08 December 2021

A Moment After Dark Janet Raye Stevens Book Blitz and Giveaway!

A Moment After Dark
Janet Raye Stevens
Publication date: December 7th 2021
Genres: Historical, Paranormal, Suspense

She sees the future with a touch. A powerful gift in a time of war.
The enemy wants her. The Allies need her.

Addie Brandt is cursed. When she touches someone, or an object that belongs to them, she sees their future, and it’s rarely good. Mocked and teased her whole life, Addie hides from the world in her family’s funeral home. But when her second sight shows her a horrific vision of an attack on the Pearl Harbor Naval base, the gruesome images are too intense to ignore, and she tries to raise the alarm. Will anyone listen?

Federal agent Jack Dunstan needs a miracle. He’s still reeling from the betrayal that nearly decimated his team of agents with paranormal powers, a vengeful Nazi spy with a terrifying ability of his own is out to destroy him, and he knows it’s only a matter of time before America is drawn into the war raging around the world. Hearing rumors of Addie’s vision, he seeks her out, hoping she could be the miracle he’s looking for.

Addie’s not sure she trusts Jack Dunstan. He’s rude, cocky, and insists on calling her curse of second sight a “gift.” But if she wants to save lives and prevent a terrible disaster, she must put aside her fears and doubts and learn to embrace her ability.

With the US on the brink of war and an enemy agent hunting her for her power, Addie must learn to trust Dunstan—and herself—to stop an attack that could change the course of history forever.

A World War II paranormal suspense in the vein of Simone St. James, mixed with a dash of Susan Elia MacNeal’s Maggie Hope series.

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / iBooks / Kobo

EXCERPT:

Addie Brandt can see the future with a touch. She’s had a horrific vision of an attack on Pearl Harbor. After failing to warn the police, she goes to a diner where her friend Rosa works and meets Jack Dunstan, who claims to be an insurance salesman, but is really a federal agent who’s

Looking to recruit people with paranormal powers.

“Your last name is Brandt?” Dunstan said. “That’s German, isn’t it?”

Addie choked on a mouthful of minestrone. She remembered what Father had said about the growing animosity toward German Americans.

“It might be,” she said warily. “Though I fail to see why my name should interest you.”

“Because of that.” He stabbed a finger at his newspaper, and the headlines full of war news. “We’ll soon be in this war. People will have to choose a side. Are you one of those German nationalists who think Herr Hitler is the bee’s knees? Or are you red, white, and blue through and through?”

Maybe just red, as in seeing red. This man’s impertinent questions had gotten her dander up. “You certainly are curious, Mr. Dunstan.”

“I’m a curious fella, or so they say.” He flashed another boyish grin. “So, which side will you stand up for, Addie? Your ancestral people? Or will you help Uncle Sam win the fight that’s coming?”

She put down her spoon, fully annoyed now. “Why don’t you take me downtown, officer, where you can grill me properly?”

He laughed, a deep rumble, like a wave crashing into a cave. “Fair enough. I may be pushing too hard.”

She should ignore him. He was rude and strange. Yet, something about this back and forth with him seemed to…irritate her, yes, but also excite her. Engage her. She’d never had a conversation like this with a man before. The few times she’d spoken with a man close to her age, the subject was a corpse. Certainly no man had ever asked for her opinion, about anything.

“If I tell you where I stand, Mister Dunstan, do you promise to leave me alone?”

“Doubtful.”

Her lips twitched. “At least you’re honest. Well, then, speaking for my German side and my Irish side, and the American I’m proud to be, I don’t want us to fight at all. War means death and I hate death.”

“That seems ironic, coming from a woman who works in a funeral home. You’re surrounded by death every day.”

She blinked. “How do you know where I work?”

“You have a chatty friend.” He tipped his head toward the kitchen window. Rosa bent down, bottom thrust out, yelling through the opening at Sal. “She tells me you see things.”

