12 January 2022

Mafiosa Princess- Sacrifice by Liza Malloy Book Tour!

Mafiosa Princess- Sacrifice
Liza Malloy
(Mafiosa Princess, #2)
Publication date: February 1st 2022
Genres: Adult, Dark Romance, Mafia, Romance

Love is a dangerous game.

Giada Conti is determined to set her life back on track. Sure, Luca Marino is charming, generous, and dangerously good in bed. But he’s also, well, dangerous. Giada’s ready to accept that she chose the wrong man, but Luca isn’t making it easy for her to leave.

Adrian’s thrilled when Giada finally sees Luca’s true nature, but his relief is short-lived. When the Conti family business thrusts Giada into harm’s way, pretending to date Luca is the one thing that might keep her safe.

As the lines blur between Giada’s true feelings and what’s just for show, Adrian isn’t so sure where Giada’s heart will lead her. And as Luca lays all his cards on the table, Giada questions if she was so wrong about him in the first place.

Mafiosa Princess: Sacrifice is the enthralling second book in the steamy mafia romance series that has everyone talking.

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Google Play


Author Bio:

Liza Malloy writes contemporary romance, new adult romance, women's fiction, and fantasy romance. She’s a sucker for alpha males, bad boys, dimples, and muscles, and she can’t resist a man in uniform. Liza loves creating worlds where the heroine discovers her own strength and finds her Happily Ever After. When Liza isn’t reading or writing torrid love stories, she’s a practicing attorney. Her other passions include gummy bears, jelly beans, and the occasional marathon. She lives in the Midwest with her four daughters and her own Prince Charming.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter / Instagram / Pinterest / Bookbub


Hosted by:
XBTBanner1

Girl with a Gun (An Annie Oakley Mystery) by Kari Bovee Book Tour and Giveaway! @iReadBookTours @KariBovee @karibovee_writer @iReadBookTours

 

Join us for this tour from Jan 10 to Feb 4, 2022!

Book Details:


Book Title: Girl with a Gun (An Annie Oakley Mystery) by Kari Bovee
Category:  Adult Fiction (18 + yrs), 316 pages
Length: 9 hours, 24 minutes.
Genre:  Historical Mystery / Cozy Mystery
Publisher:  Bosque Publishing
Release date:   April 2020
Content Rating:  PG + M: Mature themes, mild swearing 
 
Book Description:

She’s on the rise to fame and fortune, but her sudden notoriety comes with some deadly consequences.

Annie Oakley thrives as a sharpshooter in the Wild West Show. Finally, she has a chance to save her family’s farm—and make her dreams come true.

But her act misfires when she discovers her Indian assistant dead in her tent. Uncovering a shocking secret from her assistant’s past, the girl with the gun believes it’s murder. Determined to find the truth, she ruffles some horse feathers, making enemies along the trail.

​But, when her prized gelding is stolen, Annie realizes she might have been the target all along.

Can Little Miss Sure Shot save her equine friend and find the killer before everything she’s worked for is destroyed?

​If you like a cunning mystery, a feisty heroine, and a fast-paced plot that keeps the pages turning, you’ll love this wild ride with the iconic Annie Oakley in the saddle.
 
Buy the Book:
AudibleAmazon
Add to Goodreads
 

Also Available for Your Listening Pleasure:
  
Book Details:

Book Title: Shoot Like a Girl (A PreQuel Novella to Girl With A Gun) by Kari Bovee
Category:  Adult Fiction (18 + yrs), 84 pages
Length: 2 hrs, 14 minutes
Genre:  Historical Fiction, Cozy Mystery
Publisher:  Bosque Publishing
Release date:   November 2019
Formats available for review: audiobook (audible download), MOBI (for kindle), EPUB, PDF)
Tour dates: Jan 10 to Feb 4, 2022
Content Rating:  PG + M for mature themes and some swearing (damn, bitch)

Book Description:

She would do anything for her loved ones, even if it meant she’d be lost to them forever.

Young Annie Oakley never expected to be saddled with responsibility so soon. Following her father's sudden death, the spirited girl finds herself shipped to a nearby county working for a couple promising a good wage. But when she discovers they are not what they seem, Annie suddenly fears her life may be in peril.

Determined to help her mother and siblings, she endures the hardships and mistreatment from the couple. But when that cruelty is targeted at the beautiful Buckskin horse who is her only friend, Annie decides to take matters into her own hands.

Will the spunky teen return to her loved ones, or will her decision land her in jail?

​Shoot like a Girl is the prequel novella to the Annie Oakley mystery series. If you like a fiercely loyal heroine who won’t be anyone’s victim, then you’ll love Kari Bovée’s thrilling story of America’s best-loved sharpshooting sensation.
 
