CELTICLADY'S REVIEWS   

Monday, September 22, 2014

The Kralls of Ulundi by David Ebsworth Spotlight!

About the Book

1879 - the British army has suffered one of the worst defeats in its history at the hands of the Zulu King Cetshwayo. Now the British seek revenge and a second invasion of Zululand is about to take place. Within the Zulu regiments charged with repelling the assault is Shaba kaNdabuko driven by ambition to share the glory of battle, to bring honour and cattle to his family. Meanwhile, new British soldiers are shipped out to replace those lost in the military disasters, and among them is Lieutenant Jahleel Carey, likewise also hoping that adventure will bring him a change of fortune. But there are also always those on the sidelines of conflict, profiteers like renegade trader William McTeague. Three men, three women, will be brought together by one of the Zulu War's strangest episodes, and their destinies will be changed forever.




About the Author

David Ebsworth is the pen name of writer, Dave McCall, a former negotiator and Regional Secretary for Britain's Transport & General Workers’ Union. He was born in Liverpool (UK) but has lived for the past thirty years in Wrexham, North Wales, with his wife, Ann. Since their retirement in 2008, the couple have spent about six months of each year in southern Spain. Dave began to write seriously in the following year, 2009.

Praise for The Kraals of Ulundi: “This is well-researched and solid historical fiction – a very worthwhile project.” Adrian Greaves, Anglo-Zulu War Historical Society and author of The Tribe That Washed Its Spears.

Learn More Here:

Sunday, September 21, 2014

Frozen Reverie by Jill Cooper Release Day Book Blast!

DreamSlayer 4


frozen_promo

Cameras, interviews, celebrity endorsements.... After a demonire plague ravaged the mountainside of Meadow's Creek, Natalie did the unimaginable and came clean about it all—vampires, her job, and the reality of the supernatural. It has thrust her into a world of spotlight where she is both revered and ridiculed. With fan clubs, television specials, and a talk show on the horizon, Natalie and her friends are caught up in celebrity as the undead move against Natalie to send her to an early grave. And their ally? The people Natalie sought to protect the most—the survivors of the vampire curse.

Buy on Amazon

DS Free New Promo
 

Also Available - The Dream Slayer Novellas

Novella CoverNecromancer's Kiss

Buy on Amazon:

Dreamslayer Free Demon Royale .99 Dawning Apocolypse .99 Sacrifice .99 Necromancer's Kiss .99

jillcooper

About the Author:

I could write this in the third person. I could tell you what I like, where I was born, and what my favorite things are. But instead, I'll say I don't want to write like everyone else. I don't want to craft stories you've read a thousand times before. I want my novels to be a cinematic experience, blending themes, genres, and situations unlike any you've ever read. I want to break the rules. I want you to break out in a cold sweat as you read my books out of fear, love, and excitement. I want my books to be an experience. When you finish, I want you to feel something. Good or bad. If you do, then I'll have succeeded. If not, I'll keep trying. 

She can be contacted at http://www.jillacooper.com. Please like her on Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest to keep up to date on new releases and appearances. 

Jill will be giving away A Dream Slayer tote bag, with some signed books and buttons. Giveaway runs from 9/20 - 10/5/2014 
a Rafflecopter giveaway

The Praefortis by M.R. Ferguson Spotlight!

pre-orderThePraefortis


The Praefortis by M.R. Ferguson

Zoe Masterson always felt like an outsider. She’s different from everyone else in her rural West Virginia town: destruction and mayhem follow her around like a rabid dog. After a mysterious fire leads to a death, Zoe ends up in what looks like a mental hospital—but is it?

Praefortis - MichelleAt Weston State Hospital, she discovers that the world as she knows it is an illusion. So much more exists beneath the surface of life: races of people, Guardians, Assassins. . .and the one person she is destined to love forever, all caught up in a battle for control of this hidden world that could cost her the people she loves most.