Addie cringed. She’d told Rosa about the picture show that played in her head, but Rosa had never laughed or teased her about it. It stung to discover she’d been spreading gossip about her.

“I’m sure you’re mistaken,” Addie said.

“I’m sure I’m not. Rosa says you’ve seen her future. That you tried to save a boy’s life long ago. I know you tried to warn the police about something yesterday. Something bad. What was it, Addie? What did you tell them?”

Addie pushed the minestrone away, no longer hungry. And no longer amused. “Mr. Dunstan, just what line of insurance are you in?” she asked, nearly breathless.

He held out his hand. “Why don’t you find out?”

She looked at his palm, crisscrossed with so many lines a palm reader could be employed for months studying them. What did he want her to see? Was it worth the risk? The terrible images of the Pearl Harbor attack had haunted her for days. Why would she touch him and invite yet another horrific Sight?

“Addie, look at me,” he coaxed. She did, surprising herself. He held her in his gaze. “You can trust me.”

His voice rolled over her in a gentle wave. Trust, a heavy word. She’d never allowed herself to trust anyone. Least of all a man she barely knew. And yet… She couldn’t deny she felt drawn to him. Felt at ease looking into his golden-brown eyes.

Should she take the risk?

Author Bio:

Meet award-winning author Janet Raye Stevens – mom, reader, tea-drinker (okay, tea guzzler), and teller of fun, adventurous, occasionally heartbreaking, and stealthily romantic tales.

Derringer Award nominee and winner of the Daphne du Maurier and RWA's Golden Heart® awards, Janet writes mystery, time travel, WWII-set paranormal, and the occasional Christmas romance with humor, heart, and a dash of suspense. She lives in New England with her husband, who's practically perfect in every way, and their two sons, both geniuses and good-looking to boot.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter / Instagram

GIVEAWAY!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Hosted by:
XBTBanner1

She’s the One Who Won’t Behave by S. R. Cronin Reveal Tour! @s.r.cronin #XpressoTours @XpressoTours

She’s the One Who Won’t Behave
S. R. Cronin
(The War Stories of the Seven Troublesome Sisters, #6)
Publication date: July 8th 2022
Genres: Adult, Fantasy, Historical

The War Stories of the Seven Troublesome Sisters:

It’s the 1200’s in Ilari, a small mythical realm somewhere between Europe and Asia. Peace and prosperity have reigned for generations. That doesn’t mean every citizen is happy, however.

In the outer nichna of Vinx lives the seven troublesome daughters of an intellectual farmer and his ambitious wife. Ilari has no idea how lucky it is to have this family of misfits, for the Mongols are making their way further westward every winter and this prosperous realm is a tiny plum ripe for picking. Desperate, the seven sisters will devise a way to save their realm. Can their preposterous ideas possibly work?

She’s the One Who Won’t Behave:

Gypsum, the sixth of seven sisters, has always been a rebel. Yet no one thought she would go so far as to join the reczavy, a group living in tents on the edge of the desert and known for their sexual promiscuity and playful ways.

But as the date of the Mongols’ return draws near, Ilarians of all types must work together if they are to have any hope of surviving. And the reczavy, for all of their odd ways, do have plenty of tricks up their sleeves. Well, up their sleeves whenever they are bothering to wear clothes, that is.

Gypsum is touched when her oldest sister Ryalgar comes to call, and brings an olive branch with her. Ryalgar recognizes that the reczavy have as much to lose as anyone, and as much to contribute. Will Gypsum accept a key role in the plan to stop the invasion? Of course she will.

Unfortunately, her playmates don’t all feel the same sense of urgency. Many would rather simply enjoy the time they have left. A few claim to be allergic to long term planning. And some are too busy with their own poorly-timed plans to overthrow the government Ilari already has.

Good thing needlepoint is the one traditional skill at which Gypsum has always excelled. She will need to thread a fine needle in order to coax this recalcitrant group into becoming life-saving warriors of a very different kind.

