28 September 2022

Give Me Forever by Heidi Mclaughlin Cover Reveal! @buoni_amici_press @HeidiJoVT

Title: Give Me Forever (The Beaumont Series: Next Generation, #5) 

Author: Heidi McLaughlin 

Genre: Contemporary Romance 

Release Date: October 11, 2022 

Hosted by: Buoni Amici Press, LLC.

Elle James has it all: a loving fiancé in Ben, a promising career as a music manager, and a supportive family. She couldn’t be happier with her life. That is until the unthinkable happens and she must accept the consequences of her actions and figure out how to come clean to her family or continue living the lie.

Ben Miller had it all: a loving fiancée, a budding career, and the support of people who loved him like family. That was until he wanted more, and his fiancée was unable to meet him halfway. He makes a decision, one that affects everyone. When his life takes an unexpected turn and he’s diagnosed with a life changing illness, he finds himself fighting for more than just love.

With their happily ever after slipping through their fingers, will Elle and Ben be able to survive, or will life’s curveball be too much for them to handle?

 

AMAZON | APPLE BOOKS | NOOK| KOBO | GOOGLE PLAY

Tweet: Check out the #CoverReveal for Give Me Forever By Heidi McLaughlin @HeidijoVT #PreOrder your copy today https://ctt.ec/72K0M+ #BAPpr #ContemporaryRomance

Heidi McLaughlin is a New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and USA Today Bestselling author of The Beaumont Series, The Boys of Summer, and The Archers. Originally, from the Pacific Northwest, she now lives in picturesque Vermont, with her husband, two daughters, and their three dogs. In 2012, Heidi turned her passion for reading into a full-fledged literary career, writing over twenty novels, including the acclaimed Forever My Girl. Heidi's first novel, Forever My Girl, has been adapted into a motion picture with LD Entertainment and Roadside Attractions, starring Alex Roe and Jessica Rothe, and opened in theaters on January 19, 2018, and is now available on DVD & Digital.

To stay connected with Heidi visit  www.facebook.com/authorheidimclaughlin or heidimclaughlin.com

Start the Series

AMAZON


Escape Room Tango by CC Bridges Book Blitz and Giveaway! #CCBridges #EscapeRoomTango #XpressoTours @XpressoTours

 

Escape Room Tango
CC Bridges


Published by: The Wild Rose Press
Publication date: September 28th 2022
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance

David never expected to fall for his rival. After getting fired and dumped, he wasn’t even looking for a relationship. But she’s the one woman he can’t have—his business is the reason hers is failing.

Elena built her escape room like she rebuilt her body after the accident—piece by piece with determination. And this guy thinks he can show up and put in the minimal work? He deserved to have the fire inspector called on him.

But Elena can’t ignore the connection between them. Will she have to sacrifice her dreams for a chance at love?


Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / iBooks / Kobo

EXCERPT:

“My name is David Brant. I’m the owner.” He didn’t know why his words made the dark-haired woman glare at him, but David didn’t really care.

He only had eyes for the redhead. She had stolen his attention from the moment she walked into the lobby. He’d been excited about welcoming his first customers, his intro speech on his lips. Every word left his mind the moment he saw her.

She held herself differently than the other two women, with her shoulders back and neck extended. Her cinnamon-colored hair hung over her shoulder in a long braid. He wanted to pick up that braid and tickle her nose with it to make her laugh, anything to see what her smile might look like. Her green eyes speared him with their gaze, rendering him temporarily mute.

He held out his hand. “Pleased to meet you…” He trailed off, hoping she’d take him up on the offer.

She took it, her grip firm and decisive. “Elena.”

“That’s a lovely name.” He grinned, realized he was acting like an idiot, and stepped forward to greet the other two women in the same way. They were all his customers and deserved the same courtesy. “Can I take your coats? There are hooks back here.”

He’d designed the lobby to be comfortable but clearly a place of transition. With any luck, his customers wouldn’t spend much time here at all before being escorted into one of the three escape rooms in the back. If he wanted to be successful, he needed to have a constant flow of customers.

That didn’t mean his lobby couldn’t be fun. He’d placed Rubik’s cubes and other mind-teasing puzzles on the coffee table near the chairs along one wall. He included a water cooler for those who arrived thirsty. If they were hungry, he’d happily direct them to Spano’s Pizza next door, owned by the family of his best friend, Tony.

