09 September 2021

Much Ado About Dukes by Eva Devon Reveal Tour!

Much Ado About Dukes
Eva Devon
(Never a Wallflower, #2)
Published by: Entangled: Amara
Publication date: January 25th 2022
Genres: Historical Romance, Romance

The matchmakers’ playbook goes out the window in this bold Regency romance that’s Emma meets 10 Things I Hate About You from USA Today bestselling author Eva Devon.

Each book in the Never a Wallflower series is STANDALONE:
* The Spinster and the Rake
* Much Ado About Dukes

 


Author Bio:

Sign up now for chances at free books, fun stuff, secret book info and more at evadevonromance.com

USATODAY BESTSELLING AUTHOR, Eva Devon, was raised on literary fiction, but quite accidentally and thankfully, she was introduced to romance one Christmas by Johanna Lindsey's Mallory novella, The Present. A romance addict was born. She devoured every single Lindsey novel within a few months and moved on to contemporary and paranormal with gusto. Now, she loves to write her own roguish dukes, alpha males and the heroines who tame them. She loves to hear from her readers. So please pen her a note! evadevonauthor@gmail.com

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter / Instagram

Hosted by:
XBTBanner1

When You Were Mine By Mila Nicks Cover Reveal!

 


  We are so excited to share the cover reveal for When You Were Mine by Mila Nicks, the next book in the Blue Collar Romance Series. Keep reading for more details about this sexy, second chance romance.

Title: When You Were Mine

Author: Mila Nicks

Release Date: 10/8/2021

Genres: Contemporary Romance

Trope: Second Chance Romance, Blue Collar Romance, Small-Town Romance, New Adult Romance

 
  From Mila Nicks comes a second chance romance packed with charm, heart, and a swoon worthy happily ever after. When bad boy Dylan Turner walked out of Penelope Spark’s life six years ago, she was convinced she’d never see him again. Now a single mom to her daughter, Tabitha, and the owner of a small candle shop, Penelope looks forward to a stable life without heartbreak.

That was before Dylan Turner showed up in Oak Bend like a relic from the past. Even worse? He’s rented the apartment next-door. A few years older and more mature but still with a bad boy edge, Dylan is a firefighter just trying to figure out what he wants in life. Could that be a second chance with Penelope? But there is one minor problem. 

Penelope has a secret that’s six years in the making. One that might destroy their relationship for good. If they’re meant to be together, they’ll need to come to terms with the past and learn to trust each other again. Is it possible their first love is their forever love? Welcome to Oak Bend where blue-collar hotties work hard and love even harder, especially when it comes to landing their happily ever after.



About Mila Nicks

 
  Mila Nicks is a romance author on a mission to pen entertaining love stories featuring women of color. From the time she was a small girl with crayons and an overactive imagination, she’s had a passion for storytelling. In addition to serving ten years in the United States Air Force, she has received her Bachelor’s degree in Journalism and an MFA in Creative Writing.   When she isn’t busy tapping away at her keyboard, you can find her binge-watching her favorite TV shows, daydreaming about her next vacation across the globe, or spending quality time with her spunky pet Chihuahua, Zayden.

Follow: Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Goodreads | BookBub | Amazon | Website | Newsletter

About The Blue Collar Romance Series

 
  Escape to Oak Bend where blue-collar hotties work hard and love even harder. From broody carpenters to sexy electricians, these eight standalones are packed with small town feels, heat, and heartwarming happily ever afters. Enjoy your favorite tropes written by an amazing group of authors: Jaymee Jacobs, Alexa Rivers, Evelyn Sola, Kate Carley, Tracy Broemmer, Mila Nicks, Claire Wilder, and Moni Boyce. Fall head over heels for swoon-worthy book boyfriends who aren’t afraid of a little hard work for that happily ever after.

Clement: The Green Ship (Clement, Book 2) By Craig R. Hipkins Blog Tour! @craighipkins3 @coffeepotbookclub @CraigHipkins @maryanneyarde #HistoricalFiction #Medieval #YA #BlogTour #HistoricalFiction

 




Book Title: Clement: The Green Ship

Series: Clement, Book 2

Author: Craig R. Hipkins

Publication Date: June 02, 2021

Publisher: Hipkins Twins

Page Length: 313

Genre: Historical Fiction/ Young Adult 12+


Normandy. The year 1161. King Henry ll sends the 14-year-old Clement, Count of la Haye on a secret mission. The young count and his friends travel in the wake of the mysterious mariner known as Sir Humphrey Rochford. Their destination? The legendary land of Vinland, known only from the Norse sagas. The journey is full of adventure and intrigue. Clement battles with a tyrannical Irish king and then finds his vessel attacked by a massive monster from the deep. The Green Ship sails to the sparse and barren land of Greenland where more trouble awaits.


This novel is available to read on #KindleUnlimited 


Universal Amazon Link: https://books2read.com/u/3keGyN


Amazon UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Clement-Green-Ship-Craig-Hipkins-ebook/dp/B096JKD64F

Amazon US: https://www.amazon.com/Clement-Green-Ship-Craig-Hipkins-ebook/dp/B096JKD64F

Amazon CA: https://www.amazon.ca/Clement-Green-Ship-Craig-Hipkins-ebook/dp/B096JKD64F

Amazon AU: https://www.amazon.com.au/Clement-Green-Ship-Craig-Hipkins-ebook/dp/B096JKD64F

Waterstones: https://www.waterstones.com/book/clement/craig-robert-hipkins/9798501536630


Read an Excerpt!

