CELTICLADY'S REVIEWS   

11 February, 2016

The Singing Violin by Alida Van Den Bos Book SPotlight!



THE SINGING VIOLIN: [KIDNAPPED] 

(ISBN: 978-1-63135-809-8) is now available for $16.50 and can be ordered through the publisher’s website: http://sbprabooks.com/AlidavandenBos 

This book is available at Amazon.com or BarnesAndNoble.com
Enter the mind of an obsessive kidnapper in the stunning novel The Singing Violin. What must a young woman do to escape a man who is so obsessed with her that he wants to turn her into a prostitute?

When beautiful young Ryanna goes out for a drink with her boyfriend’s sister, she realizes the danger that she is in. For they are not in an ordinary pub, but a brothel, and she runs away. Harry, the brothel owner, desires Ryanna and catches her, but she escapes and turns to her boyfriend, Richard, for help. Richard just passed his violin examination with the symphony orchestra, and as he is playing a concert, Ryana watches him on television and phones her brother. A knock on her door announces a flower delivery. When Ryanna opens the door and sees it’s Harry, she screams.

Ryanna’s brother hears her screams and calls the police. But Harry has drugged the girl and taken her away. Will she be found before she is forced into a life of prostitution?
“This contemporary thriller deals with social and mental health issues, as it keeps readers enthralled with the big chase scenes. We are thrilled to announce its release,” said Robert Fletcher, CEO of Strategic Book Publishing and Rights Agency. 

About the Author: Alida van den Bos grew up in Holland. She emigrated with her husband and two children to Australia, where adventure beckoned. “We tried digging for opal in Coober Pedy, and then started a horse stud with some successes in local and metropolitan racecourses aptly named Running Hoofs.” They later went into the antique trade. 


Tease Me Thursday!

TMT
Dark Menace MC - Stone - Tory Richards

Dark Menace by Tory Richards

Amazon

Tease me Thursday 2

Wrecked by Sherilee Gray

Entangled - Amazon

ForeverDuskQuote1

Forever Dusk by Jocelyn Adams

Amazon

ein3

Everything I Need by Stacey Mosteller

Amazon

OSC Teaser

Our Second Chance by C.D. Taylor

Amazon

Fast Track to Glory by Tomasz Cyrusciel Book Blast! Includes Giveaway! #TrackBlast @Ricztom


She knows the stakes are high...


Genre: International Thriller
Publication Date: January 5, 2016

Nina Monte, a well-respected professor at the University of Padua, answers an unexpected summons to a secret meeting with three European officials. They want to hire her to verify the authenticity of an ancient artefact hidden on a forgotten galley that sank in the fifteenth century, and to this day lies buried at the bottom of Lake Garda in Italy.

She accepts the invitation to join an eccentric art collector and to examine the artefact. But before long, the Italian professor is cornered in an insidious intrigue. Her inner and outer worlds clash.

Joined by a lake-town hotelier, Alessandro Pini, Monte begins to unravel the truth surrounding the discovery. She knows the stakes are high.

Forced to abandon their ordinary lives, and dragged into a deadly race to outwit a smart, but wicked, villain, Nina and Alessandro must do everything they can to ensure freedom for all humankind.



Tomasz Chrusciel had written his first short story when he was sixteen. Although the idea of being a writer had been put off for the next twenty years, he had never forgotten about his dreams. Having left his corporate work, he writes full-time now. 

He loves to travel, and when he’s back from another journey, the next captivating story evolves in his mind. He strongly believes that the most rewarding feeling and the purpose of his writing is to let others experience those vibrant, wonderful countries he’s been too, and to introduce readers to new engaging characters born from his imagination and all those alluring locations. Then he makes that story real – it becomes a reader’s story.

Fast Track To Glory is his second full-length action & adventure novel.



