10 May, 2021

Pied Piper By Keith Stuart Book Tour! @len_maynard @maryanneyarde @bykeithstuart @len.maynard @coffeepotbookclub



Book Title: Pied Piper

Author: Keith Stuart

Publication Date: 1st March 2021

Publisher: LMP- Len Maynard Publishing

Page Length: 176 Pages

Genre: Historical Fiction / WWII 


Twitter Handles: @len_maynard  @maryanneyarde

Instagram Handles: @bykeithstuart @len.maynard @coffeepotbookclub

Hashtags: #HistoricalFiction #WW2 #BlogTour #CoffeePotBookClub



In September 1939 the British Government launched Operation Pied Piper. To protect them from the perils of German bombing raids, in three days millions of city children were evacuated - separated from their parents. 


This story tells of two families: one whose children leave London and the other which takes them in. We share the ups and downs of their lives, their dramas and tragedies, their stoicism and their optimism. But. unlike many other stories and images about this time, this one unfolds mainly through the eyes of Tom, the father whose children set off, to who knew where, with just a small case and gas mask to see them on their way.


This novel is free to read with #KindleUnlimited subscription.


Amazon UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Pied-Piper-Keith-Stuart-ebook/dp/B08VNV7HRG

Amazon US: https://www.amazon.com/Pied-Piper-Keith-Stuart-ebook/dp/B08VNV7HRG

Amazon CA: https://www.amazon.ca/Pied-Piper-Keith-Stuart-ebook/dp/B08VNV7HRG

Amazon AU: https://www.amazon.com.au/Pied-Piper-Keith-Stuart-ebook/dp/B08VNV7HRG


Keith Stuart (Wadsworth) taught English for 36 years in Hertfordshire schools, the county in which he was born and has lived most of his life. Married with two sons, sport, music and, especially when he retired after sixteen years as a headteacher, travel, have been his passions. Apart from his own reading, reading and guiding students in their writing; composing assemblies; writing reports, discussion and analysis papers, left him with a declared intention to write a book. Pied Piper is ‘it’.  Starting life as a warm-up exercise at the Creative Writing Class he joined in Letchworth, it grew into this debut novel.

 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/bykeithstuart

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/bykeithstuart




08 May, 2021

Peaches and Schemes: A Georgia B&B Mystery by Anna Gerard Book Tour and Giveaway!

Peaches and Schemes: A Georgia B&B Mystery by Anna Gerard

About Peaches and Schemes

 

Peaches and Schemes: A Georgia B&B Mystery 

Cozy Mystery 3rd in Series 

Publisher: Crooked Lane Books (May 11, 2021) Hardcover: 304 pages 

ISBN-10: 1643855840

ISBN-13: 978-1643855844

Digital ASIN: B08FZLH8HS

In Anna Gerard's third delightful Georgia B&B mystery, Nina Fleet learns that despite the satin, lace, and buttercream trappings, weddings often prove to be anything but sweet...

 

Nina Fleet might be new to the innkeeping business, but she's savvy enough to know that Cymbeline's tourists aren't enough to keep her fledgling bed and breakfast going. And so, Nina decides to tap into the destination wedding market by taking a booth at the Veils and Vanities Bridal Expo. The twice-yearly event is sponsored by the town's two wedding pros: Virgie Hamilton, the sixtysomething owner of Virgie's Formals, and Roxanna Quarry, a Gen X event planner and Nina's new friend. But everything goes wrong during the expo's fashion show, when Roxanna comes tumbling out of an oversized prop wedding cake, strangled to death by her own scarf.

 

Virgie is arrested for the crime, thanks to Nina's statement to the police about having overheard the woman accusing her partner of embezzlement. Meanwhile, the situation grows tense with her sometimes nemesis and current tenant, the dashing out-of-work actor Harry Westcott. Harry is concentrating on plugging his most recent side hustle ...but he's not too busy to break the news to Nina that her ex-husband is engaged to be married again.

