CELTICLADY'S REVIEWS   

Friday, December 19, 2014

Andromeda's Fall by Abigail Owen Book Blast! #AFBlast


Andromeda Reynolds is being hunted...
Publication Date: December 10, 2014
Genre: Paranormal Romance (18+)
Series: Shadowcat Nation, #1

Andromeda Reynolds is being hunted. After witnessing her mother's violent death at the hands of a pack of wolf shifters, Andie has devoted her life to protecting her community of cougar shifters from a similar fate. But now, a greater threat lies within her own pack, and she must run. If she stays, Kyle Carstairs will force their mating, seeking the added political power their union would provide.

Andie would rather chew off her own foot than end up with Kyle. Though, knowing him, she won't live long either way. Andie's only hope of survival is to mate Jaxon Keller, the Alpha of the Keller Dare with which she is seeking asylum. But before she can get to him, Andie must first go through A.J., one of the Alpha's Protectors. What Andie doesn't realize is that A.J. has secrets of his own. All Andie knows is that the incredibly frustrating shifter insists on challenging her story, her skills, her trust…and her heart.




Award-winning author, Abigail Owen was born in Greeley, Colorado and raised in Austin, Texas. She now resides in Northern California with her husband and two adorable children who are the center of her universe. 

Abigail grew up consuming books and exploring the world through her writing. A fourth generation graduate of Texas A&M University, she attempted to find a practical career related to her favorite pastime by obtaining a degree in English Rhetoric/Technical Writing. However, she swiftly discovered that writing without imagination is not nearly as fun as writing with it.


Website  |  Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Goodreads  |  Pinterest

PURCHASE LINKS


                                                                  Amazon eBook: 


Thursday, December 18, 2014

The Roche Hotel by Mysti Parker Episode 1 Review!

Product Details

  • File Size: 4460 KB
  • Print Length: 62 pages
  • Publisher: Mysti Parker (October 15, 2014)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00NYCMIZQ

After her husband ditches her for a blonde actress wannabe, Jane Seymour needs a job that pays the rent. The struggling Roche Hotel needs a miracle. With the former owner's wife butting her nose into the renovations and new owners who are in way over their heads, Jane may be the answer to their prayers. Sure, she can handle The Roche Hotel's quirky staff. But, can this skittish divorcee keep it all together when handsome Henry the Donut Guy makes his first delivery? This collection of serial fiction stories is a Tudorific romantic comedy that will leave you laughing out loud and hungry for more.


About the Author
***My mantra: I believe authors and readers alike should be treated with respect. I highly admire and appreciate those who are genuinely interested in reading my work, even if it's not their cup of tea. I have never, nor will ever, criticize an actual reviewer for a negative review. I have never, nor will ever, rate a book I haven't read. I do not appreciate those who use ratings/reviews as a means of spite and disrespect. I am saddened by those who feel differently.***

Mysti Parker (pseudonym) is a full time wife, mother of three, and a writer. Her first novel, A Ranger's Tale was published in January, 2011 by Melange Books, and the second in the fantasy romance series, Serenya's Song, was published in April 2012. The highly anticipated third book, Hearts in Exile, came out in June 2013. The Tallenmere series has been likened to Terry Goodkind's 'Sword of Truth' series, but is probably closer to a spicy cross between Tolkien and Mercedes Lackey.

Mysti's other writings have appeared in the anthologies Hearts of Tomorrow, Christmas Lites, and Christmas Lites II. Her flash fiction has appeared on the online magazine EveryDayFiction. She serves as a class mentor in Writers Village University's seven week online course, F2K. Currently, she's working on her first historical romance and has two children's books in the hands of a hard-working agent.

When she's not writing, Mysti reviews books for SQ Magazine, an online specfic publication, and is the proud owner of Unwritten, a blog voted #3 for eCollegeFinder's Top Writing Blogs award. She resides in Buckner, KY with her husband and three children.


My Thoughts
The Roche Hotel is the first episode in a collection of stories that have a theme of the Tudor era even though this is a modern tale. It is a story of a young woman, Jane Seymour, see what I mean?, who after her husband absconds with another woman, finds herself in need of reinventing herself. The first thing she needs to do is find a job. She finds one at The Roche Hotel where she meets a variety of characters, including the previous owners wife who meddles in the running of the hotel. One day while she is manning the front desk she meets Henry, the Donut Guy who she is immediately attracted to and vice versa. Then a dead body turns up and the hotel is instantly thought to be haunted and there are people coming out of the woodwork to stay there.

