22 June, 2018

The Ever After by Sarah Pekkanen Review!


THE EVER AFTER
by Sarah Pekkanen
Atria/Washington Square Press
On-sale: June 5, 2018
272 Pages
ISBN: 9781501106989, $16.00
eBook: 9781501107009, $11.99

ABOUT THE EVER AFTER:
In this intricate and enthralling domestic drama, perfect for fans of Big Little Lies and The Affair, the internationally bestselling author of the “gossipy page-turner” (Glamour) The Perfect Neighbors goes deep into a marriage in crisis, peeling back layers of secrets to discover where the relationship veered off course—and whether it is worth saving.

Josie and Frank Moore are happy…at least Josie thinks they are. As parents of two young girls in the Chicago suburbs, their days can be both busy and monotonous, and sometimes Josie wonders how she became a harried fortysomething mother rather than the driven career woman she once was. But Frank is a phenomenal father, he’s handsome and charismatic, and he still looks at his wife like she’s the beautiful woman he married more than a decade ago. Josie isn’t just happy—she’s lucky.

Until one Saturday morning when Josie borrows her husband’s phone to make a quick call—and sees nine words that shatter her world.

Now Josie feels as if she is standing at the edge of a sharp precipice. As she looks back at pivotal moments in the relationship she believed would last forever, she is also plunging ahead, surprising everyone (especially herself) with how far she will go to uncover the extent of her husband’s devastating secret.

With her “conversational writing style and a knack for making readers care about her characters” (The Washington Post) bestselling author Sarah Pekkanen paints a vivid, kaleidoscopic portrait of a marriage before and during a crisis—and of a woman who fears that the biggest secret of all may be the one she’s hiding from herself.

My Thoughts

How well do you really know your spouse or significant other?  Josie Moore thought she was in a happy marriage. What marriage doesn't suffer a setback or two? Two young children and a life in Chicago is all that she could dream of. A perfect life, until she borrows her husband's phone to make a quick call and sees a devasting text. She is absolutely thrown for a loop, her husband is having an affair. 

What happens is a personal discovery for Josie, she goes through all the emotions involved with the discovery that her husband isn't who she thought he was. She gets angry, wants to withdraw from life but then decides she wants to find out all she can about the other woman and how long this affair has been going on and what she may have done to cause Frank to stray. 

I could relate to this story as I went through the same thing, the anger, the hate for my spouse and the determination that I was going to persevere through the most devasting thing that can happen in a marriage. This story is told in different time frames, from the early days of Josie and Frank's marriage to the present.

This is the first book I have read by Sarah Pekkanen and I did enjoy it although I felt the ending was a bit short, kind of rushed but all in all a very engrossing story of a marriage in jeopardy.

I received the book for review purposes only.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Sarah Pekkanen is the bestselling author of The Ever After, The Opposite of Me, Skipping a Beat, These Girls, The Best of Us,Catching Air, Things You Won’t Say, and The Perfect Neighbors. Her work has been published in People, The Washington Post, and USA TODAY, among other publications. She lives with her family in Chevy Chase, Maryland.


No comments:

Pin it!

Webfluential

Google Analytics

Celticlady's News

Page Rank Checker

Pagerankchecker.com — Check your Pagerank

Influenster!

Please Share!

Printfriendly

Google+ Badge

Atria Newsroom

Whatsblog

View My Stats!

View My Stats

Pageviews past week

SNIPPET_HTML_V2.TXT

Feedburner

BlogsMonitor.Com

Books blog

Skimlinks 1