13 September 2021

An Eggnog To Die For by Amy Pershing ! New Cape Cod Foodie Mystery!

                   

A New Cape Cod Foodie Mystery

                     

Christmas is coming to Cape Cod

                             

but when Sam Barnes finds a very dead Santa in a very hip restaurant . . .

                             

it’s up to her to sift out suspects who have been naughty vs. nice….

An Eggnog to Die For (A Cape Cod Foodie Mystery) 

Cozy Mystery 2nd in Series Publisher ‏ : ‎ Berkley (November 2, 2021) 

Mass Market Paperback ‏ : ‎ 320 pages 

ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 0593199162

ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-0593199169 

Digital ASIN ‏ : ‎ B08VRGNFST 

Professional foodie Samantha Barnes has a simple Christmas list: a quiet holiday at home with her dog and a certain handsome harbormaster; no embarrassing viral videos; and no finding dead bodies. Unfortunately, she’s got family visiting, she’s spending a lot of time in front of the camera, and she’s just stumbled over the lifeless body of the town’s Santa Claus.

Plus, Sam’s plans for Christmas Eve are getting complicated. There’s the great eggnog debate among her very opinionated guests. There’s the “all edible” Christmas tree to decorate. And there’s her Feast of the Five Fishes prepare. Nonetheless, Sam finds herself once again in the role of sleuth. She needs to find out who slayed this Santa—but can she pull off a perfect feast and nab a killer?

You can Pre-Order Your Copy Today!

Amazon - B&N - Kobo - Google Play - IndieBound

 

A Place to Belong by Alexa Rivers Release Tour!

 

When Felicity Bell walks into her new rental, the last thing she expected was to find Wyatt Dawson, her hot new neighbor, half-naked in her kitchen. Despite their misunderstanding and rough start, things heat up quickly for this unlikely pair. Fall for this hard-working hottie in A Place to Belong by Alexa Rivers, an Opposites Attract Romance, the next book in the Blue Collar Romance Series

Read Now!

 
From Alexa Rivers comes an opposites attract romance packed with humor, emotion and a sizzling happily ever after. Horror author Felicity Bell moves to the charming town of Oak Bend after being shunned from the last place she called home. When she walks in the door of her new rental, she doesn’t expect to find a half-naked man standing in her kitchen. 

There’s just one problem: Wyatt Dawson seems to think it’s his kitchen. Misunderstandings aside, her new neighbor is lumberjack hot, and his grumpiness only makes her more determined to bring a little joy to his life, even if he’d rather be left alone. 

Burned by his past, Wyatt isn’t about to let the cheerful free spirit next door into his heart only for her to crush him when she flits out of town again. But with his well-meaning, matchmaking, mother on the case, these two end up spending far too much time together and things between the unlikely pair quickly heat up.

 It may be true what they say—opposites do attract, but only if their relationship can survive Wyatt’s interfering ex-girlfriend and Felicity's fear of history repeating itself. Welcome to Oak Bend, where blue-collar hotties work hard and love even harder, especially when it comes to landing their happily ever after.

Add to Goodreads!

Excerpt

Copyright 2021 Alexa Rivers

I should have known the moment I saw her that this was no coincidence. A hot crazy lady randomly appears in my house? Not fucking likely. This has Mom's fingerprints all over it, and the keys clutched in the blonde’s hand are the nail in her coffin. I sigh. The woman is eyeing me like I'm a rabid dog about to strike. Or at least, that’s how she’s looking at me now. 

I caught the flash of heat in her gaze when my towel dropped a moment ago. Groaning again, I lean against the doorframe and wonder what I did to deserve this. I've spent a long day completing work on a brick fence. My back aches, and all I want is to crack open a beer and watch hockey. "So?" 

The blonde clasps her hands together, fidgeting. She's pretty, if a bit skittish. Her moss-green eyes dart around the kitchen, returning to me every few seconds as though she's wary of taking her attention off me for too long.

"What's going on?" I nod toward the keys in her hand. "Those belong to my mother. She owns the house next door, which is the one you actually rented." 

"Oh." Her slim shoulders slump in relief, and her curls bounce. 
"Thank goodness for that. It's all a big misunderstanding." I laugh dryly. "It’s no such thing." A furrow forms between her brows.

"What do you mean? Surely she just gave me the wrong set of keys." "If only." She seems baffled by my cryptic comment, and I sigh, already able to tell that she's the type who's curious enough to stick around until I explain everything.

"Mom intentionally sent you here," I say, figuring I may as well get the awkwardness out of the way. I'm sure it's not the only time she'll be subject to Mom's match-making machinations if she plans to live next door. She has a wholesome, sweet vibe that Mom will just eat up. Yeah, I'm going to be dodging this woman for the foreseeable future. 