I found this story to be a very fun short read, ending at just the right spot for the next episode to take over. Full of quirky characters, humor and romance, enough to keep the reader interested. I look forward to the next episodes!

I received this episode for review and was not monetarily compensated for my review.

The Iris Fan by Laura Joh Rowland Book Blast!

02_The Iris Fan Cover


Publication Date: December 9, 2014 
Minotaur Books Formats: eBook, Hardcover 
Add to GR ButtonSeries: Sano Ichiro Mystery Series (Book 18) 
Genre: Historical Mystery   

Japan, 1709. The shogun is old and ailing. Amid the ever-treacherous intrigue in the court, Sano Ichiro has been demoted from chamberlain to a lowly patrol guard. His relationship with his wife Reiko is in tatters, and a bizarre new alliance between his two enemies Yanagisawa and Lord Ienobu has left him puzzled and wary. Sano’s onetime friend Hirata is a reluctant conspirator in a plot against the ruling regime. Yet, Sano's dedication to the Way of the Warrior—the samurai code of honor—is undiminished. Then a harrowing, almost inconceivable crime takes place. In his own palace, the shogun is stabbed with a fan made of painted silk with sharp-pointed iron ribs. Sano is restored to the rank of chief investigator to find the culprit. This is the most significant, and most dangerous, investigation of his career. If the shogun's heir is displeased, he will have Sano and his family put to death without waiting for the shogun's permission, then worry about the consequences later. And Sano has enemies of his own, as well as unexpected allies. As the previously unimaginable death of the shogun seems ever more possible, Sano finds himself at the center of warring forces that threaten not only his own family but Japan itself. Riveting and richly imagined, with a magnificent sense of time and place, The Iris Fan is the triumphant conclusion to Laura Joh Rowland's brilliant series of thrillers set in feudal Japan.

The Sano Ichiro Mystery Series Titles

Shinju Bundori The Way of the Traitor The Concubine's Tattoo The Samurai's Wife Black Lotus The Pillow Book of Lady Wisteria The Dragon King's Palace The Perfumed Sleeve The Assassin's Touch The Red Chrysanthemum The Snow Empress The Fire Kimono The Cloud Pavilion The Ronin's Mistress The Incense Game The Shogun's Daughter The Iris Fan

Buy the Book

Amazon US Amazon UK Barnes & Noble Book Depository IndieBound


03_Laura Joh Rowland

About the Author

Granddaughter of Chinese and Korean immigrants, Laura Joh Rowland grew up in Michigan and where she graduated with a B.S. in microbiology and a Master of Public Health at the University of Michigan. She is the author of sixteen previous Sano Ichiro thrillers set in feudal Japan. The Fire Kimono was named one of the Wall Street Journal's "Five Best Historical Mystery Novels"; and The Snow Empress and The Cloud Pavilion were among Publishers Weekly's Best Mysteries of the Year. She currently lives in New Orleans with her husband. She has worked as a chemist, microbiologist, sanitary inspector and quality engineer. For more information please visit Laura’s website. You can also follow her on Facebook.

The Iris Fan Blog Tour & Book Blast Schedule

Tuesday, December 9 
Book Blast, Excerpt, & Giveaway at Passages to the Past  
Wednesday, December 10 
Review at Oh, For the Hook of a Book
Book Blast at Literary Chanteuse
Thursday, December 11
Review at Buried Under Books
Friday, December 12
Book Blast at Queen of All She Reads
Monday, December 15
Book Blast at Layered Pages
Tuesday, December 16
Review at Book Dilletante
Interview at Dianne Ascroft's Blog
Wednesday, December 17
Book Blast at CelticLady's Reviews
Friday, December 19
Review at Unshelfish
Book Blast at I'd So Rather Be Reading
Monday, December 22
Review at Broken Teepee
Tuesday, December 23
Review at Book Nerd
Monday, January 5
Review & Interview at Jorie Loves a Story
Wednesday, January 7
Review at Book Babe
Review at Svetlana's Reads and Views

 photo ae47ce42-f28c-4205-8175-9f63fd44bde9.png

Hunter & Prey by Kira Barker Cover Unveil!