Crossing the Barrier by Martine Lewis Spotlight! WIth #giveaway



Title: Crossing The Barrier
Series: The Gray Eyes Series #1
By: Martine Lewis
Publisher: BMJ Chanapi
Publication Date: March 22, 2016
Genre: Young Adult
High school student Malakai Thomas, star wide receiver of the varsity team, collides with band member Lily Morgan on his way to football practice. As days go by, Malakai cannot get the petite clarinetist out of his head. Lily Morgan can feel everyone's emotions. She loses her ability to shield herself against them the day Malakai runs into her. Now she must try to maintain her sanity in the emotional jungle that is high school, as well as deal with her growing feelings for Malakai. Can Malakai get over the social stigma and his own internal struggle to be with Lily? Is Lily's secret too big to accept, even for him?
Amazon US - http://goo.gl/039VmQ
Amazon UK - http://goo.gl/2Y4FXz
Amazon CA - http://goo.gl/otG4fH
#1 - LILY “I wonder what would happen if you lost your ability to shield.” That simple question from Lily’s best friend, Sandra, almost got them killed. As Lily Morgan drove them to school for their band practice in her Mini Cooper, it took all of her limited driving skills to keep them on the narrow suburban road and not in the ditch. “Let’s not ever mention this again!” Lily’s heart raced at the thought of it. Sandra Jones was the best friend anybody could dream of. She was also everything Lily was not. She was outgoing, tall, and beautiful with her long, straight blond hair and blue eyes. She always wore the nicest outfits, and guys regularly asked her out on dates. She could have been part of the popular crowd had she wanted to, but she was perfectly content being in the marching band, just like Lily. Sandra and her family, in addition to Lily’s uncle, Charlie, were the only people alive who knew what Lily could do; she had the ability to feel the emotions of the people around her. The only way for her to function and have a close to normal life was to build mental shields, which prevented the barrage of emotions from continuously assaulting her. Sandra knew how important shielding was to Lily, particularly in an emotion-infested place like high school. “Just saying. I mean, you’ve been giving me the silent treatment since we left home. I had to find a way to make you talk.” “Well, that’s not a good subject on a good day.” “Then, what’s eating you?” “My mother, again.” “I don’t understand. Why don’t you take Charlie’s offer and move in with him?” “It’s my house, Sandra. If anything, she should be the one moving out.” “Not going to happen, not until the courts kick her out. You know that better than I do. She’s not going anywhere.” Her friend was right, unfortunately. “Can we move on to something else?” “What did she want this time?” Sandra asked instead. “Another party to introduce you to your future husband?” Lily nodded. She could easily imagine Sandra rolling her eyes, and if she hadn’t been driving, she was sure she would have seen her do exactly that. “I don’t get it,” Sandra continued. “She’s not even your real mother.” “I don’t get it either. Why does she keep throwing me at those guys?” “Beats me,” Sandra said. “Did you say no?” Lily remained quiet. She never said no. She still held the hope that if she did exactly what her mother requested, maybe one day she would approve of her. Hope definitely made people stupid. “When will you, Lily?” Sandra asked, turning toward her. “You deserve better than this.” Lily sighed. She had tried to explain it numerous times before, but Sandra never understood. After all, Sandra’s mother loved her and was always so proud of her. “David said football practice starts today,” Sandra said, changing the subject. Lily felt her best friend’s eagerness at sharing the news, and she knew what was coming next. “Malakai will be there.” Ever since she had admitted to Sandra that she liked the star wide receiver over a year ago, Sandra brought him up every chance she had. “Why don’t we talk about your love life for a change?” Lily suggested. “Oh, no, we’re so not. Yours is so much more fun.” It was Lily’s turn to roll her eyes. “So, what else did David say?” “They should begin practice around nine this morning.” “They have it so much easier than we do,” Lily said, turning onto the access road that led behind the school. “You got that one right. If they practiced half as much as we did, they would wear paths in the football field.” “That’s probably why we practice on hot, steamy asphalt,” Lily said as they arrived in the parking area. “It sucks, really. Why don’t we get to practice their amount of hours and they, ours?” “Because what we do is more complicated?” Lily suggested with a smile. Sandra shrugged and glanced out the window. “Look at it on the bright side.” “There is one?” Sandra asked, irony coating her tone. “No!” They were both laughing when Lily pulled into her usual parking spot.
Martine Lewis is a forty something who was born and raised in the French speaking province of Quebec, Canada. She spent her childhood looking forward to her summer vacations at the farm, which were a nice escape from the suburbs where she lived. Her first written endeavor was a 200-page handwritten Duran Duran bandfiction which she wrote when she was eleven years old. Of all her written work, this is the only one she no longer has. All throughout high school, Martine wrote more bandfictions and some original work, then she went to write fanfictions in the Star Wars, Buffy and Harry Potter universes. Her fanficiton in the Potterverse are mostly centered on characters of her own creation and can be found on fanfiction.net. Following her viewing of Roswell on Netflix in 2012, Martine wrote book two and three of the Gray Eyes Series, then went on to create the Gray Eyes Series universe in which she has been playing ever since. She writes contemporary coming-of-age romance fiction (young adult/new adult) with a twist. Martine is an avid reader and rollerskater. She loves sushi, hot chocolate on a cold day, and the beach. But what she loves above all else is to curl on her chair with her computer and write more stories for her readers. Martine currently lives in Houston TX with her two cats.

Social Media Links 
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/Martine-Lewis-1616894455260412/?ref=hl 
Twitter - @authorMartine Website - www.martinelewisauthor.com Goodreads - https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/14950086.Martine_Lewis
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Catch My Heart: A Valentine's Collection by Lyssa Layne Promo Tour!