"She hoped we'd run into each other, and that I'd be smitten with you. She set us up." "Oh." This time, there's a whole other level of meaning to the word. But then she cocks her head, and the furrow deepens. "I wouldn't have thought you needed to be set up." Her gaze rakes over me once again, and I can't help but puff out my chest.

 It's been a long time since anyone looked at me with such blatant appreciation, and I can tell she doesn't even realize she's doing it, or else she'd be mortified. "I don't," I reply firmly, and her eyes snap up to mine. A delicate, pink flush journeys down her neck. Damn, I need to get rid of her before I actually do start to find her charming. "Here. I'll get you my key for the place next door, and you can give me that one." I nod at the key in her hand. She drops it on the counter. "I'm so sorry about this." She wrings her hands, looking awkward as fuck.

 "I didn't mean to just walk into your house and make myself at home." 
"I know you didn't," I assure her. "I'm going to come closer now, is that okay?" 
She nods, but her eyes remain on me as I enter the kitchen and head for the key hook by the fridge. I remove the one for the rental and replace it with the key she left on the counter, then offer her the one she actually needs. 

Our fingers brush as she takes it, and something jolts in my chest. Shaking it off, I snatch my hand away and check that the towel is still secure. The last thing I need is to give her another peep show. 
"That key will open the front door of the house next door. Hold onto it for now, and I'll get Mom to drop by with the proper key tomorrow." 

"I can do that." She smiles, and I resist the urge to fall back a step, because it lights up her entire face, elevating her from pretty to gut-wrenchingly beautiful.

"I don't want to put you out any more than you already are." 
"Don't worry about it." Despite my frustration, I find my lips curving. "It's not you I'm angry at." Her expression softens. 
"Please don't be too mad with Nadine. She seems like such a nice person, and I'm sure she only wants to make you happy." Damn, she has a point. 

But whether her intentions are good or not, it’s going to stop me from giving Mom a piece of my mind. She needs to know it's not all right to hand out my house key to total strangers just because she wants grandbabies.

About Alexa Rivers

 

  Alexa Rivers is the author of steamy and heartfelt small town romances. She lives in a small town herself, complete with nosy neighbors and quirky traditions. She shares a house with a neurotic dog and a husband who thinks he’s hilarious. When she’s not writing, she enjoys traveling, baking and decorating cakes, eating those cakes, cuddling fluffy animals, drinking excessive amounts of tea, and absorbing herself in fictional worlds.

Follow: Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Pinterest | Goodreads | BookBub | Website | Newsletter | Amazon

About The Blue Collar Romance Series


Escape to Oak Bend where blue-collar hotties work hard and love even harder. From broody carpenters to sexy electricians, these eight standalones are packed with small town feels, heat, and heartwarming happily ever afters. Enjoy your favorite tropes written by an amazing group of authors: Jaymee Jacobs, Alexa Rivers, Evelyn Sola, Kate Carley, Tracy Broemmer, Mila Nicks, Claire Wilder, and Moni Boyce. Fall head over heels for swoon-worthy book boyfriends who aren’t afraid of a little hard work for that happily ever after.

This promotional event is brought to you by Indie Pen PR

12 September 2021

Swindler's Revenge: A Karina Cardinal Mystery by Ellen Butler Book Tour and Giveaway!

Swindler's Revenge: A Karina Cardinal Mystery by Ellen Butler

About Swindler's Revenge

Swindler's Revenge: A Karina Cardinal Mystery 

Cozy Mystery/Women’s Adventure Fiction 5th in Series 

Publisher ‏ : ‎ Power to the Pen (September 1, 2021) 

Print length ‏ : ‎ 228 pages ASIN ‏ : ‎ B0924YKM7H 

There are no softball cases in the FBI…especially when an agent gets dirty.

 

Karina Cardinal’s Saturday starts out with a bang, and it’s not the home renovation marathon she’s watching on HGTV. It’s the FBI banging on her door, hunting for a fugitive. As if she could easily hide one in her modest condo. Especially one named Mike Finnegan.

 

The two of them called it splitsville a couple months ago, but Mike? Take a $1.2 million bribe? No and no and no. No matter how much damning evidence the feds claim to have. When a mysterious burner phone shows up in her pocket, Karina has no doubt who dropped it there. Mike is deep undercover and so far off-grid, he needs help to figure out who’s framing him—and why.

 

Classic Karina, she jumps in with both feet, ignoring the dangers. The trouble with leaping before you look? You can land in a world of dirt. And when an old enemy starts playing hardball, you can end up six feet under it.

----- International bestselling and award-winning author Ellen Butler presents book five in the Karina Cardinal mystery series! Fans of Elizabeth Peters and Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum will adore this gripping mystery adventure.