The herald signaled for the games to begin by blowing through his horn from the turret of the west tower of the castle. A total of fifteen archers gathered in the butts examining their targets to ensure fair play. Each archer was to have an assistant to help handing the shooter arrows and retrieving them from the targets. Clement, of course, chose Olaf. The archers would shoot ten arrows at a target thirty yards away. The top four shooters would then square off in a second round at forty yards and then the top two would compete for champion at the distance of fifty yards. The archers were to shoot by rank. The favorite was to shoot first and the least favorite was to shoot last. Claude of York was by far the favorite archer in the group, followed by O’Sullivan, the Rector of Cork. Tieg, known for his skills was third in the betting odds. Clement, count de la Haye, as an unknown, was dead last. Hundreds of spectators lined the perimeter of the field drinking mead and nibbling on quail and slices of pork. Around the elevated platform where Mac Lochlainn sat, banners and colorful flags flapped in the breeze. 


Claude of York leisurely strolled up to the firing line and was handed an arrow by his assistant. He yawned as he let the first one fly. A bullseye dead center in the target. Clement watched him anxiously as he let each one of them fly. After each shot the crowd let out an audible gasp. Ten shots, ten bullseyes. O’Sullivan was next and he performed a similar feat, ten bullseyes. Tieg was next. Unlike the previous two competitors he took his time finding his mark, but each arrow was true. Ten bullseyes. The rest of the shooters had mixed results but each one of them missed the bullseye at least one time. Finally, it was Clement’s turn to shoot. When he strode up to the line, he could hear people murmuring and laughing. Although he was the same age as Tieg, he appeared much younger and as an unknown, he was given little respect or chance. Claude of York and O’Sullivan did not even care to watch him shoot and headed for the platform where they engaged in conversation with Mac Lochlainn. 


“Give the lad a mug full of goats milk!” came a disrespectful taunt from the crowd. 


The audience burst out in laughter. Olaf handed Clement an arrow.


“Do not listen to them sire. Concentrate,” Olaf said, encouragingly.


Clement nodded and glanced over at the platform. He could see O’Sullivan attempting to talk to Dagena and Alice, but their attention was wrapped up in what he was about to do. The crowd was inattentive and boisterous. Some people took this time to begin their intermission to prepare for the second round. It was blatant disrespect. They had already brushed off Clement as if he were a non-factor in the game. Only Tieg was attentive. He stood off to the side watching his adversary carefully. Clement loaded the arrow and took aim. Bullseye, dead center. Suddenly the crowd became deathly still. People’s heads began to turn back towards the butts, or towards the shooter who calmly loaded his second arrow. The second one lodged right up against the first one. The crowd let out an audible gasp. This got the attention of Claude of York and O’Sullivan who turned to see what all the commotion was about. Clement could see Mac Lochlainn whispering something into Padraig O’Kane’s ear. The third arrow landed in the bullseye but to the upper left of the first two arrows. The fourth one in the bullseye to the upper right. The final six arrows formed a semi-circle in the bullseye below the first two. It was Claude of York who first noticed what Clement had done. He turned to Mac Lochlainn who had stood up and casually stepped off the platform onto the shooting field to get a better look at the target. Clement had created a smiley face with the arrows. His unbelievable accomplishment began to spread through the crowd who began cheering with cries of astonishment.




Craig R. Hipkins grew up in Hubbardston Massachusetts. He is the author of medieval and gothic fiction. His novel, Adalbert is the sequel to Astrolabe written by his late twin brother Jay S. Hipkins (1968-2018)

 

He is an avid long-distance runner and enjoys astronomy in his spare time.

 

Social Media Links:


Website: www.hipkinstwins.com

Twitter: https://twitter.com/CraigHipkins/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/HipkinsTwins

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/craighipkins3

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/craighipkins/

Amazon Author Page: https://www.amazon.com/Craig-R.-Hipkins/e/B004RDJMNC

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/58431784-clement





08 September 2021

Chasing Down the Dream by Jaymee Jacobs Release Tour! #NowLive @IndiePenPR Free in #KindleUnlimited #ChasingDownTheDream #BestFriendsSiblingRomance #BlueCollarRomanceSeries

Asher Wallace has always had a crush on Kasey Ruggieri, but as his best friend’s older sister, not only was she off-limits, but completely out of his league. Now that Kasey’s returned home after her fashion design business imploded, the heat between them is undeniable. Can Asher prove to Kasey that Oak Bend has all that she’s looking for? Fall for this hard-working hottie in Chasing Down the Dream by Jaymee Jacobs, a Best Friend’s Sibling Romance, the first book in the Blue Collar Romance Series.

Read Now!

From USA Today best-selling author Jaymee Jacobs comes a best friend’s sibling romance packed with heat, heart, and happily ever after.

 

When Kasey Ruggieri returns to her hometown after her fashion design business implodes, she barely recognizes the handsome guy with a smokin’ body who comes to fix the HVAC as her brother's best friend. The skinny teenager she once knew is gone, and when Asher strips off his shirt to work in the boiling heat, Kasey can't take her eyes off his glistening, muscular chest. Now she needs more than air conditioning to cool her desires.

 

Asher Wallace has had a crush on Kasey ever since he realized girls don’t have cooties. She’s beautiful, talented, and fun. But as his best friend’s older sister, she’s completely out of his league. Once Kasey left Oak Bend to pursue a fashion career in New York City, Asher shelved his boyhood crush and moved on from his college hockey days and into the family's heating and cooling business.

 

When Kasey and Asher finally connect, there’s enough heat to melt a Michigan winter. But when Kasey stumbles onto a new, profitable fashion venture, will she leave Asher behind for the bright lights of the big city once more? Or can Asher prove to Kasey that love and success can be found close to home?