Promo Tour of To Dance Again and Catalina and the Winter Texan! Includes #giveaway for Amazon Gift Card!

Fractured Eden by Steven Gossington on Tour February 1-29, 2016! Includes #Giveaway

Book Details
Genre: Suspense 
Published by: Self-Published 
Publication Date:November 2015 
Number of Pages: 392 
ISBN: 9781518804236 
Purchase Links: Amazon Barnes & Noble Goodreads

Fractured Eden by Steven GossingtonWhen a doctor loses everything and is forced to start over, he finds himself in a strange town filled with addiction and mental illness. Now he must find a way to survive his dark and deadly patients … Dr. Aaron Rovsing, Family Practice Physician, is charged with incompetence and fired from his medical practice in Connecticut. After he flees and starts over in a town in East Texas, he discovers that things are not as they first appear, and soon Aaron must combat the deranged and addicted minds of the townspeople. But things take a deadly turn when he finds himself the next chosen victim of a serial killer who plans to add the doctor to his collection of skeletons. In this town of insanity and with a serial killer waiting to strike, how can Aaron manage to stay sane . . . and alive?

Read an excerpt:

Prologue
Something’s not right, Aaron thought.
He touched the bandage taped to his lower jaw and then eased open the door to the chief of staff’s office.
Aaron Rovsing, MD peeked around the office door into an anteroom, and a wide-eyed secretary shot up from behind a desk.
“I’ll show you right in. They’ve been waiting for you.”
“Do you know what this is about?” Aaron said.
She shook her head. “It’s not for me to say.”
Aaron stepped past her and glanced around the inner meeting room. Three medical staff members sat flanking the chief of staff at the far end of a polished rectangular mahogany table.
“Sit down,” the chief said.
Aaron sat on the edge of a chair.
“I’ll get to the point. We’re all here to inform you of some complaints against you.”
“Complaints?” Aaron squeaked out the words. “About what? Who’s complaining?”
“Some of the medical staff have questioned your clinical decisions recently, and—”
“My clinical . . .” Aaron gulped.
“Complaints about your medical judgment, including a charge of patient endangerment—”
“Endangerment?” Aaron whispered the word again. “Endangerment?”
“And that patient of yours that overdosed and died because of what you prescribed.” The chief leaned forward and pointed at him. “That was the last straw.”
Aaron’s body stiffened.
The chief’s eyes glinted at him. “We recommend that you resign.”
Aaron’s legs wobbled as he struggled upright, his mouth gaping. The chief of staff slid a paper toward him. “Sign this paper, indicating that we had this discussion and that you understand—”
Aaron scribbled his name with shaky fingers.
The chief looked around the room with his hand poised above the table, and the other three men nodded in turn. He slapped the table and growled at Aaron. “This meeting is over.”
Aaron stumbled out of the room, striking his shoulder on the doorjamb.
As he hurried down the hall, Reuben, a doctor friend of his, hailed and approached him.
“Did something happen? You look pale as a ghost,” Reuben said.
Aaron sputtered, his eyes wide. “The chief just asked me to resign.” He turned to the wall as two nurses clattered by, their giggles echoing down the glistening hallway.
Reuben leaned toward Aaron. “Wow. That’s serious.”
“It doesn’t seem real.”
“Are you going to fight it?”
“You mean like appeal it?”
“Sure.”
Aaron looked down. “I don’t know.”
Floating before his eyes was an image of the chief, a muscular and athletic man whose eyes gloated over everyone, a man with a commanding presence in any room.
I don’t think I could stand up to the chief, he thought.
“You’re not just giving up, are you?”
“He said I was incompetent.” Aaron looked at Reuben. “Be honest with me. You think I’m a competent doctor, don’t you?”
“Well—”
“You hesitated.”
“No, Aaron, don’t get the wrong idea. I don’t work with you directly. I’m not in a position to answer that question, but I imagine you’re competent enough. Why not stand your ground and challenge it?”
Aaron dropped his head and walked away, avoiding eye contact with anyone else. What will my wife say?
Outside in the late winter chill, he pulled his coat tight around him and walked to his car in the hospital parking lot. Lauren will help me. We can get through this together.
“Damn it. I’ll start a new practice.” He hammered the dashboard with his fist. “How could that asshole do this to me?”
His hands squeezed the steering wheel. I wonder if I should fight back. The overdose was not my fault. That could’ve happened to any doctor.
I’ll ask Lauren.
Even with the car heater blasting, he shivered during his drive home.
Aaron unlocked the door to his house. “Hello, honey?” he said. “I’ve got some bad news.” He heard no noise. “Lauren?”
He switched on lights and scanned the front rooms and kitchen. Sensing no movement, he hurried to the master bedroom. “Lauren?”
Aaron stood by their bed and scratched his cheek. He was alone. Did she have an emergency? She has been acting different lately, like she’s stressed over something.
In the kitchen, he spotted a yellow post-it note on an otherwise bare counter.