Hunter & Prey
Hunter & Prey Series
by Kira Barker
Publication Date: December 20, 2014
Genre: Horror/Thriller, Erotica
Cover Designer: Mayhem Cover Creations

Synopsis

Penelope Thompson loves her life. She has everything she wants. With her beauty, charm, and intelligence, she is at the top of her game and is one of the most sought after escorts at her company. She chooses her clients carefully and provides them with much more than just a great time between the sheets. Yet now at the age of 33, she is questioning just how much longer she has in the business. Life might be great, but sometimes it gets lonely to only ever be what others want to see in her, without true intimacy.
Darren Hunter has made a killing by being one of the best lawyers in Chicago. Renowned for winning any case, he has built up quite the reputation. He has a new beautiful woman attached to his arm every few months and is what every guy desires to be: wealthy, intelligent, successful, and has the looks that kill. 
It is now time for Darren to choose his new "flavor of the season" and it seems as if Penelope has caught his eye. As things heat up between them, Penelope starts to feel as if life is turning into a fairy tale—if not for the fact that one by one, evidence is mounting up that the elusive Mr. Hunter has his own skeletons in the closet. Will his past come to catch up with her? And why do all the women in his life suddenly disappear?
***This is a dark thriller, rated M and recommended for 18+***

About the Author

Kira Barker has always enjoyed telling stories. It has kept her sane through high school and college, and has become a true passion since. A geek gamer girl herself, she feels at home reading sci-fi and fantasy as much as writing romance. She likes her plots gritty, her smut realistic, and doesn’t mind getting her hands dirty when it comes to research. When she’s not writing, she loves annoying her cats or cruising country roads on her motorcycle.
Goodreads Author Page Link:
Website URL:
Facebook Page URL:
Twitter Handle @KiraEBarker

Whatever It Takes by JM Stewart Spotlight!

HiRezWIT
Title:  Whatever It Takes (Morgan Family #2) 
Author:  J.M. Stewart 
Genre:  Contemp0rary Romance 18+ 
Publication Date:  December 16, 2014 
Publisher:  Berkley Intermix

~ Synopsis ~

She’s been dying to hear the words…

Walking away from her husband was the hardest thing Becca Morgan has ever done, even if it was the only way to save her heart from being broken by a loveless marriage. Still, when a terrible accident forces her to stay at her ex Jackson’s house for a few days, emotions she thought she’d buried long ago start coming to the surface—and, to her surprise, seem to be reciprocated…

 …he just doesn’t know how to say.

 Jackson Kade has never known love like he knew with Becca, but his cold upbringing left him unable to show her how deeply he feels. When Becca winds up under his roof once more, he knows it’s his only opportunity to prove his devotion—and passion. But old habits die hard, and even one mistake could shatter their last chance at love… Whatever it Takes


Add to Goodreads




~ About the Author ~

Me1 

 JM writes passionate, heartfelt contemporary romance. She’s a wife, a mother, a spiritualist, and lover of puppies, and happily addicted to coffee and chocolate. She lives in the rainy Pacific Northwest with her husband and two sons. She’s a hopeless romantic who believes everybody should have their happily-ever-after and has been devouring romance novels for as long as she can remember. Writing them has become her obsession.


Connect with the Author: 

       

Wednesday, December 17, 2014

Doctor Death by Lene Kaaberbol Spotlight!




A Madeleine Karno mystery

BY new York times bestselling author
LENE Kaaberbøl

DOCTOR DEATH
By Lene Kaaberbøl
ISBN: 978-1-4767-3138-4
Format: Hardcover 304 pages
Price: $25.00 (US) | $29.00 (CAN)
On Sale: February 17, 2015

“It is snowing. The snow falls on the young girl’s face, on her cheeks, mouth, and nose, and on her eyes. She does not blink it away. Around her the city is living its nightlife… But here in the passageway where she lies, there is no life.”

Author Lene Kaaberbøl creates a mesmerizing world in her historical thriller DOCTOR DEATH: A MADELEINE KARNO MYSTERY (Atria Books, $25; February 17, 2014). As she did masterfully in the New York Times bestseller The Boy in the Suitcase, Kaaberbøl draws readers in from the very first sentence, thanks to her stunning talent for storytelling. This time the plot circles around the ambitious and strong-minded Madeleine Karno, a young woman eager to shatter the constraints of her provincial French upbringing.