 

Welcome to Oak Bend, where blue-collar hotties work hard and love even harder, especially when it comes to landing their happily ever after.

Add to Goodreads!

Excerpt

Copyright 2021 Jaymee Jacobs

If I had thought the temperature in this house was hot before Asher showed up, it was absolutely tropical after he arrived. Asher was just a kid the last time I’d seen him, before I’d gone off to college. His voice hadn’t even changed by then. And now, well, now he was all man.

 

I leaned against the boxes of my stuff stacked in the hallway, watching the way his biceps bunched under the tight sleeves of his T-shirt as he did whatever the hell he was doing to the thermostat. Asher used to be so scrawny.

 

Of course, I’d seen the way he’d looked at me back then. He was always over at our house, hanging out with Owen, staying for dinner. I knew his parents both worked, but I always wondered if he came to my house so much because of me. As a teenager, that had been a very conceited thought, and I’d forgotten all about it—and Asher—when I’d moved away.

 

Watching him now was a pleasant distraction from everything. From the fact that I’d had to pack up my life in New York City and move back home to Oak Bend, Michigan, because I couldn’t hack it in the big city. Because I’d made the leap and tried to break out on my own, but I had failed. Now I was back in my hometown with nothing to show for myself except for credit card debt and boxes of stuff.

 

In fact, watching him do his thing was the first time in a month that I hadn’t been overwhelmed by the heavy feeling of despair in the pit of my stomach weighing me down. I felt relieved to get a break from that sense of despondency, but it was more than that. It wasn’t just a lack of sadness but actual happiness at watching Asher do his thing. Sweat dripped down his forehead, and he wiped the beads away with his forearm. I figured it was time to do something more than just watch.

 

“Can I get you some water?”

 

“Uh, yeah,” he said, turning to look at me with eyes that I’d never realized were so damn blue. How had I never noticed that before? “That’d be great.”

 

“One sec,” I said, heading into the kitchen. Owen always kept the place stocked up for when he came back into town. He was hardly home, but he liked to be prepared and well-hydrated.

 

I grabbed two bottles from the fridge and went back into the living room, and oh my God—Asher had peeled off his shirt and was using it as a towel. He had a well-defined six pack and a dusting of dark hair between his pecs. His broad shoulders met up with the bulging muscles of his arms.

 

Was this real life? Or was I dreaming?

 

“Here you go.” I reached out to pass him his water. The smooth sheen on his skin caught a glint of sunlight, and I thought maybe I was in the presence of a Greek god. Damn.

About Jaymee Jacobs

Jaymee Jacobs is a USA Today best-selling author and author of the Dallas Comets series. She graduated summa cum laude from the University of Pittsburgh with a BA in English literature and a psychology minor.

Her books have the same two themes: hockey and the "millennial" experience. The first is because she's a die-hard fan (particularly of the Pittsburgh Penguins). The second is because she felt that there weren't any books to which she could personally relate. So she began to write the stories she wanted to read. Her books spotlight those in the up-and-coming generation as they navigate this new era of ubiquitous technology, online dating etiquette, and what it means to "adult."

When she's not writing, you'll find Jaymee curating her cats' Instagram account, listening to true crime podcasts, scrolling through Pinterest for fructose-free recipes, or yelling at the TV during Penguins games.

Follow: Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Reader Group | Goodreads | BookBub | Website | Newsletter | Amazon

About The Blue Collar Romance Series

Escape to Oak Bend where blue-collar hotties work hard and love even harder.

From broody carpenters to sexy electricians, these eight standalones are packed with small town feels, heat, and heartwarming happily ever afters.

Enjoy your favorite tropes written by an amazing group of authors: Jaymee Jacobs, Alexa Rivers, Evelyn Sola, Kate Carley, Tracy Broemmer, Mila Nicks, Claire Wilder, and Moni Boyce.

Fall head over heels for swoon-worthy book boyfriends who aren’t afraid of a little hard work for that happily ever after.

This promotional event is brought to you by Indie Pen PR

07 September 2021

The Murderess Must Die by Marlie Parker Wasserman Book Tour and Giveaway!

The Murderess Must Die by Marlie Wasserman Banner

The Murderess Must Die

by Marlie Parker Wasserman

August 16 - September 10, 2021 Tour

Synopsis:

The Murderess Must Die by Marlie Wasserman

On a winter day in 1898, hundreds of spectators gather at a Brooklyn courthouse, scrambling for a view of the woman they label a murderess. Martha Place has been charged with throwing acid in her stepdaughter’s face, hitting her with an axe, suffocating her with a pillow, then trying to kill her husband with the same axe. The crowd will not know for another year that the alleged murderess becomes the first woman in the world to be executed in the electric chair. None of her eight lawyers can save her from a guilty verdict and the governor of New York, Theodore Roosevelt, refuses to grant her clemency.

Was Martha Place a wicked stepmother, an abused wife, or an insane killer? Was her stepdaughter a tragic victim? Why would a well-dressed woman, living with an upstanding husband, in a respectable neighborhood, turn violent? Since the crime made the headlines, we have heard only from those who abused and condemned Martha Place.

Speaking from the grave she tells her own story, in her own words. Her memory of the crime is incomplete, but one of her lawyers fills in the gaps. At the juncture of true crime and fiction, The Murderess Must Die is based on an actual crime. What was reported, though, was only half the story.