Pre-order on Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Smashwords

Add to your TBR list on Goodreads   

michelle About M.R. Ferguson 
  M. R. Ferguson has a passion for the paranormal that influences her writing and photography. Believing that anything can be possible gives her a sense of adventure, pushing her stories to a place her readers dare not venture on their own. "Dare to believe" is her motto, which stands to reason as she lives in a haunted house with her three dogs, cat and cockatoo. Wishing that fall would last all year, she plans for football season, Halloween and cooler temperatures as soon as June hits. 

Saturday, September 20, 2014

Choose Your Own Autobiography Book Trailer by Neil Patrick Harris SApotlight!




Book Details

  • Hardcover: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Crown Archetype (October 14, 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0385346999
  • ISBN-13: 978-0385346993

Tired of memoirs that only tell you what really happened?
Sick of deeply personal accounts written in the first person? Seeking an exciting, interactive read that puts the “u” back in “aUtobiography”? Then look no further than Neil Patrick Harris: Choose Your Own Autobiography! In this revolutionary, Joycean experiment in light celebrity narrative, actor/personality/carbon-based life-form Neil Patrick Harris lets you, the reader, live his life. You will be born in New Mexico. You will get your big break at an acting camp. You will get into a bizarre confrontation outside a nightclub with actor Scott Caan. Even better, at each critical juncture of your life you will choose how to proceed. You will decide whether to try out for Doogie Howser, M.D. You will decide whether to spend years struggling with your sexuality. You will decide what kind of caviar you want to eat on board Elton John’s yacht.

Choose correctly and you’ll find fame, fortune, and true love. Choose incorrectly and you’ll find misery, heartbreak, and a guest stint on Celebrity Rehab with Dr. Drew. All this, plus magic tricks, cocktail recipes, embarrassing pictures from your time as a child actor, and even a closing song. Yes, if you buy one book this year, congratulations on being above the American average, but make that book Neil Patrick Harris: Choose Your Own Autobiography.


About the Author
Neil Patrick Harris is a Tony and Emmy award-winning stage and screen performer, famous for his roles as Barney Stinson in the popular CBS sitcom How I Met Your Mother and as the iconic and beloved Doogie Howser, M.D. He’s been in many movies, hosted both the Tony and the Emmy Awards multiple times, performed in several Broadway shows, and enjoys the Twitter (follow him at @actuallyNPH). Oh, and he is an accomplished amateur magician on the side. And the father of twins. And he’s Dr. Horrible.






Learn more about the book, the author and read an excerpt here

Free on Amazon September 20th, Episode Three of Chronicles of Steele: Raven!

3ChroniclesFreebanner

Chronicles-of-Steele-Raven3-199x300

Human life has value. The poor living in the gutter is as valuable as the rich living in a manor. The scoundrel is no less valuable than the saint. Because of this, every life a reaper takes must be redeemed. Raven has lived by this first tenet since she was trained by her father to become a reaper. But since his death, she’s been spending years redeeming the lives she’s taken. By her count, she’s even and it’s time for that life to end. If she settles down and becomes a wife, she might just feel human again. But on the way to the life she thinks she wants, the baron of New Haven asks her to complete a task which she cannot ignore… Just when Raven decides to give up on her life as an assassin, she’s pulled right back in. The Chronicles of Steele: Raven is a steampunk-inspired fantasy set in an alternate universe.

GET IT FOR FREE ON AMAZON

clear boarder2  

Pauline’s Newsletter Sign Up http://eepurl.com/Oe2Fn

Pauline Creeden

Pauline Creeden

Pauline Creeden is a horse trainer from Virginia, but writing is her therapy. In her fiction, she creates worlds that are both familiar and strange, often pulling the veil between dimensions. She becomes the main character in each of her stories, and because she has ADD, she will get bored if she pretends to be one person for too long.

Follow Pauline Creeden: Website | Facebook | Twitter

Friday, September 19, 2014

Killer Wasps by Amy Korman Spotlight!