Working as her father’s assistant, Madeleine dreams of following in his footsteps and becoming a   pathologist.  In 1894, though, autopsies are considered unseemly and ungodly, even when performed by a man. Hence, the idea of a young woman dissecting corpses is too scandalous for words.

But this all changes when seventeen-year-old Cecile Montaine is found dead in the snowy streets of Varbourg, France and her family refuses to permit a full autopsy. With no concrete cause of death, Madeleine and her father are left with a single perplexing clue: in the dead girl’s nostrils they discover a mysterious mite. 

Other bodies are soon discovered throughout the city, and Madeleine, her father, and the city commissioner must race against time to solve the series of suspicious deaths before they all become the next victims of a deadly disease—or of a heinous murderer.

Eloquently written and with powerful insight into human and animal nature, DOCTOR DEATH takes the reader on a captivating journey. At once a spellbinding mystery and a poignant coming-of-age story, DOCTOR DEATH depicts the struggle of a young woman grappling with what's expected of her as a female in the late 19th century while fearlessly trying to solve a chilling crime.

Lene Kaaberbøl has been a professional writer since the age of fifteen, with more than two million books sold worldwide. She has won several national and international awards for her fiction, and her work has been translated into more than thirty languages. Kaaberbøl is the coauthor of the New York Times bestseller The Boy in the Suitcase, which received rave reviews, was selected as a New York Times Book Review Notable Crime Book of 2011 as well as an Indie Next List November 2011 Pick,  and won the Harald Morgensen Award for Best Danish Thriller of the Year. Born in Copenhagen, she now lives on the small Channel Island of Sark.

PRAISE FOR New York Times Bestseller
The Boy in the Suitcase
“Once you start reading, you can’t stop.” –The Washington Post
“A wild ride!” –New York Post
“Ready to be discovered by an American audience.” –Publishers Marketplace
“A debut that’s a model of a finely tuned suspense.” – Kirkus Reviews
“Stieg Larsson fans will find a lot to like in The Boy in The Suitcase.” –Publishers Weekly


Touched with Fire, Christopher Datta's #1 best selling Historical Fiction is on sale now for only $0.99.

touchedwithfire



"A tremendously amazing story for History lovers!" "A fantastic story that engaged" "An excellent example of entertwining a love story with historical facts"

 

$0.99 December 15th-19th Touched With Fire, a novel of the Civil War inspired by the true story of Ellen Craft.

 Ellen Craft is property; in this case, of her half-sister Debra, to whom she was given as a wedding gift. The illegitimate daughter of a Georgia plantation owner and a house slave, she learned to hate her own image, which so closely resembled that of her “father:” the same wiry build, the same blue eyes, and the same pale—indeed, lily-white—skin. Ellen lives a solitary life until she falls, unexpectedly, in love with a dark-skinned slave named William Craft, and together they devise a plan to run North. Ellie will pose as a gentleman planter bound for Philadelphia accompanied by his “boy” Will. They make it as far as Baltimore when Will is turned back, and Ellie has no choice but continue. With no way of knowing if he is dead or alive, she resolves to make a second journey—South again. And so Elijah Craft enlists with the 125th Ohio Volunteers of the Union Army: she will literally fight her way back to her husband. Eli/Ellie’s journey is the story of an extraordinary individual and an abiding love, but also of the corrosive effects of slavery, and of a nation at a watershed moment.

Announcing the release of Fire & Dust, book two in the Fire Trilogy

"fireanddust

If you thought you knew the Civil War, think again. In Fire and Dust, Christopher Datta takes you beyond the clatter and gore of the battlefield to reveal the very hearts and minds of the Confederacy. His characters will haunt you like a rebel yell, sounding down through the years to touch you with their sacrifices, their struggles, and—most of all—their humanity." -Karen Lyon, Hill Rag Magazine

 

In the fall of 1863, there is still a chance to prevent a Union victory in the Civil War.

 Robert E. Lee’s most trusted senior commander, General James Longstreet, takes two Virginia divisions west to unite with General Braxton Bragg’s Army of Tennessee. Longstreet arrives just in time to join in the Confederate attack on the Union army at the battle of Chickamauga. As the fate of the Confederacy is decided, this epic saga plays out against the backdrop of the love stories of Mexican war veteran Sargent Sam Davis and the recently widowed Sally O’Grady, and of the young, poor and naive private Harry Kolb and Rachel Shaw, the daughter of a wealthy plantation owner. Their tales bring to vivid life the forgotten watershed moments of September, October and November of 1863, a period that more than any other determined the outcome of the war. Fire and Dust narrates the history of the Civil War as it really was, and makes you a front row witness as the destiny of the Confederacy unfolds.