Buy the Book:
Audible ~ Amazon
Add to Goodreads


 Book Details:

Book Title: Peccadillo at the Palace (An Annie Oakley Mystery) by Kari Bovee
Category:  Adult Fiction (18 + yrs), 332 pages
Length: 9 hours, 52 minutes
Genre:  Historical Mystery, Cozy Mystery
Publisher:  Bosque Publishing
Release date:   April 2020
Formats available for review: audiobook (audible download), MOBI (for kindle), EPUB, PDF)
Tour dates: Jan 10 to Feb 4, 2022
Content Rating:  PG +M for mature themes, mild swearing

Book Description:

She’s outgunned her opponents at every turn, but will it be enough to solve a royal case of murder? Annie Oakley can’t believe her good fortune at an imperial invitation.

Queen Victoria wants Buffalo Bill’s Wild West Show to perform for her Golden Jubilee. But during the voyage to England, a royal escort is murdered and the gun-slinging star finds herself at the center of an assassination plot against the crown.

Determined to catch the killer, Annie tracks down the clues. And by the time they reach London, she thinks she’s right on course. But when her husband falls mysteriously ill, and an assassination attempt is made on the queen, the sharpshooting amateur sleuth may find herself out to sea before her ship comes in.

Can the clever markswoman solve the double-barreled mystery before it’s too late?

Peccadillo at the Palace is the second novel in the Annie Oakley Mystery Series. If you like a fast-paced mystery with unexpected plot twists that will keep you guessing until the very end, you’ll love this riveting historical mystery featuring America’s favorite sure-shot.
 
 Buy the Book:
Audible ~ Amazon
Add to Goodreads
 


Book Details:

Book Title: Folly at the Fair (An Annie Oakley Mystery) by Kari Bovee
Category:  Adult Fiction (18 + yrs), 322 pages
Length: 9 hours, 48 minutes
Genre:  Historical Mystery, Cozy Mystery
Publisher:  Bosque Publishing
Release date:   June 2020
Formats available for review: audiobook (audible download), MOBI (for kindle), EPUB, PDF)
Tour dates: Jan 10 to Feb 4, 2022
Content Rating:  PG +M for mature themes, mild swearing

Book Description:

She never misses a target. But unless she can solve this murder, she’ll become one…

Chicago World’s Fair, 1893. “Little Sure Shot” Annie Oakley is exhausted from her work with Buffalo Bill’s Wild West Show. But when a fellow performer scuffles with a man who threatens her harm, she has to keep her eyes peeled. And when the heckler is found dead under the Ferris Wheel, Annie won’t rest until she proves her defender is innocent.

Before she can rustle up any clues, an old friend asks Annie to protect her young daughter. And as more bodies turn up around the grounds, she’s going to need all her sharpshooting skills just to stay alive.

Can Annie live up to her reputation and put a bullseye on the killer?

Folly at the Fair is the third book in the Annie Oakley mystery series. If you like strong heroines, Wild West adventures, and suspenseful twists and turns, then you’ll love Kari Bovée’s fast-paced whodunit.
 
Buy the Book:
Audible ~ Amazon
Add to Goodreads
 


Meet the Author:

 

When she’s not on a horse, or walking along the beautiful cottonwood-laden acequias of Corrales, New Mexico; or basking on white sand beaches under the Big Island Hawaiian sun, Kari Bovee is escaping into the past—scheming murder and mayhem for her characters both real and imagined, and helping them to find order in the chaos of her action-packed novels. Bovee writes the award-winning Annie Oakley Mystery Series and the Grace Michelle Mystery Series, and has more ideas than time for many, many more.

Connect with the author:  Website ~ Goodreads ~ Facebook ~ Twitter ~ Instagram
~ Pinterest

Tour Schedule:

Jan 10 - Mystery Review Crew - books spotlight / author interview / giveaway
Jan 10 - Rockin' Book Reviews – audiobook review of GIRL WITH A GUN / giveaway
Jan 10 - StoreyBook Reviews – book review of GIRL WITH A GUN / giveaway
Jan 11 – Cover Lover Book Review – audiobook review of GIRL WITH A GUN / giveaway
Jan 11 - I'm All About Books – book series tour / giveaway
Jan 11 - Splashes of Joy – audiobook review of GIRL WITH A GUN / author interview / giveaway
Jan 11 - Lamon Reviews – book review of GIRL WITH A GUN / author interview / giveaway
Jan 12 – Kam's Place – book series spotlight
Jan 12 – Celticlady's Reviews – book series spotlight / giveaway
Jan 12 - History from a Woman’s Perspective – audiobook review of GIRL WITH A GUN
Jan 12 - 411 ON BOOKS, AUTHORS, AND PUBLISHING NEWS - book series spotlight / giveaway
Jan 13 – My Bookish Bliss – audiobook review of GIRL WITH A GUN / giveaway
Jan 13 - Rockin' Book Reviews – audiobook review of SHOOT LIKE A GIRL / giveaway
Jan 13 - History from a Woman’s Perspective – audiobook review of SHOOT LIKE A GIRL