 

Certain that Virgie's only offense is a bad temper, Nina decides to do her own investigating. First, however, she and Harry retrieve Roxanna's now ownerless dog, planning to foster him until a new home can be found. But local gossip soon convinces Nina that others beside Virgie might have had reason to murder Roxanna. As Nina gets close to the truth, she's putting her own life at danger. And when Virgie vanishes after being bailed out of jail by an unknown benefactor, Nina fears that if she can't find the dress shop owner in time, tying the knot will take on a whole new meaning for them both.

 

About Anna Gerard

DIANE A.S. STUCKART began her writing career in the 1990s as the critically acclaimed author of historical romance under the names Alexa Smart and Anna Gerard. She later switched to the mystery genre and is the NYT bestselling author of the Black Cat Bookshop Mysteries (written as Ali Brandon) and the award-winning Leonardo da Vinci historical mysteries. 

Her Tarot Cats Mystery series launched in 2018 with FOOL’S MOON. Her Georgia B&B Mystery series (also written as Anna Gerard) debuted in 2019 with PEACH CLOBBERED. Kirkus Reviews describes that book as “Filled with Southern charm and enough ditzy characters to keep readers guessing and laughing.” Book 3 in that series, PEACHES AND SCHEMES—her 17th published novel—will be on the shelves May 2021.

Author Links
https://www.facebook.com/BlackCatMysteries 

Purchase Links - 


TOUR PARTICIPANTS
May 3 – I'm All About Books – SPOTLIGHT
May 3 – Reading Reality – REVIEW
May 3 – My Journey Back the Journey Back – CHARACTER GUEST POST
May 4 – Novels Alive – AUTHOR INTERVIEW
May 4 – My Reading Journeys – REVIEW
May 4 – #BRVL Book Review Virginia Lee Blog – SPOTLIGHT
May 5 – Brooke Blogs – SPOTLIGHT
May 5 – Books a Plenty Book Reviews - REVIEW, CHARACTER GUEST POST
May 5 – Sapphyria's Book Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
May 5 – Reading Is My SuperPower- REVIEW
May 6 – Mysteries with Character – REVIEW
May 6 – Christy's Cozy Corners – GUEST POST
May 6 – Baroness' Book Trove – REVIEW
May 7 – Laura's Interests - REVIEW, INDIVIDUAL GIVEAWAY
May 7 – Reading, Writing & Stitch-Metic – GUEST POST
May 8 – Celticlady's Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
May 8 – Maureen's Musings – SPOTLIGHT
May 8 – FUONLYKNEW – SPOTLIGHT
May 9 – Cozy Up With Kathy – REVIEW
May 9 – Angel's Guilty Pleasures – AUTHOR INTERVIEW
May 10 – The Avid Reader - REVIEW, INDIVIDUAL GIVEAWAY
May 10 – StoreyBook Reviews – GUEST POST
May 10 – A Wytch's Book Review Blog - REVIEW, CHARACTER INTERVIEW
May 11 – Diane Reviews Books – REVIEW
May 11 – Ascroft, eh? – AUTHOR INTERVIEW
May 11 – Brooke Blogs – SPOTLIGHT
May 12 – Socrates Book Reviews – REVIEW
May 12 – Literary Gold – SPOTLIGHT
May 12 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – REVIEW

  Have you signed up to be a Tour Host? 

Break the Stone Cassie Swindon Book Tour and Giveaway! @CassieSwindon

Break the Stone
Cassie Swindon
(Golden Chains, #1)
Publication date: May 7th 2021
Genres: Adult, Romance, Suspense, Young Adult

Raelyn Bell’s father forces them to flee their quaint town, severing the last connection to her dead mother. Now, desperate and alone. But she won’t give up. In a new town, Raelyn defies Pa’s wishes by investigating the truth of her mother’s death. Only the answers will help her fill the void plaguing her heart.

Meanwhile, U.S. Army Specialist Kody Walsh’s duty is to obey orders, no matter how “gray.” His questionable actions lead him straight to Raelyn. If Kody aids in Raelyn’s quest, it could mean game over for his career.

As the two cut through layers of lies, threats, ambushes, and stalkers, their bond grows stronger. But the dangers prove worse than they ever feared. Can they see this journey through without losing their lives—and each other?