Add to Goodreads

Purchase link: Amazon


Author Bio:

Sherrie Cronin is the author of a collection of six speculative fiction novels known as 46. Ascending and is now in the process of publishing a historical fantasy series called The War Stories of the Seven Troublesome Sisters. A quick look at the synopses of her books makes it obvious she is fascinated by people achieving the astonishing by developing abilities they barely knew they had.

She’s made a lot of stops along the way to writing these novels. She’s lived in seven cities, visited forty-six countries, and worked as a waitress, technical writer, and geophysicist. Now she answers a hot-line. Along the way, she’s lost several cats but acquired a husband who still loves her and three kids who’ve grown up just fine, both despite how odd she is.

All her life she has wanted to either tell these kinds of stories or be Chief Science Officer on the Starship Enterprise. She now lives and writes in the mountains of Western North Carolina, where she admits to occasionally checking her phone for a message from Captain Picard, just in case.

Website / Facebook / Instagram / Bookbub / Amazon

Hosted by:
XBTBanner1

07 December 2021

The Evening's Amethyst: A Nora Tierney English Mystery by M. K. Graff Book Tour and Giveaway! @GraffMarni

The Evening's Amethyst: A Nora Tierney English Mystery by M. K. Graff

About The Evening's Amethyst

 

The Evening's Amethyst: A Nora Tierney English Mystery 

Cozy Mystery 5th in Series Setting - Oxford, England 

Publisher ‏ : ‎ Bridle Path Press (September 21, 2021) 

Paperback ‏ : ‎ 372 pages 

ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 0990828735 

ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-0990828730 

Digital Edition: 336 pages 

ASIN ‏ : ‎ B09JB193D3

Who is Verity? That becomes a central question for American Nora Tierney, who has moved to her new Oxford home with her fiance, DI Declan Barnes, and her young son. Declan's new case at Exeter College coincides with a frantic call from Nora's stepsister, Claire Scott: a fellow graduate student has died in a fall, and Claire begs Nora to help her prove her friend didn't commit suicide. The sisters conduct their own snooping, while Declan and his team juggle this death with a cold case that proves to be more surprising than Declan could ever imagine.

 The Evenings Amethyst Excerpt

Cumbria

Spring 1992

 It was a warm spring day, with bluebells carpeting the roadside verges as Jim Robson drove past drystone walls and fields dotted with sheep. Wordsworth’s famous daffodils, their heads drowsy, swung in a light breeze as he made his way along the A591 through Windermere and turned off onto the A592.

            He drove into the quaint town of Bowness-on-Windermere, past the east shore of the lake. Tired of his wife’s whining about their childlessness, he needed a break, even if that longer route would take him home later than she expected. Dora would complain anyway, so what difference did it make? He remembered the sweet and gentle woman with a core of inner strength he’d married in Glasgow, those halcyon early days of their marriage and their move to Cumbria. Most of all he remembered how disappointment had changed her happy moods, a creeping wall of ivy that had taken hold of her joyfulness and throttled it. 

            After visiting a large hospital and carrying away a terrific order for the new infant formula, Jim decided to reward himself with a drive past the lake. Salesman were always on the go; why shouldn’t he take a few minutes for himself? He stopped on a whim on his way out of town for a pint of cider, the roadside pub calling to him. He took his pint from the gloomy inside to the sunshine outside, where he sat at one of the garden tables behind the pub, mulling over his life, and how it fallen from his expectations.

            That’s when he’d noticed the dingy playpen with the little boy, quietly playing with a stack of blocks. Jim looked around the garden. No one else was out here today. Where the hell was the mother, or for that matter, the father, and what were they thinking leaving a little toddler all alone out here? Anyone could snatch him and be gone.

            The thought returned to him over the next weeks as Dora’s depression grew and her crying jags increased. He loved Dora, had hoped to always make her happy after they’d met and she’d charmed him, despite the decade between them. He knew he would be considered old-fashioned, a real throwback, but Dora’s overriding desire even then was to be a mother. Unfashionable for some, but he’d supported her. He’d welcomed the idea of having a wife at home waiting for him, their children clean, dinner ready, and everyone happy to see him. 