Jan 14 - Sefina Hawke's Books – audiobook review of GIRL WITH A GUN
Jan 18 - Splashes of Joy – audiobook review of SHOOT LIKE A GIRL / giveaway
Jan 18 – She Just Loves Books – audiobook review of GIRL WITH A GUN
Jan 18 - History from a Woman’s Perspective – audiobook review of PECCADILLO AT THE PALACE
Jan 18 - Sefina Hawke's Books – audiobook review of SHOOT LIKE A GIRL
Jan 18 – Literary Flits – book review of GIRL WITH A GUN / giveaway
Jan 18 - 
PuzzlePaws Blog - audiobook review of GIRL WITH A GUN / giveaway
Jan 19 - Rockin' Book Reviews – audiobook review of PECCADILLO AT THE PALACE / giveaway
Jan 19 - Locks, Hooks and Books – book review of GIRL WITH A GUN / giveaway
Jan 19 - History from a Woman’s Perspective – audiobook review of FOLLY AT THE FAIR
Jan 20 – My Bookish Bliss – audiobook review of FOLLY AT THE FAIR / giveaway
Jan 20 - Locks, Hooks and Books – book review of SHOOT LIKE A GIRL / giveaway
Jan 21 - StoreyBook Reviews – book review of SHOOT LIKE A GIRL / giveaway
Jan 21 - Rockin' Book Reviews – audiobook review of FOLLY AT THE FAIR / giveaway
Jan 21 - Faith And Books – audiobook review of GIRL WITH A GUN / giveaway
Jan 21 - Sefina Hawke's Books – audiobook review of PECCADILLO AT THE PALACE
Jan 24 – Book Corner News and Reviews – book review of GIRL WITH A GUN / giveaway
Jan 24 - Sefina Hawke's Books – audiobook review of FOLLY AT THE FAIR
Jan 25 – Book Corner News and Reviews – book review of SHOOT LIKE A GIRL / giveaway
Jan 25 - Splashes of Joy – audiobook review of PECCADILLO AT THE PALACE / giveaway
Jan 25 - Locks, Hooks and Books – book review of PECCADILLOW AT THE PALACE / giveaway
Jan 26 - Dab of Darkness Audiobook Reviews – audiobook review of GIRL WITH A GUN / author interview / giveaway
Jan 26 - Locks, Hooks and Books – book review of FOLLY AT THE FAIR / giveaway
Jan 26 – Chit Chat with Charity – audiobook review of GIRL WITH A GUN / author interview / giveaway
Jan 26 - Gina Rae Mitchell - book series spotlight / giveaway
Jan 27 – Deborah-Zenha Adams – book series spotlight / author interview / giveaway
Jan 27 - Dab of Darkness Audiobook Reviews – audiobook review of SHOOT LIKE A GIRL /  giveaway
Jan 27 – Literary Flits – book review of SHOOT LIKE A GIRL / giveaway
Jan 28 - Faith And Books – audiobook review of SHOOT LIKE A GIRL / giveaway
Jan 28 - Dab of Darkness Audiobook Reviews – audiobook review of PECCADILLO AT THE PALACE /  giveaway
Jan 28 - Books for Books – audiobook review of GIRL WITH A GUN
Jan 31 - Dab of Darkness Audiobook Reviews – audiobook review of FOLLY AT THE FAIR /  giveaway
Jan 31 - Books for Books – audiobook review of SHOOT LIKE A GIRL
Feb 1 – Buried Under Books – audiobook review of GIRL WITH A GUN / giveaway
Feb 1 - @twilight_reader – audiobook review of GIRL WITH A GUN
Feb 1 - Books for Books – audiobook review of PECCADILLO AT THE PALACE
Feb 2 – Chit Chat with Charity – audiobook review of SHOOT LIKE A GIRL / giveaway
Feb 2 - Adventurous Jessy -book review of GIRL WITH A GUN / giveaway
Feb 2 - @twilight_reader – audiobook review of SHOOT LIKE A GIRL
Feb 2 - Books for Books – audiobook review of FOLLY AT THE FAIR
Feb 2 - PuzzlePaws Blog - audiobook review of PECCADILLO AT THE PALACE / giveaway
Feb 3 – Westveil Publishing – audiobook review of GIRL WITH A GUN / giveaway
Feb 3 - Adventurous Jessy -book review of SHOOT LIKE A GIRL / giveaway
Feb 3 - @twilight_reader – audiobook review of PECCADILLO AT THE PALACE
Feb 4 - Splashes of Joy – audiobook review of FOLLY AT THE FAIR / giveaway
Feb 4 - Adventurous Jessy -book review of PECCADILLO AT THE PALACE / giveaway
Feb 4 - @twilight_reader – audiobook review of FOLLY AT THE FAIR

Enter the Giveaway: 

 GIRL WITH A GUN (Annie Oakley Mystery) Audiobook Tour Giveaway


 

11 January 2022

Love on the Run by Suzanne Rylee Ridolfi Blitz Tour and Giveaway!

Love on the Run
Suzanne Rylee Ridolfi
Publication date: January 11th 2022
Genres: Adult, Comedy, Romance

Lily Hart is the semi-famous host of Love Lily, a podcast dedicated to love and relationships. Her bubbly enthusiasm for all things romance has caught the eye of a few swanky sponsors who offer her the chance to host a Valentine’s Day mega event. Unfortunately, Lily’s own happily-ever-after has hit a rocky patch. She’s not sure if Henry, her longtime boyfriend, is even the one. When they decide to discuss things over dinner, Lily’s left questioning everything she knows about love. She panics and calls for a getaway car.