Without Tony, he didn’t think he’d have ever pulled the trigger and made this fresh start by opening his own business.

“Of course, thank you.” Elena handed over her coat.

David collected it and those belonging to the other two before hanging them.

“Have you ever done an escape room before?” he asked, trying to keep the conversation going.

“A few. But this place is new to us.” Elena seemed to be the only one willing to speak.

Not that he minded, he liked the sound of her voice. Man, Tony was right. Before the ladies had walked in, he’d been telling David he had to get back in the dating scene, go on the rebound, get it out of his system. Clearly, his words held some truth if David had immediately started checking out his customers. Well, one notable customer in particular.

CC Bridges spent her childhood visiting other worlds in books, comics, and the starship Enterprise. It's no surprise that she ended up a librarian, being surrounded by the books she loves so much. She writes about amazing worlds with honorable heroes. Her hobbies include paying money to get locked in a room for an hour so she can solve puzzles to escape, along with the aforementioned reading. She lives with her husband and son on the Jersey Shore. She is currently pursuing an MFA from Southern New Hampshire University.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter



GIVEAWAY!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Hosted by:
XBTBanner1

27 September 2022

An Indiscreet Princess by Georgie Blalock Book Review!


From the acclaimed author of The Other Windsor Girl and The Last Debutantes comes a brilliant novel about Queen Victoria’s most rebellious and artistically talented daughter, Princess Louise, showcasing her rich life in Georgie Blalock’s signature flair.


Before Princes Margaret, before Duchess Meghan, there was Princess Louise: a royal rebel.

As the fourth daughter of the perpetually in-mourning Queen Victoria, Princess Louise’s life is more of a gilded prison than a fairy tale. Expected to sit quietly next to her mother with downcast eyes, Louise vows to escape the stultifying royal court. Blessed with beauty, artistic talent, and a common touch, she creates a life outside the walled-in existence of the palace grounds by attending the National Art Training School—where she shockingly learns to sculpt nude models while falling passionately in love with famed sculptor Joseph Edgar Boehm.

Although Louise cultivates artist friends, artistic success, and a life outside the palace, she quickly learns that even royal rebels must heed the call of duty. For twenty years, Louise fights to maintain her relationship with Joseph and what freedom she can glean within the strict requirements of Queen Victoria’s court. When a near-fatal accident forces her back under Queen Victoria’s iron rule, Louise must choose between surrendering to the all-consuming grief of lost love and dreams that plagued her mother or finding the strength to keep fighting for her unconventional life.
 

Georgie Blalock is a history and movie buff who loves combining her different passions through historical fiction, and a healthy dose of period piece films. When not writing, she can be found prowling the non-fiction history section of the library or the British film listings on Netflix or in the dojo training for her next karate black belt rank. Georgie also writes historical romance under the name Georgie Lee.

https://georgieblalock.com/

My Thoughts

An Indiscreet Princess by Georgie Blalock is a story based on facts about Princess Louise, daughter of Queen Victoria and Prince Albert. Fourth daughter and sixth child. In this version, Prince Albert is dead and the Queen is in perpetual mourning. This puts a damper on the children, especially Louise. Talented in her own right as a sculptor/artist she fights conventions and her mother so she can go to art school.

Louise was secretary to her mother, as an unmarried girl, that was the lot in life for the Queen's girls. She was of marriageable age and it was the Queen's duty to find a suitable husband for Louise and her other girls. She had strict requirements, and the prospective husband had to stay in England. 

Louise was allowed by the Queen to attend art school, thus meeting her lover, sculptor, and teacher Edgar Boehm. It was a long-lasting affair. The Queen finally found a suitable suitor for Louise, she became engaged to Marquess of Lorne, heir to the Dukedom of Argyll while he visited Balmoral. He was a British subject and Louise was royalty, which was not often done then. The Queen felt this marriage would bring new blood to the royalty, although Louise never had any children.

The Marquess wanted some sort of appointment in the Queen's court. He was appointed Government General of Canada and Louise became Viceregal consort of Canada. While there the Marquess and Louise founded the Royal Canadian Academy of Arts. Louise was also a patroness of many organizations while in Canada.

A sleigh accident injured Louise and she was sent back to England where she took up where she left off, as a married woman it was easier for her to carry on her duties and affair with Boehm. This is pretty much where this story ended, her return to England. She and her husband never really had a loving relationship whereas they spent a lot of time apart.

