality give her the power to get what she wants. But she craves an even greater power. As the Nazis take control of Germany, she sees an opportunity to gain everything she’s ever desired. Fate will weave a web that will bring these two unlikely people into each other’s lives.

Available on Amazon

About the Author

I am a USA Today Best Selling Author of Historical Jewish Fiction mainly set during World War 2. My father was Romany and my mother was Jewish, When I was very young I learned about the Holocaust. I couldn't understand how something like this could happen. So, I began to research and learn more. I met with survivors. I even met with children and grandchildren of SS officers. But I still had no answers. I cannot say that I have all of the answers to all of my questions even now. But what I do know is that soon all of the survivors will be gone. Their message must be remembered, the sacrifices that they made must not be forgotten. And so I humbly and with the utmost humility, I try to tell their stories. It is painful, but I must convey the darkness and horror of the time, however, I also want the world to know and celebrate the unsung heroes. Because there were many ordinary people who acted in heroic ways. I realize that writing these books is a great responsibility. I pray every day that I am able to do this correctly. I am trying to reach out and touch many people, not with the message of the horrors but with the promise of hope. I thank you from the bottom of my heart for considering my work. It is an honor that I never take lightly.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

Book Blast Schedule

Monday, February 17 Passages to the Past
Tuesday, February 18 Words and Peace
Wednesday, February 19 Clarissa Reads it All
Thursday, February 20 Broken Teepee Gwendalyn's Books
Friday, February 21 Reading is My Remedy
Saturday, February 22 Chicks, Rogues, and Scandals
Monday, February 24 YA, It's Lit
Tuesday, February 25 CelticLady's Reviews
Wednesday, February 26 Books, Dreams, Life
Thursday, February 27 Books In Their Natural Habitat

Giveaway

During the Blog Tour, we are giving away 10 ebooks of The Smallest Crack! To enter, please use the Gleam form below. Giveaway Rules – Giveaway ends at 11:59 pm EST on February 27th. You must be 18 or older to enter. – Giveaway is open to the US only. – Only one entry per household. – All giveaway entrants agree to be honest and not cheat the systems; any suspicion of fraud will be decided upon by blog/site owner and the sponsor, and entrants may be disqualified at our discretion. – The winner has 48 hours to claim prize or a new winner is chosen.

24 February, 2020

Bonbon Voyage (Adventures of Gladys) by Katherine H. Brown Book Tour and Giveaway!!


Bonbon Voyage (Adventures of Gladys) by Katherine H. Brown

About Bonbon Voyage

 
Bonbon Voyage (Adventures of Gladys) Cozy Mystery Novella 1st in Series
Independently published (December 31, 2019)
Paperback: 213 pages
ISBN-10: 1653633166
ISBN-13: 978-1653633166
Digital Print Length: 129 pages
ASIN: B083BZLF22
Gladys gets more than she bargains for when she climbs aboard her first cruise and witnesses a murder. Armed with wigs and wits alone, she determines to get to the bottom of things. This cozy mystery is a spinoff from the Ooey Gooey Bakery Mystery series.

About Katherine H. Brown

Katherine H. Brown is from the tiny community of New York, Texas. Booklover (some might say book addict) and weaver of words, Katherine desired to be a writer from childhood, embarked on her first publishing adventure in 2017, and in 2019 said audios to her cozy office job to leap into a career as an author full-time.
When not found between the pages of a book or tapping keys on her laptop, Katherine loves to watch baking shows with her stepdaughter or cuddle up with her husband Patrick. Katherine and family prepare to welcome a new baby girl into the family in March 2020.