Blaze Steel thinks the notion of love is a mythical fable made up to ruin his life. Instead of relationships he pours his energy into the opening of his new bar the Steel Taproom. Until it’s up and running, however, Blaze is forced to continue his duties as an Uber driver. When a frantic Lily jumps into the backseat of his car, Blaze doesn’t know what hit him. All he knows is he hopes he never has to lay eyes on this woman again.

Fate has different plans for them, as their paths continue to cross. When Lily realizes she can’t show up to her own event dateless, Blaze reluctantly agrees. No feelings, just a plus one. How hard could it be? After all, they’re the last couple in the world who would ever fall in love.

*For fans of sweet romance, Debbie Macomber books, and all things Hallmark. There is no steam, sweet short read.

Goodreads / Amazon

EXCERPT:

“It’s your counseling session, not mine. The dollars are adding up. Just let me know when you are ready to put me out of my misery and drop you off.”

“Well, that wasn’t very nice. I’m paying you handsomely so the least you could do is be nice.”

“I don’t do nice,” he says, gruffly.

I scrunch up my nose in an attempt to create an angry face at the grumpy driver. I inch my body forward to try to get a better look. It’s the first time I’ve actually looked at the man that I’ve spent the last few hours divulging my deepest insecurities to. The first thing I notice is the sandy colored hipster man-bun that sits on the back of his head. His chiseled jaw appears clenched. He does have a remarkable profile, with a nose sculpted to perfection. The five o’clock shadow hides just enough for intrigue. Beneath his thermal I see the shape of remarkably muscular biceps. The right sleeve is pushed up a bit, revealing tattoos covering his forearm. He is everything Henry is not. He can’t possibly digest the raw emotions of the situation. The front wheels hit an ice patch and the rear end swerves to the left. My body slams into the back of his seat. His muscular arms tug tight on the wheel to regain traction. In all my sobbing, I hadn’t paid much attention to the state of the roads or the crushing snowstorm barreling down on us.

My heart rises to my throat. It’s the first time that I have proof I still have a heart after my inexcusable actions. “I, I guess we could do a drive by first,” my voice struggles to eek out.

“Is that Kelly Drive?”

“Yes, that’s the address.”

And what does “drive by "mean?” His eyes remain on the road. The car catches a slick slice of pavement, and we veer toward the curb.

The wheels struggle to gain traction on the icy pavement as my street comes into view. A wave of panic twists my stomach into a corset. “A drive by, I’m sure you did them a thousand times to see if a girl was home or had company etc. you know everyone does them.”

His blue eyes stretch under his raised eyebrows.

I continue, “I’ll lay down on the seat. You check if it’s safe to return.”

“What the hell does safe look like?” he barks.

“Tell me if Lola is in the window. If someone is home, she’s never in the window.”

“Who the hell is Lola?”

“She’s a white Shih tzu.” He shakes his head. I drop my body onto the seat. He pulls to a stop and the car continues to slide. “You can come up now. Your watch dog is still on duty. That will be $403.59.”

I’m propelled to an upright position. “You can’t be serious?”

“Dead serious. You hijacked my entire night. And I charge double in bad weather.”

Tears well up from deep inside, even though I was sure there were none left. “I, I’m sorry, you’re right. I messed up this whole night.” My fingers ruffle through my purse scrambling for money. I find a five in the zip front of the interior. A ten-dollar bill in my wallet and two crumpled dollar bills under my glass case.

“Oh, for God’s sake, just get out,” he barks.

“Take this. It’s all I have right now. If you come back tomorrow, I promise I’ll pay you the rest.”

“Lady, you couldn’t pay me enough to come back tomorrow.”

“Thank you, what did you say your name is?”

“I didn’t.”

I open the door and step out; ice engulfs my heel. One foot begins to slide to the left and the other heads right. Clinging mercilessly to the door handle, I struggle to get traction. My legs begin to delve into a straddle. He appears over me. He’s much taller than I expected. With one hand he scoops me up and props me onto my feet, then slams the door and heads to his side of the car.

My eyes meet his, I smile at his chivalry. With a half-crooked smile I say, “The weather is horrendous. Text me to let me know you got home okay.”

“Not gonna happen,” he says before jumping in the car, slamming his door, and driving away.

Author Bio:

Rylee is a hopeless romantic. She loves a cozy fireplace, a furry blanket and a romantic book. She strives to bring lovable characters to life.This has resulted in the creation of some of the most awkwardly charming heroines that are guaranteed to steal your heart. She's a believer in happily ever after and is mildly addicted to fabulous shoes. She loves writing about her favorite things- Christmas, fashion, family, and the ability to go for your dream, no matter how grand. When not writing you can find her spending time with her husband and three children at their home in New Jersey.

Website / Facebook / Twitter / Instagram


GIVEAWAY!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Hosted by:
XBTBanner1

A Holiday Haunting at the Biltmore Eva Pohler Book Tour and Giveaway!