I enjoyed this particular take on Louise and the life of royalty in Victorian England. A time of strict protocols and lifestyle. Seemed to me to be a dark and gloomy time. One can only mourn for so long. For that era, Louise was a very strong woman, getting what she wanted and being very accomplished.

If you like a historical novel at its best, this one is for you. Louise was a very fascinating woman of her time. I give it 5 stars for story content, research, and writing.

I received a copy of the book for review purposes only.

It Was You by Nora Edington Blog Tour!

 

It Was You

After a heartbreaking betrayal, Lily ends up at a party where she drowns her sorrows in the bed of a sexy stranger. In the light of day, Lily wants to forget her mistakes, including that sexy stranger. With nothing and no one left to keep her in Corvallis, she packs her entire life into her car and moves miles away from home. Two years later, and now a single mother, Lily meets Jake, a handsome, confident young man to whom she is instantly attracted. If the rumors are true, Jake is a playboy with commitment issues, but his attentiveness to both Lily and her daughter suggests otherwise. Before long, they fall for one another. It soon becomes obvious why they’re so attracted to each other, and this revelation threatens their new relationship. To make matters worse, Lily’s ex tracks her down and demands a second chance. Will Lily’s past overshadow her future with Jake, or can their love survive the rough road ahead?

 Purchase Link - https://books2read.com/it-was-you-nora-edington


Nora Edington is a romance author and a true believer in a happy ending. She loves chocolate, coffee, and long walks with her amazing husband.

When not reading or listening to music, she writes steamy romances with enough heat to make your heart melt.

 https://twitter.com/NoraEdington 

https://www.facebook.com/noraedingtonwritesromance 

https://www.instagram.com/noraedington




Abby’s Pony Love by Susan Count Book Tour and Giveaway!

 

Abby’s Pony Love
Hastings Creations Group (September 19, 2022)
Middle-Grade Ages 8-12
Print length ‏ : ‎ 113 pages
Digital ASIN ‏ : ‎ B0B7VXQSX5

When a girl falls in pony-love, she wants it to be forever.

Desperate to be near horses, a hopeful girl with no horse experience begs for a job at a stable. Then she falls in love with a beautiful but mischievous pony, only to have it bought by another family. Abby’s heart aches when her barn job becomes helping the new owner learn to ride the best pony ever. Can her faithful heart let go of what never belonged to her?

Susan Count writes for the joy and entertainment of young readers. She is a best-selling, award-winning author of the Dream Horse Adventures Series, Dream Pony Riders Series, and Texas Boys Adventures.

She prefers to create stories in a quiet zone. Out her window, her mind wanders through the forest and keeps her in a grateful, contented state of being. She writes at a fabulous antique desk that has secret compartments filled with memories, mysteries, and story ideas. As a member of the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators and American Christian Fiction Writers, Susan takes studying the craft of writing seriously.

Susan confesses to being overly fond of brownies and horseback riding on forest trails. She is a lifelong equestrian and is owned by a Rocky Mountain Horse.

You are invited to saddle up and ride along. www. susancount.com

E-mail a comment: susancountauthor@yahoo.com Hearing from readers is a great delight and encourages
me to keep writing.

Please like Susan Count at https://www.facebook.com/susancount where I post only horse-related videos.

I’m also on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/susancountauthor/

And Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/susancount/

TOUR PARTICIPANTS

September 19 – Reading, Writing & Stitch-Metic – SPOTLIGHT

September 20 – #BRVL Book Review Virginia Lee Blog – SPOTLIGHT

September 21 – Lady Hawkeye – SPOTLIGHT

September 22 – Maureen’s Musings – REVIEW

September 23 – My Journey Back – SPOTLIGHT  

September 23 – FUONLYKNEW – SPOTLIGHT

September 24 – Sapphyria’s Book Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

September 24 – Satisfaction for Insatiable Readers – SPOTLIGHT

September 25 – I Read What You Write – REVIEW

September 26 – The Mystery of Writing – REVIEW

September 26 – Literary Gold – SPOTLIGHT

September 27 – Celticlady’s Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

September 27 – I’m All About Books – SPOTLIGHT

September 28 – Baroness Book Trove – SPOTLIGHT

September 28 – Girl with Pen – SPOTLIGHT

Giveaway
(1) $25 Amazon Gift Card

Have you signed up to be a Tour Host?