            These years of failure had taken their toll. Their marriage suffered when one fertility treatment after another hadn’t worked. Dora turned sullen and depressed with the adoption wait taking forever. Jim was at his wit’s end. He wanted his wife back.

About M. K. Graff

: Marni Graff is the award-winning author of The Nora Tierney English Mysteries and The Trudy Genova Manhattan Mysteries. The Evening’s Amethyst is the fifth in the Nora Tierney series. Her short story “Quiche Alain” is in the Agatha-winning Malice Domestic Anthology, Murder Most Edible.

Author Links 
Twitter http://twitter.com/GraffMarni (@GraffMarni); 

  Purchase Links - Amazon 

TOUR PARTICIPANTS
December 1 – Maureen's Musings – SPOTLIGHT
December 2 – Sapphyria's Book Reviews - SPOTLIGHT
December 2 – #BRVL Book Review Virginia Lee Blog – SPOTLIGHT
December 3 – FUONLYKNEW – SPOTLIGHT
December 3 – Baroness' Book Trove – SPOTLIGHT
December 4 – Nellie's Book Nook – REVIEW, CHARACTER GUEST POST
December 5 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – AUTHOR INTERVIEW
December 6 – I'm All About Books – SPOTLIGHT
December 7 – Celticlady's Reviews - SPOTLIGHT, EXCERPT
December 8 – Christy's Cozy Corners – GUEST POST
December 9 – Brooke Blogs – SPOTLIGHT
December 9 – Literary Gold – SPOTLIGHT, EXCERPT  
December 10 – MJB Reviewers - SPOTLIGHT, EXCERPT 
December 10 – BookishKelly2020 - SPOTLIGHT


Have you signed up to be a Tour Host?


 

Kiss of Karma by Louise Lennox Release Tour! @AuthorLouiseLennox #kissofkarma @IndiePenPR #SmallTownRomance

Keisha didn’t know agreeing to help her friend right a wrong would involve murder, robbery...and Richard, a handsome sheriff who poses a threat to her heart. She doesn’t want to let down her friends, but helping might come with a cost. Readers who love Kennedy Ryan and Nicole Snow will love Kiss of Karma by Louise Lennox, an enemies to lovers, older man, small town romance.

Blurb

The Carolina Lowcountry is sexier, because the beautiful Kiawah Kisses rule the Sea Islands with strength, spice, and sass. This summer and fall, each friend will reconnect with a Gullah hometown hero and learn to love again. This is Keisha’s story…

Keisha Jordan is a good friend and an even better attorney. She will do anything for her tight knit group of girlfriends, the Kiawah Kisses. When her best friend Nicole asks her to help right a wrong committed against her family; she agrees. But, murder, robbery, and a devastatingly handsome older sheriff turn out to be more than she bargained for.

Keisha doesn't want to let the Kisses down; but she's determined to protect her heart.

Richard Grant has served as Kiawah Island’s local sheriff for over twenty years. It’s the family business. His grandfather and father served in the roles before him. The last thing he needs is some nosy attorney and her friends opening old cases and creating a stir around town. If the attorney wasn’t so beautiful he’d gladly escort her out of his town.

But she is… so he lets her be. But what will it cost his family's legacy if she stays?

Kiss of Karma, book 4 in the Kiawah Kisses Series, is a steamy, small town, contemporary romance featuring a strong, smart heroine and the older sexy hometown sheriff who fights for her heart. Download it today and get ready to fall in love with your next favorite book boyfriend.

Add to Goodreads Here!

Buy Now or Read for FREE with Kindle Unlimited!

Excerpt

Copyright 2021 @Louise Lennox

“Ma’am…”

I loosen my vise grip and slam my fists on the steering wheel. “Would you stop calling me ma’am? You’re obviously older than me.”