Killer WASPs
A Killer WASPs Mystery
Amy Korman
Crime really stings in Killer WASPs (Witness Impulse e-book, on sale 9/16/2014, $1.99), a Witness Original from debut author Amy Korman. If you love cocktails, antiquing, parties, shopping and the occasional crime-lite thrown in amid vodka tonics and tennis matches at the club, then you’ll love Killer WASPs. The first installment in this modern and cozy series features crime, romance, and fun amid the classic estates of Philadelphia’s Main Line.
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania, is a haven for East Coast WASPs, where tennis tournaments and cocktails at the club are revered traditions. Little happens in the sleepy suburb, and that is the way the Lilly Pulitzer–clad residents prefer it. So when antiques store owner Kristin Clark and her portly basset hound stumble upon the area's newest real estate developer lying unconscious beneath the hydrangea bushes lining the driveway of one of Bryn Mawr's most distinguished estates, the entire town is abuzz with gossip and intrigue.
When the attacker strikes again just days later, Kristin and her three best friends—Holly, a glamorous chicken nugget heiress with a penchant for high fashion; Joe, a decorator who's determined to land his own HGTV show; and Bootsie, a preppy but nosy newspaper reporter—join forces to solve the crime. While their investigation takes them to cocktail parties, flea markets, and the country club, they must unravel the mystery before the assailant claims another victim.
Fans of Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum series will enjoy shaking up the Philadelphia Main Line. To learn more, check out the Killer WASPsFacebook page: https://www.facebook.com/killerWASPsseries.

About the Author: Amy Korman is a former senior editor and staff writer for Philadelphia Magazine, and author of Frommer’s Guide to Philadelphia. She has written for Town & Country, House Beautiful, Men’s Health, and Cosmopolitan. Killer WASPS is her first novel.

About Witness:  Witness is the new Impulse imprint from HarperCollins Publishers devoted to thrillers, mysteries, and stories of suspense. Debuting in Fall 2013, Witness will serve as a launch pad for a range of exciting titles, including new publications, previously self-published bestsellers, newly digitized backlist classics, and international books previously unavailable in the US.  For more on this and other Witness titles, please visit http://wmmorrow.hc.com/witnessimpulse.

Buy Links:

Stevenon's Treasure by Mark Wiederanders Spotlight!



Publication Date: February 23, 2014
Fireship Press
Formats: eBook, Paperback

Genre: Historical Fiction
Add to GR Button
STEVENSON’S TREASURE is a fictional but carefully researched story about the year Robert Louis Stevenson leaves all that is safe in Scotland and journeys to California on what has to be one of the most romantic, ill-advised but successful quests a literary figure has ever made. Unknown and in shaky health, the 29-year-old writer in the summer of 1879 crosses the Atlantic by steamer and the American continent by rail. His objective is scandalous: to make an American art student he met in France, Fanny Osbourne, his wife despite the facts that she is already married (unhappily), has children and is ten years older than him. Showing up on her Monterey doorstep half-dead from several ailments, “Louis” nonetheless proposes marriage. Although her heart longs to say “yes,” she turns him down for a variety of practical reasons. Louis finds cheap lodgings nearby and vows to stay as long as it takes to overcome her objections. In their year-long struggle to somehow have a future together, Louis and Fanny must contend not just with his abysmal health but his inability to sell his writing, her handsome but philandering husband, a contentious teenage daughter and a skeptical ten-year-old son. From this mixture, stirred on a palette of landscapes that include France, Monterey, San Francisco, Calistoga and the Highlands of Scotland comes a more complete triumph than Stevenson had hoped for…