Praise for The Murderess Must Die:

A true crime story. But in this case, the crime resides in the punishment. Martha Place was the first woman to die in the electric chair: Sing Sing, March 20, 1899. In this gorgeously written narrative, told in the first-person by Martha and by those who played a part in her life, Marlie Parker Wasserman shows us the (appalling) facts of fin-de-siècle justice. More, she lets us into the mind of Martha Place, and finally, into the heart. Beautifully observed period detail and astute psychological acuity combine to tell us Martha's story, at once dark and illuminating. The Murderess Must Die accomplishes that rare feat: it entertains, even as it haunts.
Howard A. Rodman, author of The Great Eastern

The first woman to be executed by electric chair in 1899, Martha Place, speaks to us in Wasserman's poignant debut novel. The narrative travels the course of Place's life describing her desperation in a time when there were few opportunities for women to make a living. Tracing events before and after the murder of her step-daughter Ida, in lean, straightforward prose, it delivers a compelling feminist message: could an entirely male justice system possibly realize the frightful trauma of this woman's life? This true-crime novel does more--it transcends the painful retelling of Place's life to expand our conception of the death penalty. Although convicted of a heinous crime, Place's personal tragedies and pitiful end are inextricably intertwined.
Nev March, author of Edgar-nominated Murder in Old Bombay

The Murderess Must Die would be a fascinating read even without its central elements of crime and punishment. Marlie Parker Wasserman gets inside the heads of a wide cast of late nineteenth century Americans and lets them tell their stories in their own words. It’s another world, both alien and similar to ours. You can almost hear the bells of the streetcars.
Edward Zuckerman, author of Small Fortunes and The Day After World War Three, Emmy-winning writer-producer of Law & Order

This is by far the best book I have read in 2021! Based on a true story, I had never heard of Mattie Place prior to reading this book. I loved all of the varying voices telling in the exact same story. It was unique and fresh and so wonderfully deep. I had a very hard time putting the book down until I was finished!
It isn't often that an author makes me feel for the murderess but I did. I connected deeply with all of the people in this book, and I do believe it will stay with me for a very long time.
This is a fictionalized version of the murder of Ida Place but it read as if the author Marlie Parker Wasserman was a bystander to the actual events. I very highly recommend this book.
Jill, InkyReviews

Book Details:

Genre: Historical Crime Fiction
Published by: Level Best Books
Publication Date: July 6, 2021
Number of Pages: 250
ISBN: 978-1953789877
Purchase Links: Amazon | Goodreads

Read an excerpt:

Mattie

Martha Garretson, that’s the name I was born with, but the district attorney called me Martha Place in the murder charge. I was foolish enough to marry Mr. William Place. And before that I was dumb enough to marry another man, Wesley Savacool. So, my name is Martha Garretson Savacool Place. Friends call me Mattie. No, I guess that’s not right. I don’t have many friends, but my family, the ones I have left, they call me Mattie. I’ll tell you more before we go on. The charge was not just murder. That D.A. charged me with murder in the first degree, and he threw in assault, and a third crime, a ridiculous one, attempted suicide. In the end he decided to aim at just murder in the first. That was enough for him.

I had no plans to tell you my story. I wasn’t one of those story tellers. That changed in February 1898, soon after my alleged crimes, when I met Miss Emilie Meury. The guards called her the prison angel. She’s a missionary from the Brooklyn Auxiliary Mission Society. Spends her days at the jail where the police locked me up for five months before Sing Sing. I never thought I’d talk to a missionary lady. I didn’t take kindly to religion. But Miss Meury, she turned into a good friend and a good listener. She never snickered at me. Just nodded or asked a question or two, not like those doctors I talked to later. They asked a hundred questions. No, Miss Meury just let me go wherever I wanted, with my recollections. Because of Miss Meury, now I know how to tell my story. I talked to her for thirteen months, until the day the state of New York set to electrocute me.

We talked about the farm, that damn farm. Don’t fret, I knew enough not to say damn to Emilie Meury. She never saw a farm. She didn’t know much about New Jersey, and nothing about my village, East Millstone. I told her how Pa ruined the farm. Sixty acres, only thirty in crop, one ramshackle house with two rooms down and two rooms up. And a smokehouse, a springhouse, a root cellar, a chicken coop, and a corn crib, all run down, falling down. The barn was the best of the lot, but it leaned over to the west.

They tell me I had three baby brothers who died before I was born, two on the same day. Ma and Pa hardly talked about that, but the neighbors remembered, and they talked. For years that left just my brother Garret, well, that left Garret for a while anyway, and my sister Ellen. Then I was born, then Matilda—family called her Tillie—then Peter, then Eliza, then Garret died in the

war, then Eliza died. By the time I moved to Brooklyn, only my brother Peter and my sister Ellen were alive. Peter is the only one the police talk to these days.

The farmers nearby and some of our kin reckoned that my Ma and Pa, Isaac and Penelope Garretson were their names, they bore the blame for my three little brothers dying in just two years. Isaac and Penelope were so mean, that’s what they deserved. I don’t reckon their meanness caused the little ones to die. I was a middle child with five before me and three after, and I saw meanness all around, every day. I never blamed anything on meanness. Not even what happened to me.

On the farm there was always work to be done, a lot of it by me. Maybe Ma and Pa spread out the work even, but I never thought so. By the time I was nine, that was in 1858, I knew what I had to do. In the spring I hiked up my skirt to plow. In the fall I sharpened the knives for butchering. In the winter I chopped firewood after Pa or Garret, he was the oldest, sawed the heaviest logs. Every morning I milked and hauled water from the well. On Thursdays I churned. On Mondays I scrubbed. Pa, and Ma too, they were busy with work, but they always had time to yell when I messed up. I was two years younger than Ellen, she’s my sister, still alive, I think. I was taller and stronger. Ellen had a bent for sewing and darning, so lots of time she sat in the parlor with handiwork. I didn’t think the parlor looked shabby. Now that I’ve seen fancy houses, I remember the scratched and frayed chairs in the farmhouse and the rough plank floor, no carpets. While Ellen sewed in the parlor, I plowed the fields, sweating behind the horses. I sewed too, but everyone knew Ellen was better. I took care with all my chores. Had to sew a straight seam. Had to plow a straight line. If I messed up, Pa’s wrath came down on me, or sometimes Ma’s. Fists or worse.