He smirks and I’m tempted to smack the shit-eating grin right off his face, but his deep voice shoots down every thought of violence. He’s stroking me with every syllable, and someone has not stroked me in a longtime. Too long.

“Down here, we address people as sir or ma’am as a sign of respect.” He looks grim. “Something you don’t seem to have much of. Where’re you from, anyway? Clearly, you’re not from around here.”

I scowl. “For your information, I was born and raised on this island. I’ve been zipping down the intercostal highway since I was in high school. It’s practically a rite of passage.”

He cocks his head to the side. “You grew up here? What’s your name again?” 

I smile. “Keisha Danielle Jordan. Esquire.” I shift in my seat again so my green minidress gives him a show. I was going out, so I wore something provocative. But at this rate, the only one who will see it is this asshole.

He licks his lips. “A lawyer. I see. Well, I don’t know any Jordans around this way..” 

“Of course, you don’t,” I say. “You’re probably old enough to be my daddy.”

“Excuse me?”

“Honestly, you look well over fifty.”

He chuckles and stands to his full height before leaning his hip against my car door. “I am fifty-three and proud of my years on God’s earth. You are over thirty, but acting like a teenager zipping down my highway. Where are you headed, anyway? It’s too late for a pretty gal like you to be out here alone.”

This is my ultimate pet peeve. Men with egos who think women are helpless. If I had time, I’d put my minor in Women Studies to use. He would catch a backhand of Audre Lorde, along with a swift kick of Patricia Hill Collins, where the sun doesn’t shine. But I have no more time to waste on this fool.

“I’m headed to the Haint for the revived Christmas Blues Festival.”

“Humph.” He groans. “Fool idea, if you ask me. Symone and her beau need to let the past die. Gran is dead and gone to glory. I’m sure she doesn’t want to see her precious speakeasy turned into a sideshow. Before I pulled you over, I heard a call about a brawl going down over there right now. Glad that’s not my beat tonight. It’s probably a mess between that fool Simeon and his crew. They were just harassing Symone a few weeks ago. She should have cleared them out before hosting anything. But that Symone Farris is nothing but a spoiled brat that wants a new project.”

I count to five in my head and release calming breaths. This neanderthal is talking about one of the most brilliant Black women I’ve ever met. 

I push my ignition and look up at the sheriff while the rumble from my engine startles him. “Sheriff, that spoiled brat is one of New York’s most celebrated food critics and my best friend.

His face falls, but his mouth opens. “Like I said earlier, I don’t know any Jordans. Who are your people and-”?

“Sir, are we done? I really must go.” What we will not do tonight is play the who are my parents’ game. You can obsess over that later; it won’t be hard to find out.”

He shoots me a look but lifts his hands in surrender. “Of course. Just stay out of trouble and out of the way of my radar gun.”

I shake my head. “Don’t worry, I will steer clear of you.” I yell out my window and pull off at a demon-like speed, daring him to stop me. Deep down, I wish he would.

Buy Now or Read for FREE with KindleUnlimited!

About Louise Lennox 

Contemporary romance Author Louise Lennox is a hopeful romantic writing steamy romances full of heart and healing.

A Spelman College and Georgetown University graduate, Louise provides women with diverse and meaningful representation in romance novel pages. Not seeing enough women like herself headlining positive love stories, she launched #HappyBlackRomance; a community of readers and writers committed to the creation and sharing of positive romance stories featuring Black heroines.

Louise Lennox plots highlight the joys of Black relationships across the diaspora; pushing readers from all cultural backgrounds to admire them for their strength and downright sexiness. In her novels sparks always fly; the sex amazes; and the characters always leave the world better than they found it through their love.

When she’s not writing, Louise is enjoying her work as a school leader, wife, and mother of the two cutest dragons to ever walk the earth!

To learn more about #HappyBlackRomance and to score a free book or two, check out her website www.lovelouiselennox.com.