Break the Stone is a suspenseful mystery, perfect for fans of fast-paced storylines and heart-pounding romance. It is the first of three books in the Golden Chains series.

Content is for age 17+ with trigger warnings of mild: PTSD, profanity, sexual content, and violence.

Goodreads / Amazon

EXCERPT:

Kody Walsh gripped the sealed red envelope tightly while his other hand steered around a John Deere. He pulled up to an old farmhouse where lace curtains blew out from an open window. His smart watch alerted him about his increased heart rate but Kody ignored it. He parked his Jeep at a distance behind a set of oak trees, leaving it running–just in case.

Hopefully no one’s home. I’ll be quick.

Kody patted his Glock and hustled past a blue Chevy with a dented-in door. It looked so run down that it probably couldn’t even start.

Good. No one can chase me when I leave.

A tall, broad, lumberjack-looking man with a trimmed beard marched out the side door, out to a barn.

Shit!

Kody plastered himself against the side of the house, then snuck inside the open window. He scanned the study room, taking inventory of the exit options: one closed door leading to the rest of the house, the window he just came through and a chimney. His gaze darted around the room.

Desk chair—blunt force trauma, non-lethal. Award hung on the wall—one quick slice from a shard of broken glass to the neck could do the trick if needed. Darts in the corner could poke out someone’s eye.

An antique desk stood against a wall in the small room. Kody dropped the red envelope on top of the desk as instructed. Then, he started searching for the item Snyder commanded that he borrow—steal. Kody’s hands were jittery, but he kept repeating the same phrase in his head.

A soldier does anything for the team. Anything.

He sprang across the study and looked in boxes, under books, on top of the shelf, in the cabinets, and rummaged through the drawers. As he slid the bottom drawer out, the rollers got stuck and fell off the track, sending it down at an angle. A girl’s voice started singing from the other side of the door. Kody’s heart raced as he ducked below the desk.

Wait! There it is!

A white marble box was taped underneath. It had a gold compass shape engraved on the front with tiny red specs sparkling like jewels. Kody ripped it off and jammed it in his pocket.

Sacrifices must be made for the team. There’s no other option.

The voice grew louder again and the door knob turned slowly.

Author Bio:

Instead of the boring bio info, here’s some interesting tidbits about the author:

• Tackled her father for a pair of Michael Phelps’ personal goggles
• Cried when the Cubs won the World Series
• Met husband freshman year of college- a blizzard & tequila may have been involved
• Moved to Raleigh by the flip of a coin
• Mutated into a zombie when daughter was born in 2013, then again 17 months later for son
• Evacuated from a boat crash in the Atlantic during a whale watching tour
• Witnessed a wild horse pack galloping through the Rockies
• Cofounded a three-person Beanie Baby Club in the 90s, in a treehouse
• Snorkeled in The Great Barrier Reef
• Broke her foot when pretending to be a Baywatch lifeguard
• Completed her first fiction read in 1992, “The Pig Can Jig”
• Stranded in a Cancun lagoon while jet skiing
• Crunched the back of a Dodge Neon against a wall while transporting a Medieval knight to a pub
• Watched Frozen more than any other movie combined to date
• Invented a symbol language to pass notes to her best friend in high school French class
• Swung off a rope swing of pirate ship in Aruba
• Backpacked through Italy
• Stole plaques showing what swim records she broke

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter / Instagram


GIVEAWAY!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Hosted by:
XBTBanner1

Murder in Belgrave Square: A 1920s cozy mystery (A Tommy & Evelyn Christie Mystery) by Catherine Coles Book Tour and Giveaway!

Murder in Belgrave Square: A 1920s cozy mystery (A Tommy & Evelyn Christie Mystery) by Catherine Coles

About Murder in Belgrave Square

Murder in Belgrave Square: A 1920s cozy mystery (A Tommy & Evelyn Christie Mystery) 

Historical Cozy Mystery 4th in Series 

Publisher: INSPIRED PRESS LIMITED (April 30, 2021) ~200 Pages Digital ASIN : B08T7MDJHN

Tommy & Evelyn Christie were hoping for a break from solving murders when they agreed to host Aunt Victoria and her daughters, Madeleine and Elise at their London home in Belgrave Square.