Praise for Stevenson’s Treasure

“With intricately-rendered characters, rich international historical settings, and a warm humor simmering throughout its pages, STEVENSON’S TREASURE reminds us that while pirates, buried treasure, and split personalities can captivate, there is no adventure quite like the deep longing of the human heart.” – Kim Culbertson, Northern California Book Award Winner for Instructions for a Broken Heart.
“In the first lines of Mark Wiederanders’ captivating novel we are introduced to the eccentric, brilliant Robert Louis Stevenson through the eyes of the no less iridescent Fanny Osbourne, and from that meeting, the novel—meticulously researched by an author who has a sense of wicked humor to match Stevenson’s own—plunges forward. Stevenson’s early, absurd efforts to be a published author are almost impossible to juxtapose with his eventual fame, and he and Fanny seem to be in equal measure mismatched and fated. We follow with delight their careening efforts to figure out how to be—if they can be—together, and what that love life will or will not mean for Stevenson’s literary life. A great and unexpected love story, beautifully and compellingly told.” – Sands Hall, author of Catching Heaven and Tools of the Writer’s Craft.
“Drawing on prime sources, Wiederanders’ debut novel captures both the depth and charm of one of the Belle Epoch’s most unique couples; an absolutely sparkling read.” – Persia Woolley, author of The Guinevere Trilogy.
“Stevenson’s Treasure by Mark Wiederanders is an exhilarating ride through the Golden West as we follow Robert Louis Stevenson from France and Scotland to Carmel, California in search of love and inspiration. Wiederanders’ style is richly descriptive, sensual with both a painter’s sensibility (Fanny was an artist) and a writer’s depth of character and detail. This novel brings to light a wonderful love story that is very little known, and entwines it around the larger tale of Stevenson’s ambition to write more than simple short stories or newspaper articles. Fanny and Stevenson come alive in these pages.” – Mary Burns, author of Portraits of an Artist: a novel about John Singer Sargent.


Buy the Book



About the Author

Mark Wiederanders lives in Northern California and writes about the private lives of famous authors. His screenplay about William Shakespeare’s family, “Taming Judith” was a finalist in the Academy of Motion Pictures’ annual screenwriting competition and was optioned by a film company. The idea for his current novel, STEVENSON’S TREASURE hatched during a visit to Carmel, when Mark learned that Robert Louis Stevenson suffered a near-fatal collapse in 1879 while hiking nearby. What was the young, as-yet unknown Scottish writer doing so far from home?
To write the novel that resulted from this question, Mark studied hundreds of historical letters and visited sites near him in Monterey, San Francisco, and Calistoga. Then he followed Stevenson’s footsteps to Europe, lodging at the Stevenson home in Edinburgh followed by a week in the Highlands cottage where RLS wrote TREASURE ISLAND. Mark is also a research psychologist (Ph.D, University of Colorado) who has studied treatment programs for delinquents and the criminally insane. His interests include acting in community theater (recently a Neil Simon play), downhill skiing, golf, and spending time with his wife and three grown children.
For more information please visit Mark Wiederander’s website and blog. You can also find him on Facebook.

Hashtags: #StevensonsTreasure #Historical #HistFic
Twitter Tags: @hfvbt @FireshipPress

Thursday, September 18, 2014

Blood of the Rose by Kevin Murray Spotlight!


Book Details

  • Paperback: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Urbane Publications; 1 edition (April 1, 2014)
  • ISBN-10: 1909273120
  • ISBN-13: 978-1909273122

Masterfully crafted by Kevin Murray, a former crime reporter, ‘Blood of the Rose’ calls on decades of experience to uncover many crime-related issues that are rarely portrayed in fiction.

From the rocky relationship between the police and the press, through to a gripping examination of how violent crime changes relationships, Murray bares all in a classic-styled crime novel that’s frighteningly close to reality.

Having covered dozens of violent cases during his career as a crime reporter in South Africa, Kevin Murray has become incredibly close to all sides of murder. From the motives that drive the accused, through to how their actions change the lives of victims’ families forever, each case has now also become vital preparatory work for a chilling and insightful new crime novel.

‘Blood of the Rose’ will leave readers on the edge of their seats as its classic, page-turning style blends with up-close-and-personal detail and insider information that most crime novelists simply can’t provide.


About the Author

KEVIN MURRAY began his writing career 40 years ago, working on The Star, Johannesburg's biggest daily newspaper. He soon became Chief Crime Reporter in what was considered to be the crime capital of the world.