Follow: Facebook | Facebook Group | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bookbub | Amazon | Website | Newsletter


This promotional event is brought to you by The Indie Pen PR

Lies That Blind By E.S. Alexander Blog Tour! @ES_Alexander7 @maryanneyarde @liesthatblindnovel @coffeepotbookclub #HistoricalFiction #BlogTour #CoffeePotBookClub

 


Book Title: Lies That Blind

Author: E.S. Alexander 

Publication Date: 19th October 2021

Publisher: Penguin Random House 

Page Length: 304 Pages

Genre: Historical Fiction


What would you risk to avoid obscurity?


Malaya, 1788


Aspiring journalist Jim Lloyd jeopardises his future in ways he never could have imagined. He risks his wealthy father’s wrath to ride the coat-tails of Captain Francis Light, an adventurer governing the East India Company’s new trading settlement on Penang. Once arrived on the island, Jim—as Light’s assistant—hopes that chronicling his employer’s achievements will propel them both to enduring fame. But the naïve young man soon discovers that years of deception and double-dealing have strained relations between Light and Penang’s legal owner, Sultan Abdullah of Queda, almost to the point of war. Tensions mount: Pirate activity escalates, traders complain about Light’s monopolies, and inhabitants threaten to flee, fearing a battle the fledgling settlement cannot hope to win against the Malays. Jim realises that a shared obsession with renown has brought him and Light perilously close to infamy: a fate the younger man, at least, fears more than death. Yet Jim will not leave Penang because of his dedication to Light’s young son, William, and his perplexing attraction to a mercurial Dutchman. He must stay and confront his own misguided ambitions as well as help save the legacy of a man he has come to despise.


Inspired by true events, Lies That Blind is a story featuring historical character Francis Light (1740-1794) who, in an effort to defy his mortality, was seemingly willing to put the lives and livelihoods of a thousand souls on Penang at risk.



Buy Links:


Universal Link: https://books2read.com/u/bwaxNe

Amazon UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Lies-That-Blind-Century-Penang/dp/981495442X

Amazon US: https://www.amazon.com/Lies-that-Blind-Century-Penang-ebook/dp/B09HKXYT12

Amazon CA: https://www.amazon.ca/Lies-that-Blind-Century-Penang-ebook/dp/B09HKXYT12

Amazon AU: https://www.amazon.com.au/Lies-that-Blind-Century-Penang-ebook/dp/B09HKXYT12


E.S. Alexander

 

E.S. Alexander was born in St. Andrews, Scotland in 1954, although her family moved to England a few years later. Her earliest memories include producing a newspaper with the John Bull printing set she was given one Christmas. She wrote and directed her first play, Osiris, at age 16, performed to an audience of parents, teachers, and pupils by the Lower Fifth Drama Society at her school in Bolton, Lancashire. Early on in her writing career, Liz wrote several short stories featuring The Dover Street Sleuth, Dixon Hawke for a D.C. Thomson newspaper in Scotland. Several of her (undoubtedly cringe-worthy) teenage poems were published in An Anthology of Verse.

 

Liz combined several decades as a freelance journalist writing for UK magazines and newspapers ranging from British Airways Business Life and the Daily Mail, to Marie Claire and Supply Chain Management magazine, with a brief stint as a presenter/reporter for various radio stations and television channels, including the BBC. In 2001 she moved to the United States where she earned her masters degree and Ph.D. in educational psychology from The University of Texas at Austin.

 

She has written and co-authored 17 internationally published, award-winning non-fiction books that have been translated into more than 20 languages.

 

In 2017, Liz relocated to Malaysia. She lives in Tanjung Bungah, Pulau Pinang where she was inspired to embark on one of the few forms of writing left for her to tackle: the novel.