Click Here to Find Details and Sign Up Today!


Magic & Mayhem by @annieande Book Blitz and Giveaway! #XpressoTours @XpressoTours


Magic and Mayhem
Annie Anderson


(The Wrong Witch, #2)
Publication date: September 27th 2022
Genres: Adult, Paranormal, Urban Fantasy

All it took was one bite.

A week ago, I was the perpetual screw up of the Bannister coven and a probationary agent for the Arcane Bureau of Investigation. Somehow, I’ve managed to get myself mated to an Acosta Alpha, pissed off my family, and gotten on the radar of a dark Fae.

As much as I’d like to bury my head in the sand, I have a badge to secure—and with a new case on my proverbial desk—a job to do. Because I’m not the first witch that the Fae has tried to steal, but I will definitely be the last.

Just as soon as I get this curse under control…

Goodreads / Amazon

EXCERPT:

A knock came at the bathroom door. “Wren, honey? You all right?”

I whipped that door open so fast an avalanche of steam billowed out of the bathroom to smack Fiona in the face. I hadn’t seen her since Serreno hauled me to Nico’s cabin for questioning. She appeared far better than the last time I’d seen her, all healed up by the med clinic and in fresh clothes.

Wrapping her in a hug, I was glad I’d managed to get dressed before her knock. “What are you doing here? Shouldn’t you be resting?”

“And let you take that fool test by yourself? Please.”

Shoving her away, I gripped her shoulders with a little too much gusto. “What? No. Please don’t tell me Serreno is making you test out, too.”

Fiona frowned before giving me a winning smile. “If I want the charges against Girard to stick and a real investigation to be had into this place, then the both of us need to be agents, Wren. It just makes sense for us to do it now. Plus, it’ll be a snap.” She waved a hand as if it was so simple as she plopped onto the edge of the couch. “Hannah told me you blew them out of the water during your practical.”

But Fiona was forgetting a particularly important facet of that event—not that she was around for it, but whatever. Namely, the null ward I wore around my neck like my own personal good luck charm. It kept me from fucking up—kept everyone safe.

And to save us, I’d tossed it away. To save her.

How was Nico going to get me a new one? He didn’t have time to trek down to Savannah and back. How was I going to pass this damn thing? Luck and blind optimism? I hadn’t been lucky a day in my life.

“What about when Nico saved you?” Fiona replied to the thoughts I must have said aloud. “That seems pretty lucky to me. Of all the people to pull you from the burning wreckage of Azalea Apothecary, you got the super-hot shifter dreamboat with the giant dick and an unrelenting urge to keep you safe. If that ain’t luck, I don’t know what is.”

“Whoa, who told you he had a giant dick?” Yes, that was what I latched onto, and yes, that sentence actually came out of my mouth.

Fi speared me with a sharp glare. “No one had to tell me that boy is packing a damn cannon in those pants. He just walks like he’s got a monster in there. Like I told you before, I’ve got eyes, don’t I?”

She wasn’t wrong.


Annie Anderson is a military wife and United States Air Force veteran. Originally from Dallas, Texas, she is a southern girl at heart, but has lived all over the US and abroad. As soon as the military stops moving her family around, she'll settle on a state, but for now she enjoys being a nomad with her husband, two daughters, an old man of a dog, and a young pup that makes life... interesting.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter / Instagram / Pinterest




GIVEAWAY!

Hosted by:
XBTBanner1

The Missing Daughter Mystery by C.H.Sessums Book Review!

 


Jenny uses the excuse of a new case to set off on a romantic visit, but when things take a shocking twist, she heads back to Texas to follow a lead and avoid complications…

Dad and I take to the rails and head north on a new assignment to protect a highly insured diamond. I’m eager for the chance to spend time with my handsome friend Lee Gorham, but a surprise request is made just at the moment the priceless diamond disappears.

At the last minute, I jump onto another train heading south, but a strange turn of events might not only derail my plans but threaten my life, too.

Can Dad and I find the missing piece to the puzzle before the diamond and I are both gone for good?
 


C.H. SESSUMS is a pen name for USA Today Bestselling Author Olivia Hardin. While Olivia writes all manner of romance, C.H. scribbles out cozy mysteries set in her beloved state of Texas. Whether exploring urban legends from all over the lone star state or solving capers set in far-off times, mystery meets history in all of her stories.