About Ellen Butler

Ellen Butler is the international bestselling author of the Karina Cardinal mystery series and award-winning historical suspense, The Brass Compass. Fans who enjoy the suspense of Melinda Leigh and the humor of Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum will fall in love with Butler’s Karina Cardinal. Her experiences working on Capitol Hill and at a medical association in Washington, D.C. inspired the mystery-action series. The Brass Compass has won multiple awards for historical fiction and is compared to such bestselling novels as Kristen Hannah’s The Nightingale. Ellen lives with her family in the suburbs of Washington, DC.

You can find Ellen at
  Website ~ www.EllenButler.net 
  Twitter ~ @EButlerBooks 
  Instagram~@ebutlerbooks 
  Goodreads ~ www.goodreads.com/EllenButlerBooks 
  Purchase Links - Amazon iBooks Barnes & Noble Kobo 

  a Rafflecopter giveaway 

TOUR PARTICIPANTS
September 10 – I'm All About Books – SPOTLIGHT
September 10 – Brooke Blogs – SPOTLIGHT  
September 11 – Novels Alive – GUEST POST
September 11 – Maureen's Musings – SPOTLIGHT
September 12 – Celticlady's Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
September 12 – Sapphyria's Book Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
September 13 – FUONLYKNEW – SPOTLIGHT
September 13 – I Read What You Write  - REVIEW, AUTHOR INTERVIEW
September 14 – Baroness' Book Trove – SPOTLIGHT
September 14 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book - AUTHOR INTERVIEW
September 15 – My Reading Journeys – REVIEW
September 16 – Mysteries with Character – REVIEW
September 17 – Literary Gold – SPOTLIGHT
September 18 – Lisa Ks Book Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
September 18 – StoreyBook Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
September 19 – BookishKelly2020 – SPOTLIGHT

  Have you signed up to be a Tour Host? 

 

Ghost Cat of Ocean Cove (A Tenth Life Cozy Mystery) by Mollie Hunt Book Tour, Excerpt and Giveaway! @MollieHuntCats

Ghost Cat of Ocean Cove (A Tenth Life Cozy Mystery) by Mollie Hunt

About Ghost Cat of Ocean Cove

Ghost Cat of Ocean Cove (A Tenth Life Cozy Mystery) 

Cozy Mystery 1st in Series Publisher ‏ : ‎ Independently published (August 3, 2021) 

Paperback ‏ : ‎ 249 pages

ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 979-8519309813 

Digital ASIN ‏ : ‎ B0992WH2CL 

Publication date ‏ : ‎ August 17, 2021

A new feline cozy from the author of the award-winning Crazy Cat Lady Mysteries.

 

Septuagenarian Camelia Collins and her cat Blaze move to the Oregon Coast to fulfill a lifelong dream, but that dream becomes a nightmare when Camelia learns she has purchased a murder house. The former resident, reclusive businessman Jonathan Chamber, was brutally killed on the stoop, and the killer is still at large.

 

What’s more, Camelia discovers an ancient gravestone at the back of her garden belonging to a cat named Soji. Dead long ago, this seventh black kitten of a seventh black kitten now returns incorporeal form. Will Soji’s haunting help Camelia solve the murder mystery or send her screaming back to Portland?

 

About Mollie Hunt

Native Oregonian Mollie Hunt has always had an affinity for cats, so it was a short step for her to become a cat writer. Mollie Hunt writes the award-winning Crazy Cat Lady cozy mystery series featuring Lynley Cannon, a sixty-something cat shelter volunteer who finds more trouble than a cat in catnip, and the Cat Seasons sci-fantasy tetralogy where cats save the world. She also pens a bit of cat poetry.

Mollie is a member of the Oregon Writers’ Colony, Sisters in Crime, the Cat Writers’ Association, and Northwest Independent Writers Association (NIWA). She lives in Portland, Oregon with her husband and a varying number of cats. Like Lynley, she is a grateful shelter volunteer.

Author Links 
Website: https://molliehuntcatwriter.com/ 
Follow Mollie’s Amazon Page: www.amazon.com/author/molliehunt 

  Sign up for Mollie’s Extremely Informal Newsletter at: http://eepurl.com/c0fOTn. 

  Purchase Link - Amazon 

GHOST CAT OF OCEAN COVE Excerpt!

 

Chapter 1: Arrival and a Surprise

Camelia Collins hesitated, the key halfway into the lock. What on Earth have I done? she wondered to herself. How many people my age pick up and move house, leaving their old life behind to try something completely different and new?

Not many, she imagined, again pondering her sanity, but they probably should. After all, if one doesn’t follow one’s lifelong dreams by the age of seventy, when does one? 

Turning, she surveyed the modest neighbor¬hood with its rustic homes perched on the bluff overlooking the sea. A rim of stunted pines clung to the edge of the cliff, and beyond that, Ocean Cove, where the surf beat upon the shore as it had done for millennia before and would do for millennia to come. Tiny and sheltered, its pebbled strip of shoreline curved in a flawless crescent. 