He once achieved a record of more than 30 consecutive days of front-page crime stories, including an aircraft hijacking, several murders, numerous armed robberies and even drug-related gang wars. Since then, his successful career has spanned magazine publishing, public relations and strategic communications. Being a storyteller is his craft.

He has written two bestselling business books on leadership and has a cupboard full of ideas for the next novel.

You can follow him on twitter @kevinmurray and he is currently chair ofhttp://www.goodrelationsgroup.com/
Learn more about the book and author here at Authoramp

Spy Island by Sophie Schiller Review!



Publication Date: January 16, 2013
CreateSpace
Formats: eBook, Paperback



Add to GR Button

A forbidden friendship that blossoms into love is at the heart of this colorful historical novel.
Abigail Maduro arrives in the Danish West Indies on 1916 to live with her Aunt Esther, a bad tempered spinster, and her houseful of eccentric servants. Despite the island’s veneer of tranquility, St. Thomas is a hotbed of German spies who use their Hamburg-America steamers to aid the Kaiser’s war effort.
When a mysterious stranger suddenly appears in town, Abigail is drawn into the conflict. In the scholarly Erich Seibold, she finds the friendship and love she has been craving, even after she learns that Erich is really a deserter from a German U-boat. But their idyllic interlude comes to a crashing halt when the island’s German consul also discovers Erich’s identity, and blackmails him into committing sabotage. After a melee involving the Danish governor, Erich is thrown into prison, forcing Abigail to risk everything to save him. Action and adventure abound in this colorful historical novel that brings to life a fading West Indian sugar colony in the last days of Danish rule.

Praise for Spy Island

“Spy Island is an exciting adventure that will keep you on the edge of your seat. I love being immersed in the world of the Caribbean during World War I, I felt like I was looking into a snapshot of the past. This book is full of adventure, exciting twists, just when I thought I had the plot figured out, it would change again. The descriptions, the characters, and the plot of this story all weave together into a tight package of fun that you do not want to miss.” The Howling Turtle Book Reviews
“Spy Island is a fun, fast read for any fan of historical fiction and adventure stories.” Lynne Hinkey, author of Marina Melee
“Spy Island hits that rare spot for me in historical fiction. Not only is it an entertaining story with lots of movement, but the authentic island feel and early 20th century world surround you. A great read!” Dianna Rostad, Amazon Reviewer
“From the first page, I was instantly thrown into Abby’s world and truly taken aback by the lovely descriptions ranging from those of Panama to those of life at sea to those of the Danish West Indies. Sophie really managed to make me feel like I was right there with the characters in this one and it added a lot to my enjoyment of the book. Spy Island is a thrilling and fast paced novel perfect for fans of historical fiction and mystery.” Lauren’s Crammed Bookshelf Blog