His hand trembled as he read the message: “I’ve left you. I’m in love with someone else.”
Uncaring, foul words that blurred into black blobs on the paper.
What is happening?
Aaron’s body buckled. As he slumped to his knees, the bandage slipped off his jaw and fluttered to the floor.
Chapter 1
Something is different out there, Aaron thought as he stared out the windshield of his car.
With the air conditioner near the maximum setting, he drove along the two-lane country road at dusk, 1500 miles from his previous life. He’d scoped out this area a few months before, but now that he was moving here, he paid more attention to details.
Looking toward the sky, he saw pine trees swaying over the road. These trees are taller than the ones a few miles back.
After finding a country music station on the car radio, he cranked up the volume.
I’ve got to give country music a chance.
Aaron swayed in time with the melody. It was a song about feeling crazy over a hopeless love. ‘Crazy,’ by Patsy Cline,” the DJ said.
He glanced at his shoes and slapped his knee. “And I need to get some boots, real cowboy boots.” As his mind wandered to his recent divorce, he shut his eyes and shook his head.
I don’t want to go there.
His eyes opened.
“What the . . .” He jammed the brake pedal and jerked the steering wheel to avoid something—a figure—darting across the road in front of his car. Screeching and sliding in a 180-degree oval, the car came to rest on the shoulder at the opposite side of the road. Aaron gasped for breath and his heart pounded. His knuckles were white on the steering wheel.
Easing his grip, he looked in the direction of the figure.
What the hell was that?
After turning the car off, Aaron stepped out onto unsteady legs and examined the front bumper and the road nearby. No other headlights were in sight. A smell of burnt rubber permeated the muggy air.
Standing still, he scanned the nearby trees and listened. Soft footsteps in the trees?
He walked around and studied the pavement and the grass beside the road.
Well, whatever the hell it was, at least I didn’t hit it. Maybe it was a deer.
After several minutes, his breathing slowed and his jitters eased. He started the car, punched the radio off, and made a U-turn, squinting for any sign of motion.
A hazy image of a frowning, bald man popped into his mind.
Surely that wasn’t him I almost hit: the guy with the machete?
After several miles, Aaron slowed to a stop in his driveway. He gazed at the front of his new home and sighed.
I can’t believe it. I’m finally here.
He unlocked the front door, switched on a light inside and surveyed the empty rooms.
So it starts, he thought. A new chapter.
“Should I even be here?” he said, slapping the wall.
He sighed and walked outside to the street in front of his house. They’re chintzy on the streetlights. Maybe the Texas moon gives off enough light.
“Yikes.” He threw up his arms and ducked as a bird flapped by just over his head. He looked up but didn’t see anything.
His house was at the end of a row of one-story homes, and across the street was fenced-in land that sloped up to a mansion.
I guess someone owns all that property. Maybe it goes with that huge house on the hill.
As Aaron carried in bags and boxes from his car, an owl hooted from a grove of trees nearby.
After emptying his car, he wiped the sweat off his forehead and plopped down on top of a sleeping bag. He closed his eyes.
No, get something to eat first.
He forced himself to walk outside, and he took a deep breath of fresh evening air and looked up at the stars.
Aaron cupped his hands around his mouth. “I’m here now and I’m not going back.”
After pushing his car air conditioner to the max, he consulted a restaurant guide and some map pages scattered over the front seat and planned a route to a nearby diner.
Several miles and a few turns later, he spotted the diner’s sign and saw lights inside the restaurant. Good, it’s open.
He parked and walked inside to an aroma of cinnamon and apples. Mmm, apple pie.
“Let’s put you right over here,” a waitress said as she led him to a booth. “How are you tonight?”
“Hungry,” Aaron said as he gazed at her. Mid to late forties, I’d guess. She was tall and pudgy, with jet-black hair.
Her eyes were wary. “I’m Wanda. Are you traveling through?”
“No, I just moved here.”
She stepped back. “You’re the new doctor?”
“Yes. I’m Aaron Rovsing.”
“I heard you’d checked us out, and we all hoped you’d come. Where’re you from?”
“The Northeast, Connecticut.”
“Welcome to our little piece of paradise. It’s quite a bit hotter here in East Texas, especially now in late summer.”
“I think I’m okay with that.”
“Is anyone else joining you tonight?”
Aaron followed her eyes to his bare left ring finger. “No.”
She cocked her head. “I’ll give you a few minutes to look at the menu.”
Wanda stopped by a table with two occupants and motioned toward Aaron. A woman and child stood from the table and followed Wanda to his booth.
“This is Dr. Rovsing, our new doctor in town,” Wanda said to the woman.
Aaron stood and they shook hands.
She’s got quite a grip.
“Nice to meet you. I’m Marley.” She had short blond hair and stood a few inches shorter than Aaron’s five feet ten.