A Holiday Haunting at the Biltmore
Eva Pohler
(The Mystery House Series, #8)
Publication date: January 1st 2022
Genres: Adult, Horror, Mystery

Ellen should have known that a gathering in America’s last castle would entail a few uninvited guests.

During a Christmas eve wedding at the Biltmore Estate in Asheville, North Carolina, Ellen and her friends are visited by multiple ghosts. The spirits have come to tell their stories, to right the wrongs that history has done to their memories. Each of them died in Asheville with their voices stifled. One spirit is particularly adamant and threatening, despite her small size, and her mood fluctuates like the mountain winds surrounding the great estate. She claims to be the ghost of Zelda Fitzgerald, and she wants her story told, even if she has to kill to make it happen.

*Although this is book eight in The Mystery House Series, these books can be read in any order.

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / iBooks / Kobo / Google Play

EXCERPT:

Chapter One: Hot Tub Musings

Ellen clung to the handrail as she eased down the steps into the hot, bubbling water. She adjusted her black one-piece bathing suit, making sure she was still covered. The aquafit class had rearranged everything.

From behind her, Sue said, “I can’t believe I let you guys talk me into this.”

“It wasn’t that bad,” Tanya said from where she was already resting in the tub.

Ellen sat across from her. “Speak for yourself. I could barely breathe.”

Sue followed Ellen through the water, the ruffles of her polka dotted bathing suit dancing on the surface. “I may have even died for a few minutes. I thought I saw a light at the end of a tunnel and my mother waving to me.”

“That was probably just the Nazi instructor on deck telling you to lift your knees higher,” Ellen teased.

Two other women from the aquafit class, both in their early seventies, joined Ellen and her friends.

“That instructor isn’t as good as the one on Tuesdays,” one of them, a petite woman with white hair, said. She was nearly as thin as Tanya.

The other woman, rounder than Ellen but not as round as Sue, nodded. “The one on Tuesday really works you.”

“Oh, Lord.” Sue pushed her dark brown bangs from her eyes. “Let’s not come on Tuesday.”

“We already agreed that we would,” Tanya pointed out. “At least until the wedding.”

Ellen tugged at her shoulder straps, trying to keep everything in the right place. “You can count on me. I’m determined to lose twenty pounds or die trying.”

Sue scoffed. “Well, maybe I love life more than you.”

“If that were true,” the petite woman with the white hair began, “you’d keep coming. I’ve been doing this for over thirty years. I used to be bigger than both of you combined.”

The woman pointed at Ellen and Sue. Ellen tried not to be offended. The audacity of some people, she thought.

“I’m sold!” Sue said comedically, lifting her finger high in the air. “Sign me up! Oh, that’s right. Tanya already did.”

The other women laughed, and Ellen’s mood lightened.

“Did I hear you say that you have a wedding coming up?” the rounder woman asked Tanya.

“Not my wedding,” Tanya said as her blue eyes widened. “It’s Ellen’s son. He’s getting married on Christmas eve at the Biltmore Estate.”

“Oh, how nice,” the petite woman said. “That’s the most beautiful house in the country.”

Ellen leaned against the lip of the tub and breathed in the smell of lavender and musk. “That’s what my son’s future in-laws say, too. They’ve been planning this wedding since their daughter was a baby, I think.”

“Are they from Asheville then?” the petite one asked.

“They live there,” Sue said. Then, turning to Ellen, she asked, “Is it the mother that’s related to the Vanderbilts?”

“Yes,” Ellen said.

“Which means they’re getting the works,” Sue gloated. “The entire wedding party and their guests will be staying at the Biltmore House, which is never done anymore.”

Ellen gave Sue her keep-your-mouth-shut look. Maya’s parents had asked them not to talk about the event with others. They wanted to avoid a media circus.

“How wonderful,” the petite woman said. “You sure you don’t need another grandmother to come?”

Ellen smiled but said nothing in reply.

“That sounds like a once in a lifetime experience.” The round woman climbed from the tub. “I hope you enjoy it, and have a nice weekend, ladies.”

“You, too,” Ellen said as Sue and Tanya waved.

“I should go, too,” the petite woman said. “Will I see you all on Tuesday?”

“We’ll be here.” Tanya turned to Sue. “Right?”

Sue shrugged. “We shall see.”

After the two women left, and she and her friends were alone in the hot tub, Ellen said, “Poor Lane is so stressed over this wedding.”

“I thought that was the job of the bride,” Sue said.

Tanya stood up. “It can be hard on the groom, too. Poor thing. What’s been the most stressful for him?”

Ellen sighed. “Maya’s grandparents. Both sets are still alive, and, apparently, one set can’t stand the other, and vice versa.”

Sue furrowed her brows. “Do you know why?”

“Lane doesn’t know the whole story. The grandfathers were friends long before Maya’s parents were born. According to Maya, they can be really nasty when forced to be in the same room.”

“That’s too bad,” Tanya said as she took her damp blonde hair from its ponytail, and then remade it higher on her head. “I hope they won’t ruin the wedding.”

Ellen’s stomach clenched. She wanted Lane’s wedding day to be perfect for him so that only happy memories would be made.