When I told that story for the first time to Miss Emilie Meury, she lowered her head, looked at the Bible she always held. And when I told it to others, they looked away too.

On the farm Ma needed me and Ellen to watch over our sisters, Tillie and Eliza, and over our brother Peter. They were born after me. Just another chore, that’s what Ellen thought about watching the young ones. For me, I liked watching them, and not just because I needed a rest from farm work. I loved Peter. He was four years younger. He’s not that sharp but he’s a good-natured, kind. I loved the girls too. Tillie, the level-headed and sweet one, and Eliza, the restless one, maybe wild even. The four of us played house. I was the ma and Peter, he stretched his

back and neck to be pa. I laughed at him, in a kindly way. He and me, we ordered Tillie and Eliza around. We played school and I pranced around as schoolmarm.

But Ma and Pa judged, they judged every move. They left the younger ones alone and paid no heed to Ellen. She looked so sour. We called her sourpuss. Garret and me, we made enough mistakes to keep Ma and Pa busy all year. I remember what I said once to Ma, when she saw the messy kitchen and started in on me.

“Why don’t you whup Ellen? She didn’t wash up either.”

“Don’t need to give a reason.”

“Why don’t you whup Garret. He made the mess.”

“You heard me. Don’t need to give a reason.”

Then she threw a dish. Hit my head. I had a bump, and more to clean.

With Pa the hurt lasted longer. Here’s what I remember. “Over there.” That’s what he said, pointing. He saw the uneven lines my plow made. When I told this story to Miss Meury, I pointed, with a mean finger, to give her the idea.

I spent that night locked in the smelly chicken coop.

When I tell about the coop, I usually tell about the cemetery next, because that’s a different kind of hurt. Every December, from the time I was little to the time I left the farm, us Garretsons took the wagon or the sleigh for our yearly visit to the cemetery, first to visit Stephen, Cornelius, and Abraham. They died long before. They were ghosts to me. I remembered the gloom of the cemetery, and the silence. The whole family stood around those graves, but I never heard a cry. Even Ma stayed quiet. I told the story, just like this, to Miss Meury. But I told it again, later, to those men who came to the prison to check my sanity.

Penelope Wykoff Garretson

I was born a Wyckoff, Penelope Wyckoff, and I felt that in my bones, even when the other farm folks called me Ma Garretson. As a Wyckoff, one of the prettiest of the Wyckoffs I’m not shy to say, I lived better than lots of the villagers in central New Jersey, certainly better than the Garretsons. I had five years of schooling and new dresses for the dances each year. I can’t remember what I saw in Isaac Garretson when we married on February 5, 1841. We slept together that night. I birthed Stephen nine months later. Then comes the sing-song litany. When I was still nursing Stephen, Garret was born. And while I was still nursing Garret, the twins were born. Then the twins died and I had only Stephen and Garret. Then Stephen died and I had no one but Garret until Ellen was born. Then Martha. Some call her Mattie. Then Peter. Then Matilda. Some call her Tillie. Then Eliza. Then Garret died. Then Eliza died. Were there more births than deaths or deaths than births?

During the worst of the birthing and the burying, Isaac got real bad. He always had a temper, I knew that, but it got worse. Maybe because the farm was failing, or almost failing. The banks in New Brunswick—that was the nearby town—wouldn’t lend him money. Those bankers knew him, knew he was a risk. Then the gambling started. Horse racing. It’s a miracle he didn’t lose the farm at the track. I didn’t tell anyone, not even my sisters, about the gambling, and I certainly didn’t tell them that the bed didn’t help any. No time for shagging. Isaac pulled me to him at the end of a day. The bed was always cold because he never cut enough firewood. I rolled away most days, not all. Knew it couldn’t be all. So tired. There were no strapping boys to

help with the farm, no girls either for a while.

As Garret grew tall and Ellen and Mattie grew some, I sent the children to the schoolhouse. It wasn’t much of a school, just a one-room unpainted cottage shared with the post office, with that awful Mr. Washburn in charge. It was what we had. Isaac thought school was no use and kept Garret and the girls back as much as he could, especially in the spring. He needed them for the farm and the truth was I could use them for housework and milking and such too. Garret didn’t mind skipping school. He was fine with farm work, but Ellen and Mattie fussed and attended more days than Garret did. I worried that Garret struggled to read and write, while the girls managed pretty well. Ellen and Mattie read when there was a need and Mattie was good with her numbers. At age nine she was already helping Isaac with his messy ledgers.

I was no fool—I knew what went on in that school. The few times I went to pull out Garret midday for plowing, that teacher, that Mr. Washburn, looked uneasy when I entered the room. He stood straight as a ramrod, looking at me, grimacing. His fingernails were clean and his collar was starched. I reckon he saw that my fingernails were filthy and my muslin dress was soiled. Washburn didn’t remember that my children, the Garretson children, were Wyckoffs just as much as they were Garretsons. He saw their threadbare clothes and treated them like dirt. Had Garret chop wood and the girls haul water, while those stuck-up Neilson girls, always with those silly smiles on their faces, sat around in their pretty dresses, snickering at the others. First, I didn’t think the snickering bothered anyone except me. Then I saw Ellen and Mattie fussing with their clothes before school, pulling the fabric around their frayed elbows to the inside, and I knew they felt bad.