Author Links
Facebook
 Author Page
Website
Instagram
Goodreads
BookBub
Amazon Author Page

Purchase Link: Amazon 


TOUR PARTICIPANTS
February 21 – Brooke Blogs – CHARACTER GUEST POST, GIVEAWAY
February 21 – Christy's Cozy Corners – REVIEW
February 22 – This Is My Truth Now – AUTHOR INTERVIEW February 22 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – GUEST POST February 23 – A Wytch's Book Review Blog - REVIEW, CHARACTER INTERVIEW February 24 – Celticlady's Reviews – SPOTLIGHT February 24 – T's Stuff – SPOTLIGHT
February 25 – Ruff Drafts – SPOTLIGHT
February 25 – The Book Decoder - REVIEW, CHARACTER INTERVIEW
February 26 – Ascroft, eh? – GUEST POST
February 26 – Lisa Ks Book Reviews – AUTHOR INTERVIEW February 27 – I'm All About Books – SPOTLIGHT
February 27 – Christa Reads and Writes – SPOTLIGHT
February 28 – eBook Addicts – REVIEW
February 28 – Here's How It Happened – REVIEW
February 29 - Laura`s Interests - REVIEW
February 29 - MJB Reviewers – SPOTLIGHT, GIVEAWAY
March 1 – Cozy Up With Kathy – CHARACTER GUEST POST

Have you signed up to be a Tour Host? Click Here Find Details and Sign Up Today!
 

22 February, 2020

Promise for Tomorrow by Michelle De Bruin Grand Finale Blitz! #PFTPrism

On Tour with Prism Book Tours

We hope you enjoyed the tour! If you missed any of the stops
you'll find snippets, as well as the link to each full post, below:

Launch - Author Interview

What was your motivation behind Promise for Tomorrow? Why did you want to write it?

My motivation was to tell a story based on actual events that happened in my family. This book is dedicated to my parents. They had to make the difficult decision, just like the hero did in this story, to sell the family’s farm ground. I witnessed their sense of loss and also their triumph in the years following the sale as they remained steady in their faith and true in their relationships. I wanted to write the story because I detected much potential for the sharing of testimony to the power of faith.


"This is a great story with a sweet romance. It has plenty of heartache and hardships as well as positive uplifting situations in the story. . . . I recommend this book to others who like a good romance."


A fragment of memory returned. “Karen.”

She glanced up with a question in her eyes.

“When I woke up a few minutes ago, what did I say to you?”

She blushed. “You called me an angel.”

“Then I wasn’t seeing things.” His hazy mind was finally catching up to his vision. “I said that because of how you look right now.”


"There were a few places were the book was a bit slow but, I enjoyed the plot twists. I enjoyed the part where the kids were playing pranks with each other even though, I felt for Karen."


"Promise for Tomorrow is the first book I have read by Michelle DeBruin. . . . After reading this, I realize she has a great talent at storytelling. . . . I highly recommend it for readers who enjoy clean historical fiction."

Heidi Reads... - Interview

What message would you like readers to ultimately take away from the book?

I would like readers to take away from my book the message that faith wins. Every day. All the time. This is true because God is faithful, and he carries us through trouble to the beautiful plans that he has dreamed up for our lives. When everything seems to be going wrong, or things don’t turn out the way we expect them to, we can still rest in the promises God has made to us because he will deliver and work his plan in our lives in his own good time.


"Promise for tomorrow is the second book in the series. I did not read the first book. This book is written as a stand-alone, but I would still recommend reading the first book. I plan on reading . . . Hope for Tomorrow."

Wishful Endings - Guest Post

The Top Ten Facts to Know About the Series and Characters

1. The character of Karen Millerson, the heroine, is based on my grandmother, Elizabeth Van Zante. She grew up during the 1920’s and then accomplished the completion of her college education during the depression, earning her bachelor’s degree in math and Latin. She went on to teach math at two different high schools before marrying my grandfather in 1947. . .

Pause for Tales - Review

"If you are looking for a sweet romance on the prairie look no further than Promise for Tomorrow. . . . Through it all however, Karen and Logan did make a great team. Especially all that was thrown their way. Their story made for an enjoyable read to pass the time with."