“I would think the setting alone would be enough to sweeten even the sourest grapes of the bunch,” Sue said reassuringly.

Ellen lifted her brows. “I hope you’re right.”

“Is it Maya’s maternal grandfather or grandmother that’s related to the Vanderbilts?” Tanya asked.

Ellen submerged to her neck. She let out a small gasp of pleasure as the hot water relaxed her muscles, tight from the workout. Then she said, “Grandmother. Melissa Dresden—used to be Brown. She’s the daughter to a cousin of George Vanderbilt, the one who made it all happen. I just read a book about it called The Last Castle by Denise Kiernan. It was interesting to read about the estate’s history. George fell in love with Asheville when he took his ailing mother there to breathe.”

“To what?” Tanya asked.

“To breathe,” Ellen repeated. “Back then, they believed fresh air was the cure for almost everything—especially tuberculosis—and Asheville had become known for its breathing porches that overlooked the beautiful Blue Ridge and Smoky Mountains.”

“George’s mother had tuberculosis?” Sue asked. “Most people didn’t survive it.”

“No, she had malaria, and she recovered from it, but not before George fell in love with the area and began buying up all the land.”

“What year was this?” Tanya asked.

“Late 1800s,” Ellen said. “According to the book, George wasn’t interested in the family business like his two older brothers, who took over various railroad companies when their father died. George was more of a scholar. He loved to read and to collect art, and he wanted something different for himself. So, he decided to outdo his siblings by building the largest private home in America.”

Sue nodded. “That he did.”

“It was more than that, though, wasn’t it?” Tanya asked. “Didn’t he build a famous dairy?”

“Yes—though now it’s a winery. He also hired the best forester and horticulturalist and created a forest preserve and foresters’ school. Later, his wife Edith, who outlived him by many years, created a school for the villagers that focused on textiles and crafts, I believe. Apparently, Edith did a lot for Asheville. I think she was the real heart of Biltmore, only because George died young. They had a daughter named Cornelia, but, according to the book, she was never as devoted to Biltmore as her mother.”

“How old was George when he died?” Sue asked.

“Early fifties, I think. Younger than us.”

“Can you believe I turn sixty next year?” Tanya asked.

“Already?” Sue covered her face with her hands. “I’m right behind you.”

“Brian’s sixty-two, and he’s fine,” Ellen pointed out. “It’s not the end of the world.”

“Not yet, anyway,” Sue said.

“That’s too bad about Maya’s grandparents,” Tanya said. “I really hope they behave themselves at the wedding.”

“Me, too.” Ellen sighed and leaned back on the lip of the tub. “Lane says that Maya’s Vanderbilt grandmother was originally engaged to Maya’s other grandfather, and that’s why the two sets of grandparents don’t get along. One man stole the Vanderbilt bride from the other.”

“Must be hard for the grandmother who isn’t a Vanderbilt,” Sue pointed out. “She might feel like chopped liver. Don’t you think?”

“I know I would, in her situation,” Tanya said. “How selfish of her husband that he can’t let it go.”

“Lane doesn’t think that’s the whole story,” Ellen said. “I just hope they can be civil for the sake of their granddaughter.”

“And for the rest of us,” Tanya added.

Sue shrugged. “I don’t know. Drama at the Biltmore might be fun.”

“Don’t say that,” Ellen insisted. “I’m worried enough about the other encounters we may have while we’re there.”

“Did the book say the house is haunted?” Tanya asked.

“No, and when I asked the Biltmore wedding coordinator about it, she said that they weren’t allowed to discuss it.”

“It’s rumored to be.” Sue furrowed her brows again. “And if Biltmore employees have been warned against talking about it, then you know what that means.”

Tanya stretched her arms. “It’s a good thing we’re taking along some of our equipment.”

“I’m afraid not to,” Ellen said. “Ghosts have a way of finding us, and I don’t want to be caught unprepared.”

“They find us because we have the gift, and they can sense it,” Sue said.

“What do Lane and Maya think about it?” Tanya climbed up and sat on the edge of the tub with her legs in the water.

“I haven’t mentioned it to them,” Ellen admitted. “I’d like to keep any ghostly happenings away from the wedding, as much as possible.”

“Have you done any research, to learn if anyone has written about hauntings there?” Sue asked.

Ellen combed her fingers through her short, damp hair. “I’ve read about ghosts in Asheville, but very little is said about hauntings at the Biltmore. One book claimed that George Vanderbilt’s ghost is there.”

“I wonder what unfinished business a billionaire would have, that would keep him from moving on,” Tanya said.

Ellen climbed up and sat beside Tanya. “Hopefully, it’s only a rumor, and the wedding will go off without a hitch—worldly or otherwise.”

“I’m sure it will,” Tanya reassured her.

“We’ll find out in two months’ time,” Sue said. “That is, if we survive Aquafit.”

Ellen and Tanya looked at each other and grinned.