 

 

Social Media Links:


Website: www.esalexander.com

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ES_Alexander7

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/liesthatblindnovel/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ESAlexanderLTB/

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/drlizfuturist/

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCUSceIIWwVZtRuURu5n8f-A

Amazon Author Page: https://www.amazon.com/E.S.-Alexander/e/B09HQLL4T8

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/59131359-lies-that-blind


https://maryanneyarde.blogspot.com/2021/07/blog-tour-lies-that-blind-by-es.html




06 December 2021

Mimi Lee Cracks the Code (A Sassy Cat Mystery) by Jennifer J. Chow Book Tour and Giveaway!

Mimi Lee Cracks the Code (A Sassy Cat Mystery) by Jennifer J. Chow

About Mimi Lee Cracks the Code

 

Mimi Lee Cracks the Code (A Sassy Cat Mystery) 

Cozy Mystery 3rd in Series 

Publisher ‏ : ‎ Berkley (November 30, 2021) 

Paperback ‏ : ‎ 288 pages 

ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1984805037 

ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1984805034 

Digital ASIN ‏ : ‎ B08XQ2T9BS 

One of BookRiot's Best Upcoming Cozy Mysteries for the Second Half of 2021!

 

When murder follows Mimi Lee to her romantic island getaway, she puts on her best sleuthing hat with her sassy cat in tow in this adventurous cozy mystery by Jennifer J. Chow.

 

Mimi Lee just found an extra perk to being a pet groomer at Hollywoof (other than cuddling animals all day long, that is). Pixie St. James, one of Mimi’s clients and the investor behind Hollywoof, has offered her and her boyfriend, Josh, a getaway at her vacation home, nestled on beautiful Catalina Island. With the island just outside of Los Angeles but still far enough from the hustle and bustle, Mimi, Josh, and their cat Marshmallow (who, of course, wouldn’t be caught dead in a dingy pet hotel) are excited for their relaxing stay.

 

That is, until Pixie’s last renter, Davis D. Argo, turns up dead. Mimi and Josh’s romantic getaway immediately turns into an enormous buzzkill, especially when Pixie asks Mimi for help. The police suspect Pixie, and Mimi knows a thing or two about wrongful allegations. Mimi figures it couldn’t hurt to snoop a little since she’s already there, and soon discovers that a valuable item is missing. Except Pixie isn’t the only one in the neighborhood who has been robbed. There is something strange happening on the island, and Mimi won’t stop until she finds out what it is.

 

About Jennifer J. Chow

 
  Jennifer J. Chow is the Lefty Award-nominated author of the Sassy Cat Mysteries. The first in the series, Mimi Lee Gets A Clue, was selected as an Overdrive Recommended Read, a PopSugar’s Best Summer Beach Read, and one of BuzzFeed’s Top 5 Books by AAPI authors. She’s active in Mystery Writers of America, Sisters in Crime, and Crime Writers of Color. Connect with Jennifer online at www.jenniferjchow.com
Author Links 

  Purchase Links - 

TOUR PARTICIPANTS
November 30 – Literary Gold – SPOTLIGHT
December 1 – Sapphyria's Book Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
December 2 – Baroness' Book Trove – REVIEW
December 3 – I'm All About Books – SPOTLIGHT
December 4 – The Book Diva's Reads – SPOTLIGHT
December 4 – MJB Reviewers – SPOTLIGHT
December 5 – #BRVL Book Review Virginia Lee Blog
December 6 – Celticlady's Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
December 6 – FUONLYKNEW - SPOTLIGHT
December 7 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – REVIEW
December 8 – Maureen's Musings – SPOTLIGHT
December 9 – Cozy Up With Kathy – SPOTLIGHT
December 9 – Books a Plenty Book Reviews – REVIEW
December 10 – Author Elena Taylor's Blog – SPOTLIGHT
December 11 – Brooke Blogs – SPOTLIGHT
December 12 – BookishKelly2020 – SPOTLIGHT 


Have you signed up to be a Tour Host? 


 

Alejandro’s Lie by Bob Van Laerhoven Book Tour!