About the Author

Chris1

Born in Washington, DC Chris Datta, Foreign Service officer, has been on numerous battlefields for his job and country. He has seen mass graves, brought war criminals to justice and in this new chapter, Datta brings readers a stunning historical account of the American Civil War with Touched with Fire. His attention to detail is superb, and his experiences abroad have given him ample stories to tell for years to come. His action packed life has taken him across the world from the United States to Liberia and Southern Sudan. Not only serving in active war zones but often battling tropical diseases, Datta has nurtured his fascination with civil conflict by diving into the history books and historical records of America’s past. His research is meticulous, and his attention to detail creates vivid pictures of the past.    

Tuesday, December 16, 2014

Libby Morgan Reunion by Leah Zieber Spotlight!

03_Libby Morgan Reunion Cover


Publication Date: September 7, 2014
Formats: eBook, Paperback
Pages: 283
ASIN: B00O35L1MO

Series: American Heritage Quilt Series
Genre: YA/Historical Fiction

Add to GR Button

Coming from a long line of seamstresses, Libby has yet to sew anything more than the rudimentary button or hem, but on a visit to Connecticut she learns more than just how to sew patchwork. Set in 1855 New England and London, this tender story, Libby Morgan: Reunion, follows tenacious Elizabeth (Libby) Jane Morgan through her thirteenth summer of new adventures at home and abroad. She is given a birthday gift of sewing tools and fabric, as well as old family letters to use as templates for making her first quilt. Her decision to first read the letters results in questions that only her Grandmother Morgan’s stories can answer—stories of true love, horrible loss and family connections to London nobles. Her keen eye and inquisitive nature draws her family into a mysterious investigation that tests their faith, challenges their ability to forgive, and results in a resurrection and reunion of lost hearts.

Buy the Book

Amazon
Barnes & Noble

About the Author

02_Leah Zieber Author

Leah A. Zieber is a quilt historian and quilt maker from Temecula, California, specializing in American quilt history and reproduction quilts from the nineteenth century. Her quilts have been exhibited across the country in quilt shows, museums and historical societies and were most recently published in Stars: A Study of 19th Century Star Quilts. Leah has worked closely with Southern California collectors, cataloging, managing, and independently researching their textile collections. Her own collection of antique quilts and related textile items spans one hundred and eighty five years, and she shares her knowledge of American quilt history using her collection in lectures and workshops. Libby Morgan: Reunion is her debut novel and the first in her American Heritage Quilt Series.

For more information please visit Leah Zieber's website and blog. You can also connect with her on Facebook and LinkedIn.

Libby Morgan: Reunion Blog Tour Schedule

Monday, December 1
Review at WV Stitcher

Tuesday, December 2
Spotlight at I'd Rather Be Reading

Thursday, December 4
Interview & Giveaway at Reading Lark

Friday, December 5
Review at Book Nerd

Saturday, December 6
Review at Mel's Shelves

Monday, December 8
Review at Forever Ashley

Tuesday, December 9
Review at With Her Nose Stuck in a Book
Spotlight at Boom Baby Reviews

Wednesday, December 10
Review at Luxury Reading
Spotlight & Giveaway at Mina's Bookshelf

Friday, December 12
Spotlight & Giveaway at Teddy Rose Book Reviews Plus More

Monday, December 15
Spotlight at Just One More Chapter

Tuesday, December 16
Spotlight at CelticLady's Reviews

Wednesday, December 17
Review at A Chick Who Reads

Thursday, December 18
Guest Post at Historical Tapestry

Friday, December 19
Guest Post at Book Babe

 photo 156388c7-1425-4d39-9750-40638e6f70f8.png

Purgatory Origins by Darryl Olsen Spotlight and Giveaway



SYNOPSIS

When Professor Harrison Standish, a bookish young archeologist inadvertently stumbles upon an ancient burial chamber in Egypt, he is baffled to find symbolism inside that would appear to date from two different historical periods, thousands of years apart. Suspecting the tomb had been tampered with at some point in the distant past, Professor Standish soon discovers the skeletons of ten half-human/half-canine creatures lying in a far corner of the chamber and his initial bafflement now turns to shock. What kind of ancient madman would be conducting such a horrific experiment?