After a few moments Mama murmured, “Oh, my goodness.” Her gaze returned to him. Joy radiated on her face. “You’ve gone and fallen in love with our own dear, sweet Karen, haven’t you?”

Logan bit his lip. Never in his wildest dreams did he see things coming to this. Mama really should mind her own business more often.

“This is tremendous!”

Apparently no answer form him meant a “yes” in his household.


"I love a clean, sweet romance with obstacles that the characters must overcome and this one has plenty of obstacles and plenty of faith to get through the hard times. . . . There are characters I rooted for and some others who just annoyed me but in this book I always wanted Karen and Logan to live their best possible live because they deserved it after everything they went through."

Kimber Li - Guest Post

The Inspiration and Research for Promise for Tomorrow

*
The inspiration for this book, and for the entire Tomorrow series begins with the creation of the heroine of the story, Karen Millerson, who is a schoolteacher. She is from Chicago and has the training to teach English at a high school level. This character is based on my grandmother, Elizabeth Van Zante. She grew up during the 1920’s and then accomplished the completion of her college education during the depression, earning her a bachelor’s degree in math and Latin. She went on to teach math at two different high schools before marrying my grandfather in 1947. . .


"What a wonderful book full of faith. Michelle D Bruin has a delightful way with words that truly warms the heart. . . . If you love historical romances with a Christian background, then don't miss this amazing book. You'll find yourself lifted up as you read without even realizing it. Beautifully written Michelle!"

I'm Into Books - Guest Post

Top Ten Tips in Teaching at a Country School and Running a Dairy Farm

This list is based on the real-life experiences of the heroine and hero of the Tomorrow series, Karen Millerson and Logan De Witt.

Young women receiving their training to teach school should understand that they can only teach as single women. Marriage means the end of a career. This is because school administrators want to encourage married women to set a high priority on their own homes and families. . .


"Despite having not read the first book, I was able to get right into this one. . . . This reminded me of a more grown-up version of “Little House on The Prairie”, which is probably why I really enjoyed it. . . . Beautiful, inspiring, and timeless are just some of the words to describe this book. The cover is simple, colorful, and just gorgeous. It drew me in as if in advertising a place to stay at the farm."


What is your favorite genre to read? What about that genre draws you?

My favorite genre to read is also the genre I write in, Christian Historical Fiction. I’m drawn to this genre by the things I learn about a historical era or setting, as well as by the layers of spiritual truth written into the story. Christian fiction serves as an effective tool to demonstrate how faith shapes us and how God works in a person’s life.


"If you’re looking for a clean romance with a strong Christian theme, Promise for Tomorrow is a sweet choice. It’s not a complicated story, and the characters pride themselves on living a simple life. . . . I appreciated how the characters praised God for the positive in every situation, no matter how bleak the day looked. If you’ve read Amish fiction before, this book has a similar vibe."

Don't forget to enter the giveaway at the end of this post...

Promise for Tomorrow
By Michelle De Bruin
Christian Historical Romance
Paperback & ebook, 290 Pages
November 19th 2019 by Mantle Rock Publishing

Living a life of faith isn’t going the way Logan and Karen hoped until some special visitors arrive and offer them their future back.

Karen Millerson dreamed of teaching high school but now finds herself boarding with a farm family and teaching country school. She is engaged to marry Logan De Witt and is getting prepared to share in ministry with him. But when she gets blamed for the tragic fire at the school, Karen’s future grows uncertain.

Logan De Witt is working to clear his family’s name with the bank. But when he breaks his leg, hindering his ability to work the farm, Logan is faced with life-changing decisions. When his best friend can’t offer the help he requested, can Logan find a way to care for his family and court Karen at the same time before his love for her destroys all of them?

(Affiliate links included.)