In real life, C.H. lives in gorgeous East Texas with her hubby and their two rescue dogs. Every weekend all four of them pile up into their bunkhouse to watch classic movies and listen to old-time radio.

http://www.chsessums.com/

My Thoughts

The Missing Daughter Mystery is a book from the J.D.Pierson Case Files of which six novels include The Missing Daughter Mystery. Bet you thought the book was about a missing daughter. You would be wrong, Jenny and her father, also J.D. take on a case for an insurance company about a missing diamond ring, the Daughter diamond. Thus named because the original owner had all sons and wanted a daughter, so he named the diamond Daughter.

The Daughter was reported missing and Jenny and her father are on the case. Then they find out that the diamond ring was not actually missing, it had been put where it was supposed to go, in a safe. An employee of the owner took it upon herself to do what she thought was right, put the ring in the safe where it would be safe. Unfortunately for her because of this, she was fired. 

The owner of the diamond is a nasty piece of work, an entitled woman who feels everyone around her is at her beck and call. Too bad for her but she ends up dead in the room that Jenny had occupied before she left to talk to some people. Now, who would kill this woman, and what happened to the ring?

Jenny, her father, and their dog, a Corgi, take to the rails to see talk to people who may know where this missing diamond is. Unfortunately, while Jenny is on her own on the train, she gets ill and her father is told that she was not on the train at all. Now her father has all he can do is find Jenny. 

There is also a romantic element to the story, Jenny is asked by her beau, Lee to marry him. She needs time to think about it, of course, she isn't just going to jump into marriage to someone that she thinks she loves but is not sure about. So now all she needs to do is find the diamond, find out who killed the owner, and get back home to her father and beau. Of course things are not always cut and dried. someone is out to harm her.

This book was a short fast read, I liked the simplicity of it in a time with cell phones and computers, a bit of a simpler life. But still, greedy jealous people who want what they can't have. Jenny and her father are perfect partners, with respect on both sides. I did enjoy it, read it in one sitting. I think that reading the other five novels in this series is a must!

I give it 4 stars.

I received a copy of the book for review purposes only.




The Shadows We Make by Jo Allen Ash Book Blitz and Giveaway! #TheShadowsWeMake #JoAllenAsh #XpressoTours @XpressoTours⁣

 

The Shadows We Make
Jo Allen Ash


Publication date: July 14th 2022
Genres: Dystopian, Science Fiction, Young Adult

Grace Irese, sixteen-year-old desert warrior with a chip on her shoulder, is gifted in ways she does not yet realize. Duncan Oaks, teenage member of the Grif-Drif Con-Artist Guild, is a boy who has made one bad choice too many. When they are both remanded to an off-world juvenile facility with lifetime sentences. Grace and Duncan plot an escape into the horrific environment beyond in order to save Duncan’s sister from Grace’s war-torn world. Will they and their unlikely companions survive unscathed or find themselves forever altered?

Set in dark alien words and told in the first person with three separate voices, The Shadows We Make is a young adult tale filled with bravery, magic and the binding power of friendship.

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Kobo

EXCERPT:

Grace

A stench swirled on the winds as flames devoured ancient timber and more—so much more. I didn’t want to think about the more, but I drew a deep, desperate breath, coughed, spat on the ground, imagining the more despite my best intentions.

For fifty-one days, Citadel had been burning, filling the air with the smell from those faraway fires. Sitting with my back to the wall, knees drawn up to my chest, I studied the flames coloring the distant horizon like a rising sun. Ash traveled on the wind across the miles. Delicate, paler than sand, it settled on my arms, caught in my hair, dusted trousers and tunic. When I rose, my muscles had cramped. I stretched and listened. Voices drifted from neighboring dwellings as people came out to converge on the nearby common, assessing events, speculating about the emissaries who had ventured into Citadel, my parents included. They had not yet returned. As only a few days had passed, no one worried overmuch. At least not out loud.

I heard others speaking, too: strangers whose desert vernacular differed slightly from ours. I had no trouble understanding them. I had always been fluent in the various dialects, as well as the languages used within the city and elsewhere. It was my gift, to be so empowered. I supposed word of it had conferred on me the value which had caught Stone Tiran’s interest. My particular ability, and my warrior status.

I turn and spat on the ground again, this time in disgust.