 

Recently widowed Victoria has returned from France for the London Season and to mend bridges with her estranged family.

 

None of them were prepared for the doubly shocking sight of a newborn baby and a dead body on the back doorstep of their imposing London residence.

 

Tommy & Evelyn face a race against time to solve the murder and the mystery of the abandoned baby before cousin Madeleine's London Season is ruined.

 

About Catherine Coles

About Catherine: I’ve always wanted to be an author…or a songwriter…or a nurse…or a teacher…I never have been able to make up my mind J My working career is a testament to this. Over the years, I’ve worked as a legal secretary, a night carer, in a bar while I completed my law degree, a family law practitioner, a childminder, a foster carer, a home carer, a receptionist, facilitating car deliveries for online customers, and a PA/HR Manager. Now I am living my dream as a full-time author. Well…in truth…one of my dreams—a girl should never have only one dream! Catherine lives in the northeast of England where she shares her home with her children and two spoiled dogs who have no idea they are not human!

Author Links 
Website  https://catherinecoles.com/ 
BookBub  https://www.bookbub.com/profile/catherine-coles?list=about Subscribe  https://www.subscribepage.com/j5h0x6 

  Purchase Link - Amazon 

  a Rafflecopter giveaway 

TOUR PARTICIPANTS
April 30 – Novels Alive – GUEST POST
April 30 – I'm All About Books – SPOTLIGHT
May 1 – Elizabeth McKenna - Author – SPOTLIGHT
May 1 – #BRVL Book Review Virginia Lee Blog – SPOTLIGHT
May 2 – Brooke Blogs – CHARACTER GUEST POST
May 3 – Christy's Cozy Corners - REVIEW, GUEST POST, INDIVIDUAL GIVEAWAY
May 4 – Mysteries with Character – AUTHOR INTERVIEW
May 5 – Ascroft, eh? – CHARACTER INTERVIEW
May 6 – Maureen's Musings – SPOTLIGHT
May 6 – Christa Reads and Writes – SPOTLIGHT
May 7 – My Reading Journeys – REVIEW
May 7 – View from the Birdhouse - REVIEW
May 8 – Celticlady's Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
May 9 – Literary Gold – CHARACTER GUEST POST
May 10 – Here's How It Happened – REVIEW
May 11 – Cozy Up With Kathy – AUTHOR INTERVIEW

  Have you signed up to be a Tour Host? 

07 May, 2021

Ghost and His Gold by Roberta Eaton Cheadle About A Ghost And His Gold Book Tour!

A Ghost and His Gold by Roberta Eaton Cheadle

About A Ghost And His Gold

 

A Ghost and His Gold 

Supernatural Historical Stand-Alone Novel Publisher TSL Publications (1/27/2021) Number of Pages 264 pages 

ISBN 9781914245039

After Tom and Michelle Cleveland move into their recently built, modern townhouse, their housewarming party is disrupted when a drunken game with an Ouija board goes wrong and summonses a sinister poltergeist, Estelle, who died in 1904.

 

Estelle makes her presence known in a series of terrifying events, culminating in her attacking Tom in his sleep with a knife. But, Estelle isn’t alone. Who are the shadows lurking in the background – one in an old-fashioned slouch hat and the other, a soldier, carrying a rifle?

 

After discovering their house has been built on the site of one of the original farms in Irene, Michelle becomes convinced that the answer to her horrifying visions lie in the past. She must unravel the stories of the three phantoms’ lives, and the circumstances surrounding their untimely deaths during the Second Anglo Boer War, in order to understand how they are tied together and why they are trapped in the world of ghosts between life and death. As the reasons behind Estelle’s malevolent behaviour towards Tom unfold, Michelle’s marriage comes under severe pressure and both their lives are threatened.

 

About Robbie Eaton Cheadle

Robbie Cheadle has published nine books for children and one poetry book. She has branched into writing for adults and young adults and, in order to clearly separate her children's books from her adult books, is writing for older readers under the name Roberta Eaton Cheadle.