Yes, this had always been Camelia’s dream. Now there she was, the dream come true. So why did she feel like she’d fallen into Alice’s rabbit hole?

Camelia returned her gaze to her new home. A rough driftwood plank hung by the front door, the words, “Love Cottage,” spelled upon it with seashells. Presumably the sign had been made by the Loves, the folks who had built the little cottage back in the fifties. There was already a house on the property when they purchased, so the story goes, but it had fallen into decay as places were prone to do in the wet coastal weather. Instead of sinking their nest egg into the old derelict, the Loves had opted for something fresh. They constructed the new house from scratch and zealously maintained it ever after. No one would guess by looking that it had stood its ground for over half a century. 

Camelia shook off her wisp of apprehension and finished unlocking the door. Stepping inside, she gazed around the cheerful room with approval. She had bought the house furnished, and with a few minor adjustments, it would suffice until she had a chance to add her own personal touch. The bulk of her possessions would be arriving in a movers’ truck the next morning—then it would be perfect!

Again she marveled at her luck. Property on the Oregon coast was expensive, yet this one had been quite affordable. The inspection had turned up no surprises—the pipes weren’t broken nor was the roof falling in. The realtor had explained that the man who bought it from the Loves had died, and his beneficiary was looking for a fast cash sale. After a long and convoluted probate, the elderly European uncle wanted nothing to do with the place. Camelia figured his loss was her gain.

A folded sheet of paper sat propped upon the coffee table, “Mrs.” scrawled in bold cursive across the front. Camelia could guess what it was: a note from the cleaners she had hired to get things spick and span for her move-in. She glanced at it, read that all was in order and would she please pay the enclosed invoice in a timely manner. The charge seemed a bit high, but it was worth it to know the sheets were newly washed and any spiders that had moved in during the house’s three-year vacancy had been evicted from the eaves. 

Camelia set the note aside and went back to the car to retrieve her overnight bag. Rolling it through to the bedroom, she smiled as she took in the bright, cozy space. A big window facing northwest would get the afternoon sun. A dresser, a wooden chair, and a single bed draped in a yellow chenille spread left her lots of potential to add her own special touch.

“Yes, this will do nicely,” she said out loud, her habit of talking to herself so well-established that half the time she didn’t know she was doing it. “Very nicely!” she added with glee. 

Making a second trip to the car, she hefted a large cat carrier from the back seat. Its sulking inhabitant, her big tuxedo boy Blaze, gave a rauw of displeasure at the joggle. 

“Can’t be helped,” Camelia told him. “I know how much you kitties hate change, but you’ll like this one, I promise.”

Camelia lugged the carrier, along with a tote full of cat things, directly into the little bedroom. Once inside, she closed the door and opened the carrier gate. Blaze inched his way out, first a pink nose, then a white paw, then finally the whole black and white cat. He looked up at his cohabitor with eyes green as an old-fashioned 7Up bottle as if to say, “What in the world have you done?”

“You’ll be fine,” said Camelia. “I’ll get your box and food station up directly. Be a good boy and hold it for just a few minutes longer.”

Blaze shot her a dirty look, then hopped onto the bed and proceeded to scrutinize his new digs. Camelia pulled a small, pre-filled litter pan from the tote, pulled off the cling wrap covering, and placed it on a towel on the floor. Going into the bathroom, she filled a travel bowl with water.

“Food’s coming.” She gave the cat a pet and left him to it. 

As she headed back to the car for a third time, she dawdled along the pathway to take in the warm June day. The weather couldn’t have been nicer, and the air smelled of sea salt and roses. 

Someone must have loved roses, she thought to herself. They grew everywhere in the patch of garden. Old-fashioned climbers twined in blooming profusion up the columns of the front porch, and bushes of cabbage roses lined the walkway, each of their pink, yellow, and white blossoms as huge as an entire bouquet. Though in need of pruning, they seemed healthy and thriving. Whoever had owned this place had taken good care, and it showed. 

Besides the roses, other perennials were crowded together in the English cottage style—delphiniums and hollyhocks, alstroemeria and canyon poppies. Any empty spots had been filled by nasturtiums gone wild, their gray-green pads and rust-red blossoms dotting the scape like a Monet painting. 

“Just lovely!” Camelia said out loud, wondering offhandedly how she was ever going to keep it up.

Startled from her reverie by a squeaking sound, she turned to see a woman shambling up the drive with the aid of a four-wheeled walker, the source of the noise. Aging and frail, the woman appeared to be in her sixties. Her hair was done in the classic gray curls that might have been popular in her mother’s day. Her large and loudly patterned housedress made no attempt to hide her spare figure. She wore little or no makeup, but her smile painted a blush on the pale face, or perhaps it was the exertion of climbing the slight hill.