Author Bio:

After earning her Ph.D. in English and teaching writing and literature for over twenty years, Eva Pohler became a USA Today bestselling author of over thirty novels in multiple genres, including mysteries, thrillers, and young adult paranormal romance based on Greek mythology. Her books have been described as "addictive" and "sure to thrill"--Kirkus Reviews.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter / Instagram / Bookbub / Youtube


GIVEAWAY!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Hosted by:
XBTBanner1

10 January 2022

Cold Brew Corpse: A Coffee Lover's Mystery by Tara Lush Book Tour and Giveaway!

Cold Brew Corpse: A Coffee Lover's Mystery by Tara Lush

About Cold Brew Corpse

Cold Brew Corpse: A Coffee Lover's Mystery 

Cozy Mystery 2nd in Series 

Setting - Florida Crooked Lane Books (December 7, 2021) 

Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 320 pages

ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1643857886 

ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1643857886 Kindle 

ASIN ‏ : ‎ B08Y8DJVGJ 

Other Digital ISBN-13: 9781643857893

Espresso bar owner Lana Lewis returns in Tara Lush's second Coffee Lover's mystery, a stimulating read that fans of Cleo Coyle and Laura Childs will savor to the last drop.

 

It's a steamy September, and business is brisk at Perkatory, the hottest coffee shop in Devil's Beach, FL. Much of the clientele pours in from Dante's Inferno, the hot yoga studio next door. But the bright, sunny Gulf Coast days turn decidedly dark-roast when the body of the studio's owner turns up in a nearby swamp.

 

Between running Perkatory and training Stanley, her golden Shih Tzu puppy, reporter-turned-barista Lana Lewis is too busy to go sleuthing. But when the editor of the local paper asks her to write about the murder, Lana's dreams of getting back into journalism start to percolate.

 

Lana discovers that the yogi has a nefarious past and her share of mug shots, so grinding her way through the suspect list is a large task. She learns that the victim was fatally beaned by an SUV before she was dumped in the swamp. But was the killer one of her students? An envious yoga teacher? Or a local photographer who seems to know too much?

But no one tells Lana Lewis what to do. Hunting the caf-fiend who killed the yogi puts Lana and Chief Noah's relationship--and Lana's life--in very hot coffee.

 

About Tara Lush

Tara Lush is a Florida-based author and journalist. She's an RWA Rita finalist, an Amtrak writing fellow, and the winner of the George C. Polk award for environmental journalism.

She was a reporter with The Associated Press in Florida, covering crime, alligators, natural disasters, and politics. She also writes contemporary romance set in tropical locations under the name Tamara Lush.

Tara is a fan of vintage pulp fiction book covers, Sinatra-era jazz, 1980s fashion, tropical chill, kombucha, gin, tonic, seashells, iPhones, Art Deco, telenovelas, street art, coconut anything, strong coffee, and newspapers. She lives on the Gulf Coast with her husband and two dogs.

Author Links

WEBSITE FACEBOOK INSTAGRAM GOODREADS TWITTER

Purchase Links

Amazon Apple Barnes&Noble Kobo Penguin Random House



January 4 – Cinnamon, Sugar, and a Little Bit of Murder – REVIEW, RECIPE

January 4 – Brooke Blogs – CHARACTER GUEST POST

January 5 – StoreyBook Reviews – GUEST POST

January 5 – FUONLYKNEW – SPOTLIGHT

January 6 – The Mystery Section – RECIPE

January 6 – Baroness’ Book Trove – REVIEW

January 7 – Author Elena Taylor’s Blog – AUTHOR INTERVIEW

January 7 – Maureen’s Musings – SPOTLIGHT

January 8 – Literary Gold – AUTHOR INTERVIEW

January 8 – #BRVL Book Review Virginia Lee Blog – SPOTLIGHT

January 9 – Ascroft, eh? – CHARACTER INTERVIEW

January 10 – Celticlady’s Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

January 10 – Socrates Book Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

January 11 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – REVIEW

January 11 – Sapphyria’s Book Reviews – REVIEW

January 12 – My Reading Journeys – REVIEW  

January 12 – Books a Plenty Book Reviews – REVIEW

January 13 – Mysteries with Character – REVIEW

January 14 – Novels Alive – GUEST POST

January 15 – Reading Is My SuperPower – REVIEW

January 16 – ebook addicts – SPOTLIGHT

January 17 – BookishKelly2020 – SPOTLIGHT  

January 17 – My Journey Back – RECIPE

Have you signed up to be a Tour Host?

Click Here to Find Details and Sign Up Today!

Coerced: A Dubcon Anthology Tour and Giveaway! @XpressoTours⁣ #Coerced

Coerced: A Dubcon Anthology
Publication date: January 18th 2022
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance

If you can’t get what you want, then take it with force.

That’s the motto that these individuals live by.

Captivated by the darkness inside them, they don’t take no for an answer.

Their desire is all-encompassing.

Their needs are overwhelming.

There’s a thin line between villain and hero but these master manipulators will stop at nothing to claim what is theirs.

Coerced is an extremely limited dubcon anthology of addictive stories from a collection of USA Today and bestselling authors.