Robbie Cheadle's Sir Chocolate children's picture books are written in sweet, short rhymes which are easy for young children to follow and are illustrated with pictures of delicious cakes and cake decorations. Each book also includes simple recipes or biscuit art directions that children can make under adult supervision. Her books for older children also incorporate recipes that are relevant to the storylines. Roberta Eaton Cheadle's supernatural stories combine fabulous paranormal elements with fascinating historical facts. 

Children's picture books - available as a square book and an A5 book (co-authored with Michael Cheadle): Sir Chocolate and the strawberry cream story and cookbook Sir Chocolate and the baby cookie monster story and cookbook Sir Chocolate and the sugar dough bees story and cookbook Sir Chocolate and the Condensed Milk River story and cookbook Sir Chocolate and the Sugar Crystal Caves story and cookbook Sir Chocolate and the Fondant Five story and cookbook Sir Chocolate and the Ice Cream Rainbow Fairies story and cookbook 

Middle school books: Silly Willy Goes to Cape Town (includes five fun party cake ideas) While the Bombs Fell (co-authored with Elsie Hancy Eaton) 

Poetry book: Open a new door (co-authored with Kim Blades)

Supernatural fantasy YA novel: Through the Nethergate 

Supernatural historical adult novel: A Ghost and His Gold 

Horror Anthologies (edited by Dan Alatorre): Spellbound Nightmareland Dark Visions Wings & Fire 

Paranormal Anthologies (edited by Kaye Lynne Booth): Spirits of the West Whispers of the Past 

Murder mystery Anthology (edited by Stephen Bentley) Death Among Us

Follow Roberta Eaton Cheadle at:

Website https://www.robbiecheadle.co.za/ 

TOUR PARTICIPANTS
May 3 – Maureen's Musings - SPOTLIGHT
May 3 – StoreyBook Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
May 4 – This Is My Truth Now - REVIEW, CHARACTER INTERVIEW
May 4 – Dodi Oviatt Author – REVIEW
May 5 – I'm All About Books – SPOTLIGHT
May 5 – ebook addicts – SPOTLIGHT
May 6 – Ruff Drafts – GUEST POST
May 6 – Sapphyria's Book Reviews - SPOTLIGHT
May 7 – Celticlady's Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
May 8 – Brooke Blogs - REVIEW, CHARACTER GUEST POST
May 8 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – AUTHOR INTERVIEW
May 9 – Kyrosmagica– REVIEW
\May 9 – Ascroft, eh? – AUTHOR INTERVIEW
May 10 – Novels Alive – GUEST POST
May 10 – Baroness' Book Trove – SPOTLIGHT
May 11 – Christy's Cozy Corners – GUEST POST
May 12 – Thoughts in Progress – SPOTLIGHT WITH RECIPE
May 12 – Carla Loves to Read - REVIEW, CHARACTER GUEST POST

Have you signed up to be a Tour Host? Click Here Find Details and Sign Up Today!
 

The Queen's Rival by Anne O'Brien Blog Tour! #HistoricalFiction #Medieval #BlogTour #CoffeePotBookClub @anne_obrien @maryanneyarde @coffeepotbookclub

The Queen's Rival

Anne O'Brien


England, 1459. 

One family united by blood. Torn apart by war…

The Wars of the Roses storm through the country, and Cecily Neville, Duchess of York, plots to topple the weak-minded King Henry VI from the throne.

But when the Yorkists are defeated at the battle of Ludford Bridge, Cecily’s family flee and abandon her to face a marauding Lancastrian army on her own.

Stripped of her lands and imprisoned in Tonbridge Castle, the Duchess begins to spin a web of deceit. One that will eventually lead to treason, to the fall of King Henry VI, and to her eldest son being crowned King Edward IV.