 


Winner of the BestThrillers.com  “Political Thriller of the Year 2021” award

Purchase link: http://mybook.to/AlejandrosLieBVL

Genre:  Literary thriller

Print length: 292 pages

Age range: This is an adult book

Trigger warnings: The book deals with life under a dictatorship. There are references to torture, violence and political murder. Mild sexual references.

Amazon Rating: 4.5

About Alejandro’s Lie

Alejandro’s Lie was initially published in Dutch. Following much acclaim, it has been translated into French and now English. It is set in a fictitious South-American dictatorship in the eighties. The “junta” in this novel is a symbol for the murderous dictatorships in South-America (Chile and Argentine, to mention two) during the seventies and beginning of the eighties.

Terreno, 1983, Latin America. After a dictatorship of ten years, the brutal junta, lead by general Pelarón, seems to waver.

Consumed with guilt by the death of his friend Victor, whom he betrayed to his tormentors, Alejandro becomes the unintended center of a web of intrigue that culminates in a catastrophic insurrection, and has to choose between love and escape.

A love story, a thriller and an analysis of the mechanisms that govern a dictatorship, Alejandro’s Lie is a gripping novel about violence, betrayal, resistance, corruption, guilt and love.

Praise for Alejandro’s Lie

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Alejandro’s Lie” is a lyrical novel that will resonate with readers familiar with the history of many countries (not only South-American) that have suffered under the rule of dictatorships and corrupt governments. A gripping plot, beautifully written, filled with characters trying to remain true to themselves in impossible situations while confronting evil, which will touch the hearts of all who read it. It’s a fabulous story, full of tragedy, wonder, and magic. Amazon Review

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

There is a poetic quality in Bob Van Laerhoven’s prose that makes the story sing, and its romantic angle reminds me of Love in the Time of Cholera. As for the turbulent backdrop of a system that corrodes the nation, what started out as detention and torture for Alejandro has expanded into a moral dilemma that largely affects not only him but also those people who have faith in him. The choice between freedom and oppression doesn’t come easily, and the antagonists are worth noting for this. Readers Favorite

About the Author

Bob van Laerhoven is a Belgian writer and traveller whose work has been translated into most European languages, as well as Russian and Chinese.

He made his debut as a novelist in 1985 with “Nachtspel – Night Game.” He quickly became known for his colorful, kaleidoscopic novels in which the fate of the individual is closely related to broad social transformations. His style slowly evolved in his later novels to embrace more personal themes while continuing to branch out into the world at large. International flair has become his trademark.

As a travel writer he has explored conflicts and trouble-spots across the globe from the early 1990s to 2004. Echoes of his experiences on the road also trickle through in his novels. During the Bosnian war, Van Laerhoven spent part of 1992 in the besieged city of Sarajevo. Three years later he was working for MSF – Doctors without frontiers – in the Bosnian city of Tuzla during the NATO bombings.

All these experiences contribute to Bob Van Laerhoven’s rich and commendable oeuvre, as the versatile author of novels, travel stories, theatre pieces, biographies, non-fiction, letters, columns, articles…

His work has received many accolades.  

  • Most recently Alejandro’s Lie has won the https://bestthrillers.com award for Political Thriller of the Year 2021.

  • The Hercule Poirot Prize for best crime-novel of the year with “De Wraak van Baudelaire – Baudelaire’s Revenge”

  • Also for Baudelaire’s Revenge, the USA BEST BOOK AWARD 2014 in the category Fiction: mystery/suspense.

  • “Dangerous Obsessions” was voted “best short story collection of 2015 in The San Diego Book Review.

  • “Heart Fever” was one of the five finalists – and the only non-American author – of the Silver Falchion Award 2018 in the category “short stories collections.”

  • “Return to Hiroshima”, was listed in the top ten of international crime novels in 2018 in the British quality review blog “MurderMayhem&More”




AddToAny

Pin it!

Google Adsense

Please Share!

Printfriendly

View My Stats!

View My Stats

Pageviews past week

Analytics

Google Analytics

SNIPPET_HTML_V2.TXT

Feedburner

Tweet