As Dr. Standish endeavors to explain this mystery over the ensuing days, he happens upon a news report, suggesting that these same grotesque, half-human/half-canine creatures have come to life in the remote mountains of Wyoming and he is immediately on the next flight. By the time he arrives in Wyoming, a World War II Nazi bomber has materialized out of the sky and crashed off the coast of France and a Nazi general named Schmitz has stumbled into the 21st century, leaving behind evidence of his presence in Professor Standish's ancient burial chamber back in Egypt, all of which sets the stage for a rollicking, nonstop, modern day fantasy/sci-fi adventure.

The cast of characters in Purgatory: Origins includes Rachael, a pesky, auburn haired New York magazine correspondent, who is known equally for her ability to sink her teeth into a story and her unwillingness to let it go, Jason Kendall, an escaped rapist and killer who falls hard for Rachael when they cross paths and turns out to have a past with our half human creatures, and Harper, the ex-special forces FBI agent, whose primary goal is finding Jason Kendall, getting him back behind bars and keeping him there for the rest of his life but soon finds himself sucked into this mystery woven of ancient symbolism, old Nazi war criminals and otherworldly creatures.


Where to purchase Purgatory Origins


*Free for Prime Members or on Kindle Unlimited*




The Author

Darryl's Website / Facebook / Twitter

Darryl Olsen is a writer who lives in Sydney, he was educated on the Mid North Coast of New South Wales and after leaving school joined the Australian Regular Army. Darryl Olsen now writes part time, and when he is not finishing off his latest novel, you can catch Darryl at the gym lifting heavy weights, but still avoiding all forms of leg work.

Darryl Olsen is the author of the Purgatory series with the first title, Purgatory, Soldiers of Misfortune- now available. Stay tuned for the second novel titled, "Purgatory Origins" He also wrote "Children of the Gods-The Talon Project"


For more information about Darryl and his upcoming books please go to www.darrylolsen.com or you can contact him on darryl@darrylolsen.com


PRIZES
 $100 Amazon Gift Card
$50 Amazon Gift Card
$25 Amazon Gift Card

ENTER THE GIVEAWAY!



Follow the entire Purgatory Origins tour HERE


A Veil of Glass and Rain by Petra March, Special Edition Cover Reveal!

SEMC 3MP DSC

Book Title: Veil of Glass and Rain: Special Edition
Author: Petra March
Release Date: January 20, 2014
Series: A Touch of Cinnamon.
Book Type: All books in the series can be read Stand-alone


 Brina and Eagan meet for the first time when she's nine and he's fourteen. They like each other from the very beginning, though their bond isn't immediate, but it grows over the years. What links them is the fact that their parents are photographers and are extremely devoted to their work and to each other; so much so that both Brina and Eagan have to learn how to take care of themselves from a very young age. Despite their differences, age, gender, nationality - Brina is Italian and Eagan is American - they find comfort in their growing friendship. 
Then Brina becomes a teenager, and her feelings for her friend start changing and deepening. New desires stir within her. As soon as Brina realizes how those feelings complicate her friendship with Eagan, she runs away from him.  A few years later, Brina is twenty and Eagan is twenty-five, they find one another once again.


Publisher's Note: This is a fully re-edited and enriched with new and special contents version of the previously published novel, A Veil of Glass and Rain, by Petra F. Bagnardi (aka Petra March). 


AVeilOfGlassAndRain_SpecialEd_PBCover    

Add to Your Goodreads Shelf 

 

 ~Excerpt ~

A stolen kiss...
[...]I was wearing a yellow sundress and clutching the handle of my guitar case. Eagan offered to carry it for me, but I shook my head, for he was already bearing the weight of his huge backpack.

A part of me was glad he hadn't been able to hear me play. The piece I had chosen was an acoustic cover of one of my favorite rock songs. The acoustic version was utterly sentimental; it expressed perfectly the way I felt about Eagan. After my performance, all my professors and fellow students admitted that they'd never heard me play with so much feeling. I wasn't certain I wanted Eagan to discover that part of my soul yet.