Amazon UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Queens-Rival-Anne-OBrien/dp/0008225532


Amazon US: https://www.amazon.com/Queens-Rival-Anne-OBrien/dp/0008225532


Amazon CA: https://www.amazon.ca/Queens-Rival-Anne-OBrien/dp/0008225532


Amazon AU: https://www.amazon.com.au/Queens-Rival-Anne-OBrien/dp/0008225508


Barnes and Noble: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-queens-rival-anne-obrien/1137842630


Waterstones: https://www.waterstones.com/book/the-queens-rival/anne-obrien/9780008225544


Kobo: https://www.kobo.com/gb/en/ebook/the-queen-s-rival-the-sunday-times-bestselling-author-returns-with-a-gripping-historical-romance


Audio: https://www.audible.co.uk/pd/The-Queens-Rival-Audiobook/0008225524


Blackwells: https://blackwells.co.uk/bookshop/product/The-Queens-Rival-by-Anne-OBrien-author/9780008225544


WHSmith: https://www.whsmith.co.uk/products/the-queens-rival/anne-obrien/hardback/9780008225544.html



Anne O’Brien

 

Sunday Times Bestselling author Anne O’Brien was born in West Yorkshire. After gaining a BA Honours degree in History at Manchester University and a Master’s in Education at Hull, she lived in East Yorkshire for many years as a teacher of history.

Today she has sold over 700,000 copies of her books medieval history novels in the UK and internationally. She lives with her husband in an eighteenth-century timber-framed cottage in the depths of the Welsh Marches in Herefordshire. The area provides endless inspiration for her novels which breathe life into the forgotten women of medieval history.


Website: https://www.anneobrienbooks.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/anne_obrien

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/anneobrienbooks/?ref=bookmarks

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/anne-o-brien-89668a45/

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.co.uk/thisisanneobrie/_saved/

Amazon Author Page: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Anne-OBrien/e/B001HD1NHI

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/51111864-the-queen-s-rival?from_search=true&from_srp=true&qid=MIYPBpVMFH&rank=1

News Letter sign up: https://www.anneobrienbooks.com/






06 May, 2021

Off to the Races by Elsie Silver Release Tour!

I’m the new racehorse trainer at Gold Rush Ranch and I’ve got three months to turn a problem stallion into a winner. Working with horses is easy, but contending with Vaughn Harding, my moody new boss, is a whole other story. He can’t decide if he hates me or wants me—not that it matters, I swore off men like him years ago. Readers who enjoy Melanie Harlow and Kelly Elliott will love this slow burn, enemies to lovers, contemporary romance.

Read Now! 

He can’t decide if he hates me or wants me.

Vaughn Harding is my new boss. Getting close to him would be career suicide for a female racehorse trainer, and plain old gossip fuel in this small town. I get a kick out of our verbal sparring, but I swore off his type years ago.

And I’ve got plans.

I’m the new trainer at Gold Rush Ranch and I’ve just been handed a problem horse that I promised to make a winner. I want to put down roots, and I’m not about to let a man distract me. No matter how electric it feels when we lock eyes, or how my body ignites when we touch.

Vaughn’s a vivid reminder of every guy I grew up around. Handsome, rich, entitled--a total media darling. But there’s a sadness in him that I can’t seem to turn my back on. A sensitive side hidden beneath brooding good looks.

The last thing I need is a broken man to put back together, and the last thing he needs is more scandal.

Teasing him for kicks is one thing, but handing over my heart?

I should have known better.

Add to Goodreads!

Goodreads https://bit.ly/3cmeyGx

Excerpt 

Copyright @ Elsie Silver

“No, Billie,” his voice is dangerously low as he angles his head so close to my ear that I can feel his breath fan across my throat, “women usually go out of their way to endear themselves to me. Not piss me off.”

Time to teach this prick a lesson.

His words set me off and without thinking I reach out towards him and hook my index finger into his crisp white dress shirt, right between the buttons. I can feel the muscles in his abdomen clench under my touch as I gently trace the tip of my finger across his hot skin, feeling the firm ridges I knew would be there. 

To anyone loitering at the stables, our silhouettes would almost look like he was a vampire going in for a quick taste with the way he towers over me. I send up a silent prayer that no one can see us and close my finger around the fabric that’s brushing against my hand, pulling his torso closer to mine so that I straddle his thigh. 

I hear his sharp intake of air and feel a familiar ache just below my hip bones. This is such a bad idea.

I look up, taking in the dark shadows falling across his brow and his almost pained facial expression. We hold each other in this limbo, facing off for a few seconds before I move so close I can feel the scruff on his jaw lightly scratch my cheek. His hands squeeze my ribs, trying to hold me in place.