I might like this town after all, he thought.
The child peeked out from behind Marley and pointed at Aaron. “Mommy, what’s wrong with his face?” Marley looked down. “Now Cristal, that’s not nice.”
Aaron touched his left lower jaw. “It’s all right. It’s just a battle wound.”
“You were in the military?” Marley said.
“No, a different kind of battle.”
“I’m sorry.”
Aaron smiled. “No worries.”
“It’s good to meet you. I hope you like it here,” Marley said.
Aaron waved at Cristal as she and Marley walked away.
He snorted and touched his face again. “Damned scar.”
Aaron polished off a decent meal of coleslaw, a turkey sandwich, and a slice of apple pie with ice cream. Everything, even the tomatoes on the sandwich, tasted fresh.
At one point, he glanced up and caught Wanda staring at him. She turned her head away.
That was an odd look in her eyes.
When he paid the bill, Wanda’s eyes were back to normal. She was all smiles.
Back at his house, all was quiet, except for an occasional hoot from an owl. In less than a minute, he was asleep on a sheet on top of his sleeping bag.
Aaron woke up in a pool of sweat. Bright red numbers on the alarm clock showed 3:00 a.m. In the bathroom, he toweled off and dried his short dripping hair.
He recalled fragments of a dream. A young woman with a headache sat on the floor. “Hydrocodone is what I need.” She wore sunglasses and held her temples, crying, rocking back and forth. She swallowed all the Vicodin at once and collapsed right in front of him. He shook her, but she didn’t respond. Two muscular men dragged him into a courtroom, in front of a judge with white hair and a black gown. Her sunglasses still on, the dead woman was stretched out on the floor at Aaron’s side. While pointing down at her, the judge yelled something at Aaron...
Part of the dream, the fatal Vicodin overdose, had happened in real life over six months ago, but he hadn’t been summoned to court yet.
Aaron sighed and gazed at his blue eyes in the mirror. I don’t remember what her eyes were like. He dried his sleeping bag with a towel and stretched out over it, and stared at the ceiling until sunrise.
At 8:00 a.m., a moving van rumbled to a stop in front of Aaron’s house. For the rest of the morning, Aaron directed the two men with their payloads of furniture and boxes. They took frequent breaks to drink water and cool off.
His long, dark wood desk just fit through the door of the office room. Next, the men heaved into the office boxes labeled with “college stuff” and “medical school stuff.”
“What’s in these boxes?” one of the men asked.
“Those are old school papers. I can’t seem to part with them.”
“Oh, yeah, I know what that’s like,” the man said with a nod. “I still have boxes from high school. I have a hard time throwing anything away. Drives my wife crazy.”
Near noon, Aaron blotted his forehead with a paper towel and turned to the men. “It’s hard to move around in here now. I didn’t remember that I had so much stuff.”
“We hear that all the time,” one of them said. “Sometimes, there isn’t room for it all.”
During one of their breaks, Aaron overheard part of a conversation from the front yard.
“I sure can smell the livestock around here.”
“These country folks are used to it. They probably don’t smell a thing.”
Aaron walked to his back yard. What are all these cows doing at my house?
A tightly grouped herd of brown cattle lingered near his fence. Some of the cows looked at him. Aaron shrugged. “All the animals around here are checking me out.”
He stopped at the fence. “Hello. I’m your new neighbor.”
One of the cows mooed back at him.
Aaron laughed. “Thanks. I’ll take that as a ‘welcome to our town.’ ” He watched the herd for several minutes. They don’t seem afraid of me.
Resting on the sturdy, flawless fence, he looked beyond the cattle at an undulating green pasture that spread out as far as he could see, to a faint line of trees in the distance. Groups of trees scattered around the pasture provided the cows welcome shade from the midday sun. A cool breeze lifted his hair and ruffled the cows’ fur.
He turned in a circle, scanning the horizon. Even the sky seems bigger in Texas.
In the late afternoon after the moving van had gone, Aaron stood in his front yard and studied the house. Its light coral paint job was holding up.
Good. No missing shingles.
He strolled around the property, admiring the grassy lawn and azalea bushes that surrounded the house, and stepped into the street. Wow. I can see the heat rising from the asphalt.
Including his, four houses stood in the block, separated from each other by groves of pine trees. Sweat ran down the sides of his face. He toweled off and drove to a nearby store to buy supplies. Along the way, he listened to a few country music songs on the radio.
After a savory, spicy barbecue dinner at a restaurant not far away, Aaron busied himself with opening boxes and arranging his closet. On his bedroom wall, he hung a framed painting, which featured a dirt footpath winding through the forest. Shoe prints and footprints were imprinted in the dirt. Among the trees at the far end of the path were hazy figures that appeared to be watching. Aaron positioned the painting so he could see it from his bed.
Steven Gossington