Crossing the yard, the sand shifted beneath my bare feet. I had left my sandals on the doorstep. No matter. Who would see? And even if they did, I did not care. Rules, law, traditions, none concerned me the way they did my brothers, my parents, our tribe. I tried to keep my disdain to myself, but sometimes it leaked out, resulting in fury or an occasional, reluctant amusement among my family members. I had at one time wondered if my recalcitrance was the reason for their agreement to the bonding with Stone Tiran. The man possessed, after all, nothing to elevate our family. Indeed, the Irese clan was held in such high esteem the gain was to Tiran alone. Bonding was arranged between city dwellers and influential desert clans as a way to increase power, prestige. Stone Tiran possessed none of those with which to barter, and yet my parents had agreed to his request.

I resisted spitting on the ground again. It was a nasty habit I could well do without.

At the wall, I leaned my forearms atop warm stones, blatantly eavesdropping while I watched a girl with hair as dark as mine. We shared a birth anniversary, she and I, having been born the same day a year apart. She was now fifteen and I, sixteen. A wide lavender streak curved through her braid. Mine was the color designated to the Ser Irese, a blue as dark as midnight, identical in shade to the tattoo upon my left cheekbone. Mara had not yet received hers. Her warrior training was incomplete.

Snatching a tiny white pebble from beneath my fingers, I lobbed it at her. She jerked around, eyes flashing angrily until she saw me. She hurried over to the wall.

“Grace!”
I smiled. “Where have you been?”
“Practically under lock and key. I only came out today because I begged my uncle to let me accompany him.”
Yes, without her warrior’s status, she would not have been allowed to wander freely in the present circumstances. I nodded sympathetically.
“Where are your brothers?” she asked. She had her eye on the youngest. We plotted misadventures to get them together, but thus far had met with no success.

“They left,” I said.

“When?” she cried, thinking of Connor, I knew. We had strange names, my siblings and I. They came from our mother. It was her blood which gave me my green eyes, my paler skin like bronze rather than the ruddy brown most possessed.

“Three days ago.”
“And they left you alone?” she demanded enviously.
“Of course,” I said, trying for nonchalance. I could not help adding, “Not totally alone. Ella is here.”
She flicked her fingers, dismissing Ella. I didn’t like when she did that. I liked everything about Mara except her dismissal of Ella due to her humble birth. Ella had been with us since my eldest brother’s birth. She was, to me, family.

“I’m grateful she’s here,” I said.

Mara shrugged, glancing over her shoulder to the crowd on the common and back again. I narrowed my eyes at her.

“Don’t pout,” she said.

I almost walked away, right then, but I stayed, watching her, listening to the others. “Mara, have you heard anything? I think communications are down.”

She shook her head. “They are, or so my father says. No one can get through to anyone who’s gone to the cities.”

Cold fire danced along my spine. I reached my fingers across the small gap between the wall and Mara’s shoulder, but she didn’t see them, her attention diverted by two men arguing. I didn’t know who they were. Several more stepped in, voices raised. I pulled my hand back.

“Come inside,” I said.

“I can’t. My uncle is calling me.” I saw where she looked now, to her waving relative urging her to his side. “I’ll try to see you tomorrow, but you know how it is now.” She started to turn away, swung back to me, eyes on mine. “But how could I have forgotten? I’ve wanted to ask for ages now. Is it true? Tell me, quickly.”

I didn’t need to ask her meaning. Although my parents had attempted to hide what happened, secrets had a way of surfacing like worms working their way up through the soil in the garden. “Yes,” I admitted. “It’s true.”

Mara’s mouth dropped wide. “That can’t be.” “It is.”
“Once the contracts were negotiated—”
“I know.”

She stared a moment longer before wagging her head from side to side. “You’re a fool, Grace Irese,” she said, “a terrible fool.”

I flinched and she was gone, disappearing quickly into the gathering. Releasing a long sigh, I turned on my heel and went back inside, whisking my sandals from the step as I went.

Maybe I was a fool. It didn’t feel that way to me, though. I’d made a stand, angering everyone in the process, but I felt no shame in having done so. The first glimpse of Stone Tiran’s enraged countenance should, perhaps, have given me pause, yet somehow it hardened my resolve. His threats had made my final words easy.

I refuse the offer of bonding.