“Are you the new tenant?” the woman asked between breaths. “I’m Vera, Vera Whitcomb, from next door.” She gestured to a small house surrounded by a classic white picket fence. 

Camelia held out a hand, trying to keep from looming over the bent woman—at five-foot-eight, that was no easy feat. “Camelia Collins. Nice to meet you.” Vera let loose of her walker and took the hand in a warm shake. “But I’m not a tenant,” Camelia corrected. “I bought Love Cottage.” 

 Vera frowned. “Is that so? Well, um, welcome to the neighborhood, dear. Goodbye.” 

She swung her walker around and started to shuffle away as fast as the contraption would carry her. Camelia found herself as much stunned by her departure as she had been by her original appearance. Was it something she’d said? 

“Yes, and I’m very excited,” Camelia aimed at the receding figure. “We’re here for the duration. At least that’s the plan.”

Vera paused. “We? Your husband as well then?”

“No, I’m a widow. I was referring to my cat. So Vera,” Camelia quickly continued, “maybe you could tell me a little about the area—if you have the time.”

That seemed to spark Vera’s interest. “Well, yes, alright.” The smile returned as she hobbled back to the other woman. Spinning her walker so the chair faced Camelia, she put on the brake and sat down with a grunt. “Certainly, I’ve got the time. I’ve got nothing but time. What would you like to know?”

Camelia thought about it. What did she want to know? Why Vera had reacted so strangely at the news she’d bought Love Cottage? Why, since her arrival, had a shadow of foreboding permeated Camelia’s mood like a San Francisco fog? 

She settled on something more neutral. “Have you lived here long?”

“Ed and I bought the place, oh…” Vera gathered her thoughts. “Some twenty years ago, when we got back from New Zealand. The only ones here longer are the Linders.” She pointed to the stately home at the top of the hill. “By boundary, we’re both in the Cliffmont district, though you’d never get them to admit it, they tend to be a bit squirrely when it comes to their heritage.”

Camelia wasn’t sure what Vera meant by squirrely, but the woman didn’t elaborate. At least not about that.

“Lydia’s nice enough, but she enjoys playing the lady of the manor. Of course we know differently, don’t we? Her folks were farmers, poor as dirt. If Mr. Linder hadn’t come along and fallen for her, she’d be slinging hash in a drive-through, I bet you.” Vera gave a little wink for emphasis.

“Now Larry Linder’s another matter. He comes straight from old money. The official version is the railroad, but no one mentions the stuff his great granddaddy shipped on those trains.”

Vera’s gaze slipped from the Linders’ to Camelia’s neighbor on the other side. “That’s the Smiths then,” she said, fluttering a hand at the yellow house. “Aiden and Nao. He’s a plumber, and she’s a housewife—homemaker, family manager, chief cook and bottle washer—whatever you call it these days. Nao helps me out from time to time since she’s home a lot. She likes to bake, and she’s good at it. Wins prizes at the county fair for her marionberry cheesecake. They have a teenage kid, Yui. She’s a good girl, smart, though she plays it down. Yui’s a whiz with animals—she never met an animal she didn’t like.” Vera chuckled. “She’s all about horses at the moment—you know the type.”

Vera indicated the building across the street. With its stucco fa├žade and square lines, it looked more like a business than a beach cabin. “That one’s a rental, mostly for the summer folk. You never know who’s going to be there. The host is picky though. His guests have always been well-behaved… so far.”

“Good to know,” Camelia remarked. 

“The general store is over the rise on the other side of town,” Vera said, continuing her virtual tour. “There’s a path between your place and mine that runs straight to Linder Square so you don’t have to drive all the way around. If you need gifts or books, we have a little mall just up the road. The big grocery is in the mall and so is the print shop and the library. Do you read, Amelia?”

“It’s Camelia,” Camelia corrected. “Yes, and I love libraries. I’ll need to get a card.”

“That shouldn’t be a problem, since you’re going to live here.” Again the hint of a frown shaded Vera’s face.

“You seem to know a lot about the community.”

“Why shouldn’t I?” The fragile woman defended. “A little osteoporosis doesn’t stop me from getting around.”

“I didn’t mean…”

“Don’t worry about it. It happens all the time. People think when the body is feeble, then so is the mind. My feeling is, it’s just the opposite.”

“I would never consider you feeble, in mind or body,” Camelia blurted, realizing she had done just that.

“Ha-ha,” Vera spluttered. “You’re a good egg, Camelia. How’d you ever decide on Ocean Cove, if you don’t mind my asking? This isn’t exactly your trendy retirement destination. It’s not even a blip on most maps. Ed and I, we came across it totally by accident. We’d been looking for somewhere else entirely.”