Author Bio:

Steven Gossington is an emergency room physician with over 30 years of patient care experience. For 11 years, he was an academic professor in emergency medicine at the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center in Oklahoma City, and he published 20 book chapters and medical articles of original research. His enjoyment of mystery and suspense fiction and his love of writing led to his first novel Fractured Eden, a psychological suspense story in which he draws upon his extensive experience with mentally ill emergency room patients.

To learn more about Steven and his books, visit:

Steven Gossington's website Steven Gossington's twitter Steven Gossington's facebook


Tour Participants:


Don't Miss Your Chance to Win!

This is a rafflecopter giveaway hosted by Partners In Crime Virtual Book Tours for Steven Gossington. There will be 5 winners of an eBook copy of Fractured Eden by Steven Gossington. The giveaway begins on Jan 24 and runs through Feb 29, 2016.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Get More Great Reads at Partners In Crime Virtual Book Tours

 

10 February, 2016

Enter for a chance to win a $25 Gift Card to SteinerSports.com!

SteinerSports.com Giveaway  

*This post may contain affiliate links.

Steiner Sports is the leading producer of authentic hand-signed collectibles and the best source for all your sports gift and collectible needs. Autographed memorabilia from star athletes like Derek Jeter, Peyton Manning, Chris Paul and Henrik Lundqvist are the hottest new memorabilia products on the market. Steiner continuously dedicates itself to creating the most unique, limited and special collectibles. Right now they have two fantastic sales, be sure to check them out!


Can't wait to see if you won, visit Steiner Sports and find that "must have" item now.
Sponsor: Steiner Sports
Follow Steiner Sports on Facebook, Twitter , Instagram or YouTube by clicking one of these links!
Keep up the their latest sales and incredible products!
A huge thanks to all of the co-host and participating bloggers! Your help is greatly appreciated! You are the reason our giveaways are such a great success!
Thanks
If you visit our Facebook pages and enjoy them, please "like" them of your own free will. The fact is that the more followers we have, the more sponsors contact us for giveaways. Thanks in advance for "liking" us! It truly does help us bring you better giveaways!

Giveaway

And now for the very best part !

  Giveaway dates: Feb. 10 at 5:00 am CST - Feb. 22 at 11:59 pm CST Open to residents of the Continental US 18+ only. One set of entries per person. Prize: One winner will receive a $25 Gift Card to SteinerSports.com! Please enter the giveaway through the Giveaway Tool listed below. Giveaway Tool will randomly select a winner. Winning entry will be verified. All entries are optional, and the chance of winning depends on the number of entries. No purchase necessary, void where prohibited. By entering this giveaway you are agreeing to have your name listed as the winner on the giveaway widget and winner's list of participating blogs. The winners name will be posted on the widget and also here. In the case of any malfunction of the Giveaway Tool the giveaway will be cancelled and no prize awarded. Winner is responsible for any applicable taxes.

Love giveaways? Find more here.

*IMHO Views, Reviews and Giveaways received compensation for hosting this giveaway. Thank you for participating.
Disclaimer: IMHO Views, Reviews and Giveaways nor any of the blogs participating in this giveaway is responsible for prize fulfillment. The sponsor listed above will be awarding the prize(s) to the winner(s). None of the social media platforms are affiliated with this giveaway. If you would like to sponsor a giveaway like this, email imho@imhoviewsreviewsandgiveaways.com or complete the form here and I will respond within 48 hours. 

Predetermined Series by Heather Van Fleet!

Predetermined Series

Resisting Fate

RF

Seventeen-year-old Emmy O’Connell is the epitome of a hot mess. Her boyfriend’s been shipped out of town to some boarding school four states away. Her step-douche is constantly drunk and badgering her. And then there’s her good-ole-mom… The lady is nothing more than a miserable shell of a woman. She’s turned off all of her feelings and her ability to be a good mother as well, leaving poor Emmy and her four year old brother Jamie to suffer. Life couldn’t get much worse, right? Enter the elusive, cocky, and oh-so-broody Jack Hartman… The jerk cousin of her boyfriend becomes Emmy’s worst nightmare…times ten. He’s cruel. He’s insensitive. But he also has this strange little ability over her – he makes her weak in the knees with the single touch. No matter how miserable or amazing Jack makes her feel, Emmy can’t seem to deny him, especially when he takes on the role of her protector –her pseudo-knight in a black leather coat. A knight who also happens to ride in on his black Harley, instead of a white horse… And to make a bad situation worse… Werewolves and teens shouldn’t mix! But what can Emmy do when she finds herself thrown head first into the center of it all. Can she handle the supernatural mess her life rapidly becomes or will she fight against the inevitable fate her heart desires?