I wanted to raise my children, at least my daughters, like Wyckoffs. With Isaac thinking he was in charge, that wasn’t going to happen. At least the girls knew the difference, knew there was something better than this miserable farm. But me, Ma Garretson they called me, I was stuck.

***

Excerpt from The Murderess Must Die by Marlie Wasserman. Copyright 2021 by Marlie Wasserman. Reproduced with permission from Marlie Wasserman. All rights reserved.

Author Bio:

Marlie Wasserman

Marlie Parker Wasserman writes historical crime fiction, after a career on the other side of the desk in publishing. The Murderess Must Die is her debut novel. She reviews regularly for The Historical Novel Review and is at work on a new novel about a mysterious and deadly 1899 fire in a luxury hotel in Manhattan.

Catch Up With Marlie Wasserman:
www.MarlieWasserman.com
Instagram - @marliepwasserman
Twitter - @MarlieWasserman
Facebook - @marlie.wasserman

Tour Participants:

Visit these other great hosts on this tour for more great reviews, interviews, guest posts, and giveaways!

Join In To Win!

This is a rafflecopter giveaway hosted by Partners in Crime Virtual Book Tours for Marlie Parker Wasserman. There will be 1 winner of one (1) Amazon.com Gift Card (U.S. ONLY). The giveaway runs from August 16th until September 12, 2021. Void where prohibited.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Get More Great Reads at Partners In Crime Virtual Book Tours

 

An Insatiable Eventide by TK Cherry Release Tour!

Aimee craves Devin at night, but he’s the enemy. Neither are looking for love, but the two are unexpectedly matched on a kinky hookup app. What should be some no-strings-attached fun, could turn into something more. Readers who enjoy humorous and sexy reads with suspenseful moments, will love An Insatiable Eventide by TK Cherry, an enemies to lovers, erotic romance.

Blurb

AIMEE

As a nurse, I swore an oath to help, not harm, which I take very seriously. However, I’d make an exception for Holt. My cousin’s cheating ex is a vile human being, an utter waste of oxygen. 

His brother is... another matter. 

One look at Devin and I’m fighting the urge to lose my inhibitions and my panties. I know it’s insane. Yet I can’t help but wonder if a little no-strings-attached fun might be just what the doctor ordered... 

DEVIN

I know I’m not Aimee’s type, and not just because of her deep loathing for my brother. She’s willing to go toe-to-toe with me, and I am irresistibly drawn to her fiery demeanor. 

Then, to my utter astonishment, we are matched on a kinky hookup app. 

Could it be the uptight nurse has a freak flag she’s looking to fly? I’m down for any dirty fun she’s up for... as long as she doesn’t expect a ring in the end.

Add to Goodreads!

Buy Now or Read for FREE with Kindle Unlimited! 

Excerpt 

Copyright 2021 @TK Cherry

“Look, Aimee—”

Oh hell no. Is he about to end to our… relationship?

“—I don’t know what’s going on between us, but it seems to be getting out of hand.”

I’ve surpassed indignant. “Out of hand for who? You?”

“Be honest with me, Brooks. Was this what you signed up for when you first downloaded the RendezOooh app? It certainly wasn’t what I signed up for.”

“No, Devin, it wasn’t—”

“Between the weird vibes and the random texts—”

“Weird vibes?”

What the fuck are you talking about, Holt?!

My blood is boiling, and I’m shaking mad.

“We came into this thing just for the sex, and now it’s turned into something else. And if I’m being honest, I can’t deal with any complications right now. Again, it’s not what I signed up for. We’re out of bounds.”

As tough of a woman I claim to be, I can only keep strong for so long. Against my will, a tear rolls down from the corner of my eye.

“You’re right—we aren’t supposed to be spending the night. We didn’t sign up for that,” I concede.

“What if we put some distance between us to choke out the weird vibe? Maybe we can hook up once a month, or even once a quarter.”

He must be kidding.

Hear him out, Aimee…

I contemplate his proposal, knowing in my mind that it’s the right thing to do. I have no right to be mad because this is what I signed up for. The sex-only thing was the parameter we set from the very beginning. We downloaded RendezOooh because we wanted a straight-up sex partner.

We weren’t looking for love.

Instead, we became wrapped up in each other so much that we created a monster.

There’s no way in hell we can put this thing back in the cage. It’s already out and wreaking havoc on our hearts. Well… at least mine, anyway.

I have to cut him off completely. There is no other way around this.

“I can’t do once a month or once a quarter,” I tell him.

“How about once every three weeks?”

“No, Devin—I can’t do this anymore,” I say in a shaky voice. “Not with you, anyway. There is no way I can continue to deny what I feel for you. I have to have everything or nothing at all.”

There—I said it.

I have feelings for you, Devin.

“What are you asking for—a relationship?”

The disgust in his voice has me wanting to take back the words.

But I can’t.

“I—I don’t know what I’m asking,” I stutter.

“I can’t give you that, Aimee… You know that.”

“I know. And that’s why I’m letting you go.”

Buy Now or Read for FREE with Kindle Unlimited! 

About TK Cherry 

You can take the girl out of Detroit, but you'll never take Detroit out of this girl.
For TK Cherry, it's pop—not soda, and Tim Hortons over everything else.
Born and raised in The Motor City, TK now enjoys little or no winters in the Carolinas. By day, she's a spreadsheet whiz and frequent flyer. By night, she lives for keeping her loyal readers on the edge of their seats with steamy tales of happily ever after.