“I’d never noticed it either,” Camelia agreed, “and I’ve been all up and down this coast. It was a friend of mine, a real estate agent, who discovered it. She knew I was looking for a beach place at a reasonable price, so when this one came along, she jumped on it.”

Camelia glanced at her new home. Only a single story, and the rooms were small, but it was cozy—just right for an older lady and her cat. “I couldn’t believe my luck finding something so nice within my price range. And with such a view of the cove, too!” She cast her gaze along the shore and far out into the never-ending blue. Wow! Camelia said under her breath, not for the first—or last—time. 

Her eye rolled around to Vera, who was staring, mouth open as if she had just seen a ghost.

Camelia started. “What? What is it?”

“Then you don’t know?”

Camelia frowned uneasily. Was there something wrong with her place after all? Of course there was! She should have known that an ocean-view house at the price she paid was too good to be true. Possibilities deluged her mind. Was there a lien? An old meth lab? But those things would have shown up in the sale. Plans for a future freeway cutting through? Not flood-prone at this elevation, though it might have been built on a fault line. Was the cliff about to crumble? 

“What?” she gasped. “What don’t I know?”

“You should probably ask your realtor,” Vera hemmed. “I can’t believe they didn’t tell you straight out.”

“No, you tell me,” Camelia demanded, her concern overtaking her good manners. “What’s the matter with my house?”

Vera turned an even lighter pale and rung her hands, a gesture rarely seen outside of films.

“It’s not the house, dear. Mr. Chamber kept it up properly. The house is fine. It’s what happened outside the house. Right there, in fact.”

She nodded to the front stoop, newly painted a lovely color of blue that shone and sparkled in the summer sun. Camelia waited, but Vera had stalled.

“What, Vera? Please,” she insisted. “I need to know.”

After a further pause, the woman gave in. “Yes, sure you do.” She spoke slowly, as if pulling the words from a faraway place. “I’d want to know if it was me.”

A robin chirped in a nearby fig tree. A car crawled past, backed out again, the driver realizing the road was a dead end. Finally Vera took a deep breath and turned her dark eyes on Camelia. 

“He was killed, dear,” she said in a near whisper. “Jonathan Chamber was murdered.”




TOUR PARTICIPANTS
September 8 – Christy's Cozy Corners – REVIEW, GUEST POST
September 8 – Novels Alive – AUTHOR INTERVIEW 
September 8 – Sapphyria's Book Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
September 8 – fundinmental - SPOTLIGHT
September 9 – I'm All About Books – SPOTLIGHT
September 9 – Hearts & Scribbles – SPOTLIGHT
September 9 – Brooke Blogs – SPOTLIGHT
September 10 – FUONLYKNEW – SPOTLIGHT
September 10 – Mochas, Mysteries and Meows - CHARACTER GUEST POST
September 10 – Literary Gold - CHARACTER GUEST POST
September 10 – Paranormal and Romantic Suspense Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
September 11 – Socrates Book Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
September 11 – I Read What You Write - REVIEW, GUEST POST
September 11 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – SPOTLIGHT
September 12 – Celticlady's Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
September 12 – Books a Plenty Book Reviews - REVIEW, CHARACTER INTERVIEW
September 13 – Here's How It Happened – SPOTLIGHT
September 13 – Novels Alive – REVIEW
September 13 – Maureen's Musings – SPOTLIGHT
September 14 – Melina's Book Blog – REVIEW
September 14 – Mysteries with Character – AUTHOR INTERVIEW
September 14 – BookishKelly2020 – SPOTLIGHT

Have you signed up to be a Tour Host? Click Here to Find Details and Sign Up Today!  

 

11 September 2021

Malice in Miami: A Jamie Quinn Mystery by Barbara Venkataraman Book Tour and Giveaway!

Malice in Miami: A Jamie Quinn Mystery by Barbara Venkataraman

About Malice in Miami

Malice in Miami: A Jamie Quinn Mystery 

Cozy Mystery 6th in Series 

Independently Published (June 9, 2021) 

Paperback ‏ : ‎ 318 pages 

ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 979-8518046757 

Digital ASIN ‏ : ‎ B08P27FRL6

Reluctant family law attorney Jamie Quinn is loving life--and why wouldn't she? Her boyfriend Kip is back from Australia, her long-lost dad finally has his visa and she's about to start her dream job at an art foundation. But it all falls apart when Jamie is accused of stealing priceless art from a rare book collection. If she can't find out who framed her, she can kiss her dream job good-bye--and her law license too. Meanwhile, Kip has problems of his own. Now an environmental activist, he uncovers a deadly secret--one that just might get him killed. Jamie's in trouble, Kip's in danger, and Duke Broussard has gone AWOL. How could Jamie's favorite P.I. abandon her at a time like this?