We embraced awkwardly. I noticed that his eyes were red and tired. I also remarked that he was tanned and that he smelled good, as always. Of course, I didn't reveal my sentiments.

It was a bright summer day. We went to a park, we sat, we didn't talk much. After a while, Eagan lay back and fell asleep.

I watched him rest for a few moments, then I reclined alongside him. I placed my body very close to his, so that I could feel his heat through the thin cotton of my dress. His handsome face was turned toward me and his lips were slightly parted. Flecks of gold dotted his beard stubble and his dark blond hair.

I braced one of my hands on his arm and the other one on his muscled chest, then I leaned toward his face, keeping my eyes open. I let my mouth linger over his and breathed his breath then, finally, I whispered a kiss across the side of his mouth, then I licked his upper lip. I waited. He didn't stir. So I closed my eyes and brushed his lips with mine once more. I became greedy. My tongue pressed between his parted lips and stroked his tongue once, twice and then again until I moaned and an unbearable ache surged between my legs.

My fingers gripped his sweaty T-shirt. I kept kissing Eagan until he groaned softly in his sleep.

“I love you,” I murmured against his lips.

I moved away from him. I forced myself to stand, I grabbed my guitar case and I left.

On the bus, I kept licking my lips; I tasted him, the salt of his sweat, and a hint of cinnamon.
(A Veil of Glass and Rain: Special Edition, by Petra March)

 

About the Petra

  PetraMarch    
 Petra March (aka Petra F. Bagnardi) studied Screenwriting and History of American Cinema at UCLA and NYU. Presently, Petra keeps traveling and dreaming through her novels. Her characters are deeply in love with Europe and the USA, just like Petra is.

 On October 2nd 2014 her debut novel, A Veil of Glass and Rain, won the Indie Book of the Day Award.

~Connect with Petra ~

Monday, December 15, 2014

Clockwork Fantasy by Pauling Creeden New Release!

Clockworkfantasy2

Clockwork Fantasy - A Steampunk collection has just been release in time for Christmas. It is sure to please the steampunk lover on your list. Buy on AMAZON Four Steampunk Fantasies in one collection:

CHRONICLES OF STEELE: RAVEN (complete series novel)
Human life has value. The poor living in the gutter are as valuable as the rich living in a manor. The scoundrel is no less valuable than the saint. Because of this, every life a reaper takes must be redeemed.
Clockwork Fantasy boxed set

Raven has lived by this first tenet since she was trained by her father to become a reaper. But since his death, she’s been spending years redeeming the lives she’s taken. By her count, she’s even and it’s time for that life to end. If she settles down and becomes a wife, she might just feel human again. But on the way to the life she thinks she wants, the baron of New Haven asks her to complete a task which she cannot ignore… Just when Raven decides to give up on her life as an assassin, she’s pulled right back in.

HEARTLESS IN NEW ORLEANS (short story)
Helen's time has run out, and she must sneak into the graveyard to get the key she needs from her former master. It is a race against time and the ticking of her own heart.

ARMORED HEARTS
When a crippled young lord rescues a girl falling from a tree, it reveals a secret about himself and his mother's side of the family that could put him at the center of a war with beings he thought only existed in fairy tales. Tristan Gareth Smyth lived his entire life stuck at home at Waverly Park and left behind while his Grandfather makes trips to London, all because of his blasted wheelchair. Then an American heiress falls in his lap, literally, and he must find a way to keep her at a distance to protect not only his secret, but everyone around him from an assassin sent to kill him.


WINTER FAE ~The Short Story Prequel to ARMORED HEARTS (Steampunk Fantasy)~
Once upon a time, a fairy princess gave up her home, her family, and her birthright for the love of a human lord. But life outside has made her sick. When she returns to the land of fae with her son, she discovers things are not as they should be. Will she find the healing she so desperately seeks for herself and invalid son? Or will she be received with the coldness of winter?

Pauline’s Newsletter Sign Up http://eepurl.com/Oe2Fn

Pauline Creeden

Pauline Creeden

Pauline Creeden is a horse trainer from Virginia, but writing is her therapy. In her fiction, she creates worlds that are both familiar and strange, often pulling the veil between dimensions. She becomes the main character in each of her stories, and because she has ADD, she will get bored if she pretends to be one person for too long.
Follow Pauline Creeden: Website | Facebook | Twitter

Google+ Badge

Search This Blog

Loading...