Follow: Facebook | Reader Group | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bookbub | Amazon | Website | Newsletter | Pinterest | Book+Main Bites

This promotional event is brought to you by The Indie Pen PR

Between Rage & Regret by Willa Watkins Release Blitz!

When Kai disappeared five years ago, he left Shayleigh with a broken heart. Now he’s back and wants to reconnect with those he left behind, but one secret will turn his life upside down. Can Kai and Shayleigh’s love overcome all the suffering and secrets? Fans of K.C. Crowne and Melanie Harlow will love Between Rage & Regret by Willa Watkins, a slow burn, enemies to lovers, second chance, small town romance.

Blurb

Kai Ashford has been treated differently by his father his entire life, receiving only coldness and often violence. When he discovers the reason for so much contempt, a tragedy happens and he disappears.

Five years later, he is forced to return to help his brothers and reconnects with the people he left behind.

Shayleigh has known Kai her entire life and hates him for having broken her heart all those years ago. She does everything to resist his charms and keep him out of her life.

During Kai’s attempt to understand Shayleigh’s hatred, secrets are revealed. One which will turn Kai’s life upside down. Can love overcome all the suffering and secrets?

Add to Goodreads Here!

Buy Now or Read for FREE with Kindle Unlimited!

Excerpt 

Copyright 2021 @Willa Watkins

Kai hopped over the low fence that separated our houses, wearing shorts that fell loosely on his hips. He was shirtless and barefoot with unruly hair.
"You're trespassing," I said.
He ignored me and approached with a wide smile. "Did you miss me?"
I did and I was ashamed of it. "Barely noticed you were gone."
"Well, I missed you, Shayleigh. I couldn't stop thinking about you the entire trip," he said, sounding sincere. However, I knew him well. This was Kai being Kai. "I even brought you a present."
"Whatever it is, it can't be good."
"Is William home?" He signaled with his chin in the direction of my house.
"Yes, he's home and you should leave."
Surprisingly, he obeyed and jumped back to his side of the fence and I didn't see him anymore. But good things never last and he returned a few minutes later. At least this time he stayed on his property.
"Come here, Shay." He waved me over. "I want to give you your gift."
He wasn't kidding. Maybe he did think of me. "No, thanks."
"I'm serious, Shay. Come here. You won't regret it."
I bit my lip, eyes everywhere but on Kai. But then I glanced up and pleading brown eyes stared back. Eyes that looked so deeply into my own. My body squirmed just a little as my muscles relaxed. There was something about that gaze of his and I almost caved. Almost.
"No, go home, Kai." My breathing became softer and his pleading expression dissolved into a smile as soft as the morning light and that was enough to melt the ice in me. "Fine."
Groaning, I stood and strolled to the fence. He was holding a rectangular box wrapped in gold paper with a red bow.
"For you." He thrust it in my direction. I took the box and eyed it with uncertainty. "Aren't you going to open it?"
"What's in this?"
"Open and you'll see."
I shook the box. It was light and whatever was inside shifted. "If this is some prank..."
"Why do you always think the worst of me?"
"Because you are the worst, but I'll open it later. Thanks." I turned my back on him and hurried inside.
Two at a time, I ran up the stairs and locked myself in my room. Curious to know what he had gotten me, I tugged on the red bow and loosened the knot. I lifted the cover and once I grasped what was in it, I burned from the roots of my hair to my toes.
I was going to kill Kai!
I marched to my window, unlocked it, and called out his name. He appeared instantly.
"F*ck you, Kai," I spat.
"No, baby. F*ck you, if you know what I mean."
Fuming, I picked up the purple dildo and threw it at him. It didn't reach him but fell on his yard and the jerk burst out laughing.

Buy Now or Read for FREE with Kindle Unlimited!

About Willa Watkins 

Willa is an author of mature New Adult and Contemporary Romance. She is happiest writing her fearless kissing tales with a cup of coffee in hand. Her stories are addictive, suspenseful, and angsty.

Willa also loves connecting with her readers. So don't hesitate to contact or follow her on social media to stay up to date with her writing.

Follow: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bookbub | Amazon | Newsletter

This promotional event is brought to you by The Indie Pen PR

06 September 2021

An Untidy Affair: A David Blaise Mystery by MB Dabney Book Tour and Giveaway!

An Untidy Affair: A David Blaise Mystery by MB Dabney

About An Untidy Affair

An Untidy Affair: A David Blaise Mystery 

Suspense/Mystery 1st in Series 

Publisher ‏ : ‎ Per Bastet Publications LLC (June 25, 2021) 

Paperback ‏ : ‎ 280 pages 

ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1942166761 

ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1942166764 

Digital ASIN ‏ : ‎ B097YPJYWN

Struggling Philadelphia private eye David Blaise gets two routine but unrelated cases on the same day in May 1985 – the day city police firebombed the MOVE house, which killed 11 people and destroyed an entire neighborhood. When Blaise starts following a cheating husband and searching for a missing person who may not actually be missing, he also discovers his cases may be related, and that he is being followed. When his tail is murdered, implicating the P-I, Blaise must find the true killer before he is literally buried alive.

About MB Dabney

MB Dabney is an award-winning journalist whose writing has appeared in numerous local and national publications, such as Indianapolis Monthly, NUVO, Ebony magazine, Black Enterprise.com, the Indianapolis Recorder, and the Indianapolis Business Journal. A native of Indianapolis, Michael spent decades as a reporter working at Business Week magazine, United Press International and the Associated Press, the Indianapolis Star, and The Philadelphia Tribune, the nation's oldest continuously published Black newspaper, where he won awards for editorial writing. He has co-edited two anthologies -- Decades of Dirt: Murder, Mystery and Mayhem from the Crossroads of Crime; and MURDER 20/20 -- and has published numerous short mystery stories, including Miss Hattie Mae's Secret (Decades of Dirt) , Callipygian (The Fine Art of Murder), and Killing Santa Claus (Homicide for the Holidays). An Untidy Affair is his first novel.· The father of two adult daughters, Michael lives in Indianapolis with his wife, Angela.