Excerpt

Suddenly, a posse of machete-wielding men appears out of nowhere. They offer to find the shooter and bring him to justice. My heart races as I catch the glimmer of the razor-sharp machetes in their muscular, outstretched arms. These men are after Erich and there’s no way to stop them.
I push my way through the crowd, attempting to flee to the safety of the Grand Hotel. All around me scuffles and brawls erupt among the outraged horde, while panicked faces emerge from windows and doorways, each one trying to make sense out of the confusion and strife. I crane my neck over the commotion, hoping to catch sight of the governor. Thankfully, he is still alive, although dazed with confusion. Two policemen haul him to his feet and lead him to the safety of Fort Christian. Still no sign of Erich anywhere. If Erich was indeed was the shooter, he has simply vanished.
Just then, someone screams, “There he is. Grab him!”
I look up. A dozen natives, all brandishing machetes, take off in hot pursuit of a solitary individual who resembles one of the Cha Cha’s from Frenchtown who is pushing his way across the square in horror. Making out his features is impossible as he has a scarf tied around half his face, rendering him unrecognizable. But by his size and height, I am pretty sure it is Erich. I yell for him to run faster, but my voice is drowned out by the deafening roar of the crowd.
Erich scales a low wall and races down the nearest alleyway with a posse of men in hot pursuit. His pursuers shake their fists indignantly, swearing and yelling out threats as they attempt to catch him. Somehow Erich is faster, remarkably agile and adept at outrunning an angry mob, but I know his life is in great danger. With no thought to my own safety, I chase after the posse, hoping I can somehow help to avert disaster.
Erich races down Norre Gade as if he’s on fire. He climbs up the steps of the Frederick Lutheran Church two at a time. When some of the men catch up with him, he swings around, kicking one in the chest and sending them all toppling backwards like a line of dominoes. Another one catches up with Erich, but receives a blinding punch in the face that sends him rolling down the steps like a broken wheel. Erich shakes his fist, then disappears inside the church, barring the door shut.
Another group of indignant citizens reaches the front door of the church and pounds on it with tremendous anger. They lunge at it, trying to push it open. All their force is no use; Erich has barred it from the inside with an iron rod. Amazingly, while they fumble with the front door, Erich slips out the back with the stealth of a mongoose and heads to the back of town.
I catch sight of him as he races down Kongens Gade, dodging bewildered donkey carts and flustered market women as he runs for his life. Just then, a thought occurs to me that by going through with Lothar Langsdorff’s diabolical plan, Erich has sacrificed his own life to save mine. My heart swells with love for him. Fueled by the hope that I can repay the favor, I follow the trail of angry natives intent on bringing justice down on Erich’s head, yet realizing I may never see him again.

Buy the Book


About the Author

Sophie Schiller was born in Paterson, NJ and grew up in the West Indies amid aging pirates and retired German spies. She was educated at American University, Washington, DC and now lives in Brooklyn, NY.
You can find more information on Sophie Schiller and her novels at website. You can also connect with her on FacebookTwitterPinterest, and Goodreads.

My Thoughts

Spy Island by Sophie Schiller, is a historical fiction novel set in 1916 on the Caribbean Island of St.Thomas. Abigail Maduro, who is the main character, is sent by her parent's lawyer, after their deaths, to live with her Aunt Esther in the Dutch West Indies. This of course was after the lawyer, shyster that he was, sells everything to pay for Abigail's parents supposed debts. Aunt Esther is not a very likable character by any means. She does have her own sad story though so that might account for her crotchety ways. Once Abigail is on St.Thomas she spends her days exploring the island and soon comes in contact with Erich Seibold, a German Uboat officer and deserter. She secretly houses and feeds Erich while getting to know him becomes embroiled in a plot to spy on the Germans that are also on the island. I enjoyed the story, learned more about the Caribbean culture during WWI. There is just enough suspense and history to keep the reader enjoying the story. A well researched novel, that I am sure the historical fiction fan will enjoy.

I received a copy of the book for review and was not monetarily compensated for my review.

Spy Island Blog Tour Schedule

Monday, September 15
Review & Giveaway at Queen of All She Reads
Tuesday, September 16
Review at The Librarian Fatale
Spotlight & Giveaway at Let Them Read Books
Wednesday, September 17
Interview at The Maiden’s Court
Thursday, September 18
Review at CelticLady’s Reviews
Spotlight & Giveaway at Passages to the Past
Friday, September 19
Interview & Giveaway at Reading Lark
Monday, September 22
Review at Brooke Blogs
Review at 100 Pages a Day – Stephanie’s Book Reviews
Tuesday, September 23
Review at Just One More Chapter
Spotlight at Flashlight Commentary
Wednesday, September 24
Review at Luxury Reading
Thursday, September 25
Spotlight & Giveaway at So Many Precious Books, So Little Time
Friday, September 26
Review at Princess of Eboli
Review at Svetlana’s Reads and Views

Wednesday, September 17, 2014

Sourcebooks Casablanca Price Drop for Shona Husk Novels!

The e-book boxed set of the first and second in the series (The Outcast Prince and Lord of the Hunt) will be $0.99 starting this afternoon through September 23rd.

 Please note that it may take a few days for all e-retailers to reflect this price drop, but it is active on Nook right now. 