The deceptively simple ceremony promising me to a veritable stranger had been the next step, with the official ceremony to take place two years after, when I reached majority. Some girls welcomed it, worked on their wedding clothes during the intervening years with joy and anticipation. I couldn’t imagine why. I had never been able to imagine why.

Jo Allen Nash 

I have been traditionally and self-published with books released by the former Warner Books, Kensington, and indie companies under my own name and pseudonyms. Once and Always (written as Alyssa Deane), was translated and sold in various European countries. I self-publish the Connor Falls Christmas series as Robin Maderich, but I have always wanted to return to writing for the young adult reader. Perhaps this is why The Shadows We Make, penned as Jo Allen Ash and my debut as a YA author, is the accomplishment about which I am most excited.

The Shadows We Make is a young adult tale of dystopian sci-fi/fantasy filled with complex and compelling characters. In The Shadows We Make, I burrow down into dark themes such as addiction, hopelessness and loss, countered by the strength and unexpected sweetness of forged friendships. The next book in the planned series, The Thrice-Gifted Child, continues where The Shadows We Make leaves off, with the same cast of characters and a few more besides.


GIVEAWAY!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Hosted by:
XBTBanner1

26 September 2022

The Book Boyfriend by @authorkatestacy Release Tour! #NowLive Free in #kindleunlimited #authorkatestacy @IndiePenPR

  

In THE BOOK BOYFRIEND by Kate Stacy, Mila Cross never expected to find love, but when bad boy Crossland Parker comes into her life and sweeps her off her feet, suddenly she’s falling hard for the man from the wrong side of the tracks. But when a secret from his past is exposed, will its revelation destroy everything? Fans of small-town, opposites attract romances will enjoy this must-read wrong-side-of-the-tracks romance from the Meet Cute Book Club Series.

Read Now!

 

Escape with the Meet Cute Book Club, where meet cutes don't happen only between the pages of romance novels, and one by one, all the members find their own happily ever afters.

Mila
I never thought I’d have a real-life meet cute, but the minute Crossland Parker walks into my life, it starts feeling like I’m living in the pages of a romance novel.

He sweeps me off my feet, and I find myself falling fast and hard for the rough around the edges mechanic. He’s a troubled bad boy with a heart of gold.

Cross fits into my life effortlessly, even sharing my love of books. He’s everything I didn’t know I wanted in a man. Attentive, sweet, a little bit possessive. He’s also my biggest source of support when I decide I want to buy the building next door so I can expand my business. So what if he has a criminal record? No one is perfect.

Unless you ask my stepfather. He expects nothing less than perfection, but not even I could ever come close.

Cross


After spending too many years wandering when I was released from prison, I came back to Abbott Ridge to start over.

I wasn’t expecting Mila Santos to fall into my arms, but I’m irrevocably drawn to the curvy little beauty who owns the bookstore. She’s a good girl, too good for a guy like me.

Our relationship develops faster than most, but I spent too many years of my life locked up. Now that I’m out, I refuse to waste a single second. I’m still not sure I deserve someone as sweet as Mila, but if she accepts me and all my faults, there’s no way I’m letting her go. Only a fucking fool would do that.

My past is no secret, and I knew the day would come when someone would try to use it against me. I just didn’t expect it to happen so soon.

Is happily ever after possible when a good girl falls for the guy from the wrong side of the tracks?

The Book Boyfriend is a standalone, wrong side of the tracks romance that is part of the Meet Cute Book Club multi-author series.


 Add to Goodreads!

Excerpt

Copyright 2022 @ Kate Stacy


She’s fucking adorable.

Mila is still standing in the spot where I left her when I pass by the bookstore’s front window.

Grinning, I toss her a wink and keep walking, picturing the beautiful blush that stains her skin when she’s flustered.

I love how affected she is by me.

I knew Mila was gorgeous when I saw her from across the street yesterday, but up close… damn.

She’s a stunner.

Easily the most beautiful woman I’ve ever seen.

And I get to see her again on Friday.

I came to the bookstore today hoping to see her even though I knew there was a good chance that she wasn’t available, but I had to shoot my shot. I’m fucking relieved she isn’t with somebody. It would have sucked if I put myself out there only to find out I didn’t stand a chance. I’ll admit, part of me can’t believe she agreed to go out with me, but I’m happy she did.

Halfway back to the garage, reality sets in.

What was I even thinking going in there?