Amazon

Seizing Fate

And you thought Emmy’s life was a hot mess before…

SF

Jack’s gone off with his brother, but for how long? Emmy doesn’t have a clue. In his place, though, is Zachary. The whiny, miserable, alpha wolf–boy who is more than ready to take on the duty of her mate/boyfriend—if she’d let him, that is. But the last thing Emmy wants is to deal with a boy who believes that the world should fall solely at his feet whenever he demands it. But hey, at least her step–douche is gone, and her life is back to an almost normal sense, right? Wrong again—Emmy’s life will never be normal. With her Uncle Prick in town and her best friend acting secretive, Emmy finds new challenges to overcome—challenges that no seventeen–year–old girl should ever have to deal with. For one thing, what is up with her dream–liaison status anyway? What does it mean, really? And why does her little brother have to go through it, too? And then there’s her mom. The lady is acting a tad bit odd, to put it nicely. After all these years, she finally wants to step up and be a parental figure? Heck no! Emmy’s definitely not copacetic with that idea. But with the bad, there’s got to be some good out there for her somewhere, right? Add in the wolves, witches, drama, and lots of kisses and you get Emmy the Extraordinaire, the girl with strawberry–colored hair, and a chip on her shoulder. She’s finally on her way to finding out what her life and her future both have in store for her, even if the road to getting there is nowhere near as easy as she hoped it would be. But Emmy is tough, and more than ready to take on life with her bare hands. It’s just too bad she’s madly, desperately, insanely in love with a boy who insists on making her life both a miserable hell and utter perfection at the same time.

Amazon

About the Author

Heather Van Fleet is stay-at-home-mom turned book boyfriend connoisseur. She’s a wife to her high school sweetheart, a mom to three little girls, and in her spare time you can find her with her head buried in her Kindle, guzzling down copious amounts of coffee. Heather graduated from Black Hawk College in 2003 with an associate degree and has been working in the publishing industry for over five years. She’s represented by Stacey Donaghy of Donaghy Literary and her Embattled Hearts Series is Forthcoming from Sourcebooks in late 2016.

Website Facebook Twitter

The Secrets of Lizzie Borden by Brandy Purdy Review! #TheSecretsofLizzieBordenBlogTour #HistoricalFiction #LizzieBorden @hfvbt @KensingtonBooks

02_The Secrets of Lizzie Borden


Publication Date: January 26, 2016, Kensington Books eBook & Print; 384 Pages Genre: Historical Fiction

  Add to GR Button     
In her enthralling, richly imagined new novel, Brandy Purdy, author of The Ripper’s Wife, creates a compelling portrait of the real, complex woman behind an unthinkable crime. Lizzie Borden should be one of the most fortunate young women in Fall River, Massachusetts. Her wealthy father could easily afford to provide his daughters with fashionable clothes, travel, and a rich, cultured life. Instead, haunted by the ghost of childhood poverty, he forces Lizzie and her sister, Emma, to live frugally, denying them the simplest modern conveniences. Suitors and socializing are discouraged, as her father views all gentleman callers as fortune hunters. Lonely and deeply unhappy, Lizzie stifles her frustration, dreaming of the freedom that will come with her eventual inheritance. But soon, even that chance of future independence seems about to be ripped away. And on a stifling August day in 1892, Lizzie’s long-simmering anger finally explodes… Vividly written and thought-provoking, The Secrets of Lizzie Borden explores the fascinating events behind a crime that continues to grip the public imagination—a story of how thwarted desires and desperate rage could turn a dutiful daughter into a notorious killer.

AMAZON | BARNES & NOBLE | BOOK DEPOSITORY | KOBO

About the Author

Brandy Purdy (Emily Purdy in the UK) is the author of the historical novels THE CONFESSION OF PIERS GAVESTON, THE BOLEYN WIFE (THE TUDOR WIFE), THE TUDOR THRONE (MARY & ELIZABETH), THE QUEEN'S PLEASURE (A COURT AFFAIR), THE QUEEN'S RIVALS (THE FALLEN QUEEN), THE BOLEYN BRIDE, and THE RIPPER'S WIFE. An ardent book lover since early childhood, she first became interested in history at the age of nine or ten years old when she read a book of ghost stories which contained a chapter about Anne Boleyn haunting the Tower of London. 