At the increase in pressure, my nipples harden and goosebumps bloom across my arms unbidden. This is fine. A totally typical reaction to absolutely anyone touching me like this. 

Disturbed by the way my body responds to his, I opt to up the stakes, fingering the collar of his shirt with my opposite hand and gently running my teeth along the lobe of his ear. I’m pressed so close to him I can feel more than hear the grunt that breaks loose from his chest. 

For a moment I let myself imagine us together under different circumstances, all the delicious noises he would make as he moved above me, pressing into me so hard that our bodies would sink right into the mattress beneath us. Coming completely undone just for me. 

It’s with that image in my mind that I slide my fingers up his neck and through his hair before grabbing a handful firmly. He stands stock still. Frozen.“Well then, let me be the one to deflower you on this one, Boss Man,” I whisper against his ear. “You are absolutely insufferable.” I bite down onto his earlobe again, a little harder this time, which causes the air to leave his lungs in a loud hiss. “Now get your hands off of me, I’m not one of your playthings,” I finish, essentially dousing us both with a bucket of cold water and firmly pushing him away.

About Elsie Silver 

Canadian author who loves book boyfriends and the sassy heroines who bring them to their knees. Connoisseur of charged looks and lingering touches. Fan of witty banter. Horse girl through and through. Fully convinced that it’s always wine o’clock somewhere.

Follow: Facebook | Instagram | Pinterest | Goodreads | BookBub | Newsletter | Amazon| Website

This promotional event is brought to you by Indie Pen PR

05 May, 2021

Death Gone A-Rye (A Bread Shop Mystery) by Winnie Archer Book Tour and Giveaway!

Death Gone A-Rye (A Bread Shop Mystery) by Winnie Archer

About Death Gone A-Rye

 

Death Gone A-Rye (A Bread Shop Mystery) 

Cozy Mystery 6th in Series 

Publisher: Kensington (April 27, 2021)

Mass Market Paperback: 272 pages

ISBN-10: 1496733541

ISBN-13: 978-1496733542 

Digital ASIN : B08F2XT38C

In the Northern California seaside town of Santa Sofia, a killer is trying to get a rise out of baker’s apprentice Ivy Culpepper . . .

 

Vincent van Dough focaccia is being touted on Instagram as the best thing since sliced bread. By strategically placing chives, olives, and yellow peppers to look like poppies and sunflowers, bakers create a mouthwatering masterpiece in the style of the great postimpressionist painter. At Yeast of Eden, where bread making has always been an art, they’re baking their own version for the school district’s Spring Fling.

 

But one person won’t be tasting the Mexican bakery’s latest specialty. Ambitious school board president Nessa Renchrik has been murdered. Like the rest of this close-knit community, Ivy is shocked. But she’s just as surprised to discover her beau—restaurateur Miguel Baptista—had his own fling with Nessa back in the day and now the police have this half-baked notion he might have killed her. It’s up to Ivy, her boss Olaya Solis, and eighty-six-years-young Penelope Branford to separate the wheat from the chaff to determine who the real culprit is . . .

 EXCERPT 1

 

“Ivy, this is Captain Craig York. Craig, my best friend, Ivy Culpepper.”

She didn’t wait for either of us to acknowledge the introduction, instead rolling one hand in the air, telling him to keep going.

“It’s a local school board member,” he said.

Her breath hitched. I don’t think the captain noticed, but I’d known Emmaline Davis for nearly my whole life, and I knew what that response was about. The Santa Sofia school board was made up of five people. One of them, Candace Coffey, had been in high school with us.

Now she was a mother of three and served as vice president of the board. “Dead?” Em asked, and I knew she was hoping against hope, just like I was, that it wasn’t Candy.

York cupped one hand against the back of his neck before saying, “Murder.”

“Who?” Em asked.

“Nessa Renchrik. School board president.”

Em and I both sighed in relief, although only mine was audible. Not Candy, thank God.

“I’ll handle it,” York said. “I’ll keep you updated.”

I could see the internal battle Em was going through.