Mila is sweet as hell, far too good for a roughneck like me.

I’m a felon for fuck’s sake.

No. Fuck that.

My criminal record doesn’t define me.

I have to stop letting my past rule my life. I’m more than some guy who got locked up for trying to defend someone who didn’t deserve it. I paid the price for my mistakes. I did my time and now I need to move on.

I deserve happiness as much as anyone else.

As long as I’m honest and don’t try to hide it, Mila doesn’t seem like the type that would hold my past against me. I’ll be up front with her about it and let the chips fall where they may.

I’ve got a good feeling about her.

“Who’s the girl?” Bishop asks as I walk into the garage.

My brows dip low in confusion and I look around the bay, not seeing anyone. “What girl?”

“The girl that put that goofy ass smile on your face,” he says with a knowing look. “Only a woman can make a man smile like that.”

I hadn’t realized I was smiling when I came in, but I feel one stretch across my face now.

“Her name is Mila.”

“From the bookstore?”

“You know her?” I ask, closing the distance between us.

“I know of her.”

At my look of surprise, Bishop rolls his eyes. “You said it yourself yesterday, Cross. Abbott Ridge is a small town.” He turns his attention back to the engine he’s working on. “Pass me that wrench.”

Knowing which one he wants without asking, I grab it and hand it over.

“The real question is…” He pauses to look at me. “How do you know her?”

Reaching behind me, I pull the book out of my back pocket.

Chuckling, Bishop shakes his head. “Should have known. Can’t believe you read that girly shit.”

“Don’t hate,” I tell him. “This girly shit just got me a date with perfection on Friday night.”

He eyes the book. “Well, hell. Maybe I need to pick up a new hobby. Mila’s a pretty girl.”

“Find your own pretty girl, Bish,” I say, popping him on the back of the head with the book. “Mila is mine.”

Fucker laughs. “It’s like that?”

“Damn right it’s like that.” I drop the book on top of the tool cabinet and grab a beer from the fridge. “I saw her yesterday when I was leaving the tattoo shop.”

“No doubt a gorgeous girl like that grabbed your attention.”

“Hell yeah. Would have talked to her yesterday, but she was on her way out. Almost got discouraged when I watched her drop into the passenger seat of a sweet ass ride, but decided to take a chance anyway.”

“Black Chevelle?” he asks, glancing up.

“Yeah.”

He nods. “Her younger brother, Mateo.”

“Damn, Bish,” I say, dropping my ass onto a stool. “You really do know everyone in this town. Bet you got all the good gossip.”

Bishop snorts. “I ain’t got shit. Mateo spent a lot of time here. Rented one of the bays so he could restore that beauty of his. He had the know-how, but needed somewhere to do the work.”

“I’d love to get my hands on that car.”

“Good luck with that. He won’t let anyone else work on it. Not even me.”

That makes me chuckle. “I respect that. Nothing more important to a man than his car.”

“And his girl,” he says, no so subtly turning the conversation back to Mila. “Where are you taking her?”



About Kate Stacy

 

Author of emotionally-gripping, contemporary romance, Kate Stacy’s novels feature sassy heroines, swoony heroes, life, love, friendship, and all the angst. When she’s not writing or spending time with her family and friends in small-town North Carolina, Kate can most likely be found nose deep in her Kindle. She stays up too late, swears too much, and loves too hard.

Follow: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest | Goodreads | BookBub | Website | Newsletter | Amazon

About The Meet Cute Book Club Series

 

Escape with the Meet Cute Book Club where meet-cutes don't only happen between the pages of romance novels and members find their own happily ever afters. 


Eight single women bound by their love of books take a monthly break from real life to lose themselves in the chapters of romantic fiction. From friends to lovers to fake relationships and more, each story features a brand new couple and their journey to find love from an amazing lineup of authors including Louise Lennox, Tracy Broemmer, A.M. Williams, Mel Walker, RJ Gray, Rebecca Wilder, Julie Archer, and Kate Stacy. 


These eight standalone romances are packed with meet-cutes, heat, and of course a happily ever after!


This promotional event is brought to you by The Indie Pen PR

AddToAny

Pin it!

Google Adsense

Please Share!

Printfriendly

View My Stats!

View My Stats

Pageviews past week

Analytics

Google Analytics

SNIPPET_HTML_V2.TXT

Feedburner

Tweet