Other Books in the Series

Hope for Tomorrow
By Michelle De Bruin
Christian Historical Romance
Paperback & ebook, 294 Pages
October 23rd 2018 by Mantle Rock Publishing LLC

When Logan De Witt learns of his father’s sudden death, he returns home to the family’s dairy farm. During his stay, he discovers his mother’s struggle with finances and his younger sister’s struggle with grief. Concern for his family presses Logan to make the difficult decision to leave his career as a pastor and stay on the farm. As a way to make some extra money, he agrees to board the teacher for their local school.

Karen Millerson arrives from Chicago ready to teach high school but her position is eliminated so she accepts the role of country school teacher. Eager to put her family’s ugly past behind her, Karen begins a new career to replace the trust she lost in her own father who had been in ministry when she was a child.

Logan and Karen both sense a call from the Lord to serve him, but neither of them expected that one day they would do it together.

Can Karen learn to trust again? Will Logan lay aside his grief in exchange for God’s purpose for his life?

(Affiliate links included.)

About the Author


Michelle De Bruin lives in Iowa with her husband and two teenage sons. She has a bachelor’s degree in Religion with a Christian Ministry emphasis, and in Music. Michelle is the spiritual services provider for an organization that offers services for people with mental and physical disabilities. She has been a member of American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW) since 2015. Michelle writes inspirational historical romance about people who live in rural communities. Characters that bring to life the delights of farm and small-town living, whispers of Dutch heritage, and Christian faith make Michelle’s stories distinct. A romantic at heart, Michelle is always on the lookout for glimpses of God’s love through the window of a good story. Her first book, Hope for Tomorrow, released in 2018. The sequel, Promise for Tomorrow, released November 2019.


Tour Giveaway


One winner will receive a signed print copy of Promise for Tomorrow, chocolates, and a winter-themed quilted table runner (US only)
Ends February 26, 2020

Grab Our Button!

Headlong by Shannon McKenna Book Blitz and Giveaway!


Headlong
Shannon McKenna
(The Hellbound Brotherhood, #2)
Publication date: February 21st 2020
Genres: Adult, Romance, Thriller
They were never supposed to leave alive…Find out why New York Times bestseller Maya Banks hails McKenna’s books as “A non-stop thrill ride…”
Only one woman could tempt him to return…
Eric Trask and his brothers have turned their backs on their past. Only their beloved foster father’s funeral could drag them back to the small town of Shaw’s Crossing. Eric is haunted by the memory of GodsAcre, the doomsday cult in the mountains where they were raised and the deadly fire that destroyed it, but one memory still shines bright…Demi Vaughan. Her lush, sexy mouth, her stunning green eyes. Their hot fling seven years ago crashed and burned in the worst possible way, and she’s still mortally pissed at him…and more gorgeous than ever.
Second chances…
Demi Vaughan did her best to forget Eric Trask. They told her from the start that he was a train wreck, and she hadn’t listened. He’d broken her heart and derailed her life, and she’d be damned if she’d let him do it again, now that she’d followed her dream and opened her own restaurant. But the years that passed have only turned Eric into a more concentrated version of what he’d always been—a flint-eyed, brutally ambitious, hyper-focused alpha male hunk. Just taller. Harder. As intoxicating as hell.
Demi tries to withstand Eric’s magnetic pull, but she can’t resist the all-consuming heat between them. But an old evil still lies low in Shaw’s Crossing, and Eric’s arrival has shocked it back into life.
Now it’s not just their hearts that are in danger. It’s their lives… 
AUTHOR’S NOTE: Headlong, Book Two of The Hellbound Brotherhood, is the continuing story of Demi and Eric. It began in Hellion, Book One, and picks up their story seven years later. The other titles in The Hellbound Brotherhood are part of a connected series, but each book features its own couple and its own HEA.
EXCERPT:
After, he found himself staring into her eyes. Naked and exposed. Everything he felt, written on his face. Blazing out of him in fucking neon.
Feelings she didn’t want him to have. Hopes she didn’t want to encourage. He was hers. Body and soul, whether she wanted him or not. It was a done deal. On his part.
But he couldn’t say it. Couldn’t offer it. He’d promised.
He pulled out of her and turned away, to hide his face. This was the danger spot, the no-go zone, every damn time. After they had sex, he just couldn’t fake it anymore.
He grabbed his jeans, pulled them on. “Bathroom’s down the hall,” he muttered, without looking at her. “Towels in the cabinet. Help yourself.”
“Eric?” She sounded worried.
He gritted his teeth through the pain in his shoulder as he tugged his shirt back on and grabbed the Glock off the nightstand. “I’ll go downstairs. Make some coffee.”
“Hey!” Her voice was sharp. “Eric! What the hell is the matter with you?”
He stopped, his hand on the doorframe. He started to say something stupid and ill-considered and true, but swallowed the dangerous words back. Then tried again.
“Just trying to play by the rules,” he said. “I suck at it, that’s all. See you downstairs.”
He splashed his face and hands, but what he saw in the mirror over the bathroom sink was too much for him. Soap and water wouldn’t wash that look off his face.


