05 March, 2021

The Northern Reach by W.S. WInslow Book Spotlight!

 

For fans of Elizabeth Strout and Ann Patchett comes THE NORTHERN REACH, an evocative and deeply  moving multi-generational novel from debut author W. S. Winslow (Flatiron Books; on sale: March 2, 2021).  

Frozen in grief after the loss of her son at sea, Edith Baines stares across the water at a schooner, under full sail  yet motionless in the winter wind and surging tide of the Northern Reach. Edith seems to be hallucinating. Or  is she? Edith’s boat-watch opens THE NORTHERN REACH, set in the coastal town of Wellbridge, Maine,  where townspeople squeeze a living from the perilous bay or scrape by on the largesse of the summer folk and  whatever they can cobble together, salvage, or grab. 

At the center of town life is the Baines family—land-rich, cash-poor descendants of town founders—along with  the ne’er-do-well Moody clan, the Martins of Skunk Pond, and the dirt farming, bootlegging Edgecombs. Over  the course of the twentieth century, the families intersect, interact, and intermarry, grappling with secrets and  prejudices that span generations, opening new wounds and reckoning with old ghosts. 

W. S. Winslow's THE NORTHERN REACH is a breathtaking debut about the complexity of family,  the cultural legacy of place, and the people and experiences that shape us. 

  


W. S. Winslow was born and raised in Maine but spent most of her working life in San Francisco and New  York in corporate communications and marketing. A ninth-generation Mainer, she now spends most of the  year in a small town Downeast. She holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees in French from the University of  Maine, and an MFA from NYU. Her fiction has been published in Yemassee Journal and Bird's Thumb. The Northern  Reach is her first novel.  

As the weather cools down, THE NORTHERN REACH is the perfect kind of immersive, atmospheric  novel to curl up with on a cozy evening. I’m excited for you to read it and hope you’ll keep this title in mind for  your March books coverage. 



No comments:

Post a Comment

AddToAny

Pin it!

Google Adsense

Google Analytics

Please Share!

Printfriendly

View My Stats!

View My Stats

Pageviews past week

SNIPPET_HTML_V2.TXT

Feedburner

Tweet