How could she leave town when a murder had just happened? But it was her honeymoon. She proceeded to give him precise instructions on how often he was to be in touch with her, and emphasized the high priority of the case. A school board member was a political figure in a community. The people of Santa Sofia would demand answers and justice.

“Will do,” York said. He gave one succinct nod to both of us before walking away.

The second we were alone, I took Emmaline’s hand.

“It’s going to be okay. He seems on top of things.”

She grimaced. Not the most desirable expression for a bride. “He’s new.”

“You wouldn’t have hired him if he wasn’t qualified. He can handle it.”

“It’s not Candy,” she said, hands on her hips again.

“Thank God.”

“Do you know this woman, Nessa?” I asked.

“No. But school board president. That’s not good.”

Billy sidled up behind her and snaked his arms around her waist. “What’s going on, Mrs. Culpepper?”

“Murder,” she said.

His face fell. “Uh-oh.”

She put her hands on top of his. “And it’s a high-profile one.”

His hold on her tightened. “You have people to handle it, though. We have a flight to catch in the morning, and, you know, a wedding reception with all our friends and family.”

She turned to face him, tilting her head to look up at him. “And we’re going to enjoy every second of it. Captain York is handling the investigation. He’ll update me, but he’s in charge.”

Billy nodded. “Good to hear. Now, let’s round these folks up and head inside for the food.”

Craig York’s words came back to me then. I’d made contributions to the department with my sleuthing skills. There was no reason I couldn’t help out again. Miguel had told me to stay out of it, but I just couldn’t. And since I had an in with Candy, maybe I’d be able to get information York couldn’t.

The next few hours would be filled with food and dancing, but in my mind, I’d be formulating a plan on how to solve a murder.

 

  INCLUDES RECIPES!
  

 About Winnie Archer

The indefatigable Winnie Archer is a middle school teacher by day and a writer by night. Born in a beach town in California, she now lives in Colorado. She fantasizes about spending summers writing in quaint, cozy locales, has a love/hate relationship with both yoga and chocolate, adores pumpkin spice lattes, is devoted to her five kids and husband, and can’t believe she’s lucky enough to be living the life of her dreams. Visit her online at WinnieArcher.com.

Author Links Kensington: https://www.kensingtonbooks.com/9781496724410/dough-or-die/ 
Amazon B&NKobo 


TOUR PARTICIPANTS
May 3 – Socrates Book Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
May 3 – Maureen's Musings – SPOTLIGHT
May 4 – I'm All About Books – SPOTLIGHT
May 4 – Cozy Up With Kathy - REVIEW, CHARACTER GUEST POST
May 5 – Celticlady's Reviews - SPOTLIGHT, EXCERPT
May 5 – Reading, Writing & Stitch-Metic - SPOTLIGHT, RECIPE
May 6 – Novels Alive – GUEST POST
May 6 – The Avid Reader – REVIEW, EXCERPT
May 7 – Baroness' Book Trove – REVIEW
May 7 – My Journey Back the Journey Back - SPOTLIGHT, RECIPE
May 7 – My Reading Journeys – REVIEW
May 8 – Literary Gold - SPOTLIGHT, EXCERPT
May 8 – #BRVL Book Review Virginia Lee Blog - SPOTLIGHT
May 9 – Books a Plenty Book Reviews – REVIEW
May 9 – The Book's the Thing - REVIEW, EXCERPT
May 9 – Sapphyria's Book Reviews – SPOTLIGHT 
May 10 – Christy's Cozy Corners – GUEST POST
May 10 – Ascroft, eh? – CHARACTER INTERVIEW
May 11 – Mysteries with Character- AUTHOR INTERVIEW
May 11 – A Wytch's Book Review Blog - REVIEW, CHARACTER INTERVIEW
May 12 – Brooke Blogs - SPOTLIGHT, RECIPE
May 12 – Moonlight Rendezvous - REVIEW, EXCERPT  

  Have you signed up to be a Tour Host? 

AddToAny

Pin it!

Google Adsense

Google Analytics

Please Share!

Printfriendly

View My Stats!

View My Stats

Pageviews past week

SNIPPET_HTML_V2.TXT

Feedburner

Tweet