Author Bio:
Shannon McKenna is the NYT bestselling author of more than seventeen action packed, turbocharged romantic thrillers, among which are the stories of the wildly popular McCloud series and her scorching new series, The Obsidian Files—rip-roaring romantic suspense with a sci-fi twist. She loves tough and heroic alpha males, heroines with the brains and guts to match them, villains who challenge them to their utmost, adventure, scorching sensuality, and most of all, the redemptive power of true love.
Since she was small, she has loved abandoning herself to the magic of a good book, and her fond childhood fantasy was that writing would be just like that, but with the added benefit of being able to take credit for the story at the end. Alas, the alchemy of writing turned out to be messier than she’d ever dreamed. But what the hell, she loves it anyway, and hopes that readers enjoy the results of her alchemical experiments.

XBTBanner1

21 February, 2020

The Neighbor by Lorhainne Eckhart Book Tour and Giveaway! @LEckhart


The Neighbor
Lorhainne Eckhart
(The O’Connells, #1)
Publication date: January 31st 2020
Genres: Adult, Romance, Suspense
After the devastating loss of her husband, Jenny Sweetgrass packs up her teenage daughter, Alison, and moves to Livingston, Montana, hoping for a fresh start—that is, until Ryan O’Connell knocks on her door.
Park ranger Ryan is one of the six O’Connell siblings in Livingston, raised by an independent mom who has been a rock to him. He has a career he loves, and up until six weeks ago, he lived a comfortable life. When a new neighbor moves in and disturbs the quiet peace of the area, bringing with her a daughter who’s walking trouble, Ryan is shocked to discover that the woman is a one-night stand he picked up at a bar years ago.
Right now, the gorgeous Jenny isn’t too interested in making friends, but despite her cool façade, as Ryan gets to know her, he can’t fight an idiotic need to try to ease the pain he sees her trying to hide. At the same time, he knows deep down that both mother and daughter have a secret, and if he were smart, he would listen to his brother’s warning and walk away.
When Alison goes missing, everyone in town believes she simply ran off or found her way into trouble, but nothing about her disappearance adds up. She simply set out on an afternoon hike into the park and never came back.
Jenny soon learns she’s not alone when Ryan takes matters into his own hands and sets off with her into the park to find her daughter. What he doesn’t know is that Alison is actually his daughter, too, and when he learns the truth and the real reason she left, the secret could end up dividing the O’Connell family and the community.

