11 February, 2017

The Echo of Twilight by Judith Kinghorn Review!

"An enchanting, atmospheric work of historical fiction that is a rich blend of Downton Abbey and Jane EyreThe Echo ofTwilight is a wonderful novel to curl up with this winter."--Booklist 
“A gripping tale of family secrets and a comedy of manners...Historical
fiction fans will not want to miss this gem!”
Renee Rosen, author of White Collar Girl

 “Those who love the blockbuster show Downton Abbey will find much to enjoy.”
Historical Novel Society

From the acclaimed author of The Last Summer, a captivating and moving story of the unlikely relationship between a lady and her maid on the eve of World War I.
 
As I watched him—his long legs striding the narrow path through the heather, his golden hair catching the sun—I had a hideous feeling in the pit of my stomach. For it seemed as though he was already marching away from me.
 

1914. Whispers of war are rapidly spreading across Europe as a dark cloud of uncertainty settles over England. But with the promise of a glamorous new career as a lady’s maid, one young woman’s future has never been so bright in Judith Kinghorn’s new World War I period piece, THE ECHO OF TWILIGHT (Berkley Trade Paperback Original; January 3, 2017; $16.00).

Once hired by Lady Ottoline Campbell—a beautiful Northumberland aristocrat—Pearl Gibson cannot help but be swept up into Ottoline’s dazzling world of luxury and scandal. Although at first perturbed by Ottoline’s unusually brazen demeanor, Pearl soon develops a deep and complicated bond with her rather eccentric employer.

While accompanying the Campbells on an annual stay in their Scottish summer estate, Pearl unexpectedly falls for Ottoline’s gentle, artistic cousin—but it’s not long before their newly blossoming love affair is ripped apart by the escalating war. As the violence continues to heighten, Pearl and Ottoline fight to survive sorrow and despair at home while the men in their lives continue to be called to the front lines.

A must-read for fans of Kate Morton, Natasha Solomons and upstairs/downstairs dramas such as Downton AbbeyTHE ECHO OF TWILIGHT offers an inspiring story of the unexpected strength and love that can be found in war’s darkest hours.

Judith Kinghorn's novels are published worldwide and have been translated to German, French, Spanish and Italian. She lives with her family in Hampshire, England. For more, please see Judith's website: www.judithkinghornwriter.com
Two women, Pearl Gibson and Lady Ottoline Campbell are the main characters in this historical fiction novel that starts at the beginning of World War I. All Pearl knows of her mother is that shortly after her birth, she committed suicide. Pearl grows up with her Aunt Kitty, living hand to mouth and when Kitty dies, Pearl goes to work with Lady Campbell. Their relationship becomes more than just servant and mistress, they become friends. 

With the advent of the war, the Campbell's sons sign up to fight which does not end well. This tugs on the fragility that is Lady Ottoline's psyche and she spirals into depression. Pearl had had a relationship with Lady Ottoline's cousin, Ralph, who also goes off to fight. After he leaves Pearl finds out she is pregnant and with the help of Ottoline, she delivers a little girl, Lila, named after Ottoline. Life goes on peacefully if not tensely as everyone waits to see if their loved ones will come home from the war. 
During this time, Ottoline's depression continues and she and Pearl have a falling out and Pearl and Lila leave and go back to London. There Pearl ekes out a life for her and her daughter.

This story takes place in three parts, just prior to the war, during the war and after the war. The reader becomes part of Pearl's life, the ups and downs, through love affairs and friendships. A beautifully written story that will keep the reader turning the pages, hoping that Pearl finds the love she seeks. A bit of a twist at the end was unexpected but welcomed! I loved this story that was reminiscent of stories by one of my other favorite authors, Lucinda Riley.

This review was voluntary.




No comments:

Xpresso Book Tours

Xpresso Book Tours

Webfluential

Rakuten Affiliate Network Program

Rakuten Affiliate Network Welcome Program

Google Analytics

Pin it!

The Indie View

Celticlady's News

Linkvehicle

Bestseller Book Tours

Bestseller Book Tours Banner

First Words

First Words

Page Rank Checker

Pagerankchecker.com — Check your Pagerank

Influenster!

Please Share!

I belong to Book Vetter

Printfriendly

Google+ Badge

I Review For!

Pump Up Your Book

Book Depository

I am a Word Slinger Reviewer!

Book Reviewer Sign Up

Buoni Amici Press

Buoni Amici Press, LLC

Atria Newsroom

Smiley360

Join Smiley360

BookPal

70% off Bargain Books!

Brand Backer

Mom's Affiliate

Literrater

Whatsblog


Social Media Management by Symphony

View My Stats!

View My Stats

Pageviews past week

SNIPPET_HTML_V2.TXT

Feedburner

BlogsMonitor.Com

Books blog

Picket Fence

Google Page Rank

Skimlinks 1