Visit her website at www.brandypurdy.com, you can also follow her on Facebook as Brandy Purdy aka Emily Purdy.

My Thoughts

I would think most everyone has heard of Lizzie Borden, acquitted of murdering her stepmother and father in Fall Rivers, Massachusetts in 1892. Acquitted because at that time there just was not enough evidence to convict her of the crime. Did she or didn't she? I tend to think that she did and was very clever covering it up or as is indicated in the book, she had help cleaning up from the servant Bridget. I also believe that she had a lot of provocation and felt justified in what she did. I have always been interested in the story of Lizzie Borden, plus the fact that we share a birthday, so this book was kind of special and I was eager to read it.

Brandy Purdy brings to life the lives of Lizzie, her sister Emma and the Borden family and their circumstances. Andrew Borden was extremely rich but a spendthrift and miserly in how he managed his money. At such a time and with the money he had, the Borden family could have had a life of luxury or, at least, comfortable. That was not the case though, they did not even have electricity, it was available, and their bathing and toileting facilities were primitive at best. 

Stepmother Abby Durfee Gray Borden came into Lizzie and her sister Emma's lives after their mother died. Lizzie was quite young and took to Abby as she needed a mother figure. Emma on the other hand never did like her because she had promised her mother that she and only she would take care of Lizzie. She felt that Abby did not belong in their lives and did everything she could to make Lizzie hate Abby. Why was she killed? Maybe it was just because the hatred was such that she had to be killed or she knew something that would cause Lizzie a lot of trouble with her father.

After Lizzie is acquitted, we learn in the book of her life after that incident. Of how she spent a lot of money for her pleasure, a new home, furnishings, dresses, jewelry etc. She traveled a lot especially in Europe looking for someone to love her but never really finding it. Lizzie did find short-lived affairs with both men and women but never did find her true love. Such a sad life. Even if she did commit the murders and was looking for freedom, which she got, she was never happy and died a lonely woman amongst her luxuries.

Murder is a crime and if she had done it presently, it is highly unlikely that she would have been acquitted. There was no forensics to speak of back then. I really believe that this was a crime of passion and that is how this book is written. With the author's gift for telling a story, very descriptive and researched The Secrets of Lizzie Borden is something a bit different for the historical fiction reader. I really enjoyed it and highly recommend it. 

I received a copy of this book for review and was not monetarily compensated.

Blog Tour Schedule

Tuesday, January 26 
Review at Julz Reads 
Review at Unshelfish 
Wednesday, January 27 
Review at Time 2 Read 
Review at 100 Pages a Day 
Thursday, January 28 
Review at One Book Shy of a Full Shelf 
Friday, January 29 
Review at A Chick Who Reads 
Interview at One Book Shy of a Full Shelf 
Monday, February 1 
Review at A Bookish Affair 
Tuesday, February 2 
Review at With Her Nose Stuck in a Book 
Wednesday, February 3 
Review at Broken Teepee 
Thursday, February 4 
Review at Book Lovers Paradise 
Friday, February 5 
Review at The True Book Addict 
Monday, February 08 
Review at Brooke Blogs 
Tuesday, February 09 
Review at Ageless Pages Reviews 
Interview at Brooke Blogs 
Wednesday, February 10 
Review at A Literary Vacation 
Review at CelticLady's Reviews 
Review at History From a Women's Perspective 
Thursday, February 11 
Review A Book Geek 
Friday, February 12 
Blog Tour Wrap Up at Passages to the Past 

03_TSOLB_Blog Tour Banner_FINAL

Celticlady's News

Walmart

rollback04_gen_120X90.gif

Linkvehicle

Join the Coffee Club!

Coffee.club

Glasses Spot

GlassesSpot.com

Reverse your Diabetes

Reverse your Diabetes in as little as 2 weeks!

VigLink

First Words

First Words

Page Rank Checker

Pagerankchecker.com — Check your Pagerank

Influenster!

First to Read

First To Read

Please Share!

I belong to Book Vetter

Pin It!

Printfriendly

Google+ Badge

Skimlinks 1

I Review For!

Pump Up Your Book

Book Reviewers Yellow Pages

Book Depository

I am a Word Slinger Reviewer!

Book Reviewer Sign Up

Atria Newsroom

Book Blogger List

Smiley360

Join Smiley360

BookPal

70% off Bargain Books!

Brand Backer

Mom's Affiliate

Literrater

Whatsblog

Skimlinks 1


Social Media Management by Symphony

View My Stats!

View My Stats

Pageviews past week

SNIPPET_HTML_V2.TXT

Feedburner

Booklovers Heaven

BlogsMonitor.Com

Books blog

Picket Fence

Google Page Rank