EXCERPT:
“Well, this has been fun,” she said. “Are you done pointing out my shortcomings, or maybe you have a few more digs you’d like to add?”
He didn’t smile this time, but his gaze seemed intense, hard. “So you bought this and moved in a few weeks ago. Just you and your daughter live here? You didn’t say last night if there was a husband, boyfriend, significant other in the picture or any other kids.”
She hadn’t bought the house, but she wasn’t about to share that with Ryan. “As I said, it’s just me and my daughter.” Something about kneeling in front of a man didn’t work for her, so she brushed her hands together to wipe off some non-existent dirt, pressed them to the grass, scooted her feet around, and stood up.
Ryan didn’t even step back. Just the scent of him made her angry, because it was too appealing. She let her arms hang to her sides even when he allowed his gaze to skim over her. It was intimate and egotistical and indecent, as if he thought looking at her was his God-given right. His arms were crossed over that amazing chest, which she’d felt skin to skin just one time.
“Your daughter…” he started, and she knew he was waiting for her to step in.
“You mean Alison? Yes, my daughter.” She fisted her hands again and could feel her nails digging into her palms.
This time, he did smile, and he pulled his gaze over to the house. She couldn’t shake the feeling that he was interrogating her. “Yeah, Alison. You have a talk with her about the noise? It’s been going on every night since you moved here. I’m assuming you’re not home at night? She’s like, what, sixteen, seventeen…”
Oh, here we go. The topic of Alison wasn’t open for discussion. “She’s almost fifteen, and I work afternoons, evenings. Again, I told you the noise won’t happen anymore. I know about it now, and I put my foot down.”
Actually, her daughter was fourteen and three months, nowhere close to being fifteen. Regarding the stereo, Jenny had yanked the audio connection from the speaker and hid it in her underwear drawer, because her daughter hadn’t been known for her compliance as of late, as illustrated by the nose ring two weeks earlier and the jet-black hair the previous week.
“Where do you work?” Ryan asked. Boy, she was really getting the sense of a full-out interrogation.
“Mini-mart,” she said. Counting cash in the back room and reconciling statements for the small grocery store was the only job she was qualified for, considering her late husband had been the sole breadwinner—his insistence and her mistake.


Author Bio:
With flawed strong characters, characters you can relate to, New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author Lorhainne Eckhart writes the kind of books she wants to read. She is frequently a Top 100 bestselling author in multiple genres, and her second book ever published, The Forgotten Child, is no exception. With close to 900 reviews on Amazon, translated into German and French, this book was such a hit that the long running Friessen Family series was born. Now with over sixty titles and multiple series under her belt her big family romance series are loved by fans worldwide. A recipient of the 2013, 2015 and 2016 Readers' Favorite Award for Suspense and Romance, Lorhainne lives on the sunny west-coast Gulf Island of Salt Spring Island, is the mother of three, her oldest has autism and she is an advocate for never giving up on your dreams.

XBTBanner1

Matamoros by James Kahn Book Tour and Giveaway! @ThatJamesKahn @hfvbt @jameskahnwordsandmusic

Matamoros by James Kahn

Publication Date: December 20, 2019
Pen Wild Press
Paperback & eBook; 442 Pages
Genre: Historical Fiction/Western
In the U.S. Civil War, by 1862 the Union had blockaded all Confederate ports. Just across the Rio Grande from Brownsville, Texas, Matamoros was the only harbor where the South could ship its cotton to Europe, and smuggle in arms for the rebellion. So it was a haven for Yankee and Rebel spies and diplomats, gunrunners and cotton smugglers, runaway slaves, bandits, Texas Rangers, and rogues of every stripe. But Matamoros was also full of French Foreign Legionnaires - because that same year, Napoleon III had invaded Mexico, to install Archduke Maximilian of Austria as Emperor. Set against the backdrop of two wars, this is the story of Clay - an expatriate Southern gentleman running a gambling hall - and Allie, his ex-con artist partner, bringing her cotton train to market - in a star-crossed affair that may or may not survive their conflicted allegiances amidst the tides of battle.