All proceeds will go to The Joyful Heart Foundation, whose mission is a world free of sexual assault, domestic violence, and child abuse. You can read more about what they do here: https://www.joyfulheartfoundation.org

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / iBooks / Kobo / Google Play


GIVEAWAY!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Hosted by:
XBTBanner1

08 January 2022

A Shifter’s Choice Debbie Cassidy Book Tour and Giveaway!

A Shifter’s Choice
Debbie Cassidy
(Wolves of Hawthorne Cove, #5)
Publication date: January 6th 2022
Genres: Adult, Reverse Harem, Romance, Urban Fantasy

They say the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree. I’m hoping that isn’t the case for me

I’m the spawn of darkness, and the news has spread, making me a target for forces designed to protect this world.

I can’t be a danger to the people I love.

I need to fight.

I need to master the power inside me and prove I’m not the monster they believe me to be.

But when the tiniest slip can unleash the darkness, every choice matters.

I just hope I make the right ones.

Goodreads / Amazon

EXCERPT:

I was back in the house. The house where I killed the innocent man. Why was I back here?

This was all wrong.

I didn’t want to be here. I didn’t want to be walking toward the kitchen. I didn’t want to see what I’d done, but my feet drew me down the hallway and through the door into the dimly lit kitchen.

I expected to see the man on the ground, dagger in his chest where I’d put it. But the dagger was in my grip and the man stood staring at me, torchlight in one hand, plate of sandwiches in the other.

Oh, God. No. Not again.

The man let out a bellow and charged.

Drop the dagger.

Drop it.

But the damn thing was welded to my palm and my hand was coming up in an effort to warn him off and his gurgle of pain was all I could hear.

“No!” I backed away as he fell to the ground.

Dead.

“No, no, no.”

“Such a shame,” a voice drawled behind me.

I turned to find Tate leaning against the doorjamb.

He smirked. “He was a good man, you know. Did a ton of charity work in his younger years.”

The way he spoke…The inflection in his tone… “You’re not Tate.”

His smile widened. “No, my child. I’m not.”

The taint. How could she be here? I was mated to three Faoladh and those bonds were supposed to keep her out of my head.

“Maybe if you hadn’t done what you did…” She shrugged.

Shit, had I spoken out loud? Did I even need to for her to hear me in this dreamscape?

The taint pushed off the doorframe and sauntered into the room. Tate’s form slipped away with each step until she was standing by the dead body in the form I recognized. Her dark hair spilled down her shoulders and her figure-hugging dress writhed with shadows.

“You killed this poor innocent man.” Her mouth turned down and she shook her head. “You killed him in cold blood.”

Guilt clawed at my chest. “I didn’t know…it was an accident.”

“Excuses, excuses.”

I pressed my lips together. “You’re right. There is no excuse. I killed him and I have to live with that guilt for the rest of my life.”

“But that’s just it, sweetheart, you don’t. You don’t have to live with any guilt. We are apex predators, powerful and untouchable. There is no room for guilt in our hearts. Once you accept that, you can be free.” She shrugged. “Humans are lesser. Cattle to be culled. Would you feel guilt over wringing a chicken’s neck?”

“Humans aren’t chickens.”

“Aren’t they?” She arched a brow. “Humans are nothing compared to you and me. We are more. Evolved. Superior.”

“Killers.” The word was bitter on my tongue. “You’re a killer. A murderer. I’m nothing like you.”

“You are everything like me. You’re made from me. You belong to me, and nothing you do will change that.”

Rage born of frustration ignited in my chest. “What do you fucking want from me?”

She blinked sharply. “I want…”

I curled my hands into fists, nails biting into my palms. “What? What do you want?”

“I want you to stop fighting and accept the inevitable. I want you to be who you were meant to be.”

“And what is that, exactly?”

Once again that strange look came over her face, one that on anyone else I’d have labeled confusion. “My daughter…” She frowned. “Mine. I’m the only one who’ll accept you for who you truly are.”

Panic heated my chest because there was way too much sincerity in her tone and there was no denying the tug of twisted longing in my chest.

I staunched it, gritting my teeth and shaking my head. “Bullshit. My mates accept me. Tate accepts me.”

Her lips curved in a knowing smile. “For now. But things change. You’ll change. That part, my child, is inevitable, and when it happens, you’ll see that their love isn’t as unconditional as you believe it to be. When that time comes, I’ll be there just as I’ve always been. But for now, it’s time to wake up. Time to take another step toward your fate.”


Author Bio:

Debbie Cassidy lives in England, Bedfordshire, with her three kids and very supportive husband. Coffee and chocolate biscuits are her writing fuels of choice, and she is still working on getting that perfect tower of solitude built in her back garden. Obsessed with building new worlds and reading about them, she spends her spare time daydreaming and conversing with the characters in her head - in a totally non psychotic way of course. She writes Urban Fantasy, Fantasy and Reverse Harem Fantasy. All her books contain plenty of action, romance and twisty plots.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter / Instagram


GIVEAWAY!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Hosted by:
XBTBanner1

AddToAny

Pin it!

Google Adsense

Please Share!

Printfriendly

View My Stats!

View My Stats

Pageviews past week

Analytics

Google Analytics

SNIPPET_HTML_V2.TXT

Feedburner

Tweet