The Outcast Prince by Shona Husk (ISBN: 978-1-4022-8016-0; July 2013)

Just One Taste Is All It Takes...
This is no ordinary mirror. Caspian caught a hint of color, a whirl of a waltz just past his reflection—a glimpse into the decadent Fairy Court of Annwyn. The home he could never have. It called to him, whispering temptation after temptation...if he could only reclaim his rightful heritage.

To Be Forever Lost...
Caspian has an even stronger reason to stay in the world of humans. He's just met a woman who captivates him like no other. But loving him has proven to be dangerous. And he will do whatever it takes to protect Lydia from the vicious, seductive world of Court—even if doing so requires the ultimate sacrifice: his soul.



Lord of the Hunt by Shona Husk (ISBN: 978-1-4022-8019-1; January 2014)

She Wasn’t Cut Out for His World...
The realm of the fairies might be unbelievably beautiful, but its people are notoriously treacherous. Raised among mortals, Taryn hoped to avoid her fairy heritage her whole life. But now she must cross over to Annwyn and appeal to the King to pardon her exiled parents, or they're sure to die. And to get to the King, she'll first have to face the Lord of the Hunt...

He Can't Imagine Life Without Her...
Verden, Lord of the Hunt, is sworn to serve to King. But the moment he sees Taryn, the attraction is instant and devastating. How can he not help the beautiful, brave young woman who refuses to bend to the will of the court? Yet the power in Annwyn is shifting, its magic failing. No matter how much he may love Taryn, the Hunter knows that abandoning his duty could bring down the mortal world forever...



To Love a King by Shona Husk (ISBN: 978-1-4022-8022-1; October 2014)

He’s Trying to Reclaim His Past
To keep the balance between good and evil at the court of Annwyn, Prince Felan ap Gwyn has two weeks to marry and take the crown. But he wants more than just power—he wants love; a love he once had but was too stubborn to hold on to.

She’s Struggling to Face the Future
It took years for Jacqueline Ara to put her life back together after Felan abandoned her. She’s moved on, even if her heart still burns for him. But with war in Annwyn looming and death bleeding into the mortal world, Felan and Jacquie will need to heal old wounds and rekindle the passion that once welled between them…or face losing everything.


Pre-Order Links:
Chapters: http://bit.ly/ZigHe8  
IndieBound: http://bit.ly/1ADeHIM

The Crystal Cage by Merryn Allingham Virtual Book Tour!



Publication Date: August 4, 2014
eHarlequin
eBook; ASIN: B00JTPU72S

Genre: Historical Romance

Add to GR Button

Captivated…or captured?
Appearances don’t always reveal the truth. Grace Latimer knows this better than most. Illusions of commitment and comfort have her trapped—until bohemian adventurer Nick Heysham charms his way into her world. Commissioned to recover a Great Exhibition architect’s missing designs, he persuades her to assist in his research. The mystery of the Crystal Palace seduces Grace, and once she discovers clues about a forbidden Victorian love affair, she’s lured into the deep secrets of the past…secrets that resemble her own.
As Grace and Nick dig into the elusive architect’s illicit, long-untold story, the ghosts of guilt and forbidden passion slip free. And history is bound to repeat itself, unless Grace finds the courage to break free and find a new definition of love…