About Barbara Venkataraman

Barbara Venkataraman is an attorney and author of the award-winning Jamie Quinn Cozy Mystery series, as well as Teatime with Mrs. Grammar Person, Quirky Essays for Quirky People, and A Year of Shorts: Flash Fiction. Her books have won numerous awards including Indie Book of the Day, First Place in the 2016 Chanticleer Murder & Mayhem Mystery Writing Competition, Gold Medal in the Readers’ Favorite Contest for Memoir, and Two-time Finalist in the Kindle Book Awards. She also co-authored Accidental Activist: Justice for the Groveland Four with her son Josh about his four-year quest to obtain posthumous pardons for The Groveland Four.

Author Links - Amazon Author Page - GoodReads 
Purchase Link - Amazon 



TOUR PARTICIPANTS
September 1 – Novels Alive – GUEST POST
September 1 – I'm All About Books – SPOTLIGHT
September 2 – Ascroft, eh? – AUTHOR INTERVIEW
September 2 – fundinmental – SPOTLIGHT
September 3 – Didi Oviatt - Author – SPOTLIGHT
September 3 – ThisIsMyTruthNow - REVIEW, AUTHOR INTERVIEW
September 4 – FUONLYKNEW – SPOTLIGHT
September 5 – Maureen's Musings – SPOTLIGHT
September 6 – I Read What You Write – GUEST POST
September 7 – Baroness' Book Trove – REVIEW
September 8 – Literary Gold – AUTHOR INTERVIEW
September 9 – Books a Plenty Book Reviews - REVIEW, GUEST POST
September 10 – Sapphyria's Book Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
September 11 – Celticlady's Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
September 11 – Lisa Ks Book Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
September 12 – #BRVL Book Review Virginia Lee Blog – SPOTLIGHT
September 13 – Dear Reader – GUEST POST
September 14 – BookishKelly2020 – SPOTLIGHT 


 

10 September 2021

The Awakening: Three Sources. Two Worlds. One Connection.by Dana Claire Book Tour and Giveaway and Review!

Awakening by Dana Claire

The Awakening: Three Sources. Two Worlds. One Connection.by Dana Claire Publisher:  Chamberlain Publishing House (May 20, 2021) 
Series: The Blood-Light Trilogy #2 Category: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Aliens, Romance Tour dates: August15-September 17, 2021 
ISBN: 978-1792367090 
Available in Print and ebook,  319 pages
  The Awakening

Description Awakening by Dana Claire

The government called her a weapon. Her mother called her a gift. She called it a forced fate. Beatrice Walker is no stranger to surprises and after the year she’s had, finding out she is responsible for billions of lives is a drop in the bucket. Until she learns there may be more to the prophetic plan to prevent the extinction of two planets—both Earth and Ferro, and that she isn’t the only Blood-Light they will need to fight the imminent threat of an asteroid hurtling toward the planets. He grew up a loyal heir. He trained to be a soldier. He found purpose with the Rebellion. Cash Kingston didn’t think falling for a Blood-Light—part human, part Ferroean—was possible. But when he met Beatrice Walker, all of that changed. What didn’t waver was his quest to save his beloved planet Ferro and his new home, Earth. Not only from the oncoming asteroid but from leaders of both planets with more sinister agendas. Together, Beatrice and Cash, plus their team, must uncover who they can trust, how they can stop their enemies, and what superpower matters most, or they will lose everything they are fighting for.

Praise Awakening by Dana Claire

Having thoroughly enjoyed the first book in this series, I was absolutely sure I was going to love this one as well and boy, I wasn't wrong. This is the second book in this stellar series and it's even more action-packed than the first. It starts off with a bang and doesn't let up the entire time. It also introduces more fun and quirky characters that I immediately fell in love with. And what an ending! It was done so uniquely and kept the momentum going until the very last page, during which we're also treated to some astounding revelations that just make me that much more anxious for the next book to get here already. If you like young adult scifi action adventure, you'll love this author and this series. They're both outstanding.” -5 Stars DTChantel 

 “I’m so in love with this series!! This is the second book, which you expect for it to be not quite as good as the first, NOPE!!! This was just as great as the first, if not a little better!!! The growth we see of the characters and not just the main characters, is so well done. We have a few new side characters that brought a lot to the story. But my favorite are Cash, Beatrice and Ashton. But I totally ship Cash & Beatrice!!! I can’t stress this enough... if you like Romance with SciFi (like The Lux series by JLA, The Kricket series, The Saven series) you will LOVE this series!!!! It’s definitely it’s own series, not a copycat, but just to give you an idea of the kind of Romance with SciFi story it is. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS SERIES!!! And I can’t wait for the next book!!!” -5 Stars Donna (Book Dragon Girl)