Praise for Matamoros

"A historical novel offers an in-depth view of the machinations surrounding the Civil War battle for Texas. Kahn’s descriptive prose delivers powerful images...Strong leads star in a passionate war tale filled with political intrigue, violence, and scoundrels." - Kirkus Reviews "The author does a wonderful job of capturing the different elements of the setting, exploring the historical and social aspects. The prose is beautiful and highly descriptive, and readers will enjoy the social commentaries that punctuate the narrative. This is an awesome read, fast-paced and filled with action. The author paints exciting images of a town flourishing in times of war and makes readers feel as though they were part of it." - Readers Favorite, 5 stars

Amazon | Barnes and Noble | IndieBound

Praise for Matamoros CD

"The music paints a powerful but poignant portrait of these disparate renegades, outlaws, and outcasts, each intent on their own survival. The sumptuous paintings included with the CD add a bonus element as well, and given the complete packaging — story, music and art — it confirms the fact that concept and creativity far outweigh the amorphous nature of digital downloads. More than that, Matamoros is an album for the ages, both heartbreaking and affecting in equal measure." - Lee Zimmerman, The Daily Ripple "Few songwriters have the determination to tell full-length stories through their songs. Greats, like Bob Dylan and Neil Young, are a couple of notables in this limited group coming immediately to mind. Therefore, James Kahn has placed himself in a uniquely special group with this song collection. These songs are so good, in fact, they make you want to read Kahn’s novel to learn even more, which makes this album a storytelling gem." - Dan MacIntosh, The Daily Ripple "Kahn excels in the diverse composition of story-songs that capture not only the emotional and historical intricacies of their lyrical subject matter but also the natural sonic accompaniment for their travails. The lyrics are intelligence, the performances are skillful, and Kahn works within the limits of his voice to communicate with the heart and mind of the listener. Matamoros subverts the American addiction to instant gratification, and pop culture’s resistance to complexity and nuance, and while doing so, gives his listeners songs that they can sing." - David Masciotra, The Daily Ripple

About the Author

James Kahn is an ER doctor, novelist, TV writer-producer, and singer-songwriter. In addition to many original novels (including the sci-fi trilogy World Enough and Time, Time’s Dark Laughter, and Timefall) he authored the novelizations of Return of the Jedi, Poltergeist, The Goonies and Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom. His television credits span the genres, from St. Elsewhere, to William Shatner’s TekWar, to Xena: Warrior Princess. He was a Supervising Producer on Star Trek: Voyager, Co-Executive Producer on Melrose Place, Emmy-nominated for his work on All My Children, medical advisor on Spielberg’s ET: The Extraterrestrial; and produced the feature film The Bet, which won Best Feature at the LA Femme Film Festival, 2013. He’s previously released four Americana music CDs, including Waterline, The 12th Elf, Man Walks Into A Bar, and The Meaning of Life. Matamoros is the first simultaneous novel and CD release, and his first foray into deeply researched historical fiction.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | YouTube

Blog Tour Schedule

Monday, February 10 Review at History + Fiction + Adirondack Spirit Tuesday, February 11 Review at YA, It's Lit
Wednesday, February 12 Review at Historical Graffiti
Excerpt at Books In Their Natural Habitat
Friday, February 14 Review at Gwendalyn's Books
Sunday, February 16 Interview at Passages to the Past
Tuesday, February 18 Review at Books and Zebras
Thursday, February 20 Review & Guest Post at Tales from the Book Dragon Friday, February 21 Feature at CelticLady's Reviews
Sunday, February 23 Review at Reading is My Remedy

Giveaway

During the Blog Tour, we are giving away a paperback copy of Matamoros! To enter, please use the Gleam form below. Giveaway Rules – Giveaway ends at 11:59 pm EST on February 23rd. You must be 18 or older to enter. – Paperback giveaway is to the US only. – Only one entry per household. – All giveaway entrants agree to be honest and not cheat the systems; any suspicion of fraud will be decided upon by blog/site owner and the sponsor, and entrants may be disqualified at our discretion. – The winner has 48 hours to claim prize or a new winner is chosen.

AddToAny

Pin it!

Google Analytics

Please Share!

Printfriendly

View My Stats!

View My Stats

Pageviews past week

SNIPPET_HTML_V2.TXT

Feedburner

Tweet