Buy the eBook

About the Author

My father was a soldier and most of my childhood was spent moving from place to place, school to school, including several years living in Egypt and Germany. I loved some of the schools I attended, but hated others, so it wasn’t too surprising that I left half way through the sixth form with ‘A’ Levels unfinished.
I became a secretary, as many girls did at the time, only to realise that the role of handmaiden wasn’t for me. Escape beckoned when I landed a job with an airline. I was determined to see as much of the world as possible, and working as cabin crew I met a good many interesting people and enjoyed some great experiences – riding in the foothills of the Andes, walking by the shores of Lake Victoria, flying pilgrims from Kandahar to Mecca to mention just a few.
I still love to travel and visit new places, especially those with an interesting history, but the arrival of marriage and children meant a more settled existence on the south coast of England, where I’ve lived ever since. It also gave me the opportunity to go back to ‘school’ and eventually gain a PhD from the University of Sussex. For many years I taught university literature and loved every minute of it. What could be better than spending my life reading and talking about books? Well, perhaps writing them.
I’ve always had a desire to write but there never seemed time to do more than dabble with the occasional short story. And my day job ensured that I never lost the critical voice in my head telling me that I really shouldn’t bother. But gradually the voice started growing fainter and at the same time the idea that I might actually write a whole book began to take hold. My cats – two stunning cream and lilac shorthairs – gave their approval, since it meant my spending a good deal more time at home with them!
The 19th century is my special period of literature and I grew up reading Georgette Heyer, so when I finally found the courage to try writing for myself, the books had to be Regency romances. Over the last four years, writing as Isabelle Goddard, I’ve published six novels set in the Regency period.
Since then, I’ve moved on a few years to Victorian England, and I’ve changed genre too. The Crystal Cage is my first novel under the name of Merryn Allingham. The book is a mystery/romantic suspense and tells the story of a long-lost tragedy, and the way echoes from the past can powerfully influence the life of a modern day heroine. The next few Allingham books will see yet another move timewise. I’ve been writing a suspense trilogy set in India and wartime London during the 1930s and 1940s, and hope soon to have news of publication.
Whatever period, whatever genre, creating new worlds and sharing them with readers gives me huge pleasure and I can’t think of a better job.
Connect with Merryn Allingham on Facebook and Goodreads.

Excerpt

‘You are very quiet, my love,’ he remarked as they strolled down the South Walk. ‘Does this place perturb you? Vauxhall is hardly the Crystal Palace, I grant.’
She looked vaguely around as though she hardly registered her surroundings. ‘I am well, Lucas, thank you.’ Her voice had lost its rich music.
‘Are you sure?’ 
‘Yes, it is really nothing.’
‘Which means that you are bothered by something. Tell me,’ he urged.
She hesitated for some minutes before saying diffidently, ‘I thought that I recognised someone as I approached the gates. But I must have been mistaken.’
‘Who?’
‘A woman. She looked like a visitor who once came to tea with my mother-in-law. But I must be mistaken,’ she repeated.
‘I think you must. I cannot imagine a friend of the elder Mrs Renville frequenting Vauxhall!’ 
He was cajoling her, quite sure that her nervous state had precipitated these qualms. ‘But just in case, we will hide ourselves completely,’ and he steered her towards one of the small paths that led away from the main promenade towards what he knew was the Dark Walk. Here the lamps were absent a

The Crystal Cage Blog Tour Schedule

Monday, September 15
Review at To Read or Not to Read
Spotlight at Flashlight Commentary
Spotlight & Excerpt at Romantic Historical Reviews
Tuesday, September 16
Review at A Bookish Affair
Excerpt at Casual Readers
Wednesday, September 17
Excerpt at CelticLady’s Reviews
Interview at What Is That Book About
Thursday, September 18
Review at Turning the Pages
Friday, September 19
Review at Queen of All Reads
Excerpt at Just One More Chapter
Monday, September 22
Review at Bibliotica
Spotlight at Layered Pages
Tuesday, September 23
Interview at SOS Aloha
Spotlight at Historical Fiction Connection
Wednesday, September 24
Excerpt at Passages to the Past
Thursday, September 25
Review at Oh, for the Hook of a Book
Excerpt at Princess of Eboli
Friday, September 26
Review at Unshelish
Spotlight at Let Them Read Books
Wednesday, October 15
Review at The Worm Hole

Giveaway

To win an eBook of The Crystal Cage please complete the Rafflecopter giveaway form below. Two copies are up for grabs. Giveaway is open internationally.
Giveaway ends at 11:59pm on October 15th. You must be 18 or older to enter.
Winner will be chosen via Rafflecopter on October 16th and notified via email.
Winner have 48 hours to claim prize or new winner is chosen.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Google+ Badge