“I was so excited to read book two in this series! There was just enough backstory sprinkled in so that you could still follow the story if you hadn't read book one (and enough to remind the reader if they read book one a while ago). I was pulled right back into Bea and Cash's story, and I could barely put the book down until I reached the end. From rescuing Ashton, to Cash being captured, to Bea's first experience of Ferro, to the surprising "reward" for saving the world, I had to keep turning the pages. We're left with a cliffhanger at the end, though, so I hope Ms. Claire is industriously writing volume three!” -5 Stars Cyndi 

 “This book is beyond amazing. It keeps you so hooked at all times. You cannot go wrong with this read.” -5 Stars Amazon Customer

Awakening by Dana Claire

Guest Review by Katy

Beatrice Walker may be in for more than she bargained for in this fast-paced sequel to the first book in Dana Claire's thrilling “Blood Light Trilogy”. 

Beatrice was a normal human girl, when she was suddenly plunged into the extraterrestrial world of Cash Kingston, a handsome alien guy from the planet Ferro. Bea soon learned that she was actually half Ferroean herself, since her biological father turned out to not be the man that raised her. All of this was revealed in the first book in this series, 'The Connection.' 

In the second book, Beatrice and Cash must travel to California to wake up his girlfriend, Sera from the coma-like state that she is being kept in by the Ferroean resistance. Of course, having only recently begun a romantic relationship with Cash, Beatrice is divided in her feelings about waking up Sera. 

Adding to this uncertainty is the fact that Beatrice also recently discovered that she contains the life source of Sera inside of herself, which is part of the reason that she and Cash are so drawn to each other to begin with. Between her romance with Cash possibly being in danger and the discovery of her new, alien powers, Bea has a lot to deal with. Suddenly she has a reason to be nostalgic for the days of normal high school drama. 

'The Awakening' ratchets up the tension from the first book and adds new characters, new problems and higher stakes. Beatrice and Cash's relationship faces unforeseen hurdles in the form of both Sera and Cash's newly introduced brother, Ashton, who has been living in a safe house for years. In an unexpected twist, Ashton reveals to Beatrice that he has a connection to her that even Cash doesn't know about. 

If you are looking for a YA series that has sci-fi, action and romance, this is the book for you! 


About Dana Claire

Dana Claire

When author Dana Claire had several poems published as an elementary school student, she was hooked and writing became her passion. A shared dream of hers and her mother's, she promised her dying mother that she would become a published author and that dream has been realized with The Connection. Dana believes that a good story is made through strong character development; when readers become attached to the characters' emotional state and are invested in their objectives. She believes that the beauty of reading is that one can live a hundred lives within the stories of books. Her own stories come to her in her dreams, and she wakes up with book ideas. Dana's family is very supportive of her writing and the creativity and sentiment driving it. Enjoying bicoastal living between Los Angeles and New York, Dana says she "lives the best romance in the world being married to the most amazing man she could ever ask for." The Connection was her debut YA novel, the first volume in a planned trilogy. The Awakening is the second volume.  She is also the author of The Reclaimed Kingdom, a YA fantasy romance novel. 




Review

Awakening by Dana Claire

Giveaway Awakening by Dana Claire

This giveaway is for a prize pack: 3 print copies and 3 matching eye masks, 1 each per winner. It is open to Canada and the U.S. only and ends on September 17, 2021,midnight pacific time. Entries are accepted via Rafflecopter only.


The Awakening Web Tour Schedule


Mark S.Teddy Rose Book Reviews  Aug 16 Kickoff  & Excerpt

Lu Ann Rockin' Book Reviews Aug 17 Excerpt

Rebecca P. Amazon Aug 18 Review

Mark S.Teddy Rose Book Reviews Aug 19 Guest Review

Lu Ann Rockin' Book Reviews Aug 20 Review

Bee Book Pleasures Aug 23 Review

Betty Toots Book Reviews Aug 24 Review & Excerpt

Sal Bound 4 Escape Aug 25 Guest Review

Kimberly D. Amazon Aug 26 Reivew

ShelleLP I Read What You Write Aug 27 Review & Excerpt

Suzie My Tangled Skeins Book Reviews August 30 Guest Review 

Gud Reader StoreyBook Reviews  Aug 31 Guest Review

Ashley's Bookshelf Sept 2 Review

Dennis S. Amazon Sept 3 Review

Lisa's Writopia Sept 8 Review & Excerpt

Katy Celticlady’s Reviews  Sept. 10 Review

Shanna Amazon Sept 13 Review

Mindy A Room Without Books is Empty Sept 16 Review 

.

 Awakening by Dana Claire

AddToAny

Pin it!

Google Adsense

Please Share!

Printfriendly

View My Stats!

View My Stats

Pageviews past week

Analytics

Google Analytics

SNIPPET_HTML_V2.TXT

Feedburner

Tweet