TOUR PARTICIPANTS
September 1 – Literary Gold – AUTHOR INTERVIEW
September 1 – FUONLYKNEW – SPOTLIGHT
September 2 – Novels Alive – GUEST POST
September 2 – Christy's Cozy Corners - SPOTLIGHT
September 3 – Sapphyria's Book Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
September 4 – StoreyBook Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
September 4 – Books a Plenty Book Reviews – REVIEW
September 5 – Laura's Interests – SPOTLIGHT
September 5 – I'm All About Books – SPOTLIGHT
September 6 – Celticlady's Reviews - SPOTLIGHT
September 6 – #BRVL Book Review Virginia Lee Blog – SPOTLIGHT
September 7 – Maureen’s Musings – SPOTLIGHT
September 8 – Nesie's Place – AUTHOR INTERVIEW
September 8 – Brooke Blogs – REVIEW
September 9 – I Read What You Write – REVIEW, GUEST POST
September 10 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – AUTHOR INTERVIEW

   Have you signed up to be a Tour Host? 

 

In a Grove of Maples by Jenny Knipfer Book Tour! @JennyKnipfer @maryanneyarde @jennyknipferbrave @coffeepotbookclub #HistoricalFiction #ChristianHistoricalFiction #BlogTour #CoffeePotBookClub


Book Title: In a Grove of Maples

Series: Sheltering Trees: Book 1

Author: Jenny Knipfer

Publication Date: 1st July 2021

Publisher: Jenny Knipfer--Author

Page Length: 264 Pages

Genre: Historical Fiction, Christian Historical Fiction


In a Grove of Maples 

(Sheltering Trees: Book 1)

By Jenny Knipfer 

Audio Narrated By Jenn Lee


"... a heartfelt tale of the struggles of married life on a nineteenth-century farm. Edward and Beryl are both relatable and sympathetic. Knipfer expertly captures the emotion and stress of their lives and relationship. It’s a touching and realistic portrayal of love, loss, and friendship." Heather Stockard for Readers’ Favorite five-star review


A HISTORICAL NOVEL OF THE PERILS OF NEWLYWED LIFE AND ALL THAT COMES TO DIVIDE LOVERS

In 1897 newly married Beryl and Edward Massart travel more than one thousand miles from Quebec to farm a plot of land in Wisconsin that they bought sight-unseen. An almost magical grove of maples on their property inspires them to dream of a real home built within the grove, not the tiny log cabin they’ve come to live in. 


Misunderstandings and tempers get the better of them when difficulties and troubles arise. Just months after they wed, Edward leaves pregnant Beryl in the midst of the coming winter to tend the farm and animals while he goes to be a teamster at a northern Wisconsin logging camp. 


Will Beryl and Edward walk into the future together to build their house of dreams in the grove of maples, or will their plans topple like a house of sticks when the winds of misunderstanding and disaster strike?

Readers of Christian historical fiction, Historical fiction, Women’s fiction, and Christian historical romance will be endeared to this slice of late 19th century farm life.

Is your book on Kindle Unlimited? Yes

Universal Link: https://books2read.com/u/bojLRR

Amazon UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Grove-Maples-Sheltering-Trees-Book-ebook/dp/B0916GL4L2

Amazon US: https://www.amazon.com/Grove-Maples-Sheltering-Trees-Book-ebook/dp/B0916GL4L2

Amazon CA: https://www.amazon.ca/Grove-Maples-Sheltering-Trees-Book-ebook/dp/B0916GL4L2

Amazon AU: https://www.amazon.com.au/Grove-Maples-Sheltering-Trees-Book-ebook/dp/B0916GL4L2

Barnes and Noble:

Indiebound:

Bookshop:

Audio:

 

Jenny Knipfer

 

Jenny lives in Wisconsin with her husband, Ken, and their pet Yorkie, Ruby. She is also a mom and loves being a grandma. She enjoys many creative pursuits but finds writing the most fulfilling.


Spending many years as a librarian in a local public library, Jenny recently switched to using her skills as a floral designer in a retail flower shop. She is now retired from work due to disability. Her education background stems from psychology, music, and cultural missions.


She holds membership in the: Midwest Independent Booksellers Association, Wisconsin Writers Association, Christian Indie Publishing Association, and Independent Book Publishers Association.


Jenny’s favorite place to relax is by the western shore of Lake Superior, where her novel series, By The Light of the Moon, is set. A new historical fiction, four-part series entitled, Sheltering Trees, will be released in 2021 and 2022. Jenny is currently writing a novella series entitled, Botanical Seasons

 

Social Media Links:

Website: https://jennyknipfer.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/jennyknipfer/

Facebook: https://facebook.com/jennyknipfe.writer/

Instagram: https://instagram.com/jennyknipferbrave/

Pinterest: https://pinterest.com/jennyknipfer/

Book Bub: https://www.bookbub.com/profile/jenny-knipfer

Amazon Author Page: https://www.amazon.com/Jenny-Knipfer/e/B07QV9HPH4

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/19133392.Jenny_Knipfer





AddToAny

Pin it!

Google Adsense

Please Share!

Printfriendly

View My Stats!

View My Stats

Pageviews past week

Analytics

Google Analytics

SNIPPET_HTML_V2.TXT